Littleton, CO 
Ken Caryl DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #2



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A Shorty in a Decent Setting with Good Scenery

2-4    12/25/2010   3/27/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl is great for chasing aces. Most of the holes here are reachable. I'm sure more serious golfers would be thinking two on almost every hole. It is in a very nice neighborhood and the private club seems to be fond of having the disc golf course on their property. In spite it being listed as private, the course is as accessible as any other without any gates to cross or anyone to check in with. The park, the club and the neighborhood are all pretty clean.

Being in the southwest part of metro Denver makes it a great warm up for Beaver Ranch or Phantom Falls for a course bagger. The place is well marked but since the course is so short it's not needed. The baskets are numbered and the course is very easy to follow and if there are not crowds you could play many holes in a short amount of time. In spite of my low rating I still rate it high on the fun factor.
Cons: On the other hand there are the negatives of a short course. The crew behind me were running to their discs and throwing into each other and somehow were never able to catch me by myself. That's how this course has devolved; people need to find another way to make it more fun. That or it's just the type of course that because of its size, is wanting, in general, for more disc gold etiquette. I was expecting short since I read up on it here before I played and I only used one driver.

The baskets seem like they are the originals and are in various states of poor health. Luckily people have made temporary repairs to either the basket or the chains by twisting a little extra wire on in and around the broken-down parts. If possible do yourself a favor and park away from the park or the street. Many new players to the sport found both of those areas and you might not want extra dings on your ride.
Other Thoughts: Well established and old. On one hand it feels like the game has outgrown the available space. Thus even a redesign wouldn't help much. On the other hand, there are always new players in this sport. Ultimately this is who this course has evolved for. It seems less crowded than the similar Arapahoe Community College course. It was worth it to say I've played it, but I passed up this course on many trips before I finally played here and I didn't feel cheated when I finally did. EricJ's pictures of this course make it look better than it is. This course is a shorty in a decent setting with good scenery.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short Range Semi-technical, Needs some TLC

5+    2/15/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Beef Chief
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very good course to work on your short range technical skills, especially if you live in the area(hey lets drive 5-10 mins and shoot a quick 9 for fun). Lots of trees which, if not careful, will screw you of what might've been a decent shot. Make use of all shot types. Hard to lose disks. Nice scenery, especially in summertime.
Cons: Only one hole over 300 ft., a basket on hole 2 I think will let your disk fall out of the basket bottom. Too short for a "real" game of disc golf of more holes and distance challenges.
Other Thoughts: Good beginners feeling out their disks in diferent shot types.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short course, quick good to work on throws

5+    3/1/2011   3/5/2011
Review By: WellHungSmurf
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's real close to all of the Littleton area, Even highlands ranch. It's not a great course, real short and all holes are under I would say 300ft. But if you live near it, worth the drive
Has some tree's that rewards accuracy
Cons: To short. Like I said I don't think it has a 300+ft hole. Most are within putter range.
Other Thoughts: If you live within 15 miles I would try it out, not going to make you really struggle

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Got 15 minutes to spare?

2-4    11/8/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old school course on a small piece of land at a club. Easy parking right next to the first tee. Navigation is not really an issue since the baskets and tees are right next to each other and esy to spot. Very short hole lengths that are just asking to get aced. Well maintained grass throughout the course. Pretty clean. Large trees that add a little challenge. Teepads in great shape and so are some of the baskets, brand new Mach 5s.
Cons: Super short course. I know that this course was built in the late 70's so the distances would be short, but come on here. The challenge level is pretty low. Not a whole lot of elevation change here. Course is crammed into a very very small area. Tee signs were just 4x4 posts, but you really don't need much else then that here.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for beginners and younger people to come from. Super short holes with a little bit of trees in the way to shoot around. For a more experienced player though, it loses its novelty pretty quickly. This course could easily be played in 15 minutes or less. I am almost ashamed that I didn't get an ace here the holes are that short.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short Game practice

2-4    7/18/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: Freakyjazer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Really short, can be played several times. No need to carry a ton of discs. Close parking. Tight trees provides practice for the mountain wooded courses.
Cons: Really short. Can be crowded. Only course I have played where it is highly likely to be hit by a disc. Baskets are in very bad shape (broken, missing chains, etc).
Other Thoughts: Good for a quick warm-up on your way to another course. Only need a putter and mid-range.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ace race

5+    7/11/2010   7/17/2010
Review By: Jason Daves
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Super short course with lots of ace opportunities. Plays in a short amount of time.
Cons: No need for a driver at this course. The baskets are falling apart and need to be replaced. (Number 9 was replaced)

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting

2-4    7/15/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 87  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Short left handed holes make for some fun shots, but not too difficult. This would be a great kids course.
Cons: Very, very short course. It seemed like they had much more room that they could've lengthened these holes. I play this a few times for some interesting shots, but you can easily play the whole course with a putter. Only one hole (#5) is somewhat regular length.
Other Thoughts: Nice shade.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Short, OLD, but fun.

5+    6/19/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: monkeytaco
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short, decent layout, great for beginners. Trees make for some interesting shots, think before you throw even though you can play the course with a putter. I've introduced several players to disc golf here, it's great for a quick round when the teen crowd isn't around. Hole #6 is incredibly short and fun to try and bingo around a big old pine tree.
Cons: Short, very tight hole placements, lots of teenagers farting around not doing much, playing slowly and getting in the way. Baskets still need to be replaced (especially #4 & #7), hole #9 has a new basket but is still really close to #2. Most of the young players at this course will not call out if a disc went the wrong way (this happens a lot).
Other Thoughts: Play this course in the morning, the teenager crowds are really obnoxious and kill the course. I've played several times early in the day (before they are awake I'd assume) and it has been great. Tons of shade from mature trees which are also great obstacles.

When nobody else is around several tees can be made into much longer and more challenging holes by shooting for a further basket. This is the most fun part of this course. Most mornings before 11am the course is pretty empty.

Try shooting for hole #8 from tee #2, #7 from #4, #1 from #9, etc...

When the course is full it will be a slow game and you might get hit by a disc so keep your eyes peeled!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Poor Baskets

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice large hole numbers on the baskets. Consistent cement tee pads on every hole. Really nice upscale setting next to a private club. Very good use of the trees on the property. Fun for any age level and experience level, to some extent. It was not super hard to find your way around as tees were usually easy to find.
Cons: Besides the great numbers on the baskets the basket were in horrible condition. Many of the baskets were bent out of shape. Found one basket that was missing one of the bars on the bottom of the basket allowing standard sized discs to just fall right through the basket. Basket 9 is missing altogether. This course is super short with only one hole over 300 ft with most under 200 ft. There was a bit of a crowd there on the weekend but nothing too bad. Despite the fact that it is set in a nice neighborhood next to a private club, it seemed to be the place to hang out for younger kids looking to cause trouble, or at least smoking. The tee pads are super tiny as well which is interesting on the one long hole. It is built is a tiny area with several holes built right on top of eachother.
Other Thoughts: I really did enjoy this course for what it was minus the baskets being in horrible disrepair and one missing basket. Saw several groups that were just learning the game and this is a great little course to teach the game to those who cannot throw the disc very far. There were kids there as young as 5 I would guess and they seemed to be having a wonderful time. It is a rather crowded space so watch out for discs flying at your head and do not expect a warning on discs headed your way as many people playing this course are begginers and trying to figure things out on their own. For the more advanced players this is one of those courses wehre you will work on your short game but the good use of the trees makes it at least somewhat entertaining. I would love to know more about what the club that is right there actually is and how much control they have over the course. Seems like a very nice facility. The first tee is going to be close to the building on the side near the road you drive in on.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Compact Fun

1    6/15/2009   6/19/2009
Review By: jace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really nice and clean little park course. The layout was done very well in the amount of space available, and was most likely a real gem back in the day before we had advances in plastic and profile technology that now make courses MUCH longer.

- certainly an "ace run" type course.
- faiways and greens were well kept by the park/maintenance crew.
- I felt basket placement was actually pretty amazing. Several are located within mature trees that create a challenge and make you think before you just throw it out there. Having the holes being quite short may give you a tendency to just step up and throw without much thought.
- hole layout creates very easy navigation without a map.
- Very clean course
- Decent concrete tee pads.
- Very fun short course to play - Very fast!
Cons: - baskets should be replaced. they serve their purpose, but their age is really showing with missing chains and broken baskets rungs.
- some more experienced dg'ers will consider the lack of length a con, but i think it can be overlooked quite frankly given the age of the course and the advantages it offers for today's player.
- hole 9 plays to basket 2. This may be temporary, but if not, it certainly will create a hurdle when crowded!
Other Thoughts: - hole 5 is the only hole worth considering using a driver, but realistically this course can be played with a midrange only and a putter.
- Perfect course for a family outing or to introduce a new disc chucker to the sport!
- Perfect course for a warm up round for one of the others in the area!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.