Shelby, MI
Flip City Disc Golf Park Share
Uploaded By: Mark R Hole #13 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 416ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 190
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 19
 Absolutely AMAZING!

1    5/28/2011   5/31/2011
Review By: KnownKiller
Played: 64  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Everything is fantastic about this course. Beautiful landscaping, very well kept course, Good variety of holes, camping on-site, Easy navigation from hole-to-hole. The rock formations are so cool! If you go there and don't like it there really is something wrong.
Cons: No water holes. This is probably just me but I like a one or two good water holes. But still just a very minimal con.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time and knowing its not very far from where I normally am it sure won't be my last. The designer sure did know what he was doing. If you go there and don't like it there really is something wrong. There are markings everywhere on the course whether its in the rocks or the shed showing how many people are there and how far they have traveled. Just showing up to "quickly" play this course I would say isn't allowed. It took me almost 3 hours to play after taking my time to thoroughly enjoy the landscape and the course in general.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: trpegr
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Best course in the country! The Augusta National of disc golf courses. This course is incredible during the day and even more fun at night.
Cons: Hole #18 is not the most majestic finishing hole but that does not take away from the entire experience that is Flip City.
Other Thoughts: It is a great thing to end your round and be only yards away from your campsite.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: Jeffro Skull
Played: 103  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: ... blah, blah, blah. GO PLAY THIS COURSE!
- lots of variety


Cons: only that I wish this was my property!
OK to be a little more more critical the shorter shots are nothing spectacular (this is fixed by the addition of the 6 bonus holes)



Other Thoughts: Kudos to Bill... thanks for the great experiance!

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Worth the Wait

2-4    5/21/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 105  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
23 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, I've been planning a trip to Flip City for what seems like a couple of years now. I finally got the chance to play the course and camp onsite. I've got to join the chorus and say that Bill's the man. The guy's hospitality to total strangers blows me away. And the course is no joke either.

The variety of hole shape and length here is outstanding. Big elevation changes that are used to their greatest potential, check. Tees with good traction and enough room, check. Holes that put a smile on your face each time you step up to the tee, check. Nice baskets (nothing sucks more than a great hole with a junk basket to ruin rewarding birdie ops), check. Easy flow from hole to hole with no navigation issues, check. Scorecards with maps at first tee, check. Onsite camping, check. Remarkably clean port-a-john(s), check. Glow golf, check. Roofed chill spots mid-course, check.

It's difficult to make an 18 hole course where each hole presents a different challenge. Bill has 24 different tee shots at Flip City. Left, right, uphill, downhill, over a hump, over a valley, flat with the pin on an elevated hillside; this place has them all. There are only a few holes that I would call mostly open. Most holes consist of grassy, well-defined fairways through trees. The rock cairns are a great touch and just add to the character of this one of a kind course.
Cons: The main negative for me, and it's a small one, is the lack of informative tee signs. There are low black and white posts, topped with copper caps, featuring the hole numbers. I would prefer signs with basic hole maps and distances, but this is really nitpicking since the distances are listed on the scorecard. There are also a couple holes that I feel are too plinkoesque, and therefore more luck than skill based.
Other Thoughts: Camping at Flip was sweet. It felt very peaceful; there was only one other group camping there the weekend we stayed there. We went to sleep under the kind of starry night that us city folk don't often get to experience; and awoke to numerous birdcalls.
Great course, great atmosphere, great proprietor, please hook Bill up. It costs a lot is gas and time to keep the course in the great shape that its in.

23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 What hasn't been said?

5+    8/5/2010   5/5/2011
Review By: kizzle54
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: - Several memorable holes... 2, 4, 5, etc.

- Great use of landscaping. The course has one hilltop that intersects a couple of holes and there is a nice little bench and chilaxing area.

- Great mixture between long distance and technical holes.

- Pristinely maintained. We're talking boarder line flawless...

- Super friendly privately owned property.
Cons: - Only one flaw, can't get enough! No, but seriously its a pretty challenging course so I would advise beginners to stay away if its your first couple times.
Other Thoughts: Just brilliant. I can't really say much else that hasn't already been said on these reviews.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

1    4/17/2011   4/17/2011
Review By: Chaching92
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
5 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: A great course that provides the ultimate discing experience. Among the strong points:

A wide variety of terrain allows this course to be one of the most enjoyable out there.

Suitable for beginners or experts. My first time playing here was only my 4th time out and I LOVED IT.

Fun little extras keep the course feeling refreshing, such as the rock gardens and shelters at certain holes.

Friendly atmosphere with no sense of rush among players.
Cons: Not too much. The course can be a little hard to find for the first time but the drive out is part of the experience.
Other Thoughts: Great Course. Worth driving several hours to camp and play for a day.

5 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  Shelby Nirvana!

5+    8/18/2010   4/7/2011
Review By: Dubbleya
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: What can you say about a course that no matter how you're preforming at the time, you're always happy. The layout is phenomenal! This course flows! The beautiful elevated tee shots and awesome rock piles make for an awesome discing experience.
Cons: Hmmm..... Nothing comes to mind!
Other Thoughts: There's a reason this course is the highest rated on this site!

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Solid 24 holes

2-4    5/23/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: The Doctor
Played: 61  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2011
3 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: The course is amazing. Definitely an open caliber course. Has an exceptional variety that makes play enjoyable by all. The little things are what counts here, such as the stone sculptures found along the course.
Cons: Its only one course.
Other Thoughts: Its definitely a must play every year.

3 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Definitely Worth the Trip

2-4    6/21/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
37 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: No matter where in the top 10 you place Flip, one thing is for sure- this is definitely in the elite level of DG courses. What is amazing is how spacious and nice this 24 hole course is for being a private course. Just about all of us dream of designing our own private course and Flip definitely sets the standard.

Variety and Memorable- The course is extremely well-designed. From the first tee to the final basket, every hole has its own personality. I can still vividly picture each individual hole as there is no repetition from hole to hole. The first time you play here you have no idea as to what is coming up for the next hole. The course has a mix of open, moderately wooded, heavily wooded & level, up, down & a variety of distances. The attention to detail also stands out, nicely mowed fairways, all the rock formations, and the ease of navigation stand out in my memories.

Challenging yet Fun, not Frustratingly Difficult- This will not be the hardest course you have ever played, but there is something challenging on every hole you have to navigate. Pinpoint accuracy is not really necessary on most holes but there are places where the rough is punishing if you miss the fairway. On the other hand there are many holes with multiple options available so as not to favor one specific throwing style.

Holes- The weakest holes for me were 1-2 (chance to warm up) and 24 (good hole, but not a great finishing hole), but even these holes are better than average holes on most other courses. I also like that the option for skipping the 6 holes in the middle of the course in order to just play 18 involves no out of the way walking. (Not that they need to be skipped, but they are a little harder than the rest of the course.) This spot is at the top of a hill where all the holes intersect providing a terrific vista of much of the course.
Cons: Not much, Flip just lacks a couple of small things:

Tee Signs- I personally prefer larger, traditional style tee signs with distance and map. Yes, the scorecard has it, and yes, there are small tee markers that are relatively new and sufficient, and I know tee signs cost money, I am just comparing it to what pros other courses have that this does not.

Water- Along the same lines, the course has no water holes (as everyone else has noted), not the course's or course designer's fault since the land has no water, but again ponds, creeks, etc. are generally considered pros for other courses.

Stairs- There is a bit of elevation and I was fine with the hill climbs, but stairs would make nice a nice addition in a couple of spots.
Other Thoughts: Flip is really far away from most of the US population, but all DG fanatics should make the exodus at some point. The nice thing is all the other great courses in Michigan that are nearby and on the way. (Beauty and Beast and Leviathan help to justify the travel costs for coming here.) Also, note that if you use Google Maps/GPS that there are two Shelby, Michigans!!! And the one not near Flip is usually the default.

I may never make it back to Flip City again, but I will always want to because this was one of the most enjoyable rounds I have ever played! Thanks Bill!

37 of 40 people found this review helpful.

  Flip City: Disc Golf's Mecca

2-4    10/23/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: Beavis
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12 Years
26 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where to start? Firstly, being able to camp next to a nice fire pit less than 100 feet from the first tee was a HUGE bonus; especially considering that most campgrounds in the area wanted around $30 for the night and no disc golf. Great accommodations at a reasonable rate (say hello to Bill and throw him a few bones for the fuel used maintaining the course; thanks again, Bill).
As far as the course, wow. Every hole maintains a character all its own. There is a little of everything: uphills, downhills, bend left, bend right, straight open fairways, tight "Plinko" style fairways littered with magnetic trees, high risk-high reward pin placements, blind drives, impossibly long holes, and short scoring holes. The course is easy to navigate, even without the map and scorecard provided. The expertly crafted layout is only enhanced by the variety of trees and brush along the beautifully mowed fairways. There are plenty of "chill zones" to rest and take a breather. To add even further to the magical nature of this course, numerous rock formations seem to grow out up from the ground like they were summoned by ancient wizards centuries before the introduction of disc golf to mankind. He built it and we came, twice. It's not a course, it's an experience.
Cons: The 24 existing holes are works of art that no one can replicate. Therefore, the only thing that comes to mind is that Bill should buy the Upper Peninsula and create Flip Nation.
Other Thoughts: Thanks, Bill. You are a true inspiration and the state of Michigan is lucky to have you as a resident!

26 of 28 people found this review helpful.

1 2 ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 19

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.