Littleton, CO 
Ken Caryl DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #2



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Quick & Easy

5+    9/21/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Streaker52
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 9 short holes allows for quick rounds.

2) Great for beginners or confident boosts.

3) Difficulty mainly comes from navigating distance and trees obstacles.
Cons: 1) Baskets are old and falling apart.

2) Course not a good evaluation of skill level.

3) Holes are set up so that they criss-cross one another very closely. You have to be very aware of other golfers as to not hit them.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by Ken Caryl because I had 30 minutes to kill and was in the area.

It took me about 15 minutes to play the full round and the course was a great way to satisfy my DG craving and not taking up very much time in the process. This course would be a great "lunch break" course.

I recommend this course for beginners or anyone who just wants to get a quick game in.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Time Machine Golf!

1    9/6/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing this course is like jumping in a Delorean, flipping on the time circuits, powering up the flux capacitor and going back in time to 1978. This has got to be on the few courses left on the planet that still has 35 year old mach 1 baskets on it in somewhat working conditions. The great Steady Ed designed this course so long ago and was probably a really awesome course at the time when everyone was throwing beach frisbees. In that spirit I used my SuperClass disc (Zephyr) on this course and had a blast. It's a fun short course, all ace runs here!

I saw older adults, kids and even a Grandma playing this course while I was here, very family friendly not only because of the length but also it's in a private club so very little vandalism or unsavory characters. Navigating this course is as easy as pie and getting a round in takes less than 20 minutes.
Cons: Disc Technology has destroyed most of the challenge of this course at this point but it really doesn't matter much as it is just a fun ace run course. That being said leave the sharp discs at home and throw the lid around here. This is a course to introduce your kids to not for serious golfers.

The baskets are 35 years old and they are in great shape for being that old however several of the baskets have missing sections that have been replaced with wire. A few of the baskets have been replaced altogether with newer mach 3's.

This course gets VERY busy and can't handle much more than one or two groups anyway. I saw several large groups of families playing here at nine o clock in the morning and it can get a bit frustrating with all of the waiting and ducking for your life.
Other Thoughts: This is not a destination course but if you love the Father of Disc Golf, Steady Ed Headrick and you love to see history in action then I recommend you come and here and have fun. Just make sure your time machine has enough juice to get back to the present day!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A solid intro course/practice run

2-4    7/23/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: brandenhead
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Layout is actually pretty simple. Just use your common sense and follow the dirt paths in the grass to the next tee and you'll be fine.
- Not too long, not too short. The perfect size for newbies, children, and people wanting to test out their new discs.
- Free to play.
- Baskets are very visible, and not hard to miss at all.
- Well trimmed grass makes it very easy to find stray discs.
- Trees are nice, both visually and as an obstacle.
- Depending on when you go, it can be a nice, quiet play through. Best times are weekdays, in the morning, around 8 - 10, and Sunday evening.
Cons: - Like I mentioned before, depending on when you go, you might also run into a lot of foot traffic. It's a really popular course, especially among younger crowds. Unfortunately, these crowds tend to be more rowdy rather than supportive. But if you don't mind waiting to throw on a certain tee while the group ahead of you goofs off and re-throws for a while until they get the shot they want, then go for it.
- If you're a long distance thrower, prone to more wide-open areas, this course might challenge you on that. You have to be careful not to overthrow your disc and have it end up in the parking lot, or in the road right beside the course. But, this can be seen as a way to get you to hone your mid-range and putting/approaching experience.
- When parking, park as far away from the course as possible. As I just mentioned, the whole disc-in-the-parking-lot thing happens a lot.
Other Thoughts: In short, I think this is an excellent course, despite the limited space and brief window for a nice quiet game. I highly recommend for newbies and kids, as it's not too long, or tough. Unlike most other courses, the basket isn't too far away from the tee, thus my saying it's perfect for seasoned players to practice their mid-range and putting/approaching shots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

short n sweet

1    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Sarahbellum
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean, mixture of short and longer tees, some slightly technical. Quiet. Quick run.
Cons: Almost too short of a course. Signs would help, although the tees and baskets are marked it could be confusing since its all so close together.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ken's Ace Runs

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 348  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Ace runs! Every hole is ace-able if you have a decent arm and 8 of 9 are ace-able for most players.
-Nice tall trees that provide a few obstacles to shape shots around and some shade.
-Nice tees, concrete
-Half the baskets are DGA with numbers the other half are older
-Nice flow, very easy to follow.
-Plenty of parking
-I'm sure you can find a bathroom and water in one of the nearby buildings
-Great for beginners, kids, aces and practicing approaches and short drives.
-Already ready for an ace run after you change just one tee
-Can't lose a disc here
-Steady Ed historical course that is 10 years older than me.
Cons: -Crowded, the course is in a small area. There were two groups of 10+ high school boys who were loud, stupid, obnoxious and dangerous. Luckily they didn't roll in until I finished 2 rounds.
-Erosion- tons of use has killed about half the grass on the course.
-Half the baskets are older
-Super short, advanced players might get bored
-Could hit a car in the parking lot. I would avoid those spots next to 8 and 9 while parking.
Other Thoughts: -I did have a lot of fun here. If I lived in the area, I would probably find times to play that were less crowded and run some aces and practice shorter shots. It is a nice place and has some character.
-I would stop here if you have a few minutes. Ideally, mornings during the week if possible. It is historical, has a high fun factor, and has many ace ops.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Old-School Steady Ed

2-4    7/16/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl is a very nice course in nice park in nice neighborhood. It makes for a good beginner course, or mids and putter course for experience players, or even an ace race (8 of the 9 holes are legit ace runs for most people.)

The course is relatively short, but still has plenty of trees to avoid. Requires shot variety- various lengths, left, right, and straight. The fairways are very green and grassy and there is no chance to lose discs. The concrete tees and baskets are in good shape.

And of course I must mention that anytime you get a chance to play a historic Steady Ed designed course, then do it.
Cons: This course (like most in the Denver city area) is popular and is often played and can get crowded in a hurry. It is in a small area with tees close to baskets and holes close to one another. Could be issues of throwing in to people or getting thrown in to.

Baskets were fine, but the course had two different styles- some were old while others were new- too bad when some of the baskets were upgraded that all of them weren't.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this Ed course, going for aces and racking up birdies. We played it twice in a short amount of time. There were lots of other people playing, but everyone was friendly and all were having a good time.


If I lived in Denver, and was introducing somebody to disc golf, I would take them here first. If coming in town for a disc golf vacation, this one is skippable, unless just driving by and you want to play an older classic Ed course then it is worth a stop.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Course, Kid Friendly

1    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: Wawgster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is alot of parking for this course. We went pretty early on a Sunday, around 10am. There were hardly anyone there and we were able to play through twice before it got to be busy. There is no water to worry about so this is a great course for kids and not having to worry about losing your discs. There are a fair number of trees and hole 9 has a bunch right around the basket making it fun.
Cons: This course is very small in its layout so you have to wait for the group in front of you to play completely through before going. Most holes you can easily get to the hole in 1 throw if your Several times disc came close to us while on the next tee so pay attention if its busy. If there are more than about 3-5 groups playing(depending on size) you will be waiting. This is a beginners course so if you want a challenge don't come here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Nice Beginner Course

5+    11/25/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -About 4 of the holes have nice double chained baskets
-Concrete tee-pads (they are not very long but on this course they don't need to be)
-Good use of the available land and trees to make some nice holes
-Some fun holes that use the trees available for some interesting and well thought out pin placements
-The course plays through a nicely kept and very pleasant park area. You won't lose discs here.
-All baskets are well-numbered and easy to see from the tee-pads and thanks to the numbered baskets it is very easy to know which basket you are throwing too.
A great place to introduce new players to the game. Other than hole 5 all of the holes are under 200 feet but unlike some easier courses, none of the holes are wide open and the trees provide some fun holes that keep new players interested in the game.
-A few trashcans at some of the tee-pads
Cons: -About five of the baskets are old single chains that have been repaired several times and will probably need to be replaced sometime soon. There will be spit-outs on some of these older baskets.
-Other than hole 5 (which is 312 feet) none of the holes are very long.
-A few fairways cross slightly and if the course is crowded there could be a few conflicts on a couple holes.
-More experienced players won't be challenged here and will probably be able to get twos on most of the holes with a putter or mid-range.
-No benches to rest on
-Road nearby on some holes that discs could go into if there is a bad shot.
-No tee-signs (just posts with the hole number on them).
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in Denver to introduce a new player to the game. It provides some interesting holes that will challenge new players a little bit but not too much. This course won't challenge more experienced players but it is good for a quick putter or mid-range round.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course

1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great vibe on the course and in the neighborhood. This would be a perfect place to introduce someone to the sport, play a round with a significant other that doesn't play, or even go mano v. mano with a buddy for bragging rights. Ace runs on pretty much every hole. There was a good amount of thought put in to basket placement and the mature trees require some actual shot making. Grass feels good on bare feet on a hot day. A pleasant place to play. Putters and mids only.
Cons: no signage, so it's a small hassle to find the next tee. Single chain baskets. The course probably can't support more than 3-4 groups on it at a time because it is so compact, so keep your head up for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised at how quaint and well thought out this course is. It's not for someone looking to play a serious round, but this is the kind of course that will help grow the sport, as it is surrounded by a neighborhood full of kids. it gets a 2.5 based on the fact that it is "typical" on a small scale. The lack of distance isn't a knock because the course doesn't try to be anything but fun.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 nice

5+    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: joeharker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: love the grass
sized so the kids can keep up
good shade on hot days
nice park
indoor rest rooms
Cons: no elevation changes
not obvious where the next tee is
Other Thoughts: perfect for
lets go play a quick game
or come see what Frisbee golf is like

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.