Littleton, CO 
Ken Caryl DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 (Aug 2008)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    12/1/2016   12/1/2016
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 120  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - super easy access quick play course with parking right next to he 1
- concrete tee pads
- decent baskets
- fun short practice course average hole like is around 200 feet, with 1 300 foot hole
- despite the small price of land, there are several trees to make for some fun holes to shape some shots
- very quiet location, you will probably have the course to yourself
Cons: - very short course, basically just a warm up course or a straight beginner course.
- tee signs only have hole numbers
- most fairways and baskets are very close together making the course a little confusing
- also with the close fairways and baskets brings some danger
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to warm up with, otherwise I would really only recommend it to a beginner.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sweet little course - beginners

1    9/14/2016   9/14/2016
Review By: Mr72datsun
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course for beginners. My wife got three birdies which made her very happy.
- On lawn.
- good ace opportunities
- required forehand and backhand.
- easy to navigate.
- everyone was chill and having a good time.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Don't come here looking for championship course.
Bring the newbies.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great family course.

5+    8/21/2016   8/30/2016
Review By: Brody
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great for families
Demands a variety of shots to be used.
Wasn't very busy.
Pretty park
Cons: Usually muddy
Baskets seem to be much taller than the other courses around the area.
Other Thoughts: Please DO NOT park on the far North side of the parking lot...you're just asking for your vehicle to get hit by a disc and when people are parked on the north side hole #9 becomes very inconvenient because of people parking on the North side.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A great Disc Golf Introduction course

5+    6/24/2016   6/24/2016
Review By: WhaleParty
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I really enjoy this fantastic beginner course! This is about as good of a beginner disc golf course as you can get. Lots of more seasoned players will skip this course because it is only 9 holes and only short par 3s. However, don't bypass this course! Instead use this course for what it is perfect for, bringing friends! This is one of the best courses to bring someone who is brand new to the sport and perhaps never thrown a disc before. Very nice layout in a great part of town, well kept, decent tee pads, and Parking is right next to the course with spots always availible. Not normally too crowded.
Cons: - The holes are short.
- The holes are very close to each other so there is occasional overlap between groups that are playing.
- Sometimes you run into big groups of high schoolers
Other Thoughts: Grab some dics and bring a friend or family members teach them how to throw here they will love it! Also a great course for dates!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    11/10/2015   11/15/2015
Review By: be_trickshots
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Easy for new players
-Good for a fun time with family
-Good if you need a confidence boot
Cons: -Not a lot of variation from hole to hole
- There is no distance or par on tee sign
Other Thoughts: This is great for a fun time with family and friends, but the tees are close to the holes and if you want to get a real challenge you might want to back up, away from the tees.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Simple Easy Fun

5+    3/8/2015   3/15/2015
Review By: Bwatkins
Played: 31  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -9 quick and easy holes
-Great course for dialing in midrange and approach shots.
-This course offers a very relaxed round
Cons: -If you want to practice driving you can't do that here
-sometimes gets crowded
Other Thoughts: You can play this entire course with a midrange or putter. I really enjoy how quickly you can throw a round here and the simpleness of this course.

Even though it's a short course there is still a large variety of shots that must be thrown.
1 veers slightly right with a tree directly I front of the tee
3 has a slight "tunnel shot" between 2 trees
5 is longer with trees scattered without making for a precise drive
6 has a very large anhyzer or tomahawk opportunity on a very short hole
9 is interesting with virtually no straight path to the tee

This is a fun simple course. You just have to approach it knowing it's short, easy, and you're midrange is your best friend.

Big power drivers will be disappointed here.

Every hole is aceable

***I am updating this to 3.5 VERY GOOD. Although I call this course "simple" the variety of shots and usage of existing land/trees is great. This course really makes you focus on your midrange and although all the holes are short the course is anything but open requiring a little extra focus on your chip shots. I frequently play 2-3 rounds at a time here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Quick & Easy

5+    9/21/2014   9/22/2014
Review By: Streaker52
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) 9 short holes allows for quick rounds.

2) Great for beginners or confident boosts.

3) Difficulty mainly comes from navigating distance and trees obstacles.
Cons: 1) Baskets are old and falling apart.

2) Course not a good evaluation of skill level.

3) Holes are set up so that they criss-cross one another very closely. You have to be very aware of other golfers as to not hit them.
Other Thoughts: I stopped by Ken Caryl because I had 30 minutes to kill and was in the area.

It took me about 15 minutes to play the full round and the course was a great way to satisfy my DG craving and not taking up very much time in the process. This course would be a great "lunch break" course.

I recommend this course for beginners or anyone who just wants to get a quick game in.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Time Machine Golf!

1    9/6/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 239  Reviewed: 229  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Playing this course is like jumping in a Delorean, flipping on the time circuits, powering up the flux capacitor and going back in time to 1978. This has got to be on the few courses left on the planet that still has 35 year old mach 1 baskets on it in somewhat working conditions. The great Steady Ed designed this course so long ago and was probably a really awesome course at the time when everyone was throwing beach frisbees. In that spirit I used my SuperClass disc (Zephyr) on this course and had a blast. It's a fun short course, all ace runs here!

I saw older adults, kids and even a Grandma playing this course while I was here, very family friendly not only because of the length but also it's in a private club so very little vandalism or unsavory characters. Navigating this course is as easy as pie and getting a round in takes less than 20 minutes.
Cons: Disc Technology has destroyed most of the challenge of this course at this point but it really doesn't matter much as it is just a fun ace run course. That being said leave the sharp discs at home and throw the lid around here. This is a course to introduce your kids to not for serious golfers.

The baskets are 35 years old and they are in great shape for being that old however several of the baskets have missing sections that have been replaced with wire. A few of the baskets have been replaced altogether with newer mach 3's.

This course gets VERY busy and can't handle much more than one or two groups anyway. I saw several large groups of families playing here at nine o clock in the morning and it can get a bit frustrating with all of the waiting and ducking for your life.
Other Thoughts: This is not a destination course but if you love the Father of Disc Golf, Steady Ed Headrick and you love to see history in action then I recommend you come and here and have fun. Just make sure your time machine has enough juice to get back to the present day!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A solid intro course/practice run

2-4    7/23/2014   7/24/2014
Review By: brandenhead
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Layout is actually pretty simple. Just use your common sense and follow the dirt paths in the grass to the next tee and you'll be fine.
- Not too long, not too short. The perfect size for newbies, children, and people wanting to test out their new discs.
- Free to play.
- Baskets are very visible, and not hard to miss at all.
- Well trimmed grass makes it very easy to find stray discs.
- Trees are nice, both visually and as an obstacle.
- Depending on when you go, it can be a nice, quiet play through. Best times are weekdays, in the morning, around 8 - 10, and Sunday evening.
Cons: - Like I mentioned before, depending on when you go, you might also run into a lot of foot traffic. It's a really popular course, especially among younger crowds. Unfortunately, these crowds tend to be more rowdy rather than supportive. But if you don't mind waiting to throw on a certain tee while the group ahead of you goofs off and re-throws for a while until they get the shot they want, then go for it.
- If you're a long distance thrower, prone to more wide-open areas, this course might challenge you on that. You have to be careful not to overthrow your disc and have it end up in the parking lot, or in the road right beside the course. But, this can be seen as a way to get you to hone your mid-range and putting/approaching experience.
- When parking, park as far away from the course as possible. As I just mentioned, the whole disc-in-the-parking-lot thing happens a lot.
Other Thoughts: In short, I think this is an excellent course, despite the limited space and brief window for a nice quiet game. I highly recommend for newbies and kids, as it's not too long, or tough. Unlike most other courses, the basket isn't too far away from the tee, thus my saying it's perfect for seasoned players to practice their mid-range and putting/approaching shots.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short n sweet

1    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Sarahbellum
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, mixture of short and longer tees, some slightly technical. Quiet. Quick run.
Cons: Almost too short of a course. Signs would help, although the tees and baskets are marked it could be confusing since its all so close together.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.