New Paltz, NY 
Mohonk Mountain House Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
OK if you are a guest. Not worth the $$ if not

1    7/28/2012   6/28/2014
Review By: DantheDigger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great location/views
Decent variety
Cons: Expensive if not a guest
Signage is lacking
Other Thoughts: I played this when I stayed at the hotel. The best thing I can say is that I don't remember hating it. But the worst thing I can say is that I don't remember much at all about it other than it being hilly. It just didn't have anything to go back for. But, since it is made for guests of the hotel, I don't think they really designed it to be something that people would want to come back to play over and over again.

So I would say, if you are planning on staying there, bring along your discs. But it isn't worth the money. And I really don't think it benefits the sport, its players, or this site to be encouraging criminal trespass to sneak onto a course. And this course is not worth the risk anyway.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Short but has challenges.

1    1/8/2012   1/9/2012
Review By: ishky
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course that requires all types of throws.
The ups and downs are integrated into the layout very well for challenging holes in limited terrain.
Some basket placements are challenging, 11 is on a steep hill, 12 is tucked next to a cliff.
Fits well into the location.
The course plays fast.
Very well marked and easy to follow.
Cons: Most holes are short, the first is little more than a long putt.
Tee boxes are a step too short.
Length of hole on the signs would be helpful.
Will probably play much harder with foliage out.
Other Thoughts: Keep in mind that the course was probably designed with Mohonk guests in mind who may be playing for the first time. It is not worth the cost to go there to play disc golf. However Mohonk Preserve members get discounted entry. If you go for a meal or a day at the spa the entry to the grounds is included.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woodsy Challenge

1    12/27/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: VenV
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First hole is the easiest; they get more difficult slowly. Previous review is on target. Mohonk website lists Disc Golf as open to day use folks (contrary to first review). Now they have added 9 more holes, most longer than any on the front 9. Gravel tee boxes on every hole. Excellent next tee signs and pathways. Fairways marked by downed trees. Technically difficult. Lots of left and right holes. Awesome views after basket 14.
Cons: First 7 holes pretty short and easy. Signs at the tees 1) should have distance to basket, 2) could show fairway shapes, and 3) could locate basket better especially the few holes where the basket is not visible from the tee. Must pay for access to Mohonk to play for free.
Other Thoughts: I hope they open a second course near their ball golf course and open it to the public for a disc golf only fee.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Sub Par

2-4    8/20/2011   8/21/2011
Review By: Russhole
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and hotel guests looking for some easy, fun recreation.

Confidence builder, expect aces if you're a DG guru.

Short 9-holes which can be completed in 15-30 minutes at a very quick pace.

Abundant ace opportunities.

$25 day use fee allows you access to the grounds at Mohonk Mountain House (which is worth it if you are looking to spend an entire day out!)

Hotel guests can play for free and receive complimentary discs if they are all returned at the end of the round. Discs are also for sale on the grounds.

It's DG, so it's fun and they are looking to expand 9 more holes, which would be sweet.

Brand new Disc Catcher baskets, easily identifiable from most tee pads.

People are really nice and friendly at Mohonk (keep in mind that this place is like a resort...)





Cons: Not recommended for the seasoned DG-goer (you will not be challenged)

$25 day use fee for grounds use (which doesn't necessarily include use of the DG course which is reserved for guests of the Mohonk Mountatin House. Don't let this discourage you from "stumbling upon" it like I did and sneak a few rounds in).

Aside from the difficulty, this course reminderd me of Hyzer Creek (ya know, chopped down trees everywhere and no "natural flow" as seen in better area spots such as J-Park).

No par on placard? I assume they are all Par 3's and if so every hole is birdieable for even beginners.

Treacherous landscape...lots of cut down trees and rocks everywhere so watch your step. It's pretty much set on a hill side (think up and down) and wear your hiking boots.

Layout is not great or impressive by any means.

Never meant to be a public course.
Other Thoughts: Try this spot if you want to site see at the Mohonk Mountain House and their grounds. However, if you are a diehard DG player, don't go out of your way to experiment this course at it's current state (you will be disappointed with the course, but nevertheless certainly = taken away by the beauty of the Mohonk Mountain House and all of its amenities).

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.