Littleton, CO
Ken Caryl DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #9
3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 (Aug 2008)



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ken Caryl

5+    2/29/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained and has close ample parking.
Cons: Very congested, you are throwing on and around people the entire course. Few trees and minimal shot variation. The course is also very short.
Other Thoughts: You should not need much more than a putter on this course so pack lite.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Quick but fun game

5+    3/14/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Ariannelittle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Clean landscape, Decent amount of trees, Great for a quick round, Friendly people, Very quit area,Brand new baskets, Can easily navigate through course
Cons: LOTS of high school students always hanging around, Very few long distance opportunities

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Play it safari style but it's still a zoo

1    1/11/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 116  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with concrete tee pads
Tolerable baskets
Plenty of trees to add to the challenge.
Cons: Super short holes
Tee numbers on wood poles are worn to the bone and sometimes impossible to read
Course map seems to freestyle or safari the original course design thus causing confusion and some "swimming upstream" against other golfers flow.
Other Thoughts: The nine holes here are on a plot of land about the size of a football field thus some of them feel like they are about 80-100 ft. There are a lot of trees on this plot of land that add to the challenge and make it fun. If you make up your own layout for the course you can turn it into something challenging but to do this you must have the entire course to yourself which seems like it would be rare. It seemed to me that nobody plays this course as it was originally laid out, but nobody follows the course map on this site either, so ultimately you get a disc golf demolition derby with different groups shooting criss cross all over the place. This place has a lot of potential for a pitch and putt experience but it needs a lot of fixing up and clarification before that's going to happen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Putt Putt Disc golf

5+    10/21/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I believe it was the first course in the state and one of the first in the country. A bit of history if you will. Lots of trees and hard shots to make despite the lack of distance the longest is hole 5 at 250 or there abouts.
Cons: Its short, very short. The average hole is around 100'. It can get pretty busy and waiting behind people who play there for recreation rather than practice and more competetive endeavors, can suck. The baskets are a mix and match of old and new. Some of them have wire with zip ties on the bottom to prevent discs falling out.
Other Thoughts: Despite this being a very short course, it is still fun and technical with the vast amount of trees on the few acres it is on. Great place to come out with just your putters and a midrange to work on your touch.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

5+    4/24/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course if you want to get birdies, get a low score, or aim for some aces. I usually throw my putter or midrange on all holes in this park. Ken Caryl, while it is an extremely short park (9 holes takes about 20 minutes and takes up about a half acre), it requires many variations of simple shots. It is an ideal park for honing in on your mid-range game. It is a great place to practice getting through small alleys to get close to the pin. The holes may be short, but six of them are partially-technical requiring precision and accuracy to get a birdie or ace.
Cons: Many of the holes are close together. This course is extremely crowded on a nice day. Large groups of high-schoolers, and parents with young kids can show up at any time, slowing a 10 minute game into a 25 minute game. When there are large crowds of unskilled discers, it is a bit scary considering many holes require throwing near other tee boxes or fairways. All the discs can getextremely hectic and dangerous
Other Thoughts: This park can be playing in under 20 minutes and does not require the use of a driver. These are no cons if you know what you're getting into when you head to this course. Do not go expecting long bombs or extremely hard shots. Instead, go expecting a practice course for putter & midrange shots. My second round ever here was a -7 to put some perspective on it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Play the Postage Stamp

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: HPChucker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With all the holes crammed into about 3/4 acre, we call this place the postage stamp. This fun, tight little course is one of my favorites for people watching especially on the warm days. ;-) With super short holes this is the place to go out there and ace one!
Cons: I have seen as many as 10 players in some groups and it can get really very hectic here in the afternoons and on the weekends. Keep your eyes open here because it can seem like a warzone sometimes with discs flying in all directions.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A Shorty in a Decent Setting with Good Scenery

2-4    12/25/2010   3/27/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 186  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl is great for chasing aces. Most of the holes here are reachable. I'm sure more serious golfers would be thinking two on almost every hole. It is in a very nice neighborhood and the private club seems to be fond of having the disc golf course on their property. In spite it being listed as private, the course is as accessible as any other without any gates to cross or anyone to check in with. The park, the club and the neighborhood are all pretty clean.

Being in the southwest part of metro Denver makes it a great warm up for Beaver Ranch or Phantom Falls for a course bagger. The place is well marked but since the course is so short it's not needed. The baskets are numbered and the course is very easy to follow and if there are not crowds you could play many holes in a short amount of time. In spite of my low rating I still rate it high on the fun factor.
Cons: On the other hand there are the negatives of a short course. The crew behind me were running to their discs and throwing into each other and somehow were never able to catch me by myself. That's how this course has devolved; people need to find another way to make it more fun. That or it's just the type of course that because of its size, is wanting, in general, for more disc gold etiquette. I was expecting short since I read up on it here before I played and I only used one driver.

The baskets seem like they are the originals and are in various states of poor health. Luckily people have made temporary repairs to either the basket or the chains by twisting a little extra wire on in and around the broken-down parts. If possible do yourself a favor and park away from the park or the street. Many new players to the sport found both of those areas and you might not want extra dings on your ride.
Other Thoughts: Well established and old. On one hand it feels like the game has outgrown the available space. Thus even a redesign wouldn't help much. On the other hand, there are always new players in this sport. Ultimately this is who this course has evolved for. It seems less crowded than the similar Arapahoe Community College course. It was worth it to say I've played it, but I passed up this course on many trips before I finally played here and I didn't feel cheated when I finally did. EricJ's pictures of this course make it look better than it is. This course is a shorty in a decent setting with good scenery.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short Range Semi-technical, Needs some TLC

5+    2/15/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good course to work on your short range technical skills, especially if you live in the area(hey lets drive 5-10 mins and shoot a quick 9 for fun). Lots of trees which, if not careful, will screw you of what might've been a decent shot. Make use of all shot types. Hard to lose disks. Nice scenery, especially in summertime.
Cons: Only one hole over 300 ft., a basket on hole 2 I think will let your disk fall out of the basket bottom. Too short for a "real" game of disc golf of more holes and distance challenges.
Other Thoughts: Good beginners feeling out their disks in diferent shot types.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short course, quick good to work on throws

5+    3/1/2011   3/5/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's real close to all of the Littleton area, Even highlands ranch. It's not a great course, real short and all holes are under I would say 300ft. But if you live near it, worth the drive
Has some tree's that rewards accuracy
Cons: To short. Like I said I don't think it has a 300+ft hole. Most are within putter range.
Other Thoughts: If you live within 15 miles I would try it out, not going to make you really struggle

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Got 15 minutes to spare?

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old school course on a small piece of land at a club. Easy parking right next to the first tee. Navigation is not really an issue since the baskets and tees are right next to each other and esy to spot. Very short hole lengths that are just asking to get aced. Well maintained grass throughout the course. Pretty clean. Large trees that add a little challenge. Teepads in great shape and so are some of the baskets, brand new Mach 5s.
Cons: Super short course. I know that this course was built in the late 70's so the distances would be short, but come on here. The challenge level is pretty low. Not a whole lot of elevation change here. Course is crammed into a very very small area. Tee signs were just 4x4 posts, but you really don't need much else then that here.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners and younger people to come from. Super short holes with a little bit of trees in the way to shoot around. For a more experienced player though, it loses its novelty pretty quickly. This course could easily be played in 15 minutes or less. I am almost ashamed that I didn't get an ace here the holes are that short.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.