Littleton, CO 
Ken Caryl DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5
3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Tee sign #5



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 7/23 Scale Disc Golf Course!

2-4    7/19/2012   7/19/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl DGC is like a slightly smaller version of a real disc golf course. It would be perfect for my wife. She's 5'4", 110 lbs. and can consistently throw her driver about 47 feet. It would be also be perfect for Jackson. He's a 2nd grader I played with today at Cottonwood Creek. This course would fit him like a glove. However, if you can drive more than 47 feet or if you're more skilled than the average second grader, than this course might be a little below your skill level.
But it's so cute! It sits on extra small parcel of land with lovely mature trees. Every hole but # 5 is an ACE waiting to happen. # 9 is a wonderful touch anhyser ACE run where you have to carefully thread through disc through the trees.
They keep this course pretty well maintained. Today there were no fewer than five (5) different types of mowers and a weed eater working on the course. I thought for sure one of my discs was going to get mowed over and spit back to me in a million pieces.
Cons: Depending on your arm strength, you may not need to bring a driver, or a mid-range. You may not wish to count 100 footers as legimate ACES. You may not feel challenged here. But my wife and Jackson certainly would.
It looks as though a beaver has been chewing on a couple of the cute little tee signs. # 8 is currently illegible.
Other Thoughts: I love these little courses. I'm not exactly sure why anyone would build one this miniscule but there were other people playing it this morning. A single older man and a young father with his beginner type son.

Everyone loves ACES. This course has some sweet little (very short) ACE runs. If you want to rack up a few, come out to Ken Caryl DGC where you can play four rounds in a hour.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Another course on the belt

1    5/1/2010   5/1/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Its a disc golf course. Nice and established. Good parking, some cool shots.

Cons: very small space for nine holes, green and fairways very close.
Other Thoughts: I am glad i made it over to Ken Caryl. Very nice part of town.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, Quick

1    4/6/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: laxgoalie88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, 2-3 challenging holes, confidence-builder
Cons: Crowded, stoners, most of the holes are short, lots of cross-traffic with other players, does not follow map
Other Thoughts: A great place to work on fundamentals but not a very challenging course. Most holes are short so leave the Nukes at home. It's definitely worth a visit.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ken Caryl

5+    2/29/2012   4/17/2012
Review By: tacsmurf
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The park is well maintained and has close ample parking.
Cons: Very congested, you are throwing on and around people the entire course. Few trees and minimal shot variation. The course is also very short.
Other Thoughts: You should not need much more than a putter on this course so pack lite.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick but fun game

5+    3/14/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: Ariannelittle
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Clean landscape, Decent amount of trees, Great for a quick round, Friendly people, Very quit area,Brand new baskets, Can easily navigate through course
Cons: LOTS of high school students always hanging around, Very few long distance opportunities

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Play it safari style but it's still a zoo

1    1/11/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: Leroy
Played: 130  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 holes with concrete tee pads
Tolerable baskets
Plenty of trees to add to the challenge.
Cons: Super short holes
Tee numbers on wood poles are worn to the bone and sometimes impossible to read
Course map seems to freestyle or safari the original course design thus causing confusion and some "swimming upstream" against other golfers flow.
Other Thoughts: The nine holes here are on a plot of land about the size of a football field thus some of them feel like they are about 80-100 ft. There are a lot of trees on this plot of land that add to the challenge and make it fun. If you make up your own layout for the course you can turn it into something challenging but to do this you must have the entire course to yourself which seems like it would be rare. It seemed to me that nobody plays this course as it was originally laid out, but nobody follows the course map on this site either, so ultimately you get a disc golf demolition derby with different groups shooting criss cross all over the place. This place has a lot of potential for a pitch and putt experience but it needs a lot of fixing up and clarification before that's going to happen.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Putt Putt Disc golf

5+    10/21/2011   10/21/2011
Review By: Sandman1981
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I believe it was the first course in the state and one of the first in the country. A bit of history if you will. Lots of trees and hard shots to make despite the lack of distance the longest is hole 5 at 250 or there abouts.
Cons: Its short, very short. The average hole is around 100'. It can get pretty busy and waiting behind people who play there for recreation rather than practice and more competetive endeavors, can suck. The baskets are a mix and match of old and new. Some of them have wire with zip ties on the bottom to prevent discs falling out.
Other Thoughts: Despite this being a very short course, it is still fun and technical with the vast amount of trees on the few acres it is on. Great place to come out with just your putters and a midrange to work on your touch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short & Sweet

5+    4/24/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course if you want to get birdies, get a low score, or aim for some aces. I usually throw my putter or midrange on all holes in this park. Ken Caryl, while it is an extremely short park (9 holes takes about 20 minutes and takes up about a half acre), it requires many variations of simple shots. It is an ideal park for honing in on your mid-range game. It is a great place to practice getting through small alleys to get close to the pin. The holes may be short, but six of them are partially-technical requiring precision and accuracy to get a birdie or ace.
Cons: Many of the holes are close together. This course is extremely crowded on a nice day. Large groups of high-schoolers, and parents with young kids can show up at any time, slowing a 10 minute game into a 25 minute game. When there are large crowds of unskilled discers, it is a bit scary considering many holes require throwing near other tee boxes or fairways. All the discs can getextremely hectic and dangerous
Other Thoughts: This park can be playing in under 20 minutes and does not require the use of a driver. These are no cons if you know what you're getting into when you head to this course. Do not go expecting long bombs or extremely hard shots. Instead, go expecting a practice course for putter & midrange shots. My second round ever here was a -7 to put some perspective on it.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Play the Postage Stamp

1    4/2/2011   4/4/2011
Review By: HPChucker
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 34.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: With all the holes crammed into about 3/4 acre, we call this place the postage stamp. This fun, tight little course is one of my favorites for people watching especially on the warm days. ;-) With super short holes this is the place to go out there and ace one!
Cons: I have seen as many as 10 players in some groups and it can get really very hectic here in the afternoons and on the weekends. Keep your eyes open here because it can seem like a warzone sometimes with discs flying in all directions.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Shorty in a Decent Setting with Good Scenery

2-4    12/25/2010   3/27/2011
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ken Caryl is great for chasing aces. Most of the holes here are reachable. I'm sure more serious golfers would be thinking two on almost every hole. It is in a very nice neighborhood and the private club seems to be fond of having the disc golf course on their property. In spite it being listed as private, the course is as accessible as any other without any gates to cross or anyone to check in with. The park, the club and the neighborhood are all pretty clean.

Being in the southwest part of metro Denver makes it a great warm up for Beaver Ranch or Phantom Falls for a course bagger. The place is well marked but since the course is so short it's not needed. The baskets are numbered and the course is very easy to follow and if there are not crowds you could play many holes in a short amount of time. In spite of my low rating I still rate it high on the fun factor.
Cons: On the other hand there are the negatives of a short course. The crew behind me were running to their discs and throwing into each other and somehow were never able to catch me by myself. That's how this course has devolved; people need to find another way to make it more fun. That or it's just the type of course that because of its size, is wanting, in general, for more disc gold etiquette. I was expecting short since I read up on it here before I played and I only used one driver.

The baskets seem like they are the originals and are in various states of poor health. Luckily people have made temporary repairs to either the basket or the chains by twisting a little extra wire on in and around the broken-down parts. If possible do yourself a favor and park away from the park or the street. Many new players to the sport found both of those areas and you might not want extra dings on your ride.
Other Thoughts: Well established and old. On one hand it feels like the game has outgrown the available space. Thus even a redesign wouldn't help much. On the other hand, there are always new players in this sport. Ultimately this is who this course has evolved for. It seems less crowded than the similar Arapahoe Community College course. It was worth it to say I've played it, but I passed up this course on many trips before I finally played here and I didn't feel cheated when I finally did. EricJ's pictures of this course make it look better than it is. This course is a shorty in a decent setting with good scenery.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.