Charlotte, NC 
Kilborne TPC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 300ft.   4 / 429ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 An extremely enjoyable course!

1    3/30/2009   3/30/2009
Review By: Youngblood
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course after 4 straight days of a soaking rain and the course was extremely dry with only minimal mud spots. The course is laid out well with some tricky shots due to trees. There are sitting areas at nearly every hole. No excessive walking between any holes. All they players playing were kind and accommodating. Cement tee pads at every hole.
Cons: The course is very old and allot of tee markers were missing. The baskets are hard to see at a distance because the markers have been stolen or broken off. However all holes did contain baskets. A few unsavory people walking around, not sure I would play this course as a solo. (Although nobody bothered me while I was playing).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, I would have loved to give more technical aspects of the course, but I am new to the sport so I am just keeping the review to the facts. I drove about 20 minutes to this course (Well worth it!) and highly recommend this course if you are ever in the Charlotte area. I will absolutely be back to play this course again in the very near future!! I have updated this review as I originally thought they were no bathrooms around, but I was incorrect. The park does indeed host bathrooms.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    3/5/2009   3/5/2009
Review By: tspeedb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: what a cool course, no one i know doesnt like it. built very well and very fun. open and in woods.
Cons: not very long holes but a good lil drive. kinda in a bad neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: i like it!!! i play there alot. also park closes at sunset

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/12/2009   2/15/2009
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -wooded with very well defined fariways
-fun for all levels of players
-well maintained course
-short version is great for getting a round in on a lunch break
-benches on almost every hole
-restrooms and other facilities between hole 1 and 18
Cons: -can be difficult to navigate on your first trip
-a really busy course (which could be a good thing as it shows how many people enjoy the course)
Other Thoughts: the locals dont call it "skillborne" for nothing

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good test of skills

2-4    10/7/2008   2/7/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great test of skills. Well-defined fairways. Great use of alternate tees and baskets. Length and accuracy required. Combination of open and tight wooded shots. The park is very well maintained and clean.
Cons: Terrible flow of the holes. Very difficult to find the next tee, unless you play with a local. Easy to get lost. The course borders on several playing fields and an errant throw could wind up in the field of play.
Other Thoughts: This is how a wooded course should be designed. Well-defined fairways and difficult to rescue a bad shot. This is my favorite wooded course. Just a short ride from Sugaw in one direction, and a little longer to Reedy Creek in the other direction.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/28/2008   1/21/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 16.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice technical course. Well drawn out and open fairways give plenty of room to work your shots, however thick woods do outline several holes, which will punish inaccurate throws. Park offers restrooms and plenty of trashcans.
Other Thoughts: Kilborne offers a great variety of shots and the park is very well maintained. Very deceiving fairways can humble you if you underestimate them. Like most of the Charlotte courses this one is a must play.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/23/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: governmentthief
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course. Good for a beginner like me, but has enough challenge (especially on the back 9) to make it fun for advanced players too. Nice design allows for lots of different shots: some require accuracy, some distance, right and left doglegs. 16 and 17 can be beasts if you dont get a decent drive. Mostly wooded with only holes 1, 3, 10, 12 and 18 giving room for some reckless slinging.
Cons: Can get a bit crowded on the weekends. Not everyone seems to want to use the ubiquitous trash cans available. Hole 3 is often interfered with by nets from the soccer matches.
Other Thoughts: If you need to take a poo, be aware that the stall in the men's restroom is quite open and has no door! Yikes! Lots of soccer played here so try not to bean a soccer guy in the head on hole 3.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Charlotte Course

5+    7/2/2009   11/17/2008
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2009
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easily my favorite Charlotte course, Reedy Creek being second. I love the seculeded feel you have on most holes. This is a woods course that is fairly open. 14-17 are my favorite 4 holes, they are really tough but fair. Basket placements make them a challenge to me. I would recommend anyone of any level to play this if you are in Charlotte. There are multiple baskets on some holes. Benches on every hole, tee signs, picnic tables on some holes, plenty of trash cans, and restrooms near the break between 9 and 10. You need to be in the fairway with your throws, getting into the trees can really wreck your score here, and to me that is a plus.
Cons: In the fall you have a ton of leaves on almost every hole, making it impairative to keep an eye on where your disc lands. And it helps to throw a bright disc. There are a couple of holes that might be hard on a first timer to this course as far as finding the next hole. Transition from 5 to 6 comes to mind, go left on the walking path. The tee signs are starting to date and I would question the length on a few of them. They are soon to be replaced.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the Charlotte area. But I do have to say I don't have big D. The Killy layout is great for novice up to intermediate. The Skilly layout will challange anyone. For me this course is just a great walk through the woods with a great course thrown in.

Update-A lot of recent work has been done on this course. #1 and #2 have changed and there is a new #9. The intention was to get back to the original intent of the course prior to the park renovations. The Skilborne layout has been completed and is a monster layout with a par 70. Once the concrete tees for that layout and the new tee signs are in I will give a better updated review.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/5/2008   11/14/2008
Review By: borndasaur
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2009
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two course layouts using 2 tees and 2 baskets on most of the holes. Signage is being upgraded to reflect major changes (see below). The long course (Skillborne) will challenge pros while the short course challenges rec players. Good mix of long/short, right/left doglegs, slopes and flat keep it interesting. Drinking fountain and indoor restrooms available. The front nine loop back to the restrooms and the back nine loop back to the parking lot. All concrete tees on the short course, most tees have benches and trash cans. Some tees have picnic tables.
Cons: The paths for the course cross walking trails at some points which causes some confusion. Watch out for pedestrians using fairways as walking paths. The fairway on hole 2 is pinched between woods and a heavily used soccer field which can cause some delay. (The soccer fields are temporarily closed so this problem is gone for now.) The fairway on hole 10 borders a fenced baseball field and shots lost high and short to the left will be over the fence.
Other Thoughts: The park closes promptly at sunset. Leave when you hear the horns or sirens.

There have been major changes made to the Skillborne layout. New, natural tees have been created for holes 1 thru 9, and 11 thru 18. Hole #1 has been changed to throw from the #1 tees to what was the #2 basket. The old #1 basket has been moved to a new short position. The hole numbers on the front 9 have been changed. A new #9 hole has been added between new #8 and #10. A long basket has been added to #18 This new layout emphasizes both accuracy and control lending new meaning to the name SKILLborne. Par is set at 70.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/21/2008   7/26/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 207  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 11.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2009
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good, challenging course. Has plenty of birdie chances as well as holes where par is a challenge. It might have the best combo of easy, birdie holes and challenging holes in the area.
- Course has a longer layout "Skillborne." It gives a good, tougher alternative to the standard course layout. Only downside to Skillborne layout is that regular baskets are all in short position, meaning more birdie chances and less challenge.
- # 15 - 17 is one of the toughest 3-hole stretches you'll face. All 3 are more than 400 ft with difficult basket locations. If you're off your game, it can be a rough ending to an otherwise good round. To get the true sense of these holes, play to Skillborne baskets from regular tees.
- Course is easy to navigate. Holes flow nicely from one basket to next tee pad. Only exception for first timers might be going from 5th basket (in long position) to 6th tee and 6th basket to 7 tee (14th hole is parallel to 6th, leading to possible confusion.)
- Good tee signs. Leave little doubt about layouts.
- Good variety of wooded and open holes. Most wooded holes aren't too tight, meaning you can still let your tee shots fly and not be penalized.
Cons: Course can get dirty. On some holes, houses back up to fairway, and you can see all sorts of trash.
- The course isn't in a horrible part of town, but it's not the greatest area. Crime is a problem in the area, so hide all your valuables in the car.
- Fairway for #2 is the edge of a wide open field, which is sometimes used for soccer games. English tends to be the second language for many of the players, so there can be a hindrance trying to inform people you're trying to play through.
- Course and walking paths interweave throughout park. I've come across/nearly hit non-DGers walking the course, thinking it was still a trail. Again, English was a second language in this situation. - In the fall, leaves can be thick on ground. I've seen on numerous occasions people (including myself) lose or nearly lose discs in the fairway because the leaves build up so much on the ground. It's one thing for the leaf-coverage to be thick in the woods, but it's frustrating when you're having to search for discs in the fairway.
- As mentioned above, all original baskets are now permanently in the short positions due to Skillborne layout. While it's good for beginners, it does take away some of the difficultly/tradition of the original course, notably in the closing stretch of holes #15 - 17. Instead of being 3 400+ par 4s, there're all easy par 3s.
Other Thoughts: Skillborne is a good challenge for the advanced players; beginners will enjoy the shorter, regular layout.
- I always loved some of the hole layouts on this course. Yes, there are some repetitive hole layouts, especially on the shorter layout, but the tougher holes make up for that.
- Skillborne course is really good, while the short layout is just so-so. Skillborne is closer to a 4, but the short layout, is barely a 3 (not as good as Sugaw or Reedy). As noted above, to get the sense of the old-school Kilborne layout, play some of the regular tees to the Skillborne baskets, notably #4, 15 - 17. In those layouts, those holes are par 4, add in #12 as a par 4, and you have the old, Kilborne long, par 59 layout.
- Had my first ace ever on #13, so this course will always be a personal favorite for me.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Course - Great for Beginners!

4/9/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: basegiants
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Very well kept, no real trash or any other unsightly features. Hole placement is just challenging enough for beginners and maybe some intermediate players.
Cons: Lots of windy paths that lead from hole to hole. The paths are intertwined with a jogging path that can lead you in the wrong direction. No real signs to tell which way to walk to the next hole.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.