Shelby, MI
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4A (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4A Tee



Reviews: 190
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19
 

2-4    9/2/2010   7/29/2011
Review By: CKR-JK
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Elevation
A great wow factor.
Great challenge.
A place to camp if needed.
Cons: Not close enough to me to play more often.
I just cant see any major or minor falt with this course.
Other Thoughts: Bill is a great guy who has done a terrific job.

3 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Flipping Awesome

1    7/13/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: Ben17
Played: 60  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.2 Years
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well taken care of
Nicely groomed fairways
Broom at almost every hole
Nice baskets
Great use of elevation
Unique, but nice tee pads
Great variety of shots
Nice benches
Maps and scorecards at #1
Amazing rock structures
Nice pedestrians
Wonderful terrain
Cons: None that I can think of
Other Thoughts: Oh my god, where to even begin. This course is definitely one of the best in the world. It just puts together all of the things needed for a perfect course. I couldn't imagine a course any better than what this one has to offer. It is an all in one course. Some holes are short and narrow, while others are long and wide. It just makes you use every shot imaginable. It makes you think harder about one shot than you ever have. I just loved the diversity here.

Bill, he is a great guy. He definitely knows how to put together a perfect disc golf course. I came up on a mini vacation and camped out here. He made the experience a thousand times better. He just wants you to be satisfied by the time you leave the course. I know for a fact that I was very satisfied when I left here. He's a great guy and if any of you go, for sure say hi to him. Without Bill here the course would be no more. He loves this place like no other. So keep it clean.

Just overall this course gave me the expierence of a lifetime. I am from Ky and I live 5 minutes away from Idlewild. I don't know what course that I like better. They are just both magnificent. They both are perfect courses. When I came I was surprised how it was in the middle of no where. Regardless of where it is located, it is still on top of the world. The one little complaint I had was the tee signs. I know the give you a map at the beginning, but it could use to have better tee signs. The only other thing was the bugs. I know they can't control it but the bugs are everywhere. Just bring bug spray and you'll be good to go. Come here for a great time with Bill and the rest of Flip. Enjoy

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Truely Great

1    7/15/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: slash87
Played: 121  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.9 Years
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: WOW! I loved this course easily one of my favorites. THe first few holes don't seem real spectacular, but when you get to 5 and on I was just mind blown away. I loved the use of the rolling hills and rocky terrain. The rock structures throughout the course added a touch of class. Fairways were clean of garbage, clearly marked and fun just to look at. There are plenty of blind shots and not knowing the course made shot selection diffictult at times. If I had to pick a favorite hole it would have to be them anything from hole 5 on.
Cons: 2 things would be nice, a proshop on hand with water and discs and making it more stroller friendly. I pushed my son ina running stroller and parts were a bit difficult.
Other Thoughts: Having played Highbridge Hills Blueberry Hill course the day before and Blue Ribbon Pines early in the month this course beats them both. Blue Ribbon comes close but lacks in elevation change. Blueberry lacks mostly in grooming, but also just the feel of the course. THIS IS A MOST PLAY COURSE!

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Shelby Nirvana

5+    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: RedHotCujo
Played: 118  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.1 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A beautiful course with a wide variety of shots and varying elevations.
Perfectly laid out, easy to follow path with signs.
24 hole course including 6 alternate holes so you can play a quicker round of 18 or get the full experience with 24.
Great pin placement and challenging distance on many holes.
Isolated location and elegantly carved through many acres of rolling land.
Pretty forgiving on many holes.
Cons: *[*not really a con, but*]* Not beginner friendly as it is a long course utilizing a wide variety of shots.
Other Thoughts: With a good arm and decent aim, it is fairly easy to make par (3) on most holes and birdies are a viable option for a good portion of holes. Speaking as an amateur with a lot of different courses played and 8 years of experience, this is definitely my favorite course due to the amount of fun it is just to just play the course and experience the game of disc golf in pure Shelby nirvana. The course is amazingly kept and laid out and the sense of serenity and karma of the course is unmatched.
If you can make a trip to play a round here, DO IT!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Course

5+    6/11/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Valet
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course offers many different shot selections. Not overly long and all holes have obstacles. (Long 500' holes without any obstacles, in my opinion, are a complete waste.) Elevation changes were very nice and quite surprising as I wasn't expecting to hump it as much as I did. While many of the holes are short, they are not easy. Great fun factor, but also challenging. Brooms at almost every hole made it nice to be able to clean them off. Others playing the course were very nice. We arrived during leagues on Wednesday and got to meet many of the "locals". A lot of these guys are driving 45 min. - 1 hour to play each week! I think that says a lot about the course. Everyone we met was very cool and they offered good advice. Trash cans at almost every tee and awesome, conveniently placed "rest areas" along the way. Many shots require hitting your line, but you're not punished too badly on most holes if you miss that line. There are some tunnel shots though. The stacked rocks add to the mystique of the course.
Cons: Too far of a drive from Independence, KY (but it certainly was worth it.) Cell phone reception is spotty (try the tee on 18)
Other Thoughts: If you camp, watch out for the racoon. He's probably about 20 lbs fatter after eating our bacon, goetta, peanuts, etc... Bill was an awesome host. Got to enjoy a few drinks with him and learn the history of Flip. This course was very clean too. While talking to Bill, I learned a little bit about the time commitment to keep this course up and it takes a LONG time just to mow, not to mention emptying the trash cans. We spent 3 days at Flip and while it rained during the morning on 2 of the 3 days, it was still awesome and well worth the 7 hour trip. Bill has a beautiful course in his back yard and we are all very fortunate that he is willing to share it with us.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for EVERYONE

2-4    5/29/2011   6/16/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
26 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large piece of property that has an abundance of hills and forest. This is the definition of an area devoted to disc golf, no interference and no distractions. Holes are pretty much split between open with obstacles (trees, bushes, rock piles) and forested with defined lines. There are also those that enter/exit or play next to denser forest.
- Holes in the open provide some different looks; #1 is a blind shot over a hill and around a tree, #6 forces a wide shot either way, #11 is a nice valley shot, #4A has a semi-protected basket, each one has something to think about. Very few are truly open.
- A lot of other holes are in semi-open areas, meaning there are a ton of obstacles between you and the pin. This is usually in the form of large, wide trees that double as leafy death up top and trunk danger on bottom. With a lot of elevated tees/valley shots, the entire tree can be a hazard in different ways. Other holes have more trees off the teepad, to force a line right out of the gate. Others have lots of trees near the basket to force good shot placement. A large range of shots here - pictures do the justice.
- Good amount of holes in the woods as well, which demand a ton of accuracy and distance control. Multiple blind shots over hills to a sloping green, with huge punishment for going long, left, or right. Scattered trees also force some line control; having some trick shots or a good OH can be a lifesaver. Some other holes with straight up tight fairways or approaches, like #2's second shot (for most),and #3A and #18 off the tee.
- Hilliness is a constant factor here, on almost every single hole, no joke. #2 is kinda flat, maybe #9 and a few others, but it is the exception. Lots of valley shots for downs and ups, and some smaller hills for ups and downs. Elevated teepads on many holes, a pure uphill basket on #4 and #6, a steep downhill on #18, etc. etc.
- Great variety in holes distances, with 5 under 200', 7 over 350', with 4 over 440'. Lots in between as well. At the very least one par 4 (#2A, 670' double valley fairway with trees and bordering forest), with #2 a close call (502', into a low forest with lots of trees).
- Good teepads, baskets. Posts with hole numbers for signage, navigation is pretty straightforward. Everything is perfectly manicured and well taken care of.
Cons: - Biggest con here in my book is some repetetiveness. This is especially true for the smaller forest holes, throwing it straight and not too far is really about it. With super short lengths, a birdie usually just means you didn't screw up. Some of the valley shots feel similar as well, even after playing the course three times they still blend together a bit.
- While there are some hazards in the form of rock gardens and some rollaways/trenches, there is indeed no water and not many truly dangerous spots to go. Staying out of trouble in general can be very easy, playing it safe is always an option.
Other Thoughts: - Wow, what a course. Fun factor is off the charts, for the multitude of reasons listed above. The shorter hole lengths in spots reflect the age of this course, but the longer ones will make even the big arms bust out the drivers. Lots of fantastic, memorable holes that have a ton of challenge and character. The entire atmosphere, with camping, glow, hanging out with the designer and other peeps, is truly an experience. No doubt.
- Even with all the reasons above, Flip is just a tad one-dimensional to warrant a full 5 stars. The lack of deadly hazards, some similar holes, and dearth of par 4 holes hurt the rating. But what it does, it does magnificently. Everyone from beginners to experts should love it start to finish.

26 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 king of kings

1    9/5/2010   6/15/2011
Review By: THE GOV'NA
Played: 72  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 24 holes maximizes your time on this serene disc golf oasis.elevation change make this fun and challenging for this ohio boy.stone piles make for fun and interesting obstacles..fairways are nicely maintained and ruff has angles path to facilitate in finding lost discs...a+++
Cons: too far away from me...thats pretty much it
Other Thoughts: this is my ultimate summer vacation spot for every summer in the future..u can litterlly feel the history on the tees.keep up the good work and happy huking

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Dream Course

5+    6/11/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: Blonde Thunder
Played: 58  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/17/2012
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The beauty of the surroundings is the most obvious thing that makes this course special. The course flows through acre after of acre of gorgeous forest and rolling hills, which offer very scenic views from several spots on the course.
The lay-out of the course is the most important thing to me and the lay-out was great. Every hole offered some type of challenging drive and/or elevation change. Every hole had trees to avoid and landing zones to shoot for, with a steep price to pay for missing your line. Many of the baskets were set on steep hills for even more risk/reward opportunities.
The fairways are devoid of stumps and holes and are well-mowed (which must take forever) making for easy traversing.
The multitude of picnic tables, benches and gazebos placed throughout the course allow plenty of neat spots to take a break.
There are plenty of trash cans throughout the course.
The rough actually has paths mowed through them so you can search for your disc without having to walk through many weeds. I have never seen this before and I can't express how much easier it is to find a disc because of it, saving time, energy, and frustration.
Cons: The only bad thing about this course is that it isn't closer to my house.
Other Thoughts: This course is a four hour drive for me but it is worth every mile.
If you plan to camp, contact Bill ahead of time.
There is no electrical or running water for campers, so plan accordingly. There is a grocery store: fifteen minute drive through gorgeous forest for any supplies you might not have. Thank you Bill, you provide a special place for a lot of people.
Make the trip.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Flip City...WOW!

2-4    5/30/2011   6/8/2011
Review By: sidetrack
Played: 45  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: This is by far the best disc golf experience that i have had. Because of the peaceful environment that Bill has created, this place cant be beat by any public course. I was allowed to play day and night golf, camp, cook out, and most of all relax....thanks. I am from Texas and i will be back with another group garunteed! Thanks again Bill
Cons: none!
Other Thoughts: When it comes to the overall picture...Bill you rock!

5 of 16 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/30/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 62  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2013
17 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The 5 star rating on this site is reserved for "The best of the best" and Flip deserves that distinction. Flip plays through the most gorgeous disc golf only land I've ever played, and every hole is its own unique challenge.

A hole-by-hole breakdown would be redundant, as previous reviews have done a good job describing each shot. The difficulty of Flip definitely requires an advanced skill set to score well, but I think for most players coming here to score well is like going to Hooters for the wings. The shorter tees reduce the difficulty, but I think you have to play from the longs to fully enjoy what the course has to offer. Even if the difficulty slaps you around, the experience of playing the course will stay with you as long as you disc.

Aside from the play itself, there is an aura about Flip that helps it earn a 5 star rating. I know it's a completely subjective thing to a rate a course based on its aura, but there's just something about driving down a dirt road in the middle of nowhere to play disc in some dude's back yard that is just awesome. Moreover, the rock structures, gazebos, and benches around the course give you plenty of unique spots to chill and enjoy the scenery between holes. I didn't camp here, but the set up in the front of the property looks like a cool place to spend a night.
Cons: My only beef with the actual play of the course was 3A. I didn't feel like there was a legitimate line to the basket, and it basically feels like you're just throwing into a bunch of trees and hoping to get lucky. 2A is probably the most difficult hole to score well on, so these two back to back can lead to some frustration.

Other reviews mention the lack of stairs on some of the steeper hills. This shouldn't be an issue for most players, but if you're playing with somebody who has mobility issues, this might be a legitimate concern.

The back of the course is pretty buggy so bring some spray.
Other Thoughts: Plain and simple, traveling to and playing Flip is an experience that will stay with you. It's the type of place that warrants the time and money it takes to get there. Thanks to Bill for sharing this course with every disc golfer willing to make the trip.

17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 19

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.