Shelby, MI
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #1 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 190
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 12 13 14 15 16 ... 18 19
 Flip City rules!

5+    6/20/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
16 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Shy of having no water hazards,this course has everything.Excellent course in the middle of nowhere,and it's private.Never,I repeat,NEVER,played a better course.Lots of rock gardens,windchimes,benches and pavilions for pauses for the cause.If you play hear listen for the noise.....nothing,very far away from any busy roads.Pictures speak a thousand words,would love to have a calender with pic's from this place.
Cons: None,make sure you bring alot of fluids,it's a hike.
Other Thoughts: I challenge anyone to find a better course anywhere.Donate some money at the first tee to help the cause because this course does'nt mow itself.I suggest at least 5 dollars minimum per person,but after playing you will feel guilty about not giving more.Thank Bill for a great time if you see him and pet Pepper the dog.Oh, and please keep it clean,this course is immaculate,keep it that way,pitch in.

16 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 love it

2-4    10/1/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: jay roggero
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
6 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: awesome layout .course makes you use all of your throws . beautiful views pleanty of benches . and the layout is friendly no two holes to close awesome rock gardens all over the place theres a donation jar there which everyone should throw in on.someone put all that money into that course for a fun and its one of the best courses around. each hole is different not repetitive just an overall fun course.multiple tees for pros beginners and amatures
Cons: ha!! the only one can think of is its not my house on the land

6 of 38 people found this review helpful.

 hard to top

1    9/27/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: grass_stain
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: great layout, great hike, 24 holes, rocks, elivation changes, super cool guy mowing the lawn (when we got to a tee he would quite mowing that far way and go to another hole, even if he wasen't done), i found a disc and so did my wife,
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: bring water, make sure you know what poison ivy looks like.

7 of 39 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 139  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 25.6 Years
13 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Super aesthetics.This course has a storybook layout.
Cons: Only one. Only one course on site, that is.
Other Thoughts: Spiritual. This is what disc golf is meant to be. This course is worth a 12 hour drive.
Seriously.
You can go to an open field and toss you discs over and over. You can play or practice anywhere. This place is unique. This is a place that you will never forget.
I know this offers nothing new to the ridiculous line of awesome reviews this course has garnered...but what does that tell you?
This is a must play course and you wont understand why until you play it.

13 of 34 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Nirvana

5+    9/8/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: rooster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: Just Beautiful. There is no better place to play. Rolling hills, rock formations, pavilions, great pads and baskets.
Cons: Cons?! Are you serious? This is disc golf mecca.
Other Thoughts: Please be sure to drop a lil cash in the donation box. it takes 40 hrs. to mow Flip.

8 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 WOWOWOWOW

1    9/6/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: ovar
Played: 66  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
6 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: Everything. I loved the tee pads, nicely groomed fairways, and variety of approaches. The holes range from very short to very long.
Cons: Nothing, the course is maintained very well.
Other Thoughts: Amazing. This course is a must play for discers of all levels.

6 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Very Challenging! Extreme elevation changes. Extremely clean. I personally haven't seen one cleaner. Beautiful scenery. Plenty of rest benches. Map and score cards are provided. Nice 'bonus' holes in middle of course. An EXCELLENT privately owned and maintained course for all levels of play. Worth a generous donation!!
Cons: Only thing missing would be a water hazzard of some kind. Other than that it's challenging enough with out water! Bring bug spray!

5 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 perfection

2-4    8/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
23 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: One of the top 10 best courses in the world, best Michigan has to offer, and with more top notch courses nearby it sucks if you pass this up.
Perfect disc-golfing landscape of hills and woods, open fields and lots of rocks. Hand-made rock sculptures litter the fairway, but nearly NO trash does the same (found 1 beer can and picked it up, not even the loose cigarette butt).
Design is fair and challenging, mix of easy deuce opportunities and longer par 4's. Tests every shot you can throw at it. Nice baskets, tees (long are cement now). Private but open to everyone whenever makes it better than a public park. Well mowed, better maintained than ANY course you'll ever get to.
Cons: There really isn't anything worth putting here, minimal poison ivy, but not enough to even list as a con.
Other Thoughts: Must play for all disc golfers, not just people on this side of the country.

23 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 Sublime Throwing in Northern Michigan!

1    7/3/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Astronaut_79
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.7 Years
11 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained, diverse hole elevations, good range of difficulties and lengths. Plenty of places to rest or wait, beautiful outdoor woodland, plus bathrooms, creative design. Hole 11 was wild!
Cons: No water hazard, some bugs (not that bad considering) and final hole(s) could be a little more "signature" (if you want to be picky).
Other Thoughts: Off on some dirt roads (though not too far off the expressway) about an hour north of Muskegon is this absolute gem. I've played about 40 courses across the country and have never seen one (other than the actual golf course locations) this well maintained! Someone was mowing hole 3 when we arrived! I really loved the rock sculptures and elevation changes. The extra holes were a fun surprise on this most peaceful and beautiful private course that looks to have been created with a lot of thought and love over the years. Well worth a nice donation to play!

11 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Augusta National of Disc Golf

1    8/13/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 103  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 14.1 Years
11 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is nearly indescribable. This course is the Augusta National of disc golf. It was a great challenge, but it was a lot of fun. I was able to shoot a 72 on all 24 holes, and I had a lot of fun playing the course. The elevation changes were breathtaking and every hole was unique in itself. There were lots of risk/reward holes which made me think even more about my shot.
Cons: -My only con would be with the last two holes. The best courses that I have played have had epic and amazing finishing holes. The last two holes at Flip City are nothing special. Holes 15 and 16 would have been great finishing holes, but alas...The mosquitoes were bad
Other Thoughts: Truly worth the drive. I just got back from a vacation JUST to play Flip City. Worth every penny.

11 of 20 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 12 13 14 15 16 ... 18 19

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.