Oakley, KS 
Annie Oakley Park Share
Uploaded By: markjfun Hole #8 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 385ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Luckily, I Played The Course At Sunrise!

1    10/19/2015   10/30/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, How cool is it to play in a park named after the legendary Annie Oakley? The small town of Oakley has filled this smallish city park with gazebos, picnics shelters, monuments, neat playground climbing areas, a swimming pool, ball fields and just about anything else ever to be placed in a city park. Therein lies the biggest problem here, the popularity of the park versus the space needed by us disc golfers. I was almost able to solve this dilemma by arriving just before sunrise although I still was met with safety concerns.

The course has these small concrete tee pads measuring just 3' x 7'. Although extra small, they are flush with the ground so a decent run-up can be made with no problem. The tee signs are the old school fiberglass models and the signs are DGA models with the red numbers on top.
The course plays as a recreational length with distances from 230' to 430'. The problem as every other reviewer has referenced is the fact that this course would be such a safety nightmare when the park is busy with use. I don't see how this park could be played on summer evening at 7 pm.

For instance, on # 8, the best route to the basket would take you right through the picnic shelter. On # 9 from the long tee, you're throwing over the parking lot and presently, construction is in progress on still another playground area in the lawn area there, near the swimming pool, adding yet another safety concern.

Cons: The layout, playing through so many of the park's busiest areas, might make many holes unplayable at peak times.

Howling western Kansas winds only adds to the safety concerns.

Smallish tee pads.

Even at 6:30 am, I still had to be extra cautious as a lone car parked near the # 8 basket. I was just careful and threw a roller so as to completely rule out bouncing a disc off their windshield.
Other Thoughts: I agree with scarpfish about those globe lights. After seeing them, I was concerned about hitting one and could totally see someone's disc shattering one.

I guess I was lucky not to have notice any feed lot odor this morning. The way the wind was blowing, the odor would have been blown north to Nebraska or Iowa or someplace. They probably wouldn't notice it up there, would they?

The course is a nice stop along I-70. I guess the secret is not to stop during any normal park usage hours. This kinda limits your pit stops to hours of total darkness, severe blizzard conditions and summer hours between 5 am and 6:30 am. Enjoy your throw here!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Small Town Park

1    6/13/2015   8/4/2015
Review By: DiscChaserDoug
Played: 86  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
- well kept park
- tee signs with yardage/pars
- pretty good use of a small area
-short tee pads
-Couple holes where people using park could cause issues
Other Thoughts: The park isn't very long, but really quite fun to play. It would be good for beginners or just a chance to stretch your arm and legs if traveling. The only hole I found to somewhat difficult was the 5th hole around the baseball field. It had length, trees and OB. Hole 8 could be an issue but I got a good drive and landed it on the strip hosting the basket for a birdie. The baskets were a bit older but in good shape. The tee pads are only 4' long but good news is they are flat with the ground so you can use space behind and in front of them. There were a couple of basket placements that could be issues because of manmade obstacles being used by people.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfers vs. Park Visitors

1    11/21/2012   11/23/2012
Review By: markjfun
Played: 81  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For me, Annie Oakley Park was an ideal location along I-70 to stop and play a new course during my 7 hour drive across Kansas. It was refreshing to see from the previous review that the course had cement tee pads and was in a well-maintained park, so I had high hopes that perhaps the throwing angles weren't quite as bad as they were made out to be. But those hopes were dashed upon standing at each tee pad and realizing that the layout puts everyday park visitors (runners, children at play, baseball outfielders, picnickers, etc.) directly between disc golfers and the baskets. As is the case when designing any disc golf course, you have to use what land and park space is available to you... but you certainly don't have to aim the fairways of the holes straight toward a myriad of playground equipment or between two narrowly-spaced gazebos! With that primary complaint stated, the course had a few positives worth mentioning.

What it has going for it:
- Concrete tee pads
- Pro and amateur tee pad options on a few of the holes
- Quality Mach 5 baskets
- The park is easily accessible from I-70
- The course is in a maintained park
- Holes are pretty challenging and do vary in length
Cons: The pungent smell of Oakley's cattle feed lot is one to be reckoned with. It will curl your nose hairs on a warm summer day. And if that doesn't scare you away, you just might be swept away by the relentless, ever-present howling winds of western Kansas. Also, the lack of tee signs makes it difficult for newcomers to find the next tee AND the baskets, many of which are not visible at all from the tee. Here is a quick list of my grievances.

Where it falls short:
- Dangerous layout that puts park users in harm's way of flying discs
- Wind, wind, wind
- Feed lot odor
- No tee signs at all and no main course sign
- No public restrooms
- Hole #1 does not start by the main parking lot, although hole #18 does end near it
Other Thoughts: Please understand that I was raised for 22 years in Kansas and am not bad-mouthing the state or Oakley at all. It's just that this course could have been designed with so much more tact and creativity than it was. If you're a local, the course probably serves you well, but for those wanting to play an uplifting course en route to bigger and brighter destinations, avoid the whipping winds, potential disc-to-human collisions and foul feed lot odors by playing one of the many other courses along I-70.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Yeah, just aim between the picnic shelters and the gal pushing the baby stroller.

1    7/11/2011   7/17/2011
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 330  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 12.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Okay recreational level course in a very well maintained park. Two holes with dual tees. Nice baskets. Has some decent length holes and some very tight lines to hit for such a small town course. If you can get past the fact that many of the obstacles are other park amenities and people's cars this can be quite the challenge.
Cons: This course is a safety nightmare. The park can be very busy with other activities such as the swimming pool, ball fields, or pedestrians. There are also these really neat globe lights along the sidewalks just waiting for some disc golfer to shatter them (check out the picture to Hole 1).
Other Thoughts: I'm glad to see a small town like Oakley have a course, but in all honesty, this really borders on the line of "this probably shouldn't have been installed". The one saving grace here probably is that there aren't that many disc golfers in the area so it probably gets light usage. Not far off I-70 and maybe worth a look, but if you hate this kind of course, I'd just keep on driving. Best recommended to play when the park isn't busy (i.e. early morning, before the pool is open, or when school is in session).

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.