Littleton, CO 
Ken Caryl DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #3
3 / 138ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 (Aug 2008)



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A solid intro course/practice run

2-4    7/23/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: brandenhead
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Layout is actually pretty simple. Just use your common sense and follow the dirt paths in the grass to the next tee and you'll be fine.
- Not too long, not too short. The perfect size for newbies, children, and people wanting to test out their new discs.
- Free to play.
- Baskets are very visible, and not hard to miss at all.
- Well trimmed grass makes it very easy to find stray discs.
- Trees are nice, both visually and as an obstacle.
- Depending on when you go, it can be a nice, quiet play through. Best times are weekdays, in the morning, around 8 - 10, and Sunday evening.
Cons: - Like I mentioned before, depending on when you go, you might also run into a lot of foot traffic. It's a really popular course, especially among younger crowds. Unfortunately, these crowds tend to be more rowdy rather than supportive. But if you don't mind waiting to throw on a certain tee while the group ahead of you goofs off and re-throws for a while until they get the shot they want, then go for it.
- If you're a long distance thrower, prone to more wide-open areas, this course might challenge you on that. You have to be careful not to overthrow your disc and have it end up in the parking lot, or in the road right beside the course. But, this can be seen as a way to get you to hone your mid-range and putting/approaching experience.
- When parking, park as far away from the course as possible. As I just mentioned, the whole disc-in-the-parking-lot thing happens a lot.
Other Thoughts: In short, I think this is an excellent course, despite the limited space and brief window for a nice quiet game. I highly recommend for newbies and kids, as it's not too long, or tough. Unlike most other courses, the basket isn't too far away from the tee, thus my saying it's perfect for seasoned players to practice their mid-range and putting/approaching shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

short n sweet

1    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Sarahbellum
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean, mixture of short and longer tees, some slightly technical. Quiet. Quick run.
Cons: Almost too short of a course. Signs would help, although the tees and baskets are marked it could be confusing since its all so close together.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ken's Ace Runs

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 343  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Ace runs! Every hole is ace-able if you have a decent arm and 8 of 9 are ace-able for most players.
-Nice tall trees that provide a few obstacles to shape shots around and some shade.
-Nice tees, concrete
-Half the baskets are DGA with numbers the other half are older
-Nice flow, very easy to follow.
-Plenty of parking
-I'm sure you can find a bathroom and water in one of the nearby buildings
-Great for beginners, kids, aces and practicing approaches and short drives.
-Already ready for an ace run after you change just one tee
-Can't lose a disc here
-Steady Ed historical course that is 10 years older than me.
Cons: -Crowded, the course is in a small area. There were two groups of 10+ high school boys who were loud, stupid, obnoxious and dangerous. Luckily they didn't roll in until I finished 2 rounds.
-Erosion- tons of use has killed about half the grass on the course.
-Half the baskets are older
-Super short, advanced players might get bored
-Could hit a car in the parking lot. I would avoid those spots next to 8 and 9 while parking.
Other Thoughts: -I did have a lot of fun here. If I lived in the area, I would probably find times to play that were less crowded and run some aces and practice shorter shots. It is a nice place and has some character.
-I would stop here if you have a few minutes. Ideally, mornings during the week if possible. It is historical, has a high fun factor, and has many ace ops.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Old-School Steady Ed

2-4    7/16/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl is a very nice course in nice park in nice neighborhood. It makes for a good beginner course, or mids and putter course for experience players, or even an ace race (8 of the 9 holes are legit ace runs for most people.)

The course is relatively short, but still has plenty of trees to avoid. Requires shot variety- various lengths, left, right, and straight. The fairways are very green and grassy and there is no chance to lose discs. The concrete tees and baskets are in good shape.

And of course I must mention that anytime you get a chance to play a historic Steady Ed designed course, then do it.
Cons: This course (like most in the Denver city area) is popular and is often played and can get crowded in a hurry. It is in a small area with tees close to baskets and holes close to one another. Could be issues of throwing in to people or getting thrown in to.

Baskets were fine, but the course had two different styles- some were old while others were new- too bad when some of the baskets were upgraded that all of them weren't.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this Ed course, going for aces and racking up birdies. We played it twice in a short amount of time. There were lots of other people playing, but everyone was friendly and all were having a good time.


If I lived in Denver, and was introducing somebody to disc golf, I would take them here first. If coming in town for a disc golf vacation, this one is skippable, unless just driving by and you want to play an older classic Ed course then it is worth a stop.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy Course, Kid Friendly

1    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: Wawgster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is alot of parking for this course. We went pretty early on a Sunday, around 10am. There were hardly anyone there and we were able to play through twice before it got to be busy. There is no water to worry about so this is a great course for kids and not having to worry about losing your discs. There are a fair number of trees and hole 9 has a bunch right around the basket making it fun.
Cons: This course is very small in its layout so you have to wait for the group in front of you to play completely through before going. Most holes you can easily get to the hole in 1 throw if your Several times disc came close to us while on the next tee so pay attention if its busy. If there are more than about 3-5 groups playing(depending on size) you will be waiting. This is a beginners course so if you want a challenge don't come here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice Beginner Course

5+    11/25/2012   11/25/2012
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 118  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -About 4 of the holes have nice double chained baskets
-Concrete tee-pads (they are not very long but on this course they don't need to be)
-Good use of the available land and trees to make some nice holes
-Some fun holes that use the trees available for some interesting and well thought out pin placements
-The course plays through a nicely kept and very pleasant park area. You won't lose discs here.
-All baskets are well-numbered and easy to see from the tee-pads and thanks to the numbered baskets it is very easy to know which basket you are throwing too.
A great place to introduce new players to the game. Other than hole 5 all of the holes are under 200 feet but unlike some easier courses, none of the holes are wide open and the trees provide some fun holes that keep new players interested in the game.
-A few trashcans at some of the tee-pads
Cons: -About five of the baskets are old single chains that have been repaired several times and will probably need to be replaced sometime soon. There will be spit-outs on some of these older baskets.
-Other than hole 5 (which is 312 feet) none of the holes are very long.
-A few fairways cross slightly and if the course is crowded there could be a few conflicts on a couple holes.
-More experienced players won't be challenged here and will probably be able to get twos on most of the holes with a putter or mid-range.
-No benches to rest on
-Road nearby on some holes that discs could go into if there is a bad shot.
-No tee-signs (just posts with the hole number on them).
Other Thoughts: This is the best course in Denver to introduce a new player to the game. It provides some interesting holes that will challenge new players a little bit but not too much. This course won't challenge more experienced players but it is good for a quick putter or mid-range round.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun little course

1    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: little oz
Played: 57  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great vibe on the course and in the neighborhood. This would be a perfect place to introduce someone to the sport, play a round with a significant other that doesn't play, or even go mano v. mano with a buddy for bragging rights. Ace runs on pretty much every hole. There was a good amount of thought put in to basket placement and the mature trees require some actual shot making. Grass feels good on bare feet on a hot day. A pleasant place to play. Putters and mids only.
Cons: no signage, so it's a small hassle to find the next tee. Single chain baskets. The course probably can't support more than 3-4 groups on it at a time because it is so compact, so keep your head up for errant throws.
Other Thoughts: I was pleasantly surprised at how quaint and well thought out this course is. It's not for someone looking to play a serious round, but this is the kind of course that will help grow the sport, as it is surrounded by a neighborhood full of kids. it gets a 2.5 based on the fact that it is "typical" on a small scale. The lack of distance isn't a knock because the course doesn't try to be anything but fun.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 nice

5+    8/18/2012   8/18/2012
Review By: joeharker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
Pros: love the grass
sized so the kids can keep up
good shade on hot days
nice park
indoor rest rooms
Cons: no elevation changes
not obvious where the next tee is
Other Thoughts: perfect for
lets go play a quick game
or come see what Frisbee golf is like

 Cute and Fun

2-4    7/26/2011   7/26/2012
Review By: StoneWallKid
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is very pretty. Its all nice green grass and trees. It is surrounded by a ball golf course so its all landscaped really nice. It's a great course for practicing your very short game. I only bring a mid and a putter.
Cons: The first time playing it was tough to find which basket to throw to. It gets crowded with just a few groups playing because the close proximity of all the holes. A decent number of shots are along roads or parking lots.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is one of my favorite course to just pop onto and get the need to play out of my system without spending all day/my energy on a big course. I usually go and play a few rounds at a time, sometimes I'll do a speed round, but there isn't much running to be had.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 7/23 Scale Disc Golf Course!

2-4    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl DGC is like a slightly smaller version of a real disc golf course. It would be perfect for my wife. She's 5'4", 110 lbs. and can consistently throw her driver about 47 feet. It would be also be perfect for Jackson. He's a 2nd grader I played with today at Cottonwood Creek. This course would fit him like a glove. However, if you can drive more than 47 feet or if you're more skilled than the average second grader, than this course might be a little below your skill level.
But it's so cute! It sits on extra small parcel of land with lovely mature trees. Every hole but # 5 is an ACE waiting to happen. # 9 is a wonderful touch anhyser ACE run where you have to carefully thread through disc through the trees.
They keep this course pretty well maintained. Today there were no fewer than five (5) different types of mowers and a weed eater working on the course. I thought for sure one of my discs was going to get mowed over and spit back to me in a million pieces.
Cons: Depending on your arm strength, you may not need to bring a driver, or a mid-range. You may not wish to count 100 footers as legimate ACES. You may not feel challenged here. But my wife and Jackson certainly would.
It looks as though a beaver has been chewing on a couple of the cute little tee signs. # 8 is currently illegible.
Other Thoughts: I love these little courses. I'm not exactly sure why anyone would build one this miniscule but there were other people playing it this morning. A single older man and a young father with his beginner type son.

Everyone loves ACES. This course has some sweet little (very short) ACE runs. If you want to rack up a few, come out to Ken Caryl DGC where you can play four rounds in a hour.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.