Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: tomjulio Hole #9
3 / 146ft.   3 / 187ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Short Tee: Fairway for #10 on left



Reviews: 194
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 12 13 14 15 16 ... 19 20
 Simply amazing

1    10/13/2009   10/21/2009
Review By: Opus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
12 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: There is not much that I can say that has not already been said. This course, hands down, is by far the best course I have played. The course is laid out in a fantastic way. It makes excellent use of the area.

The course is maintained to the level of immaculate. I could not find a single piece of trash anywhere. The fairways are mowed to a level of almost perfection. Trash cans can be found at just about every hole. Benches and picnic tables are available at multiple spots for resting. Most holes have a broom to sweep the pad with too.

I could go on and on about this course, but I think you can get the picture by now.
Cons: Absolutely nothing. This course is perfect. Since my disks tend to be magnets to water, I am thrilled that there are no water hazards here.
Other Thoughts: This course is obviously going to draw you in because it is a disc golf course, but there is so much to see here. It is very evident that the creator loves the game and enjoys having people come to play. The time alone that must have been put into this place leaves my mind in overload when trying to contemplate it. The artwork would be a reason enough alone to want to see/play this course.

12 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic

2-4    10/12/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/8/2013
32 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course is the epitome of what a disc golf course should be. The land is perfect for a course, with varied terrain from rolling easy hills to some steep drops and climbs. The course uses the elevation extremely well to create interest and challenge on drives, upshots, and even in the area around the basket to add a risk/reward element to putts. Most of the course plays on grassy fairways through a very nice wooded area. There is a great mix of more open holes with tree lined fairways, and technical holes where you have to hit gaps through the trees.

The course felt like it had a great balance in hole lengths. There were a few short ace run type holes, and a few long holes where you could rip a drive, and lots of holes in between. The course felt very balanced between right and left turning shots, and called for lots of different types of shots to score well. There is a ton of variety here, and every one of the 24 holes felt unique and special.

The atmosphere here is some of the best you'll ever find. You will feel like you are alone in the wilderness, the course is very secluded and peaceful. The scenery is beautiful, and all the best spots to sit and look have tables and shelters to take a break and enjoy the views. The course owner is extremely hospitable, and went out of his way to welcome us to his land to camp and play disc golf.

The long tees are very nice concrete pads with good texture and a clear fault line with a follow through area. There are two other sets of tees for each hole that are natural and marked with rocks to make the course more accessible to newer players. The baskets are all in great shape. There are numbered posts on every tee, and great maps on the scorecards that make the course very easy to follow. Even without the map, the course has great flow and never feels like you have to walk out of your way to get to the next hole.

The maintenance here is impeccable, especially considering it's all done by one guy. The course was perfectly mowed, with no trash, debris or any kind of vandalism. There were nice benches, trash cans, and port-a-potties throughout the course, all showing just how much work has been put into making this course what it is.
Cons: There are very few things I can find to put here. It would be cool to have hole signs with the hole layout and distance so you didn't have to look at the map for that information. The concrete tees were very nice, but a bit narrow. All very minor things that certainly don't take away from the fantastic disc golf experience here. The course is a little on the shorter side, lots of reachable holes though most do offer some interesting lines.
Other Thoughts: Play this course. Though it may be a little challenging for a beginning player, any level of player will find unique challenges here, and it's accessible even for newer throwers. No matter your skill level, you'll find this course fun, beautiful and challenging.

The course is worth a trip to play, one of two courses I've played that I would recommend a full weekend trip just to play a single course. From the printed maps and scorecards to the rock towers throughout the course, the little things here add even more to the overall fantastic ambiance here, and I would recommend this course to anyone.

32 of 42 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/16/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: adamkgourley
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
9 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Beautiful course -- would be worth the hike if I didn't even have a disc

Came in the fall -- so nice leaves changing colors and no bugs

Very clean course

Still a beginner myself but I at no point felt lost or didn't know where to throw
Cons: none

9 of 37 people found this review helpful.

 Picturesque Paradise

5+    10/16/2009   10/16/2009
Review By: MDeezy
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/5/2012
6 Helpful / 28 Not
Pros: Takes a bit of skill, a few shots require an arm, but everything is not out of the question difficult. Gorgeous well maintained fairways, great elevation changes, and a place made just for disc golf. Tons of character and unique features make Flip City such a unique golf experience. Great maps and score cards at hole 1 make navigating very easy. Large tee pads and brooms at every hole. Course flows very well and even has the option for a alternate 6 hole loop. Too many Pros to list, must experience it for yourself.
Cons: Some areas of the course can be wet at times of the year. Hungry bugs and the distance from my house are other cons in my opinion. Course can also get busy on weekends and in the summer due to its popularity.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who is serious about disc golf needs to play this course, always worth the drive. There are too many good things to say about Flip City, and hard to say something that hasn't already been said. I play this course a few times each year and always have a good time. Bill has worked very hard and created something truly exceptional. The tournaments and events held here are always fun and bring great disc golfers. If you play Flip, please respect the course and donate at hole 1.

6 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City rules!

5+    6/20/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
16 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Shy of having no water hazards,this course has everything.Excellent course in the middle of nowhere,and it's private.Never,I repeat,NEVER,played a better course.Lots of rock gardens,windchimes,benches and pavilions for pauses for the cause.If you play hear listen for the noise.....nothing,very far away from any busy roads.Pictures speak a thousand words,would love to have a calender with pic's from this place.
Cons: None,make sure you bring alot of fluids,it's a hike.
Other Thoughts: I challenge anyone to find a better course anywhere.Donate some money at the first tee to help the cause because this course does'nt mow itself.I suggest at least 5 dollars minimum per person,but after playing you will feel guilty about not giving more.Thank Bill for a great time if you see him and pet Pepper the dog.Oh, and please keep it clean,this course is immaculate,keep it that way,pitch in.

16 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 love it

2-4    10/1/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: jay roggero
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
6 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: awesome layout .course makes you use all of your throws . beautiful views pleanty of benches . and the layout is friendly no two holes to close awesome rock gardens all over the place theres a donation jar there which everyone should throw in on.someone put all that money into that course for a fun and its one of the best courses around. each hole is different not repetitive just an overall fun course.multiple tees for pros beginners and amatures
Cons: ha!! the only one can think of is its not my house on the land

6 of 38 people found this review helpful.

 hard to top

1    9/27/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: grass_stain
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: great layout, great hike, 24 holes, rocks, elivation changes, super cool guy mowing the lawn (when we got to a tee he would quite mowing that far way and go to another hole, even if he wasen't done), i found a disc and so did my wife,
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: bring water, make sure you know what poison ivy looks like.

7 of 39 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 166  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.9 Years
13 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Super aesthetics.This course has a storybook layout.
Cons: Only one. Only one course on site, that is.
Other Thoughts: Spiritual. This is what disc golf is meant to be. This course is worth a 12 hour drive.
Seriously.
You can go to an open field and toss you discs over and over. You can play or practice anywhere. This place is unique. This is a place that you will never forget.
I know this offers nothing new to the ridiculous line of awesome reviews this course has garnered...but what does that tell you?
This is a must play course and you wont understand why until you play it.

13 of 34 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Nirvana

5+    9/8/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: rooster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: Just Beautiful. There is no better place to play. Rolling hills, rock formations, pavilions, great pads and baskets.
Cons: Cons?! Are you serious? This is disc golf mecca.
Other Thoughts: Please be sure to drop a lil cash in the donation box. it takes 40 hrs. to mow Flip.

8 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 WOWOWOWOW

1    9/6/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: ovar
Played: 73  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: Everything. I loved the tee pads, nicely groomed fairways, and variety of approaches. The holes range from very short to very long.
Cons: Nothing, the course is maintained very well.
Other Thoughts: Amazing. This course is a must play for discers of all levels.

6 of 31 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 12 13 14 15 16 ... 19 20

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.