Bellevue, NE 
Aspen Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #5 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 305ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not as Busy as Seymour

1    8/2/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Nice baskets and cement tees
+Nice park with ball field, pool, picnic areas, tennis courts, playground, etc.
+Large mature trees spread throughout the park
+I played on a saturday around 10 AM and there were only 3 other guys on the course
+Despite no signs, it is pretty easy to find your way around.
+One really long hole where you can air it out once or twice
+You shouldn't lose a disc here.
+Ace runs on most holes.
Cons: -You play too close to backyards.
-There was garbage everywhere
-Besides the one long hole, all the others felt very similar. Not enough variation of any kind.
-No elevation change
-Trees barely come into play. Very easy to hit your lines here.
Other Thoughts: +Seymour Smith was very, very busy on the Saturday that I played. I was ok with it as a visitor but I don't know if it would be fun for me to put up with that every weekend. Despite this course not being all that fun. I might use it here and there to get my disc golf fix instead of going to Seymour to wait at every tee.
+If you're a traveling player and have limited time, hit up Seymour and Hummel first and then leave courses like this for if you have extra time. This course is very close to Seymour so you might as well play it.
+Fun factor was low but it wasn't horrible. It did have the basics like good tees, baskets and it wasn't busy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice and relaxing

5+    6/25/2014   7/21/2014
Review By: ZMesenbrink
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. It's never busy. Good parking. Some long open throws, great for working on drives.
Cons: I think the pads are a bit short. After a rain it is a marsh, beware. It's only a 9 hole course but play it twice and there you go.
Other Thoughts: You really can't go wrong playing Aspen. It's well maintained and you can really work on accuracy while driving and not be punished too hard.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Aspen DGC review

2-4    8/24/2011   4/5/2013
Review By: Burd
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained park with concrete pads and nice baskets with good shade cover from large trees in the park. Wide-open throws for big drives. Nice to play to get away from the traffic atSeymour Smith park up the road.
Cons: Only a 9 hole course which am not a big fan of. Sometimes people at the park will picnic right on the pads for the holes because the course is so new and unused and they dont know apparently. Not much elevation change so course is a little dull but worth checking out.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great for the family

2-4    11/1/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Nathan Stahl
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All concrete tee pads and very open. Like said before you can never loose a disk here. Take the family and have fun with them playing this flat open course. Being nine holes long it will be just enough not to bore the little ones.
Cons: Very open and flat. It took a minute to get going the correct direction with no standard for marking. Some holes have the basket marked with the number and others have nothing. Three baskets where missing and only had a wooden stick for a target.
Other Thoughts: Nice open park to practice your throws and not busy at all, but I went during the week day. Larger and nicer course just 2 minute drive from this one will always keep this course empty.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Family course

2-4    8/17/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: mjareo
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Great course with your family - challenging for my kids without being too long that my younger ones get too tired by the end. Also great if you have limited time and you're looking for something to play quickly. I can jog this course in about 20 minutes. This is a good course for just some fun throwing.
Cons: If you are looking for a challenge, it won't give you too much of one - there is one longer hole and a couple of trees guarding the basket on a few more, but overall it isn't going to push you too hard.

  Old Neighborhood Park

1    7/14/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: tschirren87
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Cement Tee Boxes
Lots of different distances from Tee to pin
Well manicured
Great course to introduce people to the game without them being intimidated.
Great family park activities for everyone
Cons: Definitley One of The Blander courses in the metro area. Lots of the same.
Not many trash cans
Only one spot to sit
Other Thoughts: Has the potential to be a very good course if trees are planted now to add some obstacles on course.

Sun Valley Park

2-4    4/25/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Sl33pwalkn187
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Does have cement Tee-off boxes. Most shots are pretty straight foreward; holes 7 & 8 are quite a walk. It is a nice "practice" course before going to Seymour.
I played all holes as par 3's

ACED #5 - 06/13/2013
Cons: Not many trash cans. It is VERY open and bland, hardly any cover from the public or the adjacent houses. The course isn't labeled very well just the tee boxes and baskets are labeled, no signs. If you like to disc golf barefoot I wouldn't recommend it, my dog had sticky leaves (Sap) all over her and my feet were covered, took an hour to get the "gunk" off
Other Thoughts: Well I grew up on 48th & Harrison so this is in my old neighborhood. I remember going to the pool as a kid. And playing baseball on one of the diamonds. Having a cookout with friends, great place for kids. Decent volleyball court.
I'm glad to see this new little 9 hole course. Its a good neighborhood. Great community. easy to find.
From Seymour park head East on Harrison, go past Bag N Save, turn right (south) onto Sun Valley Dr. Follow Sun Valley Dr to the 4-way stop. Turn Right (West) and follow that curvy road to the park.
First tee-off is at the Gazebo.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Alternative

2-4    2/18/2012   3/7/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park Atmosphere... This small park is tucked back in a residential neighborhood and offers a quiet, albeit short, round of golf. It is mostly open with a few trees and a tennis court that comes into play. I haven't seen any vandalism since I've been playing there. There is a porta-potty at the park you can use if needed (not sure if this is kept year round). This course is a great alternative to the super-busy Seymour Smith course just down the road.

Tees/Baskets... This is a new course and the baskets and tee's are in great shape. Tee's are plenty long and the baskets are easy to see/find.

Layout... The courses uses the land available pretty well. It flows nicely and is easy to navigate. For being a small 9-holer, there are actually a few fairly long holes... even if they are straight ahead and open. Great course to take a beginner to. However, this also means...
Cons: Little Challenge... While there are a few longer holes, it is still a point-and-shoot for the experienced golfer. Most of the holes are straight ahead and have few obstacles.

Location... This course can be a bit tricky to get to. It is right off of Harrison, but you have to drive through a residential area to get to the actual park. I got turned around my first time trying to find the course. Also, the locals call the place "Aspen Park", but I think the official name is "Sun Valley" park, so that could get confusing I suppose.

Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun little course. Great practice course for an experienced golfer - it has been pretty empty every time I've been there. Also a great course for a beginner as it is easy to navigate and not very challenging. Very hard to lose a disc. Fun factor was "meh". Not really worth making a special trip for. As previous reviewers have noted, could be a good warm-up round before hitting Seymour. I've driven to Seymour to find a line 20 yds long at the first tee, so I turn around and head for this park 5 minutes away. Hopefully word will get out and some of the rec players at Seymour will head to Aspen... SS needs to thin out some. Check it out if your in the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 not much to say

2-4    8/5/2011   8/23/2011
Review By: JimmyJazz
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course was clean, baskets were all intact and undamaged. Lots of other activity in this park, but the tennis courts and playgrounds and such are pretty well segregated from the throwing course and kids aren't really cluttering up the course. The middle of the course runs by some private property, and you might get to see some horsies.
Cons: Pretty bland, wide open and flat. not many trash cans. Tee pads short enough to feel constricting, and I don't even typically take much of a run-up.
Other Thoughts: If you think of Aspen parks in terms of a practice course or a pre-Seymour warm-up, then it's totally satisfactory. Good option if you're in a rush and don't want to deal with the length and traffic of better courses

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 You won't be skiing at this Aspen...

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are concrete tee pads and bright yellow Disc-catchers on each hole.

The park has a safe atmosphere and had a good amount of traffic, although none of it interfered with the course. This park has a swimming pool, new-ish tennis courts, a volleyball pit, baseball fields, fun looking playground equipment…and somehow I'd never heard of this park.

This is a good course to introduce someone to the game. There are no crazy shots required here. There is some distance to content with, but nothing that would frustrate a casual player. It would require a phenomenally bad shot to lose a disc here.

The course will eventually have "B" tees.
Cons: There is no real challenge here for intermediate and above players. Despite the course name, it is completely flat. And there aren't enough trees to really get in the way. I didn't find myself having to put a lot of thought into my next shot.

There is a very long hole (600'+) and one where the tennis court comes into play, but otherwise the holes are basically the same.

There aren't any tee signs, although navigation wasn't too tough. Start by the gazebo near the pool and aim at the basket in front of you (not the one farther away to the right). The only other tricky part is the long hole (#6?): the hole is far away in the other corner of the park, across the wide open field.
Other Thoughts: Six months ago Omaha really needed a challenging course with some elevation and a rec-friendly course to divert some traffic from the overcrowded Seymour Smith. That is exactly what we got with Hummel and Aspen Park, respectively. So this is a welcome addition, even if experienced players might be underwhelmed.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.