Shelby, MI
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 152ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 190
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 18 19
  Mission Possible!

1    6/25/2010   7/1/2010
Review By: Wakeshooter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 26 Not
Pros: If there is a "zen" disc golf experience, this is it.
I've played this wonderful game for over 12 years. Played over 150 different courses in 17 states. This is the second course on private property that i've had the privilege to play. The first was Dahliwood (Very cool course) outside Seattle Wa. I played both these courses alone. I have to say that these were the two best Disc golf days in my life.
Cant wait to play Flip City again.
Great Condition!
Great Baskets!
Great Tee Pads!
Great Layout!
Great Weather!
Great Challenge!
Great Game! Shot a 72 for the 24 holes from the pro pads

Thanks Bill
You've set the standard!
Cons: It's not in my backyard

Couldn't give a 5 due to that there was no beer girl and I'm still waiting for Augusta National golf club to put in a Disc Golf course. Hey I can dream can't I.
Other Thoughts: Don't miss playing this course. Be sure to bring hydration. No water or stores near by.

6 of 32 people found this review helpful.

  Heaven

5+    6/22/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: jeffro12
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads
*Easy to navigate
*Brooms on the teepads
*Easy to read signs
*Use of every shot you have (bombers, touch, hyzers, anhyzers, flex shots, tomahawks, thumbers, forehand, whatever you can do!)
*Camping
*Course Beauty
*The course truly goes with the flow of the land
Cons: Nothing

7 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Phenomenal Indeed

5+    4/28/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
26 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is out in the wild country on private property and is very well kept. There is very good variety in the way of challenge, sheer fun, and overall awe inspiring beauty for the disc golf enthusiast. A variety of terrain and elevation changes make this course shine. The hills on this course provide the opportunity for some really pretty shots and heady views. The course makes good use of the land and has a good flow as it winds through the property. Alternate holes are solid and well planned and not just some crammed in afterthoughts as often occurs at other locations. Overall, the course plays pretty well open without much luck requirement if you have the skills. There are a few open fairways that end in a tree congested pin placement, but most of the holes are quite reasonable and fair. It seems to play quite long and overall I would sum it up as vast and awesome. I am grateful to the owner and keeper of this place for his hard work and generosity in sharing this place with all of us. Players seem to show the land respect as there is not a proliferation of litter and other destructive humanoid processes stealing the wonder from the land. I view this place as sacred ground.
Cons: As for cons, I can't really think of much to report. There are not any water hazards here. This bothers me not, but I would be remiss in my duties if I didn't mention this fact. Some would argue that water is an essential piece of a truly great course. I am perfectly satisfied without any water at Flip City, but to each his own. This course is a hike! Be prepared to cover some ground in all directions. Bring water. Bring bug spray just in case, as nature happens.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. It is likely that it is among the best in the world. It is amazing and a joy to experience. The owner is visible on the premises and in speaking with him you will find that he is aware of the reviews on this site and has sought to rectify any cons that were within his control (such as the addition of concrete pads or providing a place for people to go to the bathroom). This place is for disc golfers by a disc golfer. I am so grateful that it is close to my home. Well done.

26 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 The opinion of a Beginner

1    5/29/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 194  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
23 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many
Fairways are clean, beautifully cut and clearly obvious. The extra (cut grass) paths through rougher areas make it easier to find errant discs. Leaving these areas, the rough is REALLY rough in places, not that there's anything wrong with that, just means I need to not throw it there. Baskets are clear and in great condition, no bounce outs for me. The Layout flows well from one hole to the next and signs and hole posts (with little copper caps) make the course very easy to navigate. Concrete tees in great condition and brooms at every tee help to keep these tees in great condition. There are plenty of places to sit and relax for a minute or two, it was about 90 the day we played and breaks weren't only appreciated, they were necessary. Truly a beautiful course, from the rock cairns on 11 to the rolling northwest michigan hills I grew up in. Variety: I think this is the most important factor to me as a beginner. There is so much variety here from blind shots, to wide open shots, to short up shots, to short long upshots, to "across the valley" shots, everything that could possibly be available, is at Flip. Bill, thank you for everything.
Cons: um, it was really hot and the bugs were bad the day we went, things that aren't controllable.
Other Thoughts: Hole-by-Hole: I know this has been done before but this is from the eyes of a beginner.

#1-- 250ft--blind shot over the garden, a couple trees on either side. Also, scorecards, maps and donation box are here.
#2--502ft-- a longer hole, starts wide open and dives into the more moderately wooded side yard. Wide fairway, fairly straight.
#3-- 374ft-- shorter than #2 and the exact opposite, goes from moderate woods to more open at the pin. slight downhill.
#4--293ft-- Hidden on the hill on the right-hand side this hole starts wide open across a field and then the hill starts along with light trees. Basket a challenge to see against sandy hillside at times.
#5--179ft-- Blind shot over top of a hill, moderate to heavily wooded. Basket on downslope. Watch your disc on the left side of the basket, big drop off.
#6-- 286ft-- Wide fairway across a shallow dip. Fairly straightforward.
#7--303ft-- left dogleg down across 'gulch'
#8--252ft-- short and straight downhill, pin hidden in clump of tree on right.
#9--187ft-- Short hole with basket in trees to right, trees line right side of fairway.
#10--180ft-- another short one. Uphill and to the left. Overshoot this pin and you could end up on #11.
#11--344ft-- The signature. Beautiful down to up hole with rock cairns mid fairway. The fairway is very wide and basket is on the uphill slope.
#1a-- 260ft-- Tight "fairway" downhill to wide open valley, basket behind the "Y" tree.
#2a-- 670ft-- and this basket has been made longer? as a beginner, a hard hard hole with many many drives to get to the basket. Rolling terrain and moderately thick trees in places. Wide fairway.
#3a-- 306ft-- Starts with a narrow fairway then dives into heavy woods. There are lanes to throw, but accuracy is key.
#4a--270ft-- Throwing out of a pocket in the trees onto a wide open fairway, basket behind large trees.
#5a--368ft-- Long and challenging. a hole in multiple stages. Starts WIDE open across the access road, then 250-300 feet in, it dives into the thick woods. Pin in a small clearing, surrounded by rocks.
#6a--395ft-- Tunnel to open shot. Rock cairn on fairway. Basket on hillside back to the top of the hill.
#12--267ft-- The Ravine. Straight over a deep-er ravine. Pin on top of hill in treeline.
#13--416ft-- Long hole, long downhill with wide open fairway that dives into some moderate woods. I almost lost my disc here when I opps'ed right.
#14--334ft-- Long hole that dives into thick woods on the right, hard to see pin when outside woods, but lines are easy to find.
#15--446ft-- Good place to rest after a few long punishing holes-- straight shot out of the woods across access road. few trees.
#16-- 477ft-- Long hole, slight down hill, grass separates from #15 fairway, treeline to left.
#17--172ft-- short (whew) blind shot over hill to pin on right. Clear bell to ring when done.
#18--195ft-- Short hole through narrow gap in trees downhill with right dogleg to pin behind huge apple tree. This was the perfect way to finish this beautiful course. And one of my few pars (3) of the day.


23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 OMFG! lol

2-4    4/13/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Emoney
Played: 57  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 3/15/2011
13 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: To start , this course has that "it" factor. It has everything you need or want out of a disc golf course. If u can find something wrong with this course you probably have some personal issues or favortism to a home course. This course offers up every shot in your bag, distance/control and most important PUTTING. Each hole felt independent from the next.
ABSOLUTELY NO TRASH- seriously fact
*BEAUTIFUL TEE PADS, brooms on each
*LAWN CARE AT ITS FINEST
*EACH HOLE IS UNIQUE AND CHALLENGING
*AWSOME USE OF ELEVATION AND USE OF THE LAND AND TREES
*SHOCKINGLY FUN BASKET PLACEMENTS- probably the biggest challenge of the course, basket locations made for nervous putting
*VERY BEAUTIFUL LAND AND SCENERY
*GREAT FLOW
*COURSE FOR EVERYONE OF ALL TALENTS AND SKILL TO ENJOY
*KOOL ROCK STACKS THAT ARE A MUST SEE

NO DISAPPOINTMENTS !!!
Cons: Only con maybe hole 1, but its is kinda the start of a journey and a nice warmup for things to come.
People may think it needs water to be a 5 disc course, well if u play it u will understand thats not the case.
The lenghth of the course is a little on the short side for todays pro but im positive that a long gruelling course can hurt the fun factor.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 5 because i can not think of anything to improve this course.The rating system says to rate a 5 if this course needs nothing and is the best of the best.This is a course for everyone ,not just pros,not just beginners,and really makes the fun factor of disc golf shine through. With tourneys and the newer epic bomber courses we sometimes forget where we all started and what got us hooked on disc golf. This course isnt hardcore challenging but is the one course that made me feel like a kid and took away all the extra stress i carry in my bag because even if i missed my line or grip locked a shot,i still had a huge smile on my face(as my omega rolled to the bottom of a huge hill during a tourney).Thanx bill u definitely got something special

Lets not forget that more than one course can be rated a 5,other courses may deserve a 5 too. Also we cant let reviews get higher or lower scores based on how good or bad we are.I wrote this review with everybody i met in playing this wonderful sport in mind,ams to pros.

13 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Not as good as advertised..

1    6/5/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: PA Frolfer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
28 Helpful / 31 Not
Pros: This course is a great course to come out and have fun - the elevation is awesome, the rocks are cool, and most holes offer a unique challenge. The course is situated in the middle of nowhere and offers a nice little respite from civilization. The course really isn't difficult, but does have a good fun factor. I would advise the Mason County parks and Leviathan to go along with Flip City.
Cons: The two finishing holes were incredibly disappointing for such a highly rated course. I am under the impression that 4 to 5 rated courses need to have good finishing holes. The two finishing holes at Flip City just seemed to be thrown in there. It was truly disappointing. Also, no hole really stands out as the signature hole. Courses like Idlewild, Blueberry Hill, etc all have multiple holes that could be classified as signature holes and Flip didn't really have any, except for maybe the 'A' hole. In addition, a few of the short holes were just too short and easy and didn't really offer a challenge. Hole 1 was also nothing special.
Other Thoughts: Don't take the rating the wrong way - I rated the course a 3, which is a "Good" rating. There is no shame in that. The course offers a great experience but doesn't really offer a challenge. The course only offered one long hole and a the course had a bunch of short ones. Make sure to bring your walking shoes, as this course will tire you out. Overall, the course was a lot of fun but didn't offer the greatest of challenges.

EDIT: I see this has become a big deal in the forums - let me reiterate that I like the course, but I just don't feel that it has what these courses have to offer: Idlewild, Highbridge Courses, Centralia Foundation Course, Ozark Mountain, the top Oregon courses, Holler in the Hills, etc. It's a beautiful course, but it just didn't offer a true challenge. I wasn't even playing that well that day and I shot a 66 (playing all par 3's for 24 holes). The course doesn't set up well as a championship course or a tournament course to me. Hard, championship courses shouldn't get punished, ie Idlewild or Highbridge Gold because they aren't fun.

28 of 59 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/30/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: mklahre
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
5 Helpful / 30 Not
Pros: This course is the best in the united states and probably the world. It looks amazing.
The holes are modarately tough and there are plenty of trash cans along the course.
Cons: I can't really think of any.
Other Thoughts: It is out of the way. This is a pro and a con.
it is secluded so that there is a certain amount of peace. However, it is also a trouble to get to.

5 of 35 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful Course

5+    6/4/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: souldecision87
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 33 Not
Pros: Great elavation changes, very diverse holes. some long shots and plenty of challenging shots.
Cons: none that i can think of besides bring bug spray
Other Thoughts: stop by and help bill out, if you play give him a couple bucks

4 of 37 people found this review helpful.

 MMM, MMM, Good.

5+    6/11/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 185  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2011
30 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Maintainance and upkeep: top notch. Pristine.
- Scenic, masterfully implemented elevation changes including several roll-away threats.
- Clever pin placements throughout.
-After hole 11 the alternative six "a-holes" offer the opportunity to interrupt your round on a side-quest that ratchets the intensity up a notch.
- Amenities: top- notch. Good tees, many with brooms. Long, medium, and short tees. Medium/short tees are natural. Trashcans, benches, pavillions, huts, port-a-johns throughout. Concrete "foundation" pieces for bags near tees.
- Outstanding mowing/trimming/upkeep showcases and enhances the natural beauty while the myriad paths insure that you're never searching more than a small area at a time for your wayward discs.
- Rock cairns and stacked rock columns located throughout add a surreal element to the course. Rock gardens are OB and add to the difficulty by eating up fairway space.
- Elegant singage supplemented by the scorecards located near the Donation box, on the garage.
- Camping, grilling, chilling spots provided. Best to contact Bill prior to camping.
Cons: - Poison ivy and rampaging insects. Seriously, the biting flies are voracious in places. Bring bug spray. Watch what plants you touch. Still, I find it very difficult to fault this course because of Mother Nature.
Other Thoughts: - Flip City goes far beyond the "x's and o's" of course design, the long list of amenities and novelties, the stunning rustic beauty, and the oustandingly kind and accommodating proprietor/owner, Bill. Flip City transcends disc golf. Despite shooting poorly, playing in the pouring rain, being cold, tired, wet and hungry, playing Flip City is like a big ol' bowl of chicken noodle soup and a sandwich for the soul.
- Be certain to say hello to Bill, the owner, and thank him for the magnificent treat that he chooses to share so freely with the rest of the world.

30 of 33 people found this review helpful.

 Flippin' Out!

1    6/3/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: jhgonzo
Played: 86  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 15.9 Years
34 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. Variety. Oh man, does this course have everything! Elevation change on almost every hole, some of the riskiest pin placements I've ever seen, unique rock gardens in play on several holes (and scattered throughout this whole wonderland), many blind holes, just an absolutely perfect balance. No hole feels similar to any other. Even the more open holes here present significant (and sadistically strategic) natural and/or man-made (rock stacks) obstacles. Hole #4 is the first real "Wow, holy sh*t! Look at this hole!" kind of hole--not that the first 3 aren't cool, but 4 is where the Flipping really begins. Hole #7 is an awesome downhill-to-uphill hole with significant obstruction in the valley you THINK you can shoot over, but probably you'll get taken down in the valley and be left with a crazy uphill shot. Hole #10 was the only deuce of my round, a shot I amazed myself with on this blind uphill-to-downhill 180' hole to a basket protected by several mounds, with so many hills and valleys in this area that literally ANYTHING can happen to a disc that lands wrong. So many scenic vistas from the tee, so many spots you'll just need to stop and soak it in. Looking at my dismal score on my scorecard while coming into Hole #17, I thought, "Hey, the last 2 holes are both under 200 feet. I should be able to make up some strokes!" Yeah...it didn't work out that way. Hole #17 is yet another blind uphill into woods with a basket precariously placed on a sharp downhill slope, and Hole #18, a 195' steep downhill right dogleg, can be a frustrating finisher to someone who is predominantly RHBH...my Comet anhyzer didn't work, so for a mulligan I threw a RHFH Destroyer and again found trees. I ended up trekking back up this hill a few more times to play this finisher after our round while we just chilled out.
2. Maintenance. First off, I give huge props to Bill for keeping this baby in such pristine condition. If I had Flip in MY backyard, chances are I'd play and neglect the upkeep! It's awesome to talk to someone who's so passionate about disc golf--enough to develop his private land into DG heaven and open it to disc golfers!--yet realizes that this legacy he's created requires hard work, and he seems proud of what he does. I'm not sure I could handle only throwing 1 round a week here like Bill does, and I applaud him for his dedication. There are abundant trash cans, no litter.
3. Nice tee markers and super-grippy concrete tees (long tees only). The concrete tees include ample follow-through space as well...there is a black line on the tee that indicates the end of the teeing area, with the semicircular section beyond the line used for following through. There are am tees and junior tees on each hole, as well, though the am tees don't seem to get a lot of use, and the juniors even less so.
4. Navigation. Maps/scorecards near the shack by Hole #1, signage at the intersections, really no issues getting around out here.
5. Brooms at each tee for clearing off sand and dirt. This part of Michigan is very sandy, so these things will come in handy on occasion. It's nice to see them in abundance, ready to spring into action wherever the need should arise!
6. Shackage. Nice little chill-out patio by the parking area, and 2 shacks on the course (one by the intersection of Hole #8 and #14, and another by #2A and #5A). While you probably won't be physically exhausting and needing a rest at these points (Flip doesn't do you like that), you should chillax, sign the "guestbooks," talk to people passing through the intersections, take some photos, and then move on. Flip's got more in store for you.
7. The feeling of seclusion--and almost elitism if you're not a local Flippie--while being here is indescribable. If there is a "zen" disc golf experience, this is it.
Cons: Surprisingly, I am going to list a con. Obviously it doesn't affect my rating since this is without a doubt a 5-disc course. I played this course with my wife, and she opted to play the am tees...these are indicated by rocks on the ground (specifically, 2 rocks simply to indicate the end of the tee). In several places, we could not figure out where she was supposed to shoot from as there were no noticeable rocks in the areas where the tees presumably would have been. In most cases, we ended up finding what "looked" to be a tee area due to being a bit worn down, and judging whether it was the difference in distance from the long tees using the scorecard, I think we figured most of them out. I did talk to Bill after our round and mentioned this, and he is completely aware of the issue and said that people have been grabbing those rocks and either throwing them or adding them to the rock piles scattered about. So again, it's a con if you're going out to play Flip with anyone intent on playing short tees, but it's not a con to the overall experience since my wife still had a blast (her favorite course ever!) even with this minor frustration. Hopefully more permanent tee indicators can be placed in the future.
Other Thoughts: Wow. This place is perfect. It took me and my wife about 3 hours to "throw a round," although that includes chilling out at the beginning just soaking in the fact that we were there, and probably over an hour during our round stopping and taking photos and looking at the landscaping, chilling at the shacks...there's just not too many more words I can come up with here. Go. Get Flipped. Flip your friends. Flip your family.

Treat this place with the utmost respect (like you're young Skywalker and this course is friggin' Yoda), and when you go back home try not to compare your local courses to Flip 'cause there is no comparison.

34 of 37 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 18 19

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.