Charlotte, NC
Kilborne TPC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #14 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 330ft.   4 / 420ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Addictive

5+    4/23/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 71  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Kilborne has a lot of variety, particularly since the baskets are moved from short to long positions throughout the year. Some courses have holes that aren't distinguishable - where many seem to run together - but Kilborne definitely isn't like that. Every hole stands apart.

- The front nine is considerably easier/shorter than the back, so that gives you the opportunity to get a rhythm going into the back nine. The toughest holes are the stretch from 15 to 17, and that's how it should be in my opinion.

- This has all the amenities that a classic disc golf course should have: good, long concrete tees, signs with hole maps, benches, trash cans at most holes, etc. Some of the signs have taken a beating over the years, but most are still in good shape.
Cons: - It can get a little backed up during the week, and it's a bit of a hike to #10 if you want to play the back nine first to avoid the crowds at #1. That's a minor issue for most, perhaps, but I always take that into account when courses are busy.

- #3 is throwing over the edge of a soccer field, and many times the soccer players drift into range of your shot. It can get a little frustrating at times trying to get folks out of the way so you can tee off there.

- To a lesser extent, hole #1 throws over an area that many patrons walk through to get from the parking lot to the soccer fields and rest of the park. You have to keep an eye out to make sure folks are paying attention enough not to walk through your shot.

- Holes #4 and 5, particularly 5 when the basket is in the long position, are close to some houses that take away some of the aesthetic aspect of the park. That side of the park can get a bit trashy at times.

- The back nine can really take you far away from the parking lot area, particularly holes 14-16. That comes into play in the early evening because the park closes around dusk... and sometimes earlier. I've been stuck out around hole #15 when the siren has gone off to signal the park's closing, and I had to huff it to get back to the parking lot to keep from getting locked in the park. Pay close attention if it starts to get dark and you're still out on the course.

- Navigation can be confusing. I've gotten tripped up finishing #6 and walking to the right to the next closest hole, which is #14. You actually have to walk to the left to find #7. Also, walking from #5 to #6 can be confusing because there's a walking trail that goes through that area. If possible, consult a course map beforehand to figure out the navigation.
Other Thoughts: Kilborne is good for beginners and more advanced players. I feel like it's a 'tweener course - not the toughest in Charlotte, but not the easiest, either. It's a very addictive course, particularly if you're just learning the game and trying to improve.

*** UPDATE ***

- Kilborne has been redesigned to further differentiate between the Kilborne and Skillborne layouts. The old #1 basket has been removed from the trees next to the road, and the new #1 basket is across the small field on the left side now, away from the road. Also, the old #1 tee is now the Skillborne tee, and the new regular tee is ahead to the right between the trees and parking lot.

- Old #2 has been completely removed, and that basket is now the new #1 basket for the Skillborne layout.

- Because #2 has been removed, old holes 3-9 are now 2-8 and a new #9 has been added. It's a short hole that's squeezed back into the woods between 8 and 10 coming back toward the baseball field. You actually have to walk through a small path and then down half the fairway to get to the tee, and this could be problematic if someone is teeing off when you reach the fairway.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    5/25/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course Layout
Good mix open wooded
Condition of Course
Enjoyment factor
Fair use of elevation changes
Cons: Signage is there but not in good condition as of date last played
risk reward is not that great on most holes
Other Thoughts: Wife and I play this one when we come to town. There is something about this course we both love. Would highly recomend it to anyone.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 50  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good design with a few multi-shot holes. Must take advantage of easier holes as a few holes provide a nice challenge. Fairways are a must on most holes as rough and angles to pins can be very challenging. For me it is kind of a mix between Reedy and Sugaw.
Cons: Don't care for the park.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A- = A Great Course!

5+    12/30/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C+
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

Oh....and a PS: I love the online "Be the Disc!" narrated fly-by videos! :)

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 good for practice and friendly competitioin

5+    4/8/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of holes, mostly wooded but plenty of room for slinging
-Rates highly in the fun factor, you'll be back here time and time again
-Well kept, decent signage
-Two layouts that offer variety depending on your skill level
-Great place to practice and try new shots
-Kilborne is a mid-range mecca
Cons: -Difference between the normal and skill layout is immense. I haven't tried skillborne yet, it's intimidating.
-Kinda busy, football (soccer) matches on the weekends (not a bad thing, but salient all the same)
Other Thoughts: Kilborne is a fun course, plain and simple. There is great variety in the holes. A beginner can come out here and shoot a decent round, then be disappointed by their next. It will test your mid-range game, there really is no need for distance drivers. Anyone can shoot under par here, but its not guaranteed - therein lies the appeal.
Hardest holes:
-Six: not necessarily difficult, but it is lengthy and gradually doglegs right. One missed throw in the woods and say goodbye to that birdie chance.
-Seventeen: a beast, with distance and trees a constant threat.
Easiest holes:
-One: very open, a good drive will secure that birdie
-Two: very open, so much so they have a soccer field there. That's the hardest part, not hitting anyone!

My favorite hole:
-Fourteen: when the evening sun hits the trees just right....and the leaves (in the fall) are glistening, well, you get the point. It's a scenic hole and it's where I sank my first long long "putt" when I first started playing - roughly a 100 footer.

UPDATE:
I'm not the biggest fan of the change at Kilborne, but it certainly doesn't detract from the overall rating. The new hole #9 is garbage, you have to cross the fairway of #8 to get to it, then you have a bout 7-8 feet of space to get it into the fairway. It feels forced, and I hate forced dg design.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 An extremely enjoyable course!

1    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: Youngblood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course after 4 straight days of a soaking rain and the course was extremely dry with only minimal mud spots. The course is laid out well with some tricky shots due to trees. There are sitting areas at nearly every hole. No excessive walking between any holes. All they players playing were kind and accommodating. Cement tee pads at every hole.
Cons: The course is very old and allot of tee markers were missing. The baskets are hard to see at a distance because the markers have been stolen or broken off. However all holes did contain baskets. A few unsavory people walking around, not sure I would play this course as a solo. (Although nobody bothered me while I was playing).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, I would have loved to give more technical aspects of the course, but I am new to the sport so I am just keeping the review to the facts. I drove about 20 minutes to this course (Well worth it!) and highly recommend this course if you are ever in the Charlotte area. I will absolutely be back to play this course again in the very near future!! I have updated this review as I originally thought they were no bathrooms around, but I was incorrect. The park does indeed host bathrooms.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: tspeedb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: what a cool course, no one i know doesnt like it. built very well and very fun. open and in woods.
Cons: not very long holes but a good lil drive. kinda in a bad neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: i like it!!! i play there alot. also park closes at sunset

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/12/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -wooded with very well defined fariways
-fun for all levels of players
-well maintained course
-short version is great for getting a round in on a lunch break
-benches on almost every hole
-restrooms and other facilities between hole 1 and 18
Cons: -can be difficult to navigate on your first trip
-a really busy course (which could be a good thing as it shows how many people enjoy the course)
Other Thoughts: the locals dont call it "skillborne" for nothing

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good test of skills

2-4    10/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great test of skills. Well-defined fairways. Great use of alternate tees and baskets. Length and accuracy required. Combination of open and tight wooded shots. The park is very well maintained and clean.
Cons: Terrible flow of the holes. Very difficult to find the next tee, unless you play with a local. Easy to get lost. The course borders on several playing fields and an errant throw could wind up in the field of play.
Other Thoughts: This is how a wooded course should be designed. Well-defined fairways and difficult to rescue a bad shot. This is my favorite wooded course. Just a short ride from Sugaw in one direction, and a little longer to Reedy Creek in the other direction.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Skillborne

5+    10/28/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice technical course. Well drawn out and open fairways give plenty of room to work your shots, however thick woods do outline several holes, which will punish inaccurate throws. Park offers restrooms and plenty of trashcans.
Other Thoughts: Kilborne offers a great variety of shots and the park is very well maintained. Very deceiving fairways can humble you if you underestimate them. Like most of the Charlotte courses this one is a must play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.