Charlotte, NC 
Kilborne TPC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    2/20/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.4 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Large map on kiosk
Generous concrete tee pads
Good amenities: Bathrooms, playgrounds, benches, and trash cans.
2 baskets and 2 tees on 1,5,7,10,13, and 15.
Course was easy to find with one of the grey and blue signs all of the area course have.
Cons: Vague tee signs that show if the basket is left or right.
Small need for some navigational signs. A sign from 5 to 6, and 17 to 18 would help a little.
DGA baskets with blue number plates were easy to see, but baskets were not all the same. For example, Basket 9 was shallower than the rest of the baskets, some chains seemed different.
Hole 18 had you play close to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Course was repetitive and not very memorable. It is a solid course, but it lacks the excitement of several of the other Charlotte courses. If you uprooted this course and placed it anywhere else it would be a success, but Charlotte is saturated with quality courses.
Lots of challenge, but after playing Nevin or Renny, this will feel like a cake walk.
We heard locals tell stories of how dangerous it was, but I never felt anything but safe, although living in the ghetto in DC makes everything seem safe.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: good course. lots of fun. easy to navigate. good mix of holes. wasn't crowded. good teepads.
Cons: just outdated and not the quality of other courses in the area.
Other Thoughts: been awhile since i played it. maybe i should go back and give it another shot.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very enjoyable course

2-4    6/28/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 17.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Note: this review pertains only to the original layout and not the soon to be completed "Skillborne" overlay course.

Kilborne provides a very good challenge for white and blue level players. Gold level players can still get a good workout here and the track is not too difficult for red level players. So, the appeal to a broad player base is a plus.

The course is very fun with clean fairways, minimal schule, little chance of losing discs and good flow from hole to hole.

A variety of shot shapes are required, the course is very "fair" and there are a few times that strategic choices come into play.

I disagree with other reviewers who've said that the park is in a bad part of town. It's a very nice park, across the street from a beautiful neighborhood and draws a diversity of people to play and relax. That is a GOOD thing!
Cons: There are several places that "next tee" signage is needed. Neither the main sign nor the individual tee signs mention the "Skillborne" layout. With multiple baskets on many holes, it is potentially confusing for first-time players. Courses need to have adequate signage, such that the first-time player can easily navigate ALL course layouts that are present.
Other Thoughts: We had the great pleasure of meeting Stan and Diane McDaniel at the course and are very appreciative for all their hard work and hospitality.

Don't be a dirty discer! Leave the course cleaner than you found it.

Also, enjoyed meeting many other friendly locals that are appreciative of their Charlotte area disc golf mecca.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging without Trees

1    5/22/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: AndyBernard14
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The layout of the course is great. It's centered around the park but you rarely see any of the park-goers. I liked the course because it had the thrower focus more on curving the disc in the right place rather than getting it straight through some trees. Other places will be straight away but make you dodge about 40 trees in between. Kilborne has mostly open fairways that allow the thrower to air it out but be careful where you throw it. The hole usually cuts out to the right or left so the disc has to curve a certain direction. Really helps you work on your control off the drive.
Cons: Not a lot of variety. Most of the holes seemed to be similar. I would have liked to see some fun mando's that other courses are known for. Some twists along the way would have improved the excitement.
Other Thoughts: The park is very well kept up and the holes are decently sized. I would look it up if you haven't been playing for too long and you're sick of hitting trees off of your drive.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Locals are too tough on this course

1    1/17/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 863  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Concrete tees help the overall score on this course. Skillborne layout does not have permanent tees yet but you can generally see packed areas of leaves.

2) Course challenges everyone despite having SOME very forgiving fairways. In my opinion it is an easier and more fair copy of Nevin or Hornets Nest. More skill is needed to play well, but luck is less of a factor here as it is at Nevin or Hornest Nest. Skillborne layout is a lot tougher than the original because the baskets are always longer and they are also tucked into pockets of the woods as opposed to having a wide open green area.

3) Tee signs are present but only contain Hole #, par and distance. I consider this a minimum. The picture ont he signs are mostly decorative and do not offer much of a layout. It does have a dot for the tee and a dot for the basket and a general shot shape, but there is no other detail about the hole. Skillborne layout does not have a tee sign and.or is not indicated on the original layout tee signs.

4) Course is way more forgiving than any of the other Charlotte courses of (Rennaisance, Nevin, Hornets Nest, Squirrel Lake) and thus is pretty beginner friendly. I would have no problem bringing a beginner to this course. Not only are the fairways somewhat forgiving but the holes will still challenge the beginner. i think it is a better place to learn than an open field except for the FIRST TIMER.

5) DGA baskets of differing ages and condition have custom # plates indicated Killborne or Skillborne layout. This is also listed int he negatives.

6) This course has a good variety of shot shaping. The fairways allow for some variance and decision making, but you still have to execute the shot. It has everything from hyzers, anhyzers, hyzer flips, skip hyzers, spike hyzers and even some straight shots. Bring it all!

7) Course has a good variety in foliage density, hole distance, slight elevation changes, and it includes some water in play

8) Garbage and benches at many teeboxes. Welcome additions to this course.

9) Multiple baskets left in the ground all of the time. This may create some confusion (but I already recommended they change the # plates be painted specific colors to avoid confusion) because on many holes you end up throwing right over the original basket to the deeper more challenging "Skillborne" baskets, but always having the flexibility to play this course different ways would be tremendous in my eyes. This concept is new to me to have "seperate" layouts but apparently the local CHarlotte crew has been doing it for a while because Hornets Nest and Renaissance also have the "Charlottes Web" layout.
Cons: 1) Some baskets have some strange chain configurations creating inconsistant catching. I am not sure if these were homemade additions to baskets with les chains or if this was the original intent, but a few of them are not in good shape. Baskets also are tough to differentiate between Kilborne and Skillborne layouts. I think they should have made all of the Skillborne baskets gold and the Kilborne baskets could have been Blue.

2) Course is entirely in the woods creating all sorts of rough spots in fairways. The ground is covered with tons of downed leaves, but the ground underneath is muddy and clay and will be very slick when it rains (which it did for the entire night before I played).

3) I have to agree that the fairways a little too forgiving in many spots. I like that they are easier than the other local courses but I would have been just fine playing another tough wooded course. This one was a little short of TOUGH, but it still did challenge,

4) Tee signs have only the minimum of info. The bulk of the sign is the local clubs logo. I would much rather see a bigger hole diagram especially because the baskets are not always visible from the tee. The lack of Skillborne info is also disappointing, but I assume this will be taken care of if they actually do get concrete installed on all the Skillborne holes.

5) Lacking in directional signage. It could get very confusing with the multiple layouts, multiple baskets, and multiple tees. Perhaps it will come when all the tees are in, but I was glad to have a local there even though he hadnt played the Skillborne layout before, he still knew where most of the tees were.

6) Apparently this is a bad part of town and there are shady people on the course at different times. I have always found playing DG in the rain and crappy weather keeps the creeps away because I didnt see anything out of the ordinary. I am also convinced Charlotte is a progressive city and locals ideas of safe and unsafe vary dramatically from say Milwaukee residents. I think that is the reason Kops Park is not allowed on the site because Timg is worried about peoples safety! Oops I broke my new years resolution, but I doubt he will see it unless he reads all reviews!!! Regardless the local non DGers have been a problem for some people so I thought I would mention it even though I didnt see it.
Other Thoughts: I have played some pretty awesome courses on my road trip but also on my 2 days in CHarlotte. I have gotten to Renaissance, Squirrel Lake, Hornets Nest, Nevin and Kilborne. I have to say that is a pretty nice selection and some might consider Kilborne to be "too easy" or "too little" of a course. I cannot go along with that notion and judging by the overall rating I think it is a better course than people give it credit for. I played it the same day as Nevin and Hornets Nest and 1 day after Renaissance and Squirrel Lake and sure it is a little more forgiving than the others, but it still is a great course in my opinion. I only wish Milwaukee had more good courses than just quantity because I could play any other these courses any day!!! Any course I would play everyday is at the worst a 3.5 disc course. I love the versatility of the multiple baskets being left in all the time. In WI we simply have multiple tees and single baskets (that generally get moved regularly) but on any day you could play this course 3-4 different ways. The Skillborne layout is definitely for the advanced player. Some of the teeshots require a simple layup to start the hole rather than risk a horrible ricochet, so if you are balls to the walls driver throwing player the Skillborne may not treat you well, but if you know when 50' less than max in the fairway is better than risking those bad shots, then playing the Skillborne layout is for you. Not all of those tees make the holes that much tougher but a handful do. It is more a factor of the basket location. You need way more variety in skills to get good access to some of those baskets. The normal baskets are way more accessible and generally a whole lot straighter. If you arent an early rec player I recommend playing both layouts, start with the shorts to know the holes, then play the longs to experience the greatness of the course. Although I only played the longs I did pay attention to the shot types on the regular layout and can say it would still be a fun course, but way more birdie opportunities than you would get the chance at on the SKillborne layout.
Have fun and huk it!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Another Good Charlotte Course

1    12/12/2009   1/7/2010
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.1 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
- Overall, Kilborne TPC is a nice DG course. It's definitely not the most extravagant course in Charlotte, but don't let that stop you from playing here. Concrete tees, adequate tee-signs, benches, dual tees, dual pins, nice baskets, good shots, and fair.
- Open Wooded. The course plays mostly through the woods (16 holes)... however, the FAIRways are really fair... (almost to a fault). Most are 20+ foot wide and mostly clear of obstacles, but with tons of punishment for drives that don't find the fairway.
- Two Looks. There are two courses that overlap each other: Kilborne TPC (original) and Skilborne (long)... thus, letting you select the experience you desire (short tee to short pin, short tee to long pin, long tee to short pin, long tee to long pin). Of the other Charlotte courses with overlapping layouts, (S)Kilborne is the cleanest looking.
- No Directional Signage. This course is fairly easy to navigate, however I got lost twice?? Several holes end near the tee-pads of other (not the next) holes (i.e. 5 pin and 14 tee... it wasn't until I got to 14's pin that I realized I messed up)... A few simple arrows pointing to the next tee would help tremendously.
- Scary Bum. At two different points on the course there was a bum creeping through the woods near me. I don't know what he was trippin' on, but he was doing some heavy breathing exercises and kinda moving around behind me in the woods... made me miss my putt.
Other Thoughts:
- Kilborne Layout. The Kilborne TPC layout seems pretty straight forward. The fairways have defined shapes and are wide enough to allow you to shape the shot that is required. The shots ranged from 200-400, but most hovered around 300. There also seemed to be an equal number of straight, right, and left holes. Slightly longer and nicer than Reedy.
-Skilborne Layout. I did not play the Skilborne layout due to looming darkness, however I did get a look at a lot of the shots and can say that the Skilborne Layout is much more difficult than the original layout. The shots are either much, much longer or require some sort of drive to a layup zone to dogleg finish... and the pins are located in heavier woods. No tee-signs for this layout yet (that I saw).
- My Rankings. If you're planning a road trip to Charlotte, here are my rankings (of the courses I've played): Renny, Hornetts, Sugaw, Kilborne, Reedy, .....................Veterans.
- My Score: a disappointing -4 (pro Par)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Kilborne TPC

5+    1/2/2010   1/3/2010
Review By: bikinjack
Played: 113  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A good variety of throws is needed, there are right and left turning, and straight fairways.

With relatively short holes, lots of chances for deuces can be had.

The fairways are just that, fair, and well defined. It's a fairly open course to be in the woods.

OB is nearly non-existent at Killborne.

Multiple tees and/or baskets are at every hole, to appeal to different skill levels.

Course signage is good, with signs showing a basic hole map, par and distance.

A practice basket is next to the parking lot, and there's a big field to throw in if you want to work on your technique.

There are restrooms near the parking lot, and the course plays back near them (and the parking lot) at the end of holes #8 & #9, and you're not too far away on several other holes.

Benches and thrash cans are at every tee. There are also pic-nic tables at several tees.

Plenty of convenience stores and restaurants are nearby.
Cons: First and foremost, this is a park in what is now a bad part of town. There seems to always be some shady characters hanging around. I personally would advise against playing there alone.

The course is popular, and gets crowded. You can almost expect to have to wait on a few holes, so it's a good thing there are all those benches and pic-nic tables.

On couple of the fairways that have grass growing in them, the grass never seems to get cut. I know it does at some point, but it just seems this way to me.

Course signage, while good, is not perfect. I've never noticed signs for the longer "Skilborne" layout, or arrows pointing to the next tee.

There's not a lot of hole length variety. Nothing really long, and nothing really short.

The holes are all pretty straight forward, with few creative "alternate" lines. There's little need to get creative and think outside of the box. Non-existent OB takes away a bit of the risk.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing Kilborne, and it keeps me coming back. It's a fun, not too challenging course, that can make you try out most of the throws in your arsenal.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 feels like home

5+    12/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: hogleggbob
Played: 96  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: this is my home course, about 1.5 miles from the house. probably the better overall course in charlotte for all levels. there is a longer more challenging layout for players who need the challenge. but the original layout is good enough for most. for being in a busy part of town, you get a feeling of being in the woods, for a good part of the round. benches and trashcans at all holes. 2 baskets per hole. except #8 &#9
Cons: there is a fat lady who walks her dog through the park...she is responsible for putting large limbs and sticks in the paths from one hole to another. graffiti is on all the pic-nic tables and trashcans
Other Thoughts: ive played this course over a 100 times, and it still has its shine. it can get crowded, especially on the front 9. so i usually start on hole 10 when that is the case.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 shoulder to shoulder

5+    10/17/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2009
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I love playing at this course, it is easy to play 3 rounds to Renny's one round.I give it a pitiful score, because of novice traffic jams alone.The course is cool, and fairly easy on the short tees.Can be hard to evil on the longs.Back nine is a forehanders paradise.I am one of those, and I take three birdies in a row most days with a cold arm.
Cons: Traffic.Bad traffic. You will encounter many parties of 4 or more with dogs that don't understand that you don't have tee times because it is easy to let you play through and continue your round(s) and discgolf is free. Simple etiquette folks, most important part of the game.Learn that first.Too crowded in the evenings, and that is midweek.Great sign for our sport, but, I mean come on now.
Other Thoughts: Unless you are an early bird, there will be no quick adrenaline run throughs, but is a fun course when the trannys arent there.Number 10 is mine, will ace it before I expire.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but too easy

1    10/6/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 131  Reviewed: 23
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Fun course with some pretty well thought out holes. Great course for beginners or a relaxing round.
Cons: Course is really too easy for anything more than rec play. Can be a little hard to get around from time to time.
Other Thoughts: Decent course but just out-dated.

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.