Shelby, MI
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 292ft.   3 / 344ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 190
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next >
 This IS disc golf!!

2-4    9/6/2008   9/9/2008
Review By: timmi_g
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.8 Years
22 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is awesome!
Bill used the land better then any other course I've played. All of the holes are beautifully designed, & take the natural surroundings in to account. The lay out flows very well from hole to hole, you never feel like you just played the same hole a few back.

The course is clean, well maintained, a blast to play. Very challenging, You will use every shot you have, & some you make up along the way. The grassy rough areas have paths cut through them to help you locate the discs that get away.

It truly is all of the little things that make this course stand far above the rest.

There is a suggested donation, but after playing this course it is worth every penny & then some. One man takes care of the whole thing, & does a smashing job of it. (14 hrs of lawn care, by one man!)
Cons: It's not in Wisconsin...
And I didn't get to meet Bill. =(
(there's always next year)
Other Thoughts: Bill is my hero!!

If you haven't played this course & you are hardcore into DG, don't waste time going anywhere else. There are a bunch of really good courses with in a reasonable driving distance from this one, which makes for an excellent 4 day weekend of disc golfing bliss.

The group I flip with have already planned to go to disc golf Mecca.(as tomjulio put it so well) See you in june/july of 09.

I puked all the way across on the Lake Ferry from Wisconsin to play here.

Thanks, Bill!

22 of 27 people found this review helpful.

PLAY HERE!!

1    8/20/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
34 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros:
Hole Variety/Course Layout--
A couple open holes to help warm you up at the start of the course. After that a lot of the holes are moderately wooded and hilly, but theres a few more open holes thrown in to give the course a good blend, the layout is close to perfect!! About every throw in the bag is used on 24 unique and challenging holes.

Course Maintenance--
Best you can find anywhere, its private so its treated as a disc golf course AND a front/back yard. Brooms at each hole add to the great maintenance. There's also nice extended concrete tee pads on every hole.

Course Navigation--
Maps available next to hole #1, very easy to navigate, also the spot where the course splits from 18 holes to 24 is marked very well.

Course Atmosphere--
The awesome pics still cant really show how great this course is. Just a cool, layed back, fun course in western Michigan!

Whenever i'm here it feels like I went back in a time machine in a way. Kind of like how people described the late 60's/early 70's. Ha. Real talk though.
Cons:
Access To Course--
This may be the only real con about the course. You have to take a few "almost unmarked" dirt roads to get there, and it can get confusing if you miss a road.
Other Thoughts:
Traffic--
When you go early on a weekday you don't see many. Even early on the weekend is pretty quiet. On a nice summer weekend you will find a decent amount of people, but I have never met an "asshole" at Flip City. Maybe these people are assholes where ever they come from, but at Flip everyone always seems to be in a good mood and having a good time.

Hazards--
Not really any "disc losing" hazards like water, the rough isnt too bad either.

Cost to play--
It's free, but there is a donation box, and if you dont put any money in it at hole #1, you will after hole 24!! : )

--Also its 20 miles from the 72 hole course in Ludington (Mason County Park) which is a "must play" if in the area.

34 of 47 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    6/16/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: tomingh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 36 Not
Pros: Awesome course, long fairways, technical a great bit of everything!
Cons: come prepared, not many stores in the area, bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: new tee boxes and course markers are outstanding!

6 of 42 people found this review helpful.

 If you build it...

5+    8/17/2008   8/17/2008
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2009
34 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Everything. literally. if I were to picture the perfect disc golf course...one that takes nature into account, that is owned by a die hard disc golfer(a fanatic), that is challenging, serene, located way off the beaten path...is well, perfect....this is it. THIS is the disc golfing mecca.

The intangibles.
PERFECT cement, elongated pro tees.
Privately owned, perfectly maintained.
The owner, is amazing, down to earth..the fanatic.
Brooms at almost every tee.
Each hole is it's own different story..unique.
Bring lunch, beer...enjoy a few relaxing places along the course.
art with natures tools. go ahead..create...you will figure this one out when there.
donations accepted, but not required...although you will want to HEAVILY donate when finished.
Cons: Hmmmm...a con huh? How about that it snows heavily on the lake shore in the winter and that would prevent "most" from playing this course during the winter months.
Other Thoughts: There are so many things to say about this course but I feel by putting into words what this course "is about" would only dilute the feeling of actually playing it. I was laughing the whole time playing because I just couldn't believe that a course that reflects exactly what disc golfing is about (to me) exists...in my hometown area no less. I wish I could give this a six rating...or maybe I should just go back and knock down all my previous reviews by one. The photos of this course attached, well, suck, and do NOT do this course any justice. In fact they were taken before the cement tees were put in place,and it looks like taken in early spring before everything is green.

This should be your mecca. and YES camping on the grounds very recommended. Don't just take my word for
it...
http://www.onegranddiscgolftour.com/?p=115

Now go...

UPDATE 7/26/09
New tee number sign posts installed which add so much class to an already classic course. Little wood engraved posts with a copper cap. Beautiful.

34 of 41 people found this review helpful.

 (Disc Golf) Heaven is a place on Earth

2-4    8/9/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2008
29 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: - Long concrete tees that allow you to follow through.
- Incredible detail. The stones capping the stumps are neat and the stones monuments in the middle of the course are awe-inspiring.
- More details... near one tee I noticed a painted rock dated sometime in 2007 commemorating an ace. What other course does this?
- Not only are the fairways immaculately groomed there are also paths mowed through the rough to make errant drives easier to find.
- Some of the best used elevation in Michigan. The sheer variety of shots you have to make here put other so called "hilly" courses to shame.
Cons: - Make sure you pick up a map/scorecard at the first tee as it can sometimes be a bit tricky finding the next tee without it.
- Bring your bug spray, but that should be a pre-requisite for Michigan to begin with.
Other Thoughts: Bill was kind enough to come out when he saw us drive up and ended up escorting us to the first tee when we had a hard time finding it. He's truly a credit to this sport. If you're driving through West Michigan and only have time for one course don't be intimidated by the remote location of Flip City. This isn't just a course, it's a disc golf landmark.

29 of 36 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive

7/23/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.9 Years
35 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: One of the best courses I've played yet. Wonderful variety of holes and challenges. Open yet technical without being frustrating. Elevation changes throughout, uphill, downhill, and everything in between. Will use every shot in the bag. Hole length varies from 172 at the shortest to 670 at the longest. Three tees on each hole, 24 holes total, laid out in such a way, that you can easily make it a 9 hole, 18 hole, or 24 hole outing. New concrete tees (that extend past the foul line, which was a nice touch) on all of the pro tees (Am & Jr tees are dirt and marked by rocks). Plenty of personal touches throughout, rock cairns, 'rock traps' in the fairways, covered shelters, benches, wind chimes. This park is truly a labor of love by the owner/proprieter, and worth the long drive to the middle of nowhere to play. Bring a picnic lunch, lots of water and make a day of it.
Cons: No signs as of yet on the tees, and we got a little confused at one point, but there are maps and scorecards available near the parking area, so it wasn't too hard to navigate. The owner says that more tee markers are next on the 'to do' list.
Lots of bugs, mosquitos in the shade, deer flies in the sun. Wasn't really a problem out on the hilly holes with a good breeze, but the wooded holes were a little maddening. Bring bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Bring a dog treat for the 'official greeter'. Be sure and drop a donation in the can, I can imagine that keeping this course up must cost a bundle in gasoline for the mower. Private course, but an email or phone call to the owner was all that was required to play. If you are passing through Michigan, don't pass up this chance to play the best in the state.

35 of 43 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Heaven!

7/11/2008   7/11/2008
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
26 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is one of the top two courses I have ever played (Idlewild in northern Kentucky being the other). Flip City is less challenging than Idlewild, but more scenic and unique. The course designer, who we met after our round, is friendly and obviously cares very much about his creation. He must spend some serious $$$ to mow the extensive fairways and greens, so please donate some funds to his noble cause. The best part of this course is the array of rock gardens! Previous players have assembled boulders, pebbles, and marbles into stone sculptures. Some of these formations have grown into 10-ft. towers. We added stones to the piles as we played and contributed to this cool phenomenon. Go to Flip City and check out our work!
Cons: Many mosquitos...bring bug spray. No sign posts at the tees, but course maps are available at hole #1, so this was not a problem.
Other Thoughts: Cement tee pads are installed. Wind chimes are hung at various points in the course....adding to the atmosphere of the course. Finally, bring a Sharpie marker to sign the shelter at hole #12. Represent your 'hood! Cincy What?!?!

26 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Best of the Best ( FLIP CITY ROLLERS!)

5+    7/4/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2013
15 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: So, I've played this course about 100 times, and figured it was time to revamp my review as this was the 3rd review I ever made and set it up horribly.

Long Teepads on every hole (some have a little bit of damage but to my knowledge these are being fixed soon)

Attention to detail. This is one of those courses that is worked on by one man, and it's the most beautiful course I've seen. From the basket on 11 (seen from 12 and 1a meeting spot) to Flip City in the grass by hole 1. The fairways are always top notch and always getting better. The rock structures are awesome.

Experience, this is one of those courses I have camped at number (10 bucks a night for rustic camping per person) and it's a great time. Bill will come and take at your camp fire, plus waking up to play one of the best courses in Michigan is awesome.

Disc golf only. This course is not in a park it's on Bills land so it's only disc golf happening here.

Seating at most holes. I think only a hand full of holes don't have a place to sit.

Trash cans, Just like benches a lot of trash cans here, please don't litter.

Basket placement. I think about half the holes here have a chance to roll away (Flip City Rollers!)
Cons: For Pros holes are kind of short, but still the basket placement is soo good that even a missed put can add a stroke or two to some of the best.

No Tee signs (however there are maps and I really think the poles with the hole number adds to the field of dreams feeling)

No Dogs (I don't own a dog, but I understand why this rule is in place. He uses lawn care that can hurt animals and people weren't cleaning up after there pets)
Other Thoughts: There is a donation box by the score cards, i think everyone should throw something in there because it's defiantly worth it. Bill is an awesome guy, I can't wait to have my next trip up here.

Leagues are Wednesday at 6 PM during the summer, do not come then unless you want to play, as the park closes.

No Dogs, Please clean up after yourself, don't leave cans/butts/trash on the ground.

I've played 60 courses and maybe it's part homer, but I love this course. I look forward to playing it every time, and it seems like playing it with someone different opens so many new windows and ways to go about each hole.

15 of 39 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/18/2007   6/13/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2012
11 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: Course will test every shot in your bag. Unbelievable variety of holes. Elevation changes throughout. Owner has put many years into building a disc paradise. Unique rock formations everywhere.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Might sound corny, but until you've experienced Flip City, you're not a disc golfer.

11 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 WOW!

7/6/2004   11/15/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
13 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: What a course! This place is beautiful, I havent been in a few years since leaving Michigan, but this couorse is Top-notch. Beautiful terrain and forest, hard-work to keep the course in great condition (especially during tourney time) and an amazing community. Dont miss out on this one if your in the area.
Cons: Might have to make contact with the owner before visiting. Easy as making a phne call to let him know your coming out.
Other Thoughts: One of my Top 5 in the US.

13 of 33 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.