Shelby, MI 
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton  
One of the many places to rest between holes



Reviews: 199
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20
 Amazing Course

5+    7/24/2009   7/24/2009
Review By: Jax11
Played: 95  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2010
16 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Flip City is a very interesting fun, and challenging course to play. Requires many different shot types to play an effective round. The pro tee pads are made of concrete and allow enough space for a solid run-up. The amateur and jr tees are dirt and marked by large rocks. Many holes possess a high risk-reward factor in the putt an approach game as many of the baskets are located on inclines or plateau type topography. The fairways are well defined and many allow for multiple successful lines whether you are a forehand or backhand dominant player. Coming from flat Illinois the elevation was wonderful. A memorable hole is #11 where one has to throw 324ft across a valley. From the rolling hills, to the intricate rock gardens this course is very scenic and provides an unforgettable atmosphere unmatched by any course I have played. The owner Bill Mckenzie goes to great lengths in making this course an experience to remember with luxuries such as brooms on most tee pads, bells to signal "all clear" on blind holes, Flip City Pencils, and well detailed scorecards (They include par, distance from all three tees, and on the opposite side they display a bird's eye view of the course layout). Mr. McKenzie also allows out of town disc golfers to camp out on his lot if you wish to plan a weekend camping trip.
Cons: Difficult course for beginners, a drive thrown off line could end up in the brush off the fairways and may be difficult to locate.
Other Thoughts: I fully recommend playing this course even if it requires you to travel great distances. It is a course you will not forget.

16 of 21 people found this review helpful.

  Flip City

5+    7/2/2009   7/4/2009
Review By: leif
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: It is hard to say more than what has been said. Great course design. Lots of shot variety. Three blind holes. Course is very well maintained and the scenery is amazing. The camping area is great and has a fire pit. The owner Bill is great and very friendly. Make sure to leave a donation!!
Cons: No water holes...it has everything else
Other Thoughts: Make the trip to play from any distance and camp for at least one night.

5 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    5/29/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: TrailBoss
Played: 149  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 37.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2009
17 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. What really made this course special was the elevation changes and creative use of terrain. It was very well laid out and easy to follow. I had such a great time playing this course. Type of course you want to bring a lunch and some beers to and stay all day playing. Great tee pads, great baskets. Various spots around the course to sit down and take a break if needed.
Cons: No cons really. The bugs and mosquitoes were a nuisance, but that was the time of year and you can't do anything about that and it is no reflection on the course
Other Thoughts: Lots of time and care put into this course. A real labor of love. My only regret is that I was in a hurry to play other courses and if I had it to do over again, I would have stayed put and played another round or two here.

17 of 28 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfers Heaven

2-4    7/1/2008   5/14/2009
Review By: Grateful Gringo
Played: 35  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
19 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The ultimate mecca for Disc Golf enthusiasts, I promise you this place has it all. The legendary architect and host Flip City Bill is my hero. This course offers everything you could ask for. Excellent terrain with ups and downs, well manicured fairways with accompanying rock gardens and well pruned hazards, my favorite tee pads of alltime, dogleg lefts, dogleg rights, teepad brooms, chillaxin' huts, and even a bell on hidden holes to signal those behind you that the basket is clear. There are holes that require short technical drives, as well as deep 'put everything into' holes. Believe the hype and check this place out.
Cons: The Mosquitos can get thick in the evening but in all likelyhood you won't care considering your at the best course imaginable...
Other Thoughts: From Rip City to Flip City, 2,600 miles and well worth every hour of the drive!!!

19 of 26 people found this review helpful.

 The Best

5+    5/10/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: MIdisc1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16 Years
8 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: The couse alone would stand out as one of the very best. But what really makes flip city the real Mecca for disc golf is the amount of care and love put into it. From beautiful rock gardens and sculptures to brooms at every tee pad, Bill has made not only one of the greatest courses but the greatest disc golf experience one could hope for. Bring bug spray and plenty of water, a nice snack isn't bad if your planning on playing multiple rounds as they can take between 1-2 hours for 18 and 2-3 hours for 24 depending on the size of the party
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Keep a look out for fresh berry bushes in the summer. This course is the BEST!!!

8 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 My home away from home...

5+    7/12/2008   5/12/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 72  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2009
15 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Driving into the middle of nowhere to play disc-golf might seem a little off but after playing a round of golf at Flip City, you'll want to move in next door.
The course starts out flat and slowly gains elevation changes and shows you the true beauty of Michigan early and often. The variety of open shots, woods, elevated tees and a few 'how do I do that?' shots are hard to beat. Great tee-pads, easy to follow paths and amenities beyond the norm are what sets Flip City beyond any other course. Its like 'Burning Man' with a little disc-golf thrown in.
Nobody beats Bill's enthusiasm and care-taking abilities. If only he had a party store on the grounds. Now there is a thought...
Just remember to bring bug spray in and to pack your crap out when you leave. And don't feed the Bruce.
Cons: There are few, if any. The fact that it is in BFE is probably the only 'con'. To over-ride that issue, bring a tent and stay a spell.
Other Thoughts: Stock up on 'survival necessities'. Liquids, food-stuffs, bug spray, ice, etc...
Hiking boots/shoes are highly recommended as it is quite an arduous trek.
This is not a place to rush through, but why would you? Take your time and take in all of the beauty that surrounds you.

15 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Wow. Just wow. The Gem of Michigan!

5+    5/1/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2011
43 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What a gem this course is! Beautifully built and well maintained cement tee pads for the pro distance and equally well kept amateur and junior dirt tees that were flat, well marked, and had excellent footing on every hole. The first 4 holes give you a chance to warm up with wide open shots and almost no elevation change, then the course begins to get hilly. Each hole was unique with elevated tees or baskets on undulating terrain, massive uphill and downhill holes, plenty of doglegs both right and left, several baskets with serious consequences for bad putts. While all the holes here are pretty amazing, there are a few stand-outs: #5 is short but challenging with its lightly wooded uphill drive and its hidden, sidehill basket guarded by a HUGE tree; #7 with its downhill drive over the apple tree, down the dip, then back up the hill to the basket; the short, blind, indescribable #10; the amazing #11 with its elevated tee and cross-valley, over rock garden shot that will have you emptying your bag while enjoying the view; the long, long, long #2A with its 600+ foot undulating fairway; the wide open drive on #5A to its heavily guarded basket; #14, a challenging hole with a right sweep through the woods around the side of a hill with the basket farther up the hill tucked in behind some trees; then the final hole sporting a short but steep downhill through the woods, over a two-track and right under an apple tree.

It's blatantly obvious that Bill cares deeply about his course and the throwers that come here to worship. His attention to detail is amazing, with full-color scorecards/maps including notations on the 3 blind holes, provided customized pencils, beautiful places to sit, brooms at most every tee pad, bells to signal "clear" when finishing the blind hole #17, stunning hole and course lay out, beautiful landscaping and rock gardens/sculptures, nicely mowed cross-paths for disc searching, and absolutely no trash anywhere.

The beautiful new copper-topped tee markers are a very nice touch.

Don't be surprised if the course designer stops by to greet you personally....how cool is that?

This course is just as much fun and more challenging in the winter! An active Saturday league and Bill's constant care means paths are well worn and both pro and am tees are easy to locate in the snow. Ribbons are mandatory for winter league play in more than 1" of snow. Watch for questionable footing on the many climbs and descents!
Cons: The section of dirt road leading to the course is awful and it's 2 hours from my home.

That's it.
Other Thoughts: We are so very lucky to have this gem available for our use! Thank you so much Bill!!! No matter how many times I play here or how many other courses I visit, there's something about the experience here that nothing else can touch. Disc golf here isn't a sport, it's a way of life.

If you play here you'll want sturdy shoes or hikers, bug spray, and some hydration.

Smokers - PLEASE put your butts in the trash. They don't belong in the parking area....that's just rude.

Update after playing the full 24 on 6/27/09:
Still my favorite course by far! The port-a-john located on the alternate 6 was spotless and perfectly maintained. The dirt road has since been repaired and grated (for now, anyway), I didn't see any butts in the parking area, and Bill continues to tweak this course making it better each time we play it.

43 of 48 people found this review helpful.

 Can't ask for more

5+    5/3/2009   5/5/2009
Review By: marcwatts
Played: 104  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.1 Years
12 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The course has some of everything. Uphill, downhill, left bends, right bends, tight shots, open shots, long and short, you will find several you love. I have played it in the daytime and nighttime and I find something I like more about it every round. I just play my best disc golf out there. The owner Bill makes you feel like you are an old buddy and goes out of his way to make your visit better. I really like all the elevation and terrain changes. I used every disc in my bag. It's fun to play in the spring with more par/birdie chances and its fun to play when everything is grown up later in summer too. I haven't found a better course.
Cons: It's too far from my home.
Other Thoughts: The tee boxes don't have yard markers because the owner likes the freedom of being able to move the basket to other locations. His scorecards are up-to-date on the teepad for hole 1, so grab one if you have to know how long everything is. He just put in posts at every tee box that say what hole it is and I never got turned around.

12 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    5/1/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: Gmasterandy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 38 Not
Pros: its a great course to play deffinately need some skill to play this course still yet to play the hole course but do so in the future great course over all
Cons: tees need to be marked a little better
Other Thoughts: thought maybe on the cement on the tees maybe the hole number would be good not very well marked

5 of 43 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    4/25/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: smithru
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/23/2009
4 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: This course is the benchmark for all other disc golf courses. The people of west Michigan are very fortunate to have this course in thier backyard. The elevation changes present challenging shots on every hole. You must take the wind into consideration. If you can, spend a weekend at the course and play it multiple times. Bill is a great host.
Cons: No cons here.

4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.