Minooka, IL 
Minooka DGC Share
Uploaded By: ArcheType Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
4 / 230ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Ace Race course!

2-4    5/13/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved playing here. This was definitely my most fun round of the day when I played four new courses. The course has a really "new" feel to it. The signs are fantastic and the baskets are shiny. It's a ton of fun to just gun for aces as most of the holes are around 200 feet and only require a putter. Since there are no obstacles, it's definitely an ace run course. You can knock out a round (of 7 holes) in like 10 minutes.

The course is nicely maintained. The grass is mowed and there's a bathroom pavilion and water fountains directly in the middle of the small park.
Cons: They can be summed up easily as...

*Zero challenge
*No cement tees
*Only seven holes
Other Thoughts: Sometimes you just need to have your self-esteem boosted and this is the perfect course for it. Tons and tons of birdies and maybe even an ace!

I really think that this course is only rated as low as it is because the baskets were only recently installed. I can see how playing this course without baskets would have sucked...but it's something to keep in mind!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run X7

1    5/25/2012   5/26/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
**You've been playing too long if you don't like seeing your disc have a chance at banging the chains from the tee on an "Ace Run" ! ! !
**GREAT beginner course…
**GREAT place to practice short drives and upshots
**You can pretty much "Ace Run" at every basket.
**7 Brand-New Shiny DGA Mach 3 baskets
**Beautiful Playground, Park and Neighborhood
**Natural, Grass Tees. Not enough play to beat the grass down.
**THANKS :-) to whoever took the time to approach the Park District to install a course in order to introduce Disc Golf to this community...
Other Thoughts:
**Fitness stations all around the concrete walking path.
**The community has put quite a bit of money into making this a fun, fitness oriented Park

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth your time

1    11/12/2011   1/27/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a nicely maintained city park, there is no trash and the grass is all mowed. The tees are natural, but there hasn't been enough play to turn them to mud yet so they're perfectly fine. The tee signs are nice, with hole distance and layout, and the flow of the course is easy to follow.
Cons: There are no baskets, no tees and no obstacles. The targets are just the center poles of baskets without any of the other hardware, they've been in the ground several months so it seems odd that they never got around to finishing that part of the installation. The tees are natural and if this course somehow gets some popularity they'll turn into sloppy messes. The holes are all very short and open other than a single 300ish shot, and none have any real obstacles. Walking paths and a playground are in play, this course is obviously designed for beginners who are the least likely to accurately stay on the fairway or wait for the area to clear before throwing.
Other Thoughts: I suppose a beginner could use this course to try out the sport without dealing with other players or any obstacles, but they're not going to learn much and it won't be much fun. Experienced players won't find any variety, any challenge or anything fun to bring them back for another round. I try to play every course in the area, unless you share that obsession don't bother with this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Local beginner course

1    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a small neighborhood park. It's a very well kept park. The land is flat as a pancake and does not have 1 obstacle to avoid.

7 baskets in the ground to introduce new players to the game. Very short and very beginner friendly.

The tee signs are very nice! Check out the picutres.

If you were a local this will be a nice practice area to throw upshots.

Nice restroom facility.
Cons: Currently only the poles are in the ground for the baskets.

This course is very flat and very boring. There were a couple of berms that would have been a good place to put the basket on top of.

Tee pads are grass.

Only 7 holes.
Other Thoughts: My wife is not a disc golfer. She walked with me and said "This is the lamest course you've played". This goes down as one of the worst i've played.

If you have a family this would be a great place to spend the day. There is an awesome splash area and playground. It has a great restroom facilty. There is also a large pavillion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth a journey

5+    7/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: ArcheType
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The signage here is really good. All wood engraved signs give a very nice look to the park.

-I really wish there was more to go on here, but with no baskets, no real tees, and just short open shots, there isn't a lot to like about this course.

-The only big pro I can list for this course is it's <5 minutes from my house, so I guess I could play here if I was seriously pressed for time, but I'm honestly not sure I'd even bother.
Cons: -Natural tees will be rough after the rain.

-The longest hole here is only 290, there's also a 230, but with the rest in the in the <200' range, and no obstacles to speak of, this is certainly the easiest course I've ever played, to the point where it's not even enjoyable.

-None of the holes here force you to shape lines in any fashion. It's just short open shot after short open shot.

-The course currently has only steel poles cemented down, which also sucks. If the park district does install baskets, I'd consider rating this course up maybe a half-disc higher.
Other Thoughts: The only people I could advise playing this course would be those just looking to get another under their belt, and honestly, it's not even worth the gas at that. In my opinion, if you're not already in Minooka, don't come play Minooka.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.