Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: tomjulio Hole #7
3 / 228ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: Basket on top of hill across valley



Reviews: 210
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 ... 14 15 16 17 18 ... 20 21
 Flip City rules!

5+    6/20/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: nrohtlaw
Played: 37  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2009
16 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Shy of having no water hazards,this course has everything.Excellent course in the middle of nowhere,and it's private.Never,I repeat,NEVER,played a better course.Lots of rock gardens,windchimes,benches and pavilions for pauses for the cause.If you play hear listen for the noise.....nothing,very far away from any busy roads.Pictures speak a thousand words,would love to have a calender with pic's from this place.
Cons: None,make sure you bring alot of fluids,it's a hike.
Other Thoughts: I challenge anyone to find a better course anywhere.Donate some money at the first tee to help the cause because this course does'nt mow itself.I suggest at least 5 dollars minimum per person,but after playing you will feel guilty about not giving more.Thank Bill for a great time if you see him and pet Pepper the dog.Oh, and please keep it clean,this course is immaculate,keep it that way,pitch in.

16 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 love it

2-4    10/1/2009   10/1/2009
Review By: jay roggero
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
6 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: awesome layout .course makes you use all of your throws . beautiful views pleanty of benches . and the layout is friendly no two holes to close awesome rock gardens all over the place theres a donation jar there which everyone should throw in on.someone put all that money into that course for a fun and its one of the best courses around. each hole is different not repetitive just an overall fun course.multiple tees for pros beginners and amatures
Cons: ha!! the only one can think of is its not my house on the land

6 of 38 people found this review helpful.

 hard to top

1    9/27/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: grass_stain
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: great layout, great hike, 24 holes, rocks, elivation changes, super cool guy mowing the lawn (when we got to a tee he would quite mowing that far way and go to another hole, even if he wasen't done), i found a disc and so did my wife,
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: bring water, make sure you know what poison ivy looks like.

7 of 39 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2009   9/17/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 195  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 27.9 Years
13 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Super aesthetics.This course has a storybook layout.
Cons: Only one. Only one course on site, that is.
Other Thoughts: Spiritual. This is what disc golf is meant to be. This course is worth a 12 hour drive.
Seriously.
You can go to an open field and toss you discs over and over. You can play or practice anywhere. This place is unique. This is a place that you will never forget.
I know this offers nothing new to the ridiculous line of awesome reviews this course has garnered...but what does that tell you?
This is a must play course and you wont understand why until you play it.

13 of 34 people found this review helpful.

  Disc Golf Nirvana

5+    9/8/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: rooster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: Just Beautiful. There is no better place to play. Rolling hills, rock formations, pavilions, great pads and baskets.
Cons: Cons?! Are you serious? This is disc golf mecca.
Other Thoughts: Please be sure to drop a lil cash in the donation box. it takes 40 hrs. to mow Flip.

8 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 WOWOWOWOW

1    9/6/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: ovar
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: Everything. I loved the tee pads, nicely groomed fairways, and variety of approaches. The holes range from very short to very long.
Cons: Nothing, the course is maintained very well.
Other Thoughts: Amazing. This course is a must play for discers of all levels.

6 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/3/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Very Challenging! Extreme elevation changes. Extremely clean. I personally haven't seen one cleaner. Beautiful scenery. Plenty of rest benches. Map and score cards are provided. Nice 'bonus' holes in middle of course. An EXCELLENT privately owned and maintained course for all levels of play. Worth a generous donation!!
Cons: Only thing missing would be a water hazzard of some kind. Other than that it's challenging enough with out water! Bring bug spray!

5 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 perfection

2-4    8/26/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 227  Reviewed: 180  Exp: 18.2 Years
23 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: One of the top 10 best courses in the world, best Michigan has to offer, and with more top notch courses nearby it sucks if you pass this up.
Perfect disc-golfing landscape of hills and woods, open fields and lots of rocks. Hand-made rock sculptures litter the fairway, but nearly NO trash does the same (found 1 beer can and picked it up, not even the loose cigarette butt).
Design is fair and challenging, mix of easy deuce opportunities and longer par 4's. Tests every shot you can throw at it. Nice baskets, tees (long are cement now). Private but open to everyone whenever makes it better than a public park. Well mowed, better maintained than ANY course you'll ever get to.
Cons: There really isn't anything worth putting here, minimal poison ivy, but not enough to even list as a con.
Other Thoughts: Must play for all disc golfers, not just people on this side of the country.

23 of 34 people found this review helpful.

 Sublime Throwing in Northern Michigan!

1    7/3/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Astronaut_79
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16 Years
11 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained, diverse hole elevations, good range of difficulties and lengths. Plenty of places to rest or wait, beautiful outdoor woodland, plus bathrooms, creative design. Hole 11 was wild!
Cons: No water hazard, some bugs (not that bad considering) and final hole(s) could be a little more "signature" (if you want to be picky).
Other Thoughts: Off on some dirt roads (though not too far off the expressway) about an hour north of Muskegon is this absolute gem. I've played about 40 courses across the country and have never seen one (other than the actual golf course locations) this well maintained! Someone was mowing hole 3 when we arrived! I really loved the rock sculptures and elevation changes. The extra holes were a fun surprise on this most peaceful and beautiful private course that looks to have been created with a lot of thought and love over the years. Well worth a nice donation to play!

11 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Augusta National of Disc Golf

2-4    8/13/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2014
12 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is nearly indescribable. This course is the Augusta National of disc golf. This course is truly a lot of fun. I was able to shoot a 72 on all 24 holes, and I had a lot of fun playing the course. Some courses are designed to beat you down and punish you (Iron Hill in Delaware) and this course is NOT one of those courses. This course was designed with natural beauty and fun in mind. The elevation changes were breathtaking and every hole was unique. There were lots of risk/reward holes which made me think even more about my shot.

UPDATE: I was able to play this course a second time a few months ago. Not much has changed in five years but the main thing that remains is the "timeless" feeling you get when playing this course. The anticipation while driving to this course is also a wonderful feeling. That may sound strange, but this course is so far off the beaten path that the distance from civilization makes the course even more special. My traveling partner was stunned when we finally pulled up to the property off of a dirt road and couldn't believe there was a disc golf course so far out in the middle of nowhere. The drive to the course reminded me of the drive to the Woodshed course in West Virginia.

The rock formations in the course are truly one of the most unique features of any disc golf course in the world. This course lacks water hazards and truly challenging par 4's and par 5's but the character of the course more than makes up for it. When you are playing in and around these rock formations its like you are helping build disc golf history. This is a timeless property with great holes.

The actual course has some truly remarkable elevated shots that are visually stunning. It really makes you want to throw multiple shots to watch the disc fly. One of the biggest pros of this course are the design of the greens. Some of the greens are extremely challenging, which helps offset the shorter length of the holes. Some of the greens are extremely fast and some have mounds to protect the hole.
Cons: There is not a lot to dislike with this course so I will be brief. The best courses that I have played have had epic and amazing finishing holes. The last two holes at Flip City are nothing special. Holes 15 and 16 would have been great finishing holes but the design didn't work out that way.

It would be neat to have some water hazards on the course to add some more variety but that doesn't detract from the overall beauty of the course.
Other Thoughts: Truly worth the drive. I just got back from a vacation JUST to play Flip City. Worth every penny.

NOTE: The bugs were extremely bad when I played the course recently. I think most disc golfers accept this when you are out in the jungle, but be prepared with bug spray. They were swarming us the day we played, but that's what happens when you play a course in the middle of nowhere, The bugs are worth the peace and quiet you get at Flip City where the only sounds are that of chains!

Keep in mind this course is nowhere near a gas station or civilization so bring food and water if you plan on making a day of it. I would highly recommend visiting the beautiful beaches of Ludington in coordination with this trip and playing the wonderful courses in that town. There are also some nice B & B's to stay at!

12 of 21 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 14 15 16 17 18 ... 20 21

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center