Littleton, CO 
Ken Caryl DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 (Aug 2008)



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Time Machine Golf!

1    9/6/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing this course is like jumping in a Delorean, flipping on the time circuits, powering up the flux capacitor and going back in time to 1978. This has got to be on the few courses left on the planet that still has 35 year old mach 1 baskets on it in somewhat working conditions. The great Steady Ed designed this course so long ago and was probably a really awesome course at the time when everyone was throwing beach frisbees. In that spirit I used my SuperClass disc (Zephyr) on this course and had a blast. It's a fun short course, all ace runs here!

I saw older adults, kids and even a Grandma playing this course while I was here, very family friendly not only because of the length but also it's in a private club so very little vandalism or unsavory characters. Navigating this course is as easy as pie and getting a round in takes less than 20 minutes.
Cons: Disc Technology has destroyed most of the challenge of this course at this point but it really doesn't matter much as it is just a fun ace run course. That being said leave the sharp discs at home and throw the lid around here. This is a course to introduce your kids to not for serious golfers.

The baskets are 35 years old and they are in great shape for being that old however several of the baskets have missing sections that have been replaced with wire. A few of the baskets have been replaced altogether with newer mach 3's.

This course gets VERY busy and can't handle much more than one or two groups anyway. I saw several large groups of families playing here at nine o clock in the morning and it can get a bit frustrating with all of the waiting and ducking for your life.
Other Thoughts: This is not a destination course but if you love the Father of Disc Golf, Steady Ed Headrick and you love to see history in action then I recommend you come and here and have fun. Just make sure your time machine has enough juice to get back to the present day!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Old-School Steady Ed

2-4    7/16/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl is a very nice course in nice park in nice neighborhood. It makes for a good beginner course, or mids and putter course for experience players, or even an ace race (8 of the 9 holes are legit ace runs for most people.)

The course is relatively short, but still has plenty of trees to avoid. Requires shot variety- various lengths, left, right, and straight. The fairways are very green and grassy and there is no chance to lose discs. The concrete tees and baskets are in good shape.

And of course I must mention that anytime you get a chance to play a historic Steady Ed designed course, then do it.
Cons: This course (like most in the Denver city area) is popular and is often played and can get crowded in a hurry. It is in a small area with tees close to baskets and holes close to one another. Could be issues of throwing in to people or getting thrown in to.

Baskets were fine, but the course had two different styles- some were old while others were new- too bad when some of the baskets were upgraded that all of them weren't.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this Ed course, going for aces and racking up birdies. We played it twice in a short amount of time. There were lots of other people playing, but everyone was friendly and all were having a good time.


If I lived in Denver, and was introducing somebody to disc golf, I would take them here first. If coming in town for a disc golf vacation, this one is skippable, unless just driving by and you want to play an older classic Ed course then it is worth a stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another course on the belt

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its a disc golf course. Nice and established. Good parking, some cool shots.

Cons: very small space for nine holes, green and fairways very close.
Other Thoughts: I am glad i made it over to Ken Caryl. Very nice part of town.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play it safari style but it's still a zoo

1    1/11/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 133  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with concrete tee pads
Tolerable baskets
Plenty of trees to add to the challenge.
Cons: Super short holes
Tee numbers on wood poles are worn to the bone and sometimes impossible to read
Course map seems to freestyle or safari the original course design thus causing confusion and some "swimming upstream" against other golfers flow.
Other Thoughts: The nine holes here are on a plot of land about the size of a football field thus some of them feel like they are about 80-100 ft. There are a lot of trees on this plot of land that add to the challenge and make it fun. If you make up your own layout for the course you can turn it into something challenging but to do this you must have the entire course to yourself which seems like it would be rare. It seemed to me that nobody plays this course as it was originally laid out, but nobody follows the course map on this site either, so ultimately you get a disc golf demolition derby with different groups shooting criss cross all over the place. This place has a lot of potential for a pitch and putt experience but it needs a lot of fixing up and clarification before that's going to happen.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Putt Putt Disc golf

5+    10/21/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I believe it was the first course in the state and one of the first in the country. A bit of history if you will. Lots of trees and hard shots to make despite the lack of distance the longest is hole 5 at 250 or there abouts.
Cons: Its short, very short. The average hole is around 100'. It can get pretty busy and waiting behind people who play there for recreation rather than practice and more competetive endeavors, can suck. The baskets are a mix and match of old and new. Some of them have wire with zip ties on the bottom to prevent discs falling out.
Other Thoughts: Despite this being a very short course, it is still fun and technical with the vast amount of trees on the few acres it is on. Great place to come out with just your putters and a midrange to work on your touch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Shorty in a Decent Setting with Good Scenery

2-4    12/25/2010   3/27/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl is great for chasing aces. Most of the holes here are reachable. I'm sure more serious golfers would be thinking two on almost every hole. It is in a very nice neighborhood and the private club seems to be fond of having the disc golf course on their property. In spite it being listed as private, the course is as accessible as any other without any gates to cross or anyone to check in with. The park, the club and the neighborhood are all pretty clean.

Being in the southwest part of metro Denver makes it a great warm up for Beaver Ranch or Phantom Falls for a course bagger. The place is well marked but since the course is so short it's not needed. The baskets are numbered and the course is very easy to follow and if there are not crowds you could play many holes in a short amount of time. In spite of my low rating I still rate it high on the fun factor.
Cons: On the other hand there are the negatives of a short course. The crew behind me were running to their discs and throwing into each other and somehow were never able to catch me by myself. That's how this course has devolved; people need to find another way to make it more fun. That or it's just the type of course that because of its size, is wanting, in general, for more disc gold etiquette. I was expecting short since I read up on it here before I played and I only used one driver.

The baskets seem like they are the originals and are in various states of poor health. Luckily people have made temporary repairs to either the basket or the chains by twisting a little extra wire on in and around the broken-down parts. If possible do yourself a favor and park away from the park or the street. Many new players to the sport found both of those areas and you might not want extra dings on your ride.
Other Thoughts: Well established and old. On one hand it feels like the game has outgrown the available space. Thus even a redesign wouldn't help much. On the other hand, there are always new players in this sport. Ultimately this is who this course has evolved for. It seems less crowded than the similar Arapahoe Community College course. It was worth it to say I've played it, but I passed up this course on many trips before I finally played here and I didn't feel cheated when I finally did. EricJ's pictures of this course make it look better than it is. This course is a shorty in a decent setting with good scenery.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short course, quick good to work on throws

5+    3/1/2011   3/5/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's real close to all of the Littleton area, Even highlands ranch. It's not a great course, real short and all holes are under I would say 300ft. But if you live near it, worth the drive
Has some tree's that rewards accuracy
Cons: To short. Like I said I don't think it has a 300+ft hole. Most are within putter range.
Other Thoughts: If you live within 15 miles I would try it out, not going to make you really struggle

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Got 15 minutes to spare?

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old school course on a small piece of land at a club. Easy parking right next to the first tee. Navigation is not really an issue since the baskets and tees are right next to each other and esy to spot. Very short hole lengths that are just asking to get aced. Well maintained grass throughout the course. Pretty clean. Large trees that add a little challenge. Teepads in great shape and so are some of the baskets, brand new Mach 5s.
Cons: Super short course. I know that this course was built in the late 70's so the distances would be short, but come on here. The challenge level is pretty low. Not a whole lot of elevation change here. Course is crammed into a very very small area. Tee signs were just 4x4 posts, but you really don't need much else then that here.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners and younger people to come from. Super short holes with a little bit of trees in the way to shoot around. For a more experienced player though, it loses its novelty pretty quickly. This course could easily be played in 15 minutes or less. I am almost ashamed that I didn't get an ace here the holes are that short.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short, OLD, but fun.

5+    6/19/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: monkeytaco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, decent layout, great for beginners. Trees make for some interesting shots, think before you throw even though you can play the course with a putter. I've introduced several players to disc golf here, it's great for a quick round when the teen crowd isn't around. Hole #6 is incredibly short and fun to try and bingo around a big old pine tree.
Cons: Short, very tight hole placements, lots of teenagers farting around not doing much, playing slowly and getting in the way. Baskets still need to be replaced (especially #4 & #7), hole #9 has a new basket but is still really close to #2. Most of the young players at this course will not call out if a disc went the wrong way (this happens a lot).
Other Thoughts: Play this course in the morning, the teenager crowds are really obnoxious and kill the course. I've played several times early in the day (before they are awake I'd assume) and it has been great. Tons of shade from mature trees which are also great obstacles.

When nobody else is around several tees can be made into much longer and more challenging holes by shooting for a further basket. This is the most fun part of this course. Most mornings before 11am the course is pretty empty.

Try shooting for hole #8 from tee #2, #7 from #4, #1 from #9, etc...

When the course is full it will be a slow game and you might get hit by a disc so keep your eyes peeled!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Baskets

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice large hole numbers on the baskets. Consistent cement tee pads on every hole. Really nice upscale setting next to a private club. Very good use of the trees on the property. Fun for any age level and experience level, to some extent. It was not super hard to find your way around as tees were usually easy to find.
Cons: Besides the great numbers on the baskets the basket were in horrible condition. Many of the baskets were bent out of shape. Found one basket that was missing one of the bars on the bottom of the basket allowing standard sized discs to just fall right through the basket. Basket 9 is missing altogether. This course is super short with only one hole over 300 ft with most under 200 ft. There was a bit of a crowd there on the weekend but nothing too bad. Despite the fact that it is set in a nice neighborhood next to a private club, it seemed to be the place to hang out for younger kids looking to cause trouble, or at least smoking. The tee pads are super tiny as well which is interesting on the one long hole. It is built is a tiny area with several holes built right on top of eachother.
Other Thoughts: I really did enjoy this course for what it was minus the baskets being in horrible disrepair and one missing basket. Saw several groups that were just learning the game and this is a great little course to teach the game to those who cannot throw the disc very far. There were kids there as young as 5 I would guess and they seemed to be having a wonderful time. It is a rather crowded space so watch out for discs flying at your head and do not expect a warning on discs headed your way as many people playing this course are begginers and trying to figure things out on their own. For the more advanced players this is one of those courses wehre you will work on your short game but the good use of the trees makes it at least somewhat entertaining. I would love to know more about what the club that is right there actually is and how much control they have over the course. Seems like a very nice facility. The first tee is going to be close to the building on the side near the road you drive in on.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.