Provo, UT
Rock Canyon Share
Uploaded By: troyskeen   (Taken 9/2009)



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Enjoy The Hike

1    3/31/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: TheGrim
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has such a beautiful view of Utah valley. We played it at a great time of year just after the snow has melted and before the undergrowth has come in. I imagine this course is much more difficult in the late summer months when the undergrowth is long and dead and the leaves on the scrub oak limits visibility.

There is a great variety of shots that you don't find at many courses. Throwing uphill on the first few shots, over gullies and a couple fun downhill throws makes this a tricky but fun little course.

Tee pads and baskets are in great shape. The signs are helpful, especially with the blind shots, but nothing is better than an escort to show you the way.

This is like a mini Solitude, even ending off with a fun little downhill throw.
Cons: There are at least three shots that are blind, requiring you to either lay it up or preferably to have a spotter. I've heard from several people that this course is easy to lose discs on, and now I see why.

It is in the foothills of Rock Canyon which can get very dry and covered in june grass in late summer. The trails help with that but if you go off into the rough it can get, well, rough.

Some parts of the trail are kind of slick from loose rocks. I suggest good shoes for hiking. It's also fairly exposed in the sun.
Other Thoughts: I can see where this course can be very difficult for new and mid-range disc golfers like myself. I don't mind a difficult course to challenge me and this certainly fits the bill.

You will want to download a map if you don't have a guide.

Plan for a hike and be ready to look for your discs. As I stated above I'll be avoiding this course in the late summer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/29/2012   3/2/2013
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on the side of the foothills surrounding SLC, well away from any of the other park activities. Shouldn't be any chance of interference here.
- Best feature of the course is the elevation changes; they aren't too extreme overall, but they are ever present. The first four holes play up the hillside in varying degrees, and #8 is a good uphill as well. #9 plays over a deep valley, #5 is a bit downhill, #10 is very much downhill, and #6 has a brutally nasty slope on the right to go over. Traversing the course itself takes a lot of ups and downs.
- There aren't many trees to speak of, but there are lots of nasty bushes and giant patches of rough to work around. #1 is either a short RHBH anny/thumber or longer hyzer, #2 is either a short blind flick or a long straight shot, #3 is a blind spike hyzer uphill over a giant patch of rough, #7 is a tunnel shot off the tee with a hyzer finish, and #10 is a straight downhill shot with rough right and long. Lots and lots of blind pin positions.
- Very good mix of hole lengths, there are four holes over 350', and three holes under 250'. Everything from drivers to putters will be needed here.
- Good signs, concrete pads (except #7), and baskets. Navigation can be a little tricky, like getting from #6 to #7; map is helpful the first time through.
Cons: - The foliage here doesn't offer many distinct lines that have to be hit, with a few exceptions, bigger arms will be able to simply go over everything without much thought. For everyone else, it's a matter of staying out of the schule.
Other Thoughts: - Pretty fun course overall, the elevation changes really go a long way. Enough trouble to get into to make each hole tricky and different from the others. Good variety in length and shapes as well. But, the open air above the bushes take a lot of the challenge away.
- Great for beginners and intermediate players, advanced players should have fun but will be able to easily cruise through.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Provo

5+    2/6/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Hole In Four
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Variety of shots
Challenging
Never busy
Cons: Hard to find your way around
Challenging terrain
Easy to lose discs
Other Thoughts: In my opinion it's a great 9-hole course (actually ten-hole...) It has a lot of challenging shots that most other utah & salt lake county courses don't have. There's a lot of throwing both uphill and downhill, and it's a great place to play if you're trying to learn new shots. If you play with or behind someone who has played the coure before, it makes the day much more enjoyable. I wish it were 18-holes, but it's great practice for some of the upper-level courses that require a variation of shots. Try playing it at least 3 times before you give up on it.

 Diamond in the rough

5+    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: AltitudeDiscGlf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set at the bottom of Rock Canyon (hence the name). The setting is beautiful. The view of the mountains and the rest of Utah Valley is gorgeous. The course has a lot of elevation change for shots, and offers obstacles as well to challenge even the pros.
Cons: The course is not well defined (I think everyone mentions this), but it is still playable. The big con is that the course is not very playable solo because you really need a spotter on many of the blind shots that are required. This course is in the mountains, there are many ups and downs and if you are not prepared for it, you will be in for a long game.

Other Thoughts: Bring a good pair of shoes, lots of water, and a spotter, and you will have a good time. I especially like this course in the early evening with the cool mountain breeze.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Rock Canyon

1    7/28/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: Forrest
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The view....that's it.
Cons: What a disappointment. We only played the first four holes (couldn't even find hole 3) and we had enough. This course is a mess. There are no paths, no maintenance, and the signs are misleading. I'm guessing based on the neighborhood that this course doesn't get a lot of play and probably no one uses it as a home course. I'm going to attempt it again this winter when some of the weeds and shrubs have died out, but I'll be surprised if my time is any better.
Other Thoughts: Someone needs to fix this course, if not, those baskets should be used somewhere else.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A fun mountain like course

5+    4/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: ryan ranes
Played: 48  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: an awsome course with alot of fun holes with some of the diffrent pin placements some are uphill some are down hill some have a ton of trees nice cement teepads and they have started getting signs up there and there is never any1 here
Cons: i played that course for a year and i missed hole 3 forever i never found the tee until the last time i played there
Other Thoughts: play beicentenial (or however u spell it) and uvu and rock canyon and spannish fork they are very close close together and i have aced hole 1A on 9/20/09 with a champ valkyrie and i have aced hole 10 on 2/13/10 with a champ orc
play hole 9's tee to 10's tee that is the very fun hole that i have inveted

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough without a map

1    3/3/2010   3/3/2010
Review By: rat106
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement tee pads, and I really enjoyed the challenge of the elevation change on many of the holes. I was just passing through the area, and only had two putters to play the round with, but it was nice to get out and play again.
Cons: Tough to find the holes, especially without a map. Once I found the first tee pad, I basically just threw in the general direction that the pad was facing, then walked around and found the basket. The day I played there were patches of snow still on the ground, so the underbrush wasn't much of an issue. I skipped hole six because I had not read any reviews and didn't know there was no tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to download a map from tudg.com before you play, I think it would make it much more enjoyable. Over all It is a fun course, it could just use a little TLC. The view over the valley is very nice also.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lost at Rock Canyon

1    10/2/2009   10/4/2009
Review By: NothinButChing
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Uses hazards along with varying elevation changes to create a pretty challenging 9 holes.

All holes are manageable for birdie attempts, as long as you're throwing from the correct tee pad.

Great view of the Provo valley and Utah Lake.. and NO SIGN OF BYU FANS!!
Cons: Lots of varying hazards, and like Solitude you can lose some discs up here if thrown in the wrong spots.

Needs to better mapped out on location. Too easy to get lost or head the wrong direction.
Other Thoughts: Upgrade signs n maps for course ... clear out some of the unnecessary shrubbery, and create wider flatter paths.

Use TStack Map!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rock Canyon rocks!

1    10/2/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: tstack10
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First I will say that I got lost, cut, scraped, skipped a hole, threw my putter 200 feet past basket on drive and thoroughly enjoyed playing this course.

It has great views if you can look past the temple and the Y stadium to see Utah lake.

I enjoyed the hike as several hole are up hill and the terrain can be rough, I fell a couple of times on my bum.

Holes can be very challenging and spotting some baskets can be tough but once you see where they are the holes a very fun to throw.
A lot of trees, rocks and various other terrain add to the difficulty and fair number of holes have some distance to them.

All holes are very fun and challenging.
good baskets and Tee pads say for #6.
Cons: Only 9 holes
One tee pad missing
Can be tough to navigate from tee to basket. So here a link to a map
http://tudg.org/files/rock_canyon.pdf

Wouldnt reccoment playing in the rain
Other Thoughts: #1 straight up hill.
#2 uphill big dogleg right basket hidden in trees right...after two walk back north towards fence them up to #3 tee pad.
#3 long straight nice carry.
#4 nice toss over huge rock in front to tucked pin behind tree on tree line. tough to see from tee walk right pasts rocks to see it.
#5 long carry with steep slope right huge veritcal hill left. luckily someone put white shirt in tree to show you where to aim. Notice here basket bottom painted green? In efforts to camouflage them maybe. lol
#6 no tee pad but threw from road where it was flat.
#7 is right of #6 basket, long throw up hill straight away.
#8 dogleg right towards houses sun lights and right of power poll.
#9 straight downhill, great hole be careful and easy to over shoot. hahaha

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sad Chains

7/3/2008   7/5/2008
Review By: Hitmetal
Played: 161  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.7 Years
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It has concrete tees and chains.
Cons: Almost impossible to find. No signs, no clear fairway, it is up in a rocky, weedy, dry, hill behind a very well maintained park, but obviosly nobody cares about the disc course. It is unmarked, no signs and I gave up on it after hole 4 because of the heat and work it took to find the next tee and chains before even thowing.
Other Thoughts: I find it amazing the park below this course is so well maintained, one of the best upkept city parks I have ever seen, yet the disc course is completly ignored. It is really sad those chains are sitting up there not geting hit.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.