Disc Golf Store
Wadsworth, OH 
Wadsworth Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: Mike C Hole #8 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 258ft.   3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Potential

1    7/10/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Potential
Cons:
Single (natural, rutted in places) tee locations / single basket position.

Basket-9 (relatively) far from tee-1.

A few holes play too close to non-player traffic.
Other Thoughts:
The course starts you off with three wooded holes - an elevated tee position, midpoint left-turner, of middling distance; a short, downslope, gentle-right with a walking-path wide fairway; followed by a flatter/straighter version of the preceding hole. Hole-4 requires a touch left-turn late, otherwise you find woods too (early) or a bush/tree clump (too late). Number-5 is the first hole of any length, mostly open, with a walking path in the background. The challenge of wide open #6 is the basket having water close behind and left, with ob-pavement right. Number 7 starts open but enter a window after ~100', then needing a sharp left and a run through lots of clutter to find the basket - laying up just inside the window is safest. Finally, 8&9 play in a grassy area containing scattered trees, and have some length to them. A few decent holes, but after finishing number-9, you feel as if a tweak here, a trim there, and an upgrade to tees/signs, and the course could be much better. The course just doesn't see complete, and you hope it isn't.

Caveat: I have no idea what funding/land use restrictions were placed upon the designer. That said, there is potential here for a decent course. Only a fraction of the available grassy area containing scattered trees is utilized (by holes 8&9). A more open area with a steeper slope wasn't taken advantage of. On the other side of the pond, an edge of a woods, with scattered hardwoods just off to the side, and on a bit of a slope, wasn't used. Finally, open space behind the football field seems available. Add all these up, and you certainly have room for nine more holes, with the last hole finishing not too far from tee-1.

From tee-8, the most visible basket, far in the distance, is number-9. Basket-8 is immediately to the right of the swings you throw through, behind a copse of trees. Tee-9 is on the road. Sign-less (except for number-1) posts indicate the tee location.

OK for locals, wouldn't recommend for travelers (unless bagging is your thing), and hope new holes can be added and tees/signs upgraded, which could result in a solid course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ugh

1    7/26/2011   11/7/2011
Review By: Billy K2
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2014
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Intresting hole designs
Nice lake on last hole
A lot of potental
Cons: Could use some cleared fairways.
very narrow
9 dosent end by 1
only 9 holes
A tree was down blocking the 7th basket
muddy
Other Thoughts: Its not worth the time.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tantalizing

1    8/11/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Imaginative layout, decent use of the available land
~Fresh baskets
~Cool park, good family destination
~Should develop nicely with age
Cons:
~Hole 1 to 9 doesn't form a loop
~Fairways on wooded holes need much more clearing
~Open holes play dangerously close to other activities
~Natural tees need some addressing
~No need for anything more than a putter and a few mids
~Had difficulty finding where the course starts
Other Thoughts:
This was the last stop on my Medina area excursion. Ended up circling around the park twice and finally parked in a small lot near the No. 7 tee (this actually ended up being a wise spot to park). Got out, left the drivers in my truck and started back tracking the course until I found the No. 1 tee. There is a small kiosk next to the start, but for whatever reason I never noticed it both time I drove through. A putter/mid off the tee type 9-hole course that is crazy interestingly fun. The first handful of holes play through a tight wooded area and are challenging as it generally takes 2 good putter throws to leave yourself with a par chance. These fairways are fresh and lots of additional clearing/widening are necessary. Out of the woods you work away along a large pond then onto Hole 7 which throws over a steep ravine (another crazy fun 2 putter throw hole). The last two holes are longer and among some mature trees as well as a swingset. My major issue with the course is how close you are to a heavily used walking path and playground equipment once you emerge from the woods. If they can address these issues it would make play better for everybody. The park is very big and I wonder if there is a plan to expand to a full 18 in the future, if so this would be a great compliment to Roscoe Ewing in nearby Medina.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Still being created

2-4    8/7/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Please note that at the time of this review the course is still being constructed.
- Plenty of parking and there is a top notch kids play area called Kaleidescope next to Hole #1's Tee.
- There is a sign for the entrance to the park and there is also a nice billboard for the course next to Hole #1's Tee
- The map is very simple but accurate
- Natural tees are in decent condition
- Baskets are new and in fantastic condition
- There is a decent mix of shots required. Hole #2 has a lot of obstacles and may take the longest to decide what type of throw to do. A good decision is needed as some of the rough here is Very Rough. You can actually find yourself in extremely tough spots to even pitch out on with the first 4 holes. By the time I finished 9 holes I had thrown nearly all the shots I know of including a roller which is handy on Hole #8. Hole #8 currently has some trees to be cleared and leads to a blind basket to the right with a low overhang.
- The baskets were placed in some very nice and challenging shots. For example, #4 & #8 are tucked behind trees that you need to go around and #5 is in a line of trees challenging you to risk a shot that turns left or try for the right turn or straight shot.
- The scenery is pretty, the course plays around a pond in the middle with quite a few different kinds of birds that frequent the area. The landscape does not have large rolling hills but this course is not totally flat. You will find yourself throwing over a few small ravines and over some small hills.
- The park has good upkeep and the grass is always cut. This area can get very muddy though so beware in the rainy season and after big storms.
- The disc golf course is not very busy by disc golfers but the park itself may have some visitors walking on the path or fishing in the pond. Holes of concern are #5 which has a picnic table in the fairway and #8 which has a parking area to the left and a swing set straight ahead.
- Hole #6 is a very fun, short throw at a basket with the pond directly behind it. It's short enough that you really want that birdie but the water a few feet away makes this a fun, gut-wrenching hole.
- There is no vandalism now except for the stolen basket on #3, but the club that is building this course fixed the other parts of the destroyed property very quickly
Cons: - The natural tees are not yet marked but there is a post in the ground that is labeled with the hole number
- Signs have not yet been installed for tees or for next tee's
- Still some clearing to be done yet on a few holes. There are trees marked for removal. #8 still needs some trees removed so that you are not trying to throw a right turn around the trees which makes you initially aiming at a swingset. Maybe the tee for #8 could be moved far to the right to make this hole safer? Also, this hole does play into #9's fairway a bit. There was a group behind us and their drives landed in front of as we were tee'ing off at #9.
Other Thoughts: - Another good course to bring the family to. Hit up the playground, have a picnic in one of the pavilions and grill some food. Then hit a quick round on this small course.
- The flow at this time is very off because only the first 9 holes are installed and when you finish the 9th hole you are very far from #1's tee. Having said that, the flow works very well for the first 9 holes. Baskets lead right into the next tees in most circumstances. A few next tee signs could be used for #4 to #5, #6 to #7 & #7 to #8. Note that #7 is actually across the street.
- The baskets are somewhat close to the tees on the first 4 holes. I won't list this as a Con because I believe they are far enough away to not be a total danger, this is just an FYI so that you warrant some consideration and keep an eye out for other golfers.
- This may be a short course, with no holes over 315' and 7 holes under 300', but it is an intelligent use of the land available and I am excited to see the course when it is finished.
- I'm sure there are multiple bathrooms but I did not look for them
- The course is semi-challenging right now. It's easy to get a 5 if you find yourself with a bad tree bounce but nearly all the holes have ace potential. Great place for a beginner and rec player to be challenged.
- My favorite hole was a tough decision. I really enjoyed hole #6 & #7. #6 has that tight shot at the water with the nice view of the park but if I had to choose, I'd say #7 is my favorite. This is the longest hole on the course at 315' and it leads to a small hill then down into a small ravine with a bridge then fades left to the pin which on top of a small hill. The fairway is very tight but there is a path to the basket through the clearing with low overhanging branches.
- At this time it is not a destination course but I am excited about having this course here. The club that is creating this course right now is doing a lot of hard work and I'm sure that the end result will be a course that is much higher rated than I am rating it right now. I of course will be back to update my review then to give the course a proper rating. Huge thanks to the club running this project.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  needs an overhall

1    7/29/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: snowren24
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice facilities, though most are not used well. great looking lake. Really a nice looking park.

new baskets

a mix of wooded and open holes

Cons: short, many are 150ft ish

Dangerous: the walking path comes into play on most of the holes that aren't in the woods. and the one hole that doesn't, plays THROUGH a swing set.

Another danger is that the tee boxes are almost withing the 30ft circle of the prior basket on some holes.



Still needs a lot of clean up
Other Thoughts: I understand that this is a new course, and it needs some TLC. My judgements have nothing to do with this. The design is just poor. Its thrown together, with no concern of for the safety of non golfers and golfers alike.

There is a beautiful pavilion on site, why not start the course there. It would be perfect for running events. the sign for the course might even bring new people into the game who are using the pavilion for other reasons.

why does hole 8 play to the left of the shule therefore making the swing set be in the fairway. If you design it to the right, you avoid the danger and that area behind it looks great for a fairway.

This course really feels thrown together, which shocks me for how long the fund raising process to to get baskets.

Im hoping tha this place gets redesigned, it really is a nice park, it would be a shame for those baskets to really go to waste, along with the people putting it together's time. And an even bigger shame for some one to get hurt, and if the current layout remains, it will only be a matter of time before someone does.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course is not quite finished

5+    7/24/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Matt O
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes don't seem repetitive, although they are short. They did a pretty good job of fitting this course into a park that has a lot of other things going on. Nice new baskets (as of this review hole 3 basket is still missing). For now it's good for a beginner to prepare for a more challenging course, i.e. Portage Lakes. There's a nice playground next to the parking area, I can come here with my wife and daughter and still sneak in a round.
Cons: The only major problems are the result of this being a new course (signs, tees, etc.), but this will improve eventually. Some of the baskets are close to the walking path, and one of the fairways contains a seldom used swing set. I have never had any trouble with this, as you can easily see if anyone is nearby.
Other Thoughts: I live in Wadsworth and am very excited to have a course close by. For now, this isn't a destination course. I know there are plans to install the back nine when the funding comes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I'd be more than happy to help redesign

1    7/23/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1155  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 26.4 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice park for a DG course (plenty of room from what I saw for a good 18 hole DGC)

NEW DGA baskets

Bulletin Board
Cons: basket # 3 was missing

Teeing area was very close to baskets ( there isn't any need to cramp this DGC together <let alone basket- tee pad areas>)

no tee signs or markers pointing the player in the direction of the next hole (Granted this is a new DGC, but...... (I would suggest using some kind of colored duct tape on a spoke in the basket well that points the player in the direction of the next teeing area), if you don't have the funds for tee signs.

spray painted tee boards. (Very hard to locate, I would suggest using surveyor's flagging sticks < they're not that expensive>)

(IMHO) baskets # 4,5,6, & 7 are to close to the walking path and # 7 basket is pretty darn close to a picnic table (move the table elsewhere, please)

# 8's basket appears to be in # 9's fairway (at least it was when I was putting out today)
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me alot of the Northwestway Park in Indianapolis as the baskets are very very close to a walking path (very dangerous).

I wish nothing but the best for the people of this community who use this park and DGC but if the designer needed some help I'm sure either myself, the Jenkins family (from Medina) could of helped put in a safer more enjoyable DGC in Veterans Park.

Watch your speed driving through Wadsworth.

my rating will change if the said above is changed or added

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Easy But Enjoyable 9 Hole Course

2-4    7/22/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Mike C
Played: 41  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The course has good scenery variety with the first 3 holes and hole 7 playing through woods, and the rest playing through a more open but moderately wooded park.

-Most the holes feature mild, gradual elevation changes, with a few steeper areas throughout. The fairways are a mix of pretty wide open to fairly wooded, but never very demanding in length or number of obstacles. There are some interesting turns on a few holes that keep things interesting, such as 7's various elevation changes.

-Fresh baskets. Basket placements were well done too. They were generally tucked behind corners or trees to make getting the birdie a little tricky, which helps add a little challenge.

-Short, beginner friendly holes with a few tighter fairways that demand some line shaping.

-Grills, tons of benches, tennis court, long walking trail, multiple pavilions, multiple playgrounds...I think I saw bathrooms too.

-The people involved in building the course seem dedicated to creating an enjoyable course, so I'm sure it will progress nicely.
Cons: -No tees. Tee areas are indicated by fading orange spray paint at the moment. I put some twigs in the ground near some of the teepads to make them easier to spot.

-No tee signs. No next tee signs. No numbers on baskets.

-Long walk from 9 to the parking area by 1. You could park in the middle, or if they add more holes this could be fixed.

-8 has a swing set near its fairway, which could make the hole difficult to throw if it were being used.

-For a skilled player there won't be much challenge. While it's certainly an enjoyable course, it doesn't offer much length, very many technical shots or difficult lines. For the most part, if you can throw a decent 250' hyzer backhand and forehand (Or BH turnover etc.), you'll have this park covered.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me a lot of Louisville's Wildwood. While it's pretty short and not very demanding, it's still a solid, enjoyable 9 hole that's worth playing. It's not a destination course, but if you're in the area or heading out to Roscoe Ewing it'd be worth playing.

It looks like there is room for another 9 holes, and that way hole 18 could end closer to 1 than 9 currently does. Based on the quick google research I did it looks like they plan to put up signage etc. over the summer and then expand the course to 18 holes next year or when they get enough sponsors. Good to hear.

I'll be stopping by frequently to assess progress and enjoy the course. I work 2 miles away so this will give me something else to do on my lunch break than practice putts on my practice basket. I'm really happy to have a course so close by.

The Facebook page said they were looking for feedback on how to improve the course, but I don't have a Facebook so I'll leave it here and hope they see it: Next tee signs, teesigns, tee's, another 9 holes, clear out a few trees on the first part of hole 2, consider a set of long tees (Even just kickboards or something simple) for players looking for increased challenge (Or I'll make up my own :) ). Thanks for putting the course together!

The course rating will be raised as teepads, signage etc. are installed.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.