Tujunga, CA 
Verdugo Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #12 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 270ft.   -- / --   3 / 282ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Blue Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Share The Course With The Golfers!

1    6/18/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: Verdugo Hills was the second of three disc golf courses I played in So Cal that are shared with the ball golfers. The first being nearby DeBell and the last being Sun Valley DGC just outside San Diego in La Mesa. Verdugo is the only one of the three that is 18 holes. Sharing the course with the regular golfers takes some getting used to. I felt somewhat like an intruder on their course and kept apologizing to them as I passed by.
Verdugo starts with a great little clubhouse prominently displaying discs for sale (both new and used). The clubhouse also features drinks and a restaurant. The fee is $5 per round or $7 for multiple rounds of play.
Like the other three par courses I played, the terrain consists of manicured grass and some nice elevation variances. This elevation gives you holes 8 and 17,both great little downhills.

Playing the greens as OB only added to the challenge. I liked having some nice golf course amenities such as water stations, lots of benches and cool, shaded areas to rest under.

Verdugo DGC is a recreational course which won't provide much of a challenge for advanced players on up. It was perfect for me, a total REC player.
Cons: Holes 13-14-15 were much the same. All were just 270' open, straight shots and then shoot back on the next fairway. Not a whole lot of creativity here.

Some reviewers complain about the tee pads. I was fine with them as not much of a run-up is needed on many of these holes.

Other reviewers have commented on the slow play of the regular golfers. The ones I encountered were more than happy to let me, as a single, play through. And they were curious as to what i was doing and about disc golf, in general. I let a couple ball golfers throw some of my discs on # 17. I might be able to convert them to disc golf.
Other Thoughts: The $ might make this course a little too pricey for some players but for an occasional round, I found it enjoyable, challenging enough for me and just a pleasure to be able to throw discs in such a lovely, well kept, beautiful little green oasis, right in the middle of all this Southern California brownness.

I would have loved to have been able to come back and try my luck at playing the course at night. That sounds like a great time.

Fun layout

1    1/15/2013   2/21/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a small golf course, so the maintenance is impeccable for disc golf standards. The front nine plays up and down some minor elevation changes with reachable holes and limited obstacles. A few of the shots have enough trees to make you shape a specific line, the rest rely on roll-aways and golf green OB around the pin for difficulty.

The back 9 is a little longer, offering some chances to stretch out your arm. The holes themselves are mostly flat other than the 18th shot which offers a fun downhill finish. There is again some roll-away potential with the way the fairways are terraced on the back 9, so an inaccurate drive can end up a ways down the hill.

There are red and blue tees, and a handful actually offer some nice differences in length and difficulty with a couple cool blue tees on the hill on the back 9. There are multiple pin placements, I played a setup where half the course had left turning shots and the other half had right turning shots so there is opportunity for decent balance and variety.
Cons: The course gets pretty repetitive. The shots are all basically straight ahead with the pin tucked slightly left or right at the end, and the distances feel very similar throughout the course. For all the elevation on the property, the restriction of following the golf layout makes for a surprisingly flat set of shots, there is much more uphill and downhill walking than throwing.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course very approachable, with reasonable lengths and little real punishment for errant shots. The OB adds strokes but you won't lose a disc or end up in thick rough. More experienced players will find this a fun birdie run type course, with lots of reachable holes and not a ton of variety. The option to play under the lights here is definitely a cool bonus.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ozzy Dog Review for Rabbit Flats-Verdugo Hills DGC, Tujuga, CA.

1    1/12/2013   1/12/2013
Review By: cmoriarity666
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is shared with a golf course. Easy to find pads usually close to greens. Great shop inside with friendly staff. Nice baskets and a clean course. Water jug and cups available on hole 4.
Cons: The course was made for golfing. Very flat. Short holes averaging 100 yards. Not many trees, brush, or blind shots.
Other Thoughts: 5$ for a round and 7$ for the day. I don't think you can bring the dog,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  The Magic Happens at Night.

2-4    12/26/2011   1/23/2012
Review By: pobelly
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This review is from the perspective of a relative noob, and someone who enjoys novel, weird experiences. It probably won't reflect the opinions of seasoned disc golf veterans, or anyone who thinks of it as a serious sport as opposed to a way to have some fun with friends. That said, here's what I foud to like about it:

- LIGHTS! Really, as far as I'm concerned, it's all about when the sun goes down and the ball golfers become few and far between, and you can recapture some of the childhood magic of playing miniature golf at night... if you're somebody who enjoys the feeling of light and shadows providing contrast for each other, then that's a good time right there. It's an abstract thing, it's true, but if you like it, you'll like it.

- Interesting approach to "obstacles". In the previous post (no disrespect meant!) the author complains first that the fairways present no challenge, then complains about the punishment meted out for bad throws by way of rolling down the terraced landscape... while I can understand that point of view, I would like to point out that for those of us relatively new to the sport, this seems like a reasonable challenge: throw cautiously enough to avoid that outcome, while still making progress towards the basket. Given that the ball golf putting greens are out-of-bounds, this often presents a fairly narrow margin of approach to the basket, and really makes you consider the possible outcomes of your throw. I don't find it less challenging than the fairways of other more orthodox courses I've played, just differently challenging, in a more abstract way.

- There are water coolers at various points along the course... as someone who likes to avoid dehydration, I appreciate not having to carry a lot of extra water... saves room for beer! Which brings me to...

- Yep. You can buy a decent selection of beer at the clubhouse, and don't have to feel like a criminal for toting it around with you on the course. That's kind of nice.
Cons: - It's true, the back nine are kind of repetetive, as they switchback up the hill... but at least the change of directions provides alternation of which side you have to be afraid of rolling down...

- There aren't a lot of long holes, so don't come looking for those.

- Signs warn of rattlesnakes. Haven't seen any, though. Lots of rabbits, for sure.

Other Thoughts: I find the odd situation of playing on a course with ball golfers (all friendly, so far) fun rather than irritating, and you can probably look deep within yerself and guess whether you'll feel the same way or not. This is a laid back golf course, and the bolfers seem to appreciate that the disc golfers are helping to keep the course from going under, so it's a fairly good natured experiment. Not for everybody, but enjoyable in it's way.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it to me

1    1/14/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2012
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The main "pro" to this course is the amenities, of which there are a slew and a half.

- Clean, manicured, everything clearly marked.
- Walkways, stairs & railings (as needed) between holes
- Benches, towels & trash cans at every tee
- Water jugs & paper cups at several tees
- Easy to get to from the 210
- Food & drink available on-site

If it weren't for the "con"s, this course would get a 4.5-disc rating minimum just for the fringe bennies.
Cons: The main "con" here is the course itself. Seems like with VERY few exceptions all the holes are about the same distance, no significant obstacles anywhere, a good practice course but nowhere are you obliged to think about line-shaping or other strategic factors. Any decent pro would score -12 using only a putter, and that's on a bad day.

The fact that it's a bolf course contributes mightily to this, of course, and as far as I'm concerned playing DG on a course like this is the strongest argument possible against the kind of environmental rape that goes on when a bolf course goes into the ground.

One example only: the course (especially the back nine) is terraced so that every fairway is more-or-less level, tee to pin, but there's a significant dropoff between fairways. So what happens is that if your disc lands wrong, it can easily roll downhill and wind up 4 or 5 fairways downslope. This isn't how land naturally lies (think Chavez Ridge) and the punishment you get for throwing inaccurately or unluckily is imo arbitrarily harsh. Minus 1.5 discs just for this.

There's a few other little "con"s, like the hiccup in the layout between #7 and #8, and also the fact that the "red" and "blue" tees are typically side by side, six feet apart. No difference whatsoever, so why have two tees?
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing DG on a BG course and if I can help it, it's my last. It's just not worth the time, trouble, etc., to drive all this way to play in these conditions.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.