Exeter, WI 
Exeter DGC Share
Uploaded By: XDrew Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Baskets and plenty of space...

1    8/22/2016   8/26/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 269  Reviewed: 194  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 6 hole course located in Exeter Park, which is in Exeter, WI. If you don't know where that is, well, join the club. It's pretty much a blink-and-you'lll-miss-it town out in the middle of nowhere.

Nice DGA baskets, all mounted well enough and solid. They caught fine, and were numbered, which helped with navigation. One pin position per hole.

Concrete tees, in an hexagon shape. It took me a second glance to make sure they weren't some sort of satanic altar. They're fine, albeit a bit small. One tee per hole.

There's a decent amount of distance here, which was surprising. A few trees throughout the property, with some new ones planted that will offer a little more in the way of obstacles.

The river that runs along holes 3/4/5 could come into play, but you'd have to seriously overshoot 3/4, or flip one right the heck over on 5. It provides nice scenery, if nothing else.

As has been said before, you could set up some neat-ish safari holes here. Especially during the week, I'd imagine this park gets next to zero action, so you could probably incorporate the playground and other multi-use objects to at least make some things interesting.
Cons: Navigation here is tough the first time through. No signs, no markings on the tees....just numbered baskets. Once you realize what's going on, it makes sense, but it takes a bit (and probably some extra throws) to figure it out.

It's about as flat as flat can be. There's the slightest downhill on hole 5, but you'll need some measuring tools to be sure.

While there's a few trees, there's not much. You're mostly throwing at open baskets here.
Other Thoughts: It's mostly baskets in a field, which isn't always the worst thing in the world, I guess. Beginners and kids will dig it (especially with a playground and basketball court onsite), and there's at least some distance to air it out a bit.

Other than the safari opportunities, there's really not a lot of redeeming qualities here, especially when you consider how far out of the way it is from the rest of the civilized world.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/20/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 232  Reviewed: 163  Exp: 12.6 Years
Pros: The course is in a small town outside Madison WI. The course has Nice Mach 2 baskets that all are in good shape and catch great. There are nice level (6 sided ?) tee pads here. The river can come into play on half the holes albeit with some pretty poor shots. A couple trees on the course (3 I believe) that you have to avoid. The course is free and is up all year. I also doubt that the course would ever be busy...ever.
Cons: Only 6 holes here. Pretty much just wide open shots. Not much for cons, but not much here to nit pick anyway.
Other Thoughts: Another small town course slapped in a park. Nothing to go out of your way to play by any means but if you're near here it's a real quick round. It is nice to see courses like this in small towns to help grow the sport though. Also with the hexagonal tees and openness of the course this could make for a real fun safari round as mentioned earlier.

 Safari-tastic Sixer

2-4    9/28/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 215  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Exeter is located in a small community park next to the lazily flowing Sugar River. Flat and mostly treeless, this over-sized lawn is home to a 6-hole memorial course. The course itself mostly consists of open, obstacle-less throws. Despite the easy layout, there is a decent mix of length here, with the potential for even longer safari holes.
- Water put to decent use. #4 is the stand out hole that puts both water AND a tree into play. A large tree sits between the basket and the tee, with the river behind the green waiting for someone to go long. The river flows to the right of #5's fairway, easily creating the greatest risk on the course.
- Small, round/hexagonal concrete tees. They're oddly shaped, and the omni-directional nature of the pads instantly made me think of safari golf.
- All the typical small town park amenities are present: picnic pavilian, grills, port-a-potties, etc.
Cons: - Not much variety.
- Not much challenge.
- There's not really anything WRONG with this course, it simply is what it is.
Other Thoughts: - Definitely someplace viable for beginners, safari rounds, glow golfers, or as a practice space. Stroller and family friendly.
- We played the course forwards and then backwards. Definitely some safari golf holes to be had as long as the park isn't crowded.
- As this course has only six holes, I rated it slightly lower than I would rate a similar-style course with 9 holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Take me to the Exet please

1    6/16/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 928  Reviewed: 479  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice DGA Mach V's with the # plates facing the tees.
2) Nice octagonal teepads . . . I doubt this was by design but you could easily throw at different baskets with these teepads making 6 hole in order, and then 12 safari holes from 1 teepad to another basket.
3) Portoptty, shelter, and playground are the only other things in this park.
4) The river looks like a nice place to go fishing or maybe even a swim.
5) Distance variation is moderate here with some reachable holes and some not reachable.
Cons: 1) Boring course overall. Truly no obstacles except one evergreen on the last hole.
2) Flat flat flat.
3) No tee signs to show distances of the existing 6 holes.
4) The turf is pretty weeds like it never fully got established when the park went in.
Other Thoughts: Not much more needs to be said here. There isn't much to this course but it is dedicated to someone local who has died. It provides disc golf in a small town which is great, but I sure hope people are using the course. I likely will never go back here, but they could plant some trees to try and creat some more obstacle.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Ass Exeter

2-4    4/3/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: juicebox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty wide open area. The holes are long enough to be challenging but not too long that they are daunting. Have yet to see other frolfers out on the course. The tee pads are pretty sweet too. I have never seen hexagonal pads before and really like how they encourage you to make your own holes on the course.
Cons: Lots of wind in this wide open area. Sometimes you have to skip hole 4 due to folks fishing.
Other Thoughts: I really like the two holes that are along the Sugar River. Very cool little course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sixer of the (not so) good stuff

1    8/27/2011   8/29/2011
Review By: XDrew
Played: 243  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The hexagonal tee pads, while sort of an awkward length for run-ups, are a really nice touch. I've never seen such pretty, uniform pads at a neighborhood park course. The pins were skirted by rocks and looked to be installed with the utmost care. I applaud the decision to stick with six holes. There wouldn't be room for nine. Holes 4 and 5 make subtle use of a big river. Hole 6 reads right out of the park-course textbook: if you don't have a tunnel, put the obstacle in the middle of the fairway. Throwing a blind drive either way around a bushy tree makes for a fun, if short, challenge.
Cons: Holes 1 and 2 are flat, short, and open. That's a third of the course already. By virtue of the shiny new concrete pads, a tall person can see which pads lie near baskets, and deduce that the course zigzags south-north for the first three holes, then wraps northwest back around to the west parking lot. This is good, because there are absolutely no signs.
Other Thoughts: This course is for locals (like within a few miles) and explorers like me. Anyone else should gravitate to Madison.

Note: above I review the main layout, which can be found in the map posted on DGCR, and can be played with multiple groups on the course. Local DG forums indicate that the hexagonal pads are meant to encourage mix-and-matching pads and pins to make your own holes, if you have the place to yourself.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center