Tujunga, CA 
Verdugo Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Avus Hole #9 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 330ft.   -- / --   3 / 330ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Share The Course With The Golfers!

1    6/18/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
Pros: Verdugo Hills was the second of three disc golf courses I played in So Cal that are shared with the ball golfers. The first being nearby DeBell and the last being Sun Valley DGC just outside San Diego in La Mesa. Verdugo is the only one of the three that is 18 holes. Sharing the course with the regular golfers takes some getting used to. I felt somewhat like an intruder on their course and kept apologizing to them as I passed by.
Verdugo starts with a great little clubhouse prominently displaying discs for sale (both new and used). The clubhouse also features drinks and a restaurant. The fee is $5 per round or $7 for multiple rounds of play.
Like the other three par courses I played, the terrain consists of manicured grass and some nice elevation variances. This elevation gives you holes 8 and 17,both great little downhills.

Playing the greens as OB only added to the challenge. I liked having some nice golf course amenities such as water stations, lots of benches and cool, shaded areas to rest under.

Verdugo DGC is a recreational course which won't provide much of a challenge for advanced players on up. It was perfect for me, a total REC player.
Cons: Holes 13-14-15 were much the same. All were just 270' open, straight shots and then shoot back on the next fairway. Not a whole lot of creativity here.

Some reviewers complain about the tee pads. I was fine with them as not much of a run-up is needed on many of these holes.

Other reviewers have commented on the slow play of the regular golfers. The ones I encountered were more than happy to let me, as a single, play through. And they were curious as to what i was doing and about disc golf, in general. I let a couple ball golfers throw some of my discs on # 17. I might be able to convert them to disc golf.
Other Thoughts: The $ might make this course a little too pricey for some players but for an occasional round, I found it enjoyable, challenging enough for me and just a pleasure to be able to throw discs in such a lovely, well kept, beautiful little green oasis, right in the middle of all this Southern California brownness.

I would have loved to have been able to come back and try my luck at playing the course at night. That sounds like a great time.

Start 30 min before dark!

1    11/30/2013   12/4/2013
Review By: 57759
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Top of the world shots, perfectly manicured greens, variety of shots, risky putts, short holes, long holes, best night course ever!! The lights light up the course perfectly.
Cons: 5$ per person but well worth the money!! You can play another round for free as well
Other Thoughts: Theres a bar/diner ON the course! And discs are sold at the course too.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cleanest DG course I've played

5+    6/16/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: rickztahone
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Very, very well maintained course
-Line of sight Pin locations
-Height elevations
-On site restaurant to buy food and beverages
-On site store to buy discs/bags
Cons:
-This is a huge con for me for this course and it is getting stuck behind golfers. This is a given seeing as the course is designed with golf in mind, but it is none-the-less annoying if you are stuck behind a group of 3-4 super slow golfers luggin around their full set of clubs.
-My friends consider this a con but the course is $5 to play. Considering the fact that I don't go there that often it doesn't bother me paying it seeing as they have the most maintained course I've played on. I suppose if you go there 2-3x's a week it can get pricey.
-Parking is sometimes a problem and you have to park on the street but this is not a huge problem.
-I find this course to be a tad bit boring. For the most part they are all straight fairways and you can almost always see the pin from the Tee.
-Another huge con for me is that this course caters only to the golfers because of the Tee's. They do not have a traditional long box cement setup. You have to start on cement and then jump on the short green tee (the golf mat) and throw. This is by far the worst Tee setup I have played on, and considering the fact that they charge $5 a person you would think they would set up Tee's specifically for DG'ers.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite local course but one of the reasons I keep coming back to this course is hole #8 & #13. The elevation drop off is by far the best I have played and it is a great place to try new discs and see how they fly in the wind. As of late I have been seeing a lot more people showing up for DG in this course which is great because I always prefer to get stuck behind a DG player than a golfer, lol.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun layout

1    1/15/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a small golf course, so the maintenance is impeccable for disc golf standards. The front nine plays up and down some minor elevation changes with reachable holes and limited obstacles. A few of the shots have enough trees to make you shape a specific line, the rest rely on roll-aways and golf green OB around the pin for difficulty.

The back 9 is a little longer, offering some chances to stretch out your arm. The holes themselves are mostly flat other than the 18th shot which offers a fun downhill finish. There is again some roll-away potential with the way the fairways are terraced on the back 9, so an inaccurate drive can end up a ways down the hill.

There are red and blue tees, and a handful actually offer some nice differences in length and difficulty with a couple cool blue tees on the hill on the back 9. There are multiple pin placements, I played a setup where half the course had left turning shots and the other half had right turning shots so there is opportunity for decent balance and variety.
Cons: The course gets pretty repetitive. The shots are all basically straight ahead with the pin tucked slightly left or right at the end, and the distances feel very similar throughout the course. For all the elevation on the property, the restriction of following the golf layout makes for a surprisingly flat set of shots, there is much more uphill and downhill walking than throwing.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable, with reasonable lengths and little real punishment for errant shots. The OB adds strokes but you won't lose a disc or end up in thick rough. More experienced players will find this a fun birdie run type course, with lots of reachable holes and not a ton of variety. The option to play under the lights here is definitely a cool bonus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/5/2013   1/19/2013
Review By: BrownieSmasha
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great course to play, can be challenging at times. It's also a great change from other traditional dg courses. The elevation change is a nice element with two amazing shots down the hill. The best part though, is the ability to play at night!! No more leaving the course when it gets dark.
Cons: I had lost a disc on the course and continually checked the pro shop for it. Every time was the same answer, "haven't seen it". Two months later when I ask again, I spot the disc on the rental rack beat to hell. A relatively new wraith was completely trashed with chunks missing everywhere and my name and number sharpied over. After arguing with the manager, I then had to buy the disc back. Other than that, the course has been fun.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ozzy Dog Review for Rabbit Flats-Verdugo Hills DGC, Tujuga, CA.

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: cmoriarity666
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is shared with a golf course. Easy to find pads usually close to greens. Great shop inside with friendly staff. Nice baskets and a clean course. Water jug and cups available on hole 4.
Cons: The course was made for golfing. Very flat. Short holes averaging 100 yards. Not many trees, brush, or blind shots.
Other Thoughts: 5$ for a round and 7$ for the day. I don't think you can bring the dog,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/11/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained grounds with all the amenities of golf course. Benches, trashcans and water coolers throughout.

- Elevation change comes into play on most holes. Especially 8 and 17. Even on the seemingly flat holes there are steep drop offs that can come into play if you get of course.

- Lights!!! Disc golf at night is always a good time. And for the most part the lighting is adequate. However I would recommend bringing a flashlight along especially if you are going to play the long tees on the back 9.

- The couse presents unique challenges compared to your regular DG course. With all the greens out of bounds, multiple flower beds out of bounds and frequent steep drop offs by the basket the course can easily punish errant shots.

- Pro shop, bar and restaurant. Oh, and you can drink on the course.
Cons: - Some holes can get repetetive, especially on the front 9. The front plays short wide open, and can be a birdie fest without ever using a driver.

- The multiple tee positions are usually side by side without any major difference. However there are a handfull on the back 9 that totally change the hole.

- You do have to share with the ball golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed playing this course and feel it is a great addition to the area. The course definitely has a unique feel and probably rewards different skill sets than a traditional course. Most holes have wide open fairways and all you have to worry about is going out of bounds or rolling down the hill. However I was impressed with the increased distances on the back 9 when you play the blue tees and the long pin placements.

Until a year ago I have to admit I was boycotting disc golf on ball golf courses and now the 2 that I have played are among my favorites. It's hard to compare with traditional DG courses but it is definitely a good time and worth a stop. I highly recommend taking a road trip to Sylmar and Oak Grove during the day, then play here under the lights to cap it all off.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

5+    3/1/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Facilities!! Plenty of water available on the course, lights for night golf, decent beer selection, pro shop slowly building up a good collection of discs, decent food, clean bathrooms...overall just a nice place to play a round.
-Setting, tucked away in tujunga it really is a great spot to toss a round or three, a pretty good workout from hiking a round as well.
-Disc golf crowd, I have yet to come out here and not end up playing a round with a bunch of friendly people, all of the guys in the shop play and will keep the lights on late occasionally.
-Elevatation, two really fun shots on 8/17 throwing down large hills to baskets on either side of a bolf green, always fun to just watch a disc cruise off of the hill.
Cons: -While I really havent had any issues with the bolfers there are occasionally large (8+) groups of idiots out there that can really slow things down.
-Obstacles, Im really a fan of tight wooded courses and for the most part the trees dont play a huge part in shaping this course.
Other Thoughts: I will definetly be spending more time up here during the summer nights, overall a friendly well maintained spot that is happy to see the disc golf crowd.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    2/27/2012   2/28/2012
Review By: amkdrm24
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very clean grounds
People are nice
Water and trash cans on almost every hole.
Great views from the hill
Full bar and grill.
Cons: i loved it there. It was really nice.... Clean and green.
Other Thoughts: I just wish that the store had more disc..

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  The Magic Happens at Night.

2-4    12/26/2011   1/23/2012
Review By: pobelly
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This review is from the perspective of a relative noob, and someone who enjoys novel, weird experiences. It probably won't reflect the opinions of seasoned disc golf veterans, or anyone who thinks of it as a serious sport as opposed to a way to have some fun with friends. That said, here's what I foud to like about it:

- LIGHTS! Really, as far as I'm concerned, it's all about when the sun goes down and the ball golfers become few and far between, and you can recapture some of the childhood magic of playing miniature golf at night... if you're somebody who enjoys the feeling of light and shadows providing contrast for each other, then that's a good time right there. It's an abstract thing, it's true, but if you like it, you'll like it.

- Interesting approach to "obstacles". In the previous post (no disrespect meant!) the author complains first that the fairways present no challenge, then complains about the punishment meted out for bad throws by way of rolling down the terraced landscape... while I can understand that point of view, I would like to point out that for those of us relatively new to the sport, this seems like a reasonable challenge: throw cautiously enough to avoid that outcome, while still making progress towards the basket. Given that the ball golf putting greens are out-of-bounds, this often presents a fairly narrow margin of approach to the basket, and really makes you consider the possible outcomes of your throw. I don't find it less challenging than the fairways of other more orthodox courses I've played, just differently challenging, in a more abstract way.

- There are water coolers at various points along the course... as someone who likes to avoid dehydration, I appreciate not having to carry a lot of extra water... saves room for beer! Which brings me to...

- Yep. You can buy a decent selection of beer at the clubhouse, and don't have to feel like a criminal for toting it around with you on the course. That's kind of nice.
Cons: - It's true, the back nine are kind of repetetive, as they switchback up the hill... but at least the change of directions provides alternation of which side you have to be afraid of rolling down...

- There aren't a lot of long holes, so don't come looking for those.

- Signs warn of rattlesnakes. Haven't seen any, though. Lots of rabbits, for sure.

Other Thoughts: I find the odd situation of playing on a course with ball golfers (all friendly, so far) fun rather than irritating, and you can probably look deep within yerself and guess whether you'll feel the same way or not. This is a laid back golf course, and the bolfers seem to appreciate that the disc golfers are helping to keep the course from going under, so it's a fairly good natured experiment. Not for everybody, but enjoyable in it's way.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.