Corunna, MI 
McCurdy Park Share
Uploaded By: amason Hole #3
3 / 234ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
This place was a freakin blast!

1    11/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic--this course plays over a huge amount of land surrounding a park, historic village and back lot of the park on both sides of the river...

Variety-- Chock full of variety. there is so much awesomeness here to keep you busy. Love the three distinct settings that this course offers. the main part where you start, the historic village area and the area on the other side of the river.

Baskets-- in great repair. highly visible (in most cases)

Routing and nav-- the map is highly helpful but the next tee signs were also highly helpful

Uniqueness-- the state of michigan teepad on #11 and the teepee before #15, the brick teepad on #15 this place definitely has some nice touches.
Cons:
Teesigns-- more of tee posts. the bright red helps but to have distances and even crude maps would be helpful...

Teepads-- a bit muddy and slick. this place would benefit from cement teepads greatly.

Rough-- a bit rough and garbage dump like on the back side.
Other Thoughts:
A great place to open your arm up after a couple of shorter courses going south on M52. thanks for this course!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great setting & potential

1    4/6/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: ToneRay
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Technically challenging
- Grip-n-Rip opportunities
- Nice mix of open and wooded holes
- The teepee on hole 16 - one word: Majestic. Think we can add some dried animal skins to complete it?
Cons: - Let me know (on this website?) when you're doing the next cleanup, and I'll try to get here to help - especially the stacked-up branches that almost swallowed my disc!
Other Thoughts: It's obvious the folks working on this course are serious about providing a great experience. I know it's still rough, but I think that shortly the discers in Corunna will be proud to call this their home course. That's why I stepped this rating up to a 3.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

5+    11/8/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: runninlikebarry20
Played: 102  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: This course has become a project for our club and will continue to be improved in all aspects that make a course great. Things like cement pads and proper signage along with adding trees and other details. We took over and redesigned the course after the old layout was removed for tee ball field construction and questionable design. We have created 5 new holes on the McCurdy park side of the course and 8 new holes in the woods across the river. After hours and hours of work the new layout is complete. The city has recently added tons of dirt to help curb the flooding issues the park had and while now it is a tad messy will in the future only help this course become even greater. Our club will be independently raising funds to get cement pads and proper signage. We are locals that will work hard to maintain and shape this course into a course worth driving to play.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good Potential

1    7/23/2011   7/26/2011
Review By: amason
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good quality baskets - Chainstar
-Some interesting holes
-Park was in good condition
-Good mix of right and left hooking holes
Cons: -Very confusing first 9 holes in terms of layout
-Little to no signage
-Very few tee markers
-Only two holes had cement tees. The others were grass or dirt
-There was a softball tournament going on that prevented me from playing one of the holes as it runs right along a softball diamond.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course has great potential, but the lack of signage and tee markers made the experience a bit frustrating for the first 9 holes. The first 9 holes go about the park, but then the back 9 goes across the river and into the woods. From there the course flows very smoothly and naturally. (Note that I took a picture of the map that was posted and still had trouble.) If some signs were posted that pointed to holes and more/updated tee markers were installed it would help a lot.

It looked like the back 9 is pretty new. A lot of brush has been recently cut out for new holes. Overall I enjoyed the course and had a good time. If the signage issue were fixed I would bump my rating to a 2.5 or maybe 3.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.