Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: Oroborus  



Reviews: 194
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
 My home away from home...

5+    7/12/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 70  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2009
15 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Driving into the middle of nowhere to play disc-golf might seem a little off but after playing a round of golf at Flip City, you'll want to move in next door.
The course starts out flat and slowly gains elevation changes and shows you the true beauty of Michigan early and often. The variety of open shots, woods, elevated tees and a few 'how do I do that?' shots are hard to beat. Great tee-pads, easy to follow paths and amenities beyond the norm are what sets Flip City beyond any other course. Its like 'Burning Man' with a little disc-golf thrown in.
Nobody beats Bill's enthusiasm and care-taking abilities. If only he had a party store on the grounds. Now there is a thought...
Just remember to bring bug spray in and to pack your crap out when you leave. And don't feed the Bruce.
Cons: There are few, if any. The fact that it is in BFE is probably the only 'con'. To over-ride that issue, bring a tent and stay a spell.
Other Thoughts: Stock up on 'survival necessities'. Liquids, food-stuffs, bug spray, ice, etc...
Hiking boots/shoes are highly recommended as it is quite an arduous trek.
This is not a place to rush through, but why would you? Take your time and take in all of the beauty that surrounds you.

15 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Wow. Just wow. The Gem of Michigan!

5+    5/1/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 70  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2011
43 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What a gem this course is! Beautifully built and well maintained cement tee pads for the pro distance and equally well kept amateur and junior dirt tees that were flat, well marked, and had excellent footing on every hole. The first 4 holes give you a chance to warm up with wide open shots and almost no elevation change, then the course begins to get hilly. Each hole was unique with elevated tees or baskets on undulating terrain, massive uphill and downhill holes, plenty of doglegs both right and left, several baskets with serious consequences for bad putts. While all the holes here are pretty amazing, there are a few stand-outs: #5 is short but challenging with its lightly wooded uphill drive and its hidden, sidehill basket guarded by a HUGE tree; #7 with its downhill drive over the apple tree, down the dip, then back up the hill to the basket; the short, blind, indescribable #10; the amazing #11 with its elevated tee and cross-valley, over rock garden shot that will have you emptying your bag while enjoying the view; the long, long, long #2A with its 600+ foot undulating fairway; the wide open drive on #5A to its heavily guarded basket; #14, a challenging hole with a right sweep through the woods around the side of a hill with the basket farther up the hill tucked in behind some trees; then the final hole sporting a short but steep downhill through the woods, over a two-track and right under an apple tree.

It's blatantly obvious that Bill cares deeply about his course and the throwers that come here to worship. His attention to detail is amazing, with full-color scorecards/maps including notations on the 3 blind holes, provided customized pencils, beautiful places to sit, brooms at most every tee pad, bells to signal "clear" when finishing the blind hole #17, stunning hole and course lay out, beautiful landscaping and rock gardens/sculptures, nicely mowed cross-paths for disc searching, and absolutely no trash anywhere.

The beautiful new copper-topped tee markers are a very nice touch.

Don't be surprised if the course designer stops by to greet you personally....how cool is that?

This course is just as much fun and more challenging in the winter! An active Saturday league and Bill's constant care means paths are well worn and both pro and am tees are easy to locate in the snow. Ribbons are mandatory for winter league play in more than 1" of snow. Watch for questionable footing on the many climbs and descents!
Cons: The section of dirt road leading to the course is awful and it's 2 hours from my home.

That's it.
Other Thoughts: We are so very lucky to have this gem available for our use! Thank you so much Bill!!! No matter how many times I play here or how many other courses I visit, there's something about the experience here that nothing else can touch. Disc golf here isn't a sport, it's a way of life.

If you play here you'll want sturdy shoes or hikers, bug spray, and some hydration.

Smokers - PLEASE put your butts in the trash. They don't belong in the parking area....that's just rude.

Update after playing the full 24 on 6/27/09:
Still my favorite course by far! The port-a-john located on the alternate 6 was spotless and perfectly maintained. The dirt road has since been repaired and grated (for now, anyway), I didn't see any butts in the parking area, and Bill continues to tweak this course making it better each time we play it.

43 of 48 people found this review helpful.

 Can't ask for more

5+    5/3/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: marcwatts
Played: 104  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.9 Years
12 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The course has some of everything. Uphill, downhill, left bends, right bends, tight shots, open shots, long and short, you will find several you love. I have played it in the daytime and nighttime and I find something I like more about it every round. I just play my best disc golf out there. The owner Bill makes you feel like you are an old buddy and goes out of his way to make your visit better. I really like all the elevation and terrain changes. I used every disc in my bag. It's fun to play in the spring with more par/birdie chances and its fun to play when everything is grown up later in summer too. I haven't found a better course.
Cons: It's too far from my home.
Other Thoughts: The tee boxes don't have yard markers because the owner likes the freedom of being able to move the basket to other locations. His scorecards are up-to-date on the teepad for hole 1, so grab one if you have to know how long everything is. He just put in posts at every tee box that say what hole it is and I never got turned around.

12 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    5/1/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Gmasterandy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 38 Not
Pros: its a great course to play deffinately need some skill to play this course still yet to play the hole course but do so in the future great course over all
Cons: tees need to be marked a little better
Other Thoughts: thought maybe on the cement on the tees maybe the hole number would be good not very well marked

5 of 43 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/25/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: smithru
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
4 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: This course is the benchmark for all other disc golf courses. The people of west Michigan are very fortunate to have this course in thier backyard. The elevation changes present challenging shots on every hole. You must take the wind into consideration. If you can, spend a weekend at the course and play it multiple times. Bill is a great host.
Cons: No cons here.

4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City

5+    5/1/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: Andrew
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
7 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: You can camp at Flip and its also on private property. This place has the best layout of any course I have ever played. Really Really fun.
Cons: There are no cons to Flip this place is famous in the Disc Golf world.
Other Thoughts: Best course in Michigan

7 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City

2-4    9/15/2008   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: This course has everything, by far my personal favorite. Elevation changes, distance and great pin placement gives disc golfers of all shapes and sizes a fun challenging course in a nice quiet forrested area.
Cons: It is kind of in the middle of no where, but definitely worth the drive, no matter where you live. If you're in the state of Michigan and you have not yet shot this course, you have problems.

3 of 25 people found this review helpful.

  Good, but NOT amazing

1    4/17/2009   4/30/2009
Review By: AxleVal
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 90 Not
Pros: It is a nice course, looks like it does not get played much
Cons: one dimensional, could use some work
Other Thoughts: other reviewers of flip city must not get out much there are many courses on the east side of the state that I would play any day over that place, sorry flippers

9 of 99 people found this review helpful.

 Flip City (B-Mac's Baby)

5+    4/26/2009   4/26/2009
Review By: NateDiscFlip
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
22 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Disc golf courses should have good looks, be challenging, and fair. Flip City has wide open shots for many of its holes, but like those who know the course, don't takes it's beauty as a sign of weakness. Flip City is famous for basket placement on gradual slops, resulting in various risk reward opportunities. Flip also utilizes the specific(not crowding) placement of trees to add to it's challenging character. By far one of the best night golf courses to play, and owner is always welcome to disc golfers showing up at anytime (of course, don't forget to donate a couple bucks...for this exciting and well maintained course)
Designer wants to make course more difficult, so be prepared for additional holes....or longer modified originals in the near future.
Cons: Bugs can be nasty on the option holes at the right time of year. Get good directions, cause Flip City is a quick turn in the middle of no where.
Other Thoughts: Idiots and morons are not welcome to these sacred grounds for disc golf so pick up after yourselves and respect the place or stay home : ^ ) ! You will understand why we(locals) idolize and support the maintenance and preservation of this course when you get there : ^ )
......Also, don't forget to go to Branstrom or Ludington (30mins away)....Open camping at Flip City makes for a great starting point for an unforgettable weekend of disc golf on West Coast of LPMichigan

22 of 32 people found this review helpful.

 Now I know what Heaven is like

1    4/22/2009   4/22/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
24 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Every hole is different and awesome. Challenging yet still fun with so much variation. Up hill, down hill, long, short, open, tree-filled, this course is the best I've ever played with the most variation.
Places to sit throughout the course, nice little shacks or benches.
No trash at all, seems like people actually uses the trash cans at every hole unlike most courses.
Beautiful scenery even in early spring without the leaves. Awesome rock sculptures, wind chimes, even ace decorated rocks. I just cant wait to see what the course looks like when the leaves start to come out in summer.
Nice cement tee pads with foul lines and brooms to sweep of the dirt.
Baskets are all in tip top shape and have reflective numbering on them so you can see them from far away.
Simple layout, when you don't know where to go, the map works out great but I only needed it once.
Map/Scorecard and Flip City Pencils available at tee 1.
Bells to ring when clear after the blind 17th hole.
Cons: I can't live here. Really there's nothing bad about this course. On the map it says watch out for snakes, biting flies, and poison ivy. I didn't have a problem with any of these but bug spray is a must.
Other Thoughts: Amazing course, I want to live here. Everything was completely thought out, down to the rocks on the stumps so you don't trip. Mesco is the last gas station before the course so stock up there or you'll have to go back. Bring water and food since its a long course if you play the back 6. Play the back six, they are some of my favorite holes and dont forget to donate. This is a hell of a lot of work for one person to do and the course is very well kept.

24 of 28 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.