Disc Golf Center
Charlotte, NC
Kilborne TPC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #16 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 355ft.   5 / 423ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Another Good Charlotte Course

1    12/12/2009   1/7/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Overall, Kilborne TPC is a nice DG course. It's definitely not the most extravagant course in Charlotte, but don't let that stop you from playing here. Concrete tees, adequate tee-signs, benches, dual tees, dual pins, nice baskets, good shots, and fair.
- Open Wooded. The course plays mostly through the woods (16 holes)… however, the FAIRways are really fair… (almost to a fault). Most are 20+ foot wide and mostly clear of obstacles, but with tons of punishment for drives that don't find the fairway.
- Two Looks. There are two courses that overlap each other: Kilborne TPC (original) and Skilborne (long)… thus, letting you select the experience you desire (short tee to short pin, short tee to long pin, long tee to short pin, long tee to long pin). Of the other Charlotte courses with overlapping layouts, (S)Kilborne is the cleanest looking.
Cons:
- No Directional Signage. This course is fairly easy to navigate, however I got lost twice?? Several holes end near the tee-pads of other (not the next) holes (i.e. 5 pin and 14 tee… it wasn't until I got to 14's pin that I realized I messed up)... A few simple arrows pointing to the next tee would help tremendously.
- Scary Bum. At two different points on the course there was a bum creeping through the woods near me. I don't know what he was trippin' on, but he was doing some heavy breathing exercises and kinda moving around behind me in the woods… made me miss my putt.
Other Thoughts:
- Kilborne Layout. The Kilborne TPC layout seems pretty straight forward. The fairways have defined shapes and are wide enough to allow you to shape the shot that is required. The shots ranged from 200-400, but most hovered around 300. There also seemed to be an equal number of straight, right, and left holes. Slightly longer and nicer than Reedy.
-Skilborne Layout. I did not play the Skilborne layout due to looming darkness, however I did get a look at a lot of the shots and can say that the Skilborne Layout is much more difficult than the original layout. The shots are either much, much longer or require some sort of drive to a layup zone to dogleg finish… and the pins are located in heavier woods. No tee-signs for this layout yet (that I saw).
- My Rankings. If you're planning a road trip to Charlotte, here are my rankings (of the courses I've played): Renny, Hornetts, Sugaw, Kilborne, Reedy, …………………Veterans.
- My Score: a disappointing -4 (pro Par)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Kilborne TPC

5+    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 108  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good variety of throws is needed, there are right and left turning, and straight fairways.

With relatively short holes, lots of chances for deuces can be had.

The fairways are just that, fair, and well defined. It's a fairly open course to be in the woods.

OB is nearly non-existent at Killborne.

Multiple tees and/or baskets are at every hole, to appeal to different skill levels.

Course signage is good, with signs showing a basic hole map, par and distance.

A practice basket is next to the parking lot, and there's a big field to throw in if you want to work on your technique.

There are restrooms near the parking lot, and the course plays back near them (and the parking lot) at the end of holes #8 & #9, and you're not too far away on several other holes.

Benches and thrash cans are at every tee. There are also pic-nic tables at several tees.

Plenty of convenience stores and restaurants are nearby.
Cons: First and foremost, this is a park in what is now a bad part of town. There seems to always be some shady characters hanging around. I personally would advise against playing there alone.

The course is popular, and gets crowded. You can almost expect to have to wait on a few holes, so it's a good thing there are all those benches and pic-nic tables.

On couple of the fairways that have grass growing in them, the grass never seems to get cut. I know it does at some point, but it just seems this way to me.

Course signage, while good, is not perfect. I've never noticed signs for the longer "Skilborne" layout, or arrows pointing to the next tee.

There's not a lot of hole length variety. Nothing really long, and nothing really short.

The holes are all pretty straight forward, with few creative "alternate" lines. There's little need to get creative and think outside of the box. Non-existent OB takes away a bit of the risk.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing Kilborne, and it keeps me coming back. It's a fun, not too challenging course, that can make you try out most of the throws in your arsenal.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 feels like home

5+    12/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is my home course, about 1.5 miles from the house. probably the better overall course in charlotte for all levels. there is a longer more challenging layout for players who need the challenge. but the original layout is good enough for most. for being in a busy part of town, you get a feeling of being in the woods, for a good part of the round. benches and trashcans at all holes. 2 baskets per hole. except #8 &#9
Cons: there is a fat lady who walks her dog through the park...she is responsible for putting large limbs and sticks in the paths from one hole to another. graffiti is on all the pic-nic tables and trashcans
Other Thoughts: ive played this course over a 100 times, and it still has its shine. it can get crowded, especially on the front 9. so i usually start on hole 10 when that is the case.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 shoulder to shoulder

5+    10/17/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2009
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I love playing at this course, it is easy to play 3 rounds to Renny's one round.I give it a pitiful score, because of novice traffic jams alone.The course is cool, and fairly easy on the short tees.Can be hard to evil on the longs.Back nine is a forehanders paradise.I am one of those, and I take three birdies in a row most days with a cold arm.
Cons: Traffic.Bad traffic. You will encounter many parties of 4 or more with dogs that don't understand that you don't have tee times because it is easy to let you play through and continue your round(s) and discgolf is free. Simple etiquette folks, most important part of the game.Learn that first.Too crowded in the evenings, and that is midweek.Great sign for our sport, but, I mean come on now.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are an early bird, there will be no quick adrenaline run throughs, but is a fun course when the trannys arent there.Number 10 is mine, will ace it before I expire.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but too easy

1    10/6/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 120  Reviewed: 22
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Fun course with some pretty well thought out holes. Great course for beginners or a relaxing round.
Cons: Course is really too easy for anything more than rec play. Can be a little hard to get around from time to time.
Other Thoughts: Decent course but just out-dated.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: CHAINSEEKER66
Played: 22  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played the course for the first time over the weekend. Real enjoyable day. Nice range of shots. concrete tee pads at every hole except the new #9 Overall a good course.
Cons: Needs a some direction markers to next tee.Having never played found myself wondering on a couple of holes. But after playing 2 rounds was very familiar with the layout.
Other Thoughts: Being new to the game this is just a general review. I usally play Reedy Creek which is where I played first. I will play this course again. One note the pictures on this review page do not reflect the new layout and shifting of some tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads were adequate on every hole. Signage was mostly good. The course flowed well from hole to hole so locating the next tee was never a problem. A nice mix of shorts/longs and left/right shots required does not really favor any particular style.

Overall a good course if you are in the area. I had driven up to play Renaissance and this was just a quick second round. I wouldn't drive the 3+ hours up there to play just this course though.
Cons: There were just a few. On hole 15 there were a couple of young men who were pretty obviously peddling drugs or up to no good. I don't personally care if people want to blaze, but if I had my kids with me I'd be pissed.

There was also a random burnout dude wandering the course in a daze. I'm talking COMPLETELY shot out. If he's local and on the course all the time, I'd consider that a con. There were also random people spread out throughout the woods in weird places talking on cell phones and stuff. I've played a few courses in rougher areas, but this one was a step above.
Other Thoughts: The burnout dude creeped me out at first, but then we just labeled him as a zombie and got a good kick out of watching him shamble around - oo000hhhhhh, 'more brains' ooo0000hhh.

Good times, just not the best course I've ever played. Not bad, but not great either. If you're in the area, go enjoy it and tell the zombie I said hi. :-)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Solid

1    8/21/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads on every hole. Good balance of left and right dog legs. Clean fairways and no serious rough or underbrush to deal with when errant shot goes in woods. New multiple baskets on many holes to add to variety and difficulty. Look's like there will also be some new tee pads also.
Cons: Not a lot of cons. Course is in a park near a neighborhood so you have to deal with non-golfes. I had 2 kids biking down fairways and about 5 people using the fairways as walking trails. Not the course's fault, but something you have to deal with anyway. Course is being improved so the the signs aren't updated yet. As a first time player I had to find some of the new baskets by accident. Some long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course itself, but the non-golfer activity does mess with the enjoyment of the round a little. The improvements being done will make the course better once they are all done. New signs marking the multiple basket positions would really help. Looks like the Charlotte Disc Golf Club is doing a good job trying to improve the course. I would definitely play again when I am in Charlotte. Once everything is done I think the course could easily earn a 3.5 or even a 4.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid DG course, lacking very little

5+    7/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [UPDATED 9/20/11, with rating up to 4.0 because of recent love given to the course]

Located in a multi-purpose park, Kilborne offers alot to disc golfers of any level of play. Each hole has a long and short combo, either with tees, baskets or both, with the exception of hole 8 which is currently the same on both layouts. All baskets are in excellent condition, and all recently stolen baskets have been replaced. All tees are concrete(except for long 7 and 9 as of 9/20/11). New tee signs at all holes are sufficient, par, distance, and line shape posted(laminated printed paper attatched to posts). Nevermind the fact that the name of the course is misspelled on the tee signs. Benches at all tee pads except hole 10 and trash cans at about every tee.

This course stays fairly clean of litter, thanks to all who collect trash and dump it in the next can. Most of the wooded areas on the course are free of underbrush, which makes it quite tough to lose a disc that is close to the fairway.

The course has a mix of open and tight shots, left and right dog-legs.

With dual tee/basket placements, this course could be played as four different courses, keeping the course fresh for advanced players, and allowing beginner/intermediate players to play with little frustration.
Short tee/short basket: Beginner/Intermediate
Long tee/short basket: Intermediate/Advanced
Short tee/long basket: Intermediate/Advanced
Long tee/long basket: Advanced/Pro

In addition to the different combos to play, try the "Clash Layout". Layout designed for the Carolina Clash 2011, and will be used in future tournaments. Par 58;
Hole;Basket/Pin (S=short, L=long,)
1;S/L, 2;S/S, 3;S/S, 4;S/S, 5;L/S, 6;S/L, 7;S/S, 8;S/S, 9;S/S, 10;S/L, 11;S/S, 12;S/L, 13;S/S, 14;S/L, 15;S/L, 16;S/S, 17;S/S, 18;S/L. Par 4s are #s 6, 12, 15, 17.
Cons: Lack of elevation is the only true downfall of the course. Some holes, even though they run through the woods, have a wide and forgiving fairway which play fairly easy without having to worry about terrain. Holes 14 and 15 have mild elevation compaired to the rest of the course, but this is a pretty easy walking course as it is mostly flat.

Anything else that may be considered a con would just be nitpicking. The course is under new direction, and those currently in charge have been putting their asses into turning the course around into a clean and beautiful natural experience.
Other Thoughts: A course for all levels of play, Kilborne is a somewhat technical course and can require a variety of shots. Most holes would not qualify as "let 'r rip" holes. Strategy plays a huge role in a good round at Kilborne.

Long tees to long baskets is known as "Skillborne", and was recently added for use for the 2012 PDGA Worlds, which will be played in Charlotte. Thank you to CharlotteDGC and the Kilborne Krew for the addition of the new tees and baskets, along with the constant upkeep of this beautiful course.

Favorite Holes: 14, 18, 4

Least Favorite: 9, 16, 7

PLAY SKILLBORNE!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Wooded Course Which Can Be Enjoyed By All!

1    7/18/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kilbourne is a pretty basic, yet lovely course, set in a large multi-use park. Most of the course seems to play away from the park users although I did run into some joggers and a couple of walkers. The regular course had 17 concrete tees and and one natural. Thye were very nice tee signs but almost no next signs or navigational aids. Even without the next tee signs, the course was fairly simple to navigate as I played it for the first time. There is a more difficult option here, play the Skilbourne course, which appears to be much more challenging. Clever name too. The fairways are wooded but open enough that they are not pinball throws, like a couple at Squirrel Lake. This is a course that most everyone could play and enjoy, from beginners to the more advanced types. I guess the big arms might be disappointed with the lack of room to really air it out on. The course terrain is thick enough that you can often hear the other golfers but you still have that feeling of being out in the woods hiking alone. Wonderful feeling of solitude.
Cons: There wasn't one hole that got me all excited about being a signature hole. They were all just really solid disc golf holes. I got a little confused when I finished # 1 , played #2 and birdied it, and then the next hole is also # 2. I didn't really l approve of # 10 playing right by the ball field. I'm sure more than a few errant throws end up disrupting the ballgames there.
Other Thoughts: This is just another very solid, very enjoyable courses in an area already rich in courses. Charlotte golfers, you are a very lucky group to have this plethora of courses in your area. Us visitors from other parts of country are so impressed with the choices you have here. And more than a little bit jealous, too.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.