Charlotte, NC 
Kilborne TPC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 290ft.   4 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Nice course

1    9/13/2009   9/14/2009
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played the course for the first time over the weekend. Real enjoyable day. Nice range of shots. concrete tee pads at every hole except the new #9 Overall a good course.
Cons: Needs a some direction markers to next tee.Having never played found myself wondering on a couple of holes. But after playing 2 rounds was very familiar with the layout.
Other Thoughts: Being new to the game this is just a general review. I usally play Reedy Creek which is where I played first. I will play this course again. One note the pictures on this review page do not reflect the new layout and shifting of some tees.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 23.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee pads were adequate on every hole. Signage was mostly good. The course flowed well from hole to hole so locating the next tee was never a problem. A nice mix of shorts/longs and left/right shots required does not really favor any particular style.

Overall a good course if you are in the area. I had driven up to play Renaissance and this was just a quick second round. I wouldn't drive the 3+ hours up there to play just this course though.
Cons: There were just a few. On hole 15 there were a couple of young men who were pretty obviously peddling drugs or up to no good. I don't personally care if people want to blaze, but if I had my kids with me I'd be pissed.

There was also a random burnout dude wandering the course in a daze. I'm talking COMPLETELY shot out. If he's local and on the course all the time, I'd consider that a con. There were also random people spread out throughout the woods in weird places talking on cell phones and stuff. I've played a few courses in rougher areas, but this one was a step above.
Other Thoughts: The burnout dude creeped me out at first, but then we just labeled him as a zombie and got a good kick out of watching him shamble around - oo000hhhhhh, 'more brains' ooo0000hhh.

Good times, just not the best course I've ever played. Not bad, but not great either. If you're in the area, go enjoy it and tell the zombie I said hi. :-)

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Solid

1    8/21/2009   8/21/2009
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good tee pads on every hole. Good balance of left and right dog legs. Clean fairways and no serious rough or underbrush to deal with when errant shot goes in woods. New multiple baskets on many holes to add to variety and difficulty. Look's like there will also be some new tee pads also.
Cons: Not a lot of cons. Course is in a park near a neighborhood so you have to deal with non-golfes. I had 2 kids biking down fairways and about 5 people using the fairways as walking trails. Not the course's fault, but something you have to deal with anyway. Course is being improved so the the signs aren't updated yet. As a first time player I had to find some of the new baskets by accident. Some long walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course itself, but the non-golfer activity does mess with the enjoyment of the round a little. The improvements being done will make the course better once they are all done. New signs marking the multiple basket positions would really help. Looks like the Charlotte Disc Golf Club is doing a good job trying to improve the course. I would definitely play again when I am in Charlotte. Once everything is done I think the course could easily earn a 3.5 or even a 4.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Solid DG course, lacking very little

5+    7/5/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: bettsjc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/20/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: [UPDATED 9/20/11, with rating up to 4.0 because of recent love given to the course]

Located in a multi-purpose park, Kilborne offers alot to disc golfers of any level of play. Each hole has a long and short combo, either with tees, baskets or both, with the exception of hole 8 which is currently the same on both layouts. All baskets are in excellent condition, and all recently stolen baskets have been replaced. All tees are concrete(except for long 7 and 9 as of 9/20/11). New tee signs at all holes are sufficient, par, distance, and line shape posted(laminated printed paper attatched to posts). Nevermind the fact that the name of the course is misspelled on the tee signs. Benches at all tee pads except hole 10 and trash cans at about every tee.

This course stays fairly clean of litter, thanks to all who collect trash and dump it in the next can. Most of the wooded areas on the course are free of underbrush, which makes it quite tough to lose a disc that is close to the fairway.

The course has a mix of open and tight shots, left and right dog-legs.

With dual tee/basket placements, this course could be played as four different courses, keeping the course fresh for advanced players, and allowing beginner/intermediate players to play with little frustration.
Short tee/short basket: Beginner/Intermediate
Long tee/short basket: Intermediate/Advanced
Short tee/long basket: Intermediate/Advanced
Long tee/long basket: Advanced/Pro

In addition to the different combos to play, try the "Clash Layout". Layout designed for the Carolina Clash 2011, and will be used in future tournaments. Par 58;
Hole;Basket/Pin (S=short, L=long,)
1;S/L, 2;S/S, 3;S/S, 4;S/S, 5;L/S, 6;S/L, 7;S/S, 8;S/S, 9;S/S, 10;S/L, 11;S/S, 12;S/L, 13;S/S, 14;S/L, 15;S/L, 16;S/S, 17;S/S, 18;S/L. Par 4s are #s 6, 12, 15, 17.
Cons: Lack of elevation is the only true downfall of the course. Some holes, even though they run through the woods, have a wide and forgiving fairway which play fairly easy without having to worry about terrain. Holes 14 and 15 have mild elevation compaired to the rest of the course, but this is a pretty easy walking course as it is mostly flat.

Anything else that may be considered a con would just be nitpicking. The course is under new direction, and those currently in charge have been putting their asses into turning the course around into a clean and beautiful natural experience.
Other Thoughts: A course for all levels of play, Kilborne is a somewhat technical course and can require a variety of shots. Most holes would not qualify as "let 'r rip" holes. Strategy plays a huge role in a good round at Kilborne.

Long tees to long baskets is known as "Skillborne", and was recently added for use for the 2012 PDGA Worlds, which will be played in Charlotte. Thank you to CharlotteDGC and the Kilborne Krew for the addition of the new tees and baskets, along with the constant upkeep of this beautiful course.

Favorite Holes: 14, 18, 4

Least Favorite: 9, 16, 7


10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely Wooded Course Which Can Be Enjoyed By All!

1    7/18/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kilbourne is a pretty basic, yet lovely course, set in a large multi-use park. Most of the course seems to play away from the park users although I did run into some joggers and a couple of walkers. The regular course had 17 concrete tees and and one natural. Thye were very nice tee signs but almost no next signs or navigational aids. Even without the next tee signs, the course was fairly simple to navigate as I played it for the first time. There is a more difficult option here, play the Skilbourne course, which appears to be much more challenging. Clever name too. The fairways are wooded but open enough that they are not pinball throws, like a couple at Squirrel Lake. This is a course that most everyone could play and enjoy, from beginners to the more advanced types. I guess the big arms might be disappointed with the lack of room to really air it out on. The course terrain is thick enough that you can often hear the other golfers but you still have that feeling of being out in the woods hiking alone. Wonderful feeling of solitude.
Cons: There wasn't one hole that got me all excited about being a signature hole. They were all just really solid disc golf holes. I got a little confused when I finished # 1 , played #2 and birdied it, and then the next hole is also # 2. I didn't really l approve of # 10 playing right by the ball field. I'm sure more than a few errant throws end up disrupting the ballgames there.
Other Thoughts: This is just another very solid, very enjoyable courses in an area already rich in courses. Charlotte golfers, you are a very lucky group to have this plethora of courses in your area. Us visitors from other parts of country are so impressed with the choices you have here. And more than a little bit jealous, too.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/23/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: JD Heel
Played: 88  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/13/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Kilborne has a lot of variety, particularly since the baskets are moved from short to long positions throughout the year. Some courses have holes that aren't distinguishable - where many seem to run together - but Kilborne definitely isn't like that. Every hole stands apart.

- The front nine is considerably easier/shorter than the back, so that gives you the opportunity to get a rhythm going into the back nine. The toughest holes are the stretch from 15 to 17, and that's how it should be in my opinion.

- This has all the amenities that a classic disc golf course should have: good, long concrete tees, signs with hole maps, benches, trash cans at most holes, etc. Some of the signs have taken a beating over the years, but most are still in good shape.
Cons: - It can get a little backed up during the week, and it's a bit of a hike to #10 if you want to play the back nine first to avoid the crowds at #1. That's a minor issue for most, perhaps, but I always take that into account when courses are busy.

- #3 is throwing over the edge of a soccer field, and many times the soccer players drift into range of your shot. It can get a little frustrating at times trying to get folks out of the way so you can tee off there.

- To a lesser extent, hole #1 throws over an area that many patrons walk through to get from the parking lot to the soccer fields and rest of the park. You have to keep an eye out to make sure folks are paying attention enough not to walk through your shot.

- Holes #4 and 5, particularly 5 when the basket is in the long position, are close to some houses that take away some of the aesthetic aspect of the park. That side of the park can get a bit trashy at times.

- The back nine can really take you far away from the parking lot area, particularly holes 14-16. That comes into play in the early evening because the park closes around dusk... and sometimes earlier. I've been stuck out around hole #15 when the siren has gone off to signal the park's closing, and I had to huff it to get back to the parking lot to keep from getting locked in the park. Pay close attention if it starts to get dark and you're still out on the course.

- Navigation can be confusing. I've gotten tripped up finishing #6 and walking to the right to the next closest hole, which is #14. You actually have to walk to the left to find #7. Also, walking from #5 to #6 can be confusing because there's a walking trail that goes through that area. If possible, consult a course map beforehand to figure out the navigation.
Other Thoughts: Kilborne is good for beginners and more advanced players. I feel like it's a 'tweener course - not the toughest in Charlotte, but not the easiest, either. It's a very addictive course, particularly if you're just learning the game and trying to improve.

*** UPDATE ***

- Kilborne has been redesigned to further differentiate between the Kilborne and Skillborne layouts. The old #1 basket has been removed from the trees next to the road, and the new #1 basket is across the small field on the left side now, away from the road. Also, the old #1 tee is now the Skillborne tee, and the new regular tee is ahead to the right between the trees and parking lot.

- Old #2 has been completely removed, and that basket is now the new #1 basket for the Skillborne layout.

- Because #2 has been removed, old holes 3-9 are now 2-8 and a new #9 has been added. It's a short hole that's squeezed back into the woods between 8 and 10 coming back toward the baseball field. You actually have to walk through a small path and then down half the fairway to get to the tee, and this could be problematic if someone is teeing off when you reach the fairway.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

2-4    5/25/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: sloshed
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course Layout
Good mix open wooded
Condition of Course
Enjoyment factor
Fair use of elevation changes
Cons: Signage is there but not in good condition as of date last played
risk reward is not that great on most holes
Other Thoughts: Wife and I play this one when we come to town. There is something about this course we both love. Would highly recomend it to anyone.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good design with a few multi-shot holes. Must take advantage of easier holes as a few holes provide a nice challenge. Fairways are a must on most holes as rough and angles to pins can be very challenging. For me it is kind of a mix between Reedy and Sugaw.
Cons: Don't care for the park.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A- = A Great Course!

5+    12/30/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.5 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- A-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C+
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I can add anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

Oh....and a PS: I love the online "Be the Disc!" narrated fly-by videos! :)

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 good for practice and friendly competitioin

5+    4/8/2009   4/7/2009
Review By: skamasterhenrik
Played: 44  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of holes, mostly wooded but plenty of room for slinging
-Rates highly in the fun factor, you'll be back here time and time again
-Well kept, decent signage
-Two layouts that offer variety depending on your skill level
-Great place to practice and try new shots
-Kilborne is a mid-range mecca
Cons: -Difference between the normal and skill layout is immense. I haven't tried skillborne yet, it's intimidating.
-Kinda busy, football (soccer) matches on the weekends (not a bad thing, but salient all the same)
Other Thoughts: Kilborne is a fun course, plain and simple. There is great variety in the holes. A beginner can come out here and shoot a decent round, then be disappointed by their next. It will test your mid-range game, there really is no need for distance drivers. Anyone can shoot under par here, but its not guaranteed - therein lies the appeal.
Hardest holes:
-Six: not necessarily difficult, but it is lengthy and gradually doglegs right. One missed throw in the woods and say goodbye to that birdie chance.
-Seventeen: a beast, with distance and trees a constant threat.
Easiest holes:
-One: very open, a good drive will secure that birdie
-Two: very open, so much so they have a soccer field there. That's the hardest part, not hitting anyone!

My favorite hole:
-Fourteen: when the evening sun hits the trees just right....and the leaves (in the fall) are glistening, well, you get the point. It's a scenic hole and it's where I sank my first long long "putt" when I first started playing - roughly a 100 footer.

I'm not the biggest fan of the change at Kilborne, but it certainly doesn't detract from the overall rating. The new hole #9 is garbage, you have to cross the fairway of #8 to get to it, then you have a bout 7-8 feet of space to get it into the fairway. It feels forced, and I hate forced dg design.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.