Tujunga, CA 
Verdugo Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers   (Taken 9/2012)
Hole #18 Red Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cleanest DG course I've played

5+    6/16/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: rickztahone
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Very, very well maintained course
-Line of sight Pin locations
-Height elevations
-On site restaurant to buy food and beverages
-On site store to buy discs/bags
Cons:
-This is a huge con for me for this course and it is getting stuck behind golfers. This is a given seeing as the course is designed with golf in mind, but it is none-the-less annoying if you are stuck behind a group of 3-4 super slow golfers luggin around their full set of clubs.
-My friends consider this a con but the course is $5 to play. Considering the fact that I don't go there that often it doesn't bother me paying it seeing as they have the most maintained course I've played on. I suppose if you go there 2-3x's a week it can get pricey.
-Parking is sometimes a problem and you have to park on the street but this is not a huge problem.
-I find this course to be a tad bit boring. For the most part they are all straight fairways and you can almost always see the pin from the Tee.
-Another huge con for me is that this course caters only to the golfers because of the Tee's. They do not have a traditional long box cement setup. You have to start on cement and then jump on the short green tee (the golf mat) and throw. This is by far the worst Tee setup I have played on, and considering the fact that they charge $5 a person you would think they would set up Tee's specifically for DG'ers.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite local course but one of the reasons I keep coming back to this course is hole #8 & #13. The elevation drop off is by far the best I have played and it is a great place to try new discs and see how they fly in the wind. As of late I have been seeing a lot more people showing up for DG in this course which is great because I always prefer to get stuck behind a DG player than a golfer, lol.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/11/2012   3/15/2012
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well maintained grounds with all the amenities of golf course. Benches, trashcans and water coolers throughout.

- Elevation change comes into play on most holes. Especially 8 and 17. Even on the seemingly flat holes there are steep drop offs that can come into play if you get of course.

- Lights!!! Disc golf at night is always a good time. And for the most part the lighting is adequate. However I would recommend bringing a flashlight along especially if you are going to play the long tees on the back 9.

- The couse presents unique challenges compared to your regular DG course. With all the greens out of bounds, multiple flower beds out of bounds and frequent steep drop offs by the basket the course can easily punish errant shots.

- Pro shop, bar and restaurant. Oh, and you can drink on the course.
Cons: - Some holes can get repetetive, especially on the front 9. The front plays short wide open, and can be a birdie fest without ever using a driver.

- The multiple tee positions are usually side by side without any major difference. However there are a handfull on the back 9 that totally change the hole.

- You do have to share with the ball golfers.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed playing this course and feel it is a great addition to the area. The course definitely has a unique feel and probably rewards different skill sets than a traditional course. Most holes have wide open fairways and all you have to worry about is going out of bounds or rolling down the hill. However I was impressed with the increased distances on the back 9 when you play the blue tees and the long pin placements.

Until a year ago I have to admit I was boycotting disc golf on ball golf courses and now the 2 that I have played are among my favorites. It's hard to compare with traditional DG courses but it is definitely a good time and worth a stop. I highly recommend taking a road trip to Sylmar and Oak Grove during the day, then play here under the lights to cap it all off.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

5+    3/1/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: Ocelotl
Played: 35  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Facilities!! Plenty of water available on the course, lights for night golf, decent beer selection, pro shop slowly building up a good collection of discs, decent food, clean bathrooms...overall just a nice place to play a round.
-Setting, tucked away in tujunga it really is a great spot to toss a round or three, a pretty good workout from hiking a round as well.
-Disc golf crowd, I have yet to come out here and not end up playing a round with a bunch of friendly people, all of the guys in the shop play and will keep the lights on late occasionally.
-Elevatation, two really fun shots on 8/17 throwing down large hills to baskets on either side of a bolf green, always fun to just watch a disc cruise off of the hill.
Cons: -While I really havent had any issues with the bolfers there are occasionally large (8+) groups of idiots out there that can really slow things down.
-Obstacles, Im really a fan of tight wooded courses and for the most part the trees dont play a huge part in shaping this course.
Other Thoughts: I will definetly be spending more time up here during the summer nights, overall a friendly well maintained spot that is happy to see the disc golf crowd.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Golf on a Golf Course!

2-4    12/17/2011   12/19/2011
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dedicated land, no random ppl getting in the way
-Lots of elevation changes. I think just about every hole has some sort of elevation change.
-Good balance of hole lengths, but it's broken into a short 9 and a long 9.
-LIGHTS!
-Multiple Tees
-Very easy navigation
-Food, Beer, shelter & amenities
-Can polish up both your golf games at the same time at the same place!
-Right off the 2 and the 210 which makes it very easy to get to.
-Polite staff
Cons: -Some repetition, quite a few left to right shots.
-In most cases the multiple tees are pointless
-Not many obstacles on the fairways...but that's because they are fairways!
-I assume sharing the course with traditional golf would lead to long rounds, but the day I went I had no problems whatsoever.
-Some poison oak is out there, but if you throw into it you honestly deserve to get punished :P
Other Thoughts: I liked playing this course. I went on a day that it had just finished raining so the place wasn't that busy. $5 to play all day is fine with me to play on a manicured, dedicated course. It was fun, it's not very challenging for an experienced player, but it is fun. I can't wait for a combination disc golf/golf tournament. That would be sweet.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice short course

5+    11/30/2011   11/30/2011
Review By: DiskTossa
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Course is lit until 9:30pm
*Very well up kept grounds
*People are pretty nice
*No one running around getting in your way because it is private.
*Water and trash cans on almost every hole.
*Great views from the hill!
*Full bar with a bunch of really good different beers, and a full grill with some pretty good food.
*Smoking and drinking is legal on the grounds
Cons: *Not much of a con but it is $5 for the entire day.
*Food and beer is kinda costly
*On weekends there is a wait on each tee because of the ball golfers
*Only one bathroom and it is a walk if you are on the back
*Course is short, holes are at 300ft and less for most of it.
*Right now it is only 9 holes, but it is still fun.
Other Thoughts: Great place. I am there all the time. Really nice in the winter because of it getting dark at 5pm. You can play until 9:30pm and then it is lights off. Manager said last week that it is looking good and they will most likely be putting the full 18 in. And from what I heard from the Cannon Ball runners, the back 9 is really good.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Longest Hours in LA

5+    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well groomed ball golf greens
-Considerable elevation
-Two tees
-Rotating pins
-DISCatchers
-LIGHTS until 9:30PM! (They have been on later than 9:30 every time I have visited)
-Food and beer on site...Prices at pro shop are CHEAP! I don't know what this ^ guy is smoking. Huge can of fosters $4.25, burger and fries $6.
-Shorter than average open course
-I would say this is an easier than average course, great for beginners but with enough challenge to entertain experienced players.
-$5 day pass keeps the riff raff out
Cons: -In many cases, multiple tees present little change in play
-Night time brings huge groups of disc golfers
-1 night round typically takes over 2 1/2 hours (this is a short course!) because of said huge groups.
Other Thoughts: Verdugo Hills Golf Course is a short 18 hole ball golf course along a hillside overlooking La Crescenta and the 210 freeway. The greens are fairly wooded with a variety of different types of trees, and the course is well maintained.

For ball golf, this is an extremely short piece of land true to the description of a 'pitch & putt.' Even with disc golf, getting to the pin is usually possible in just one throw, allowing multiple birdies for the experienced player. As per most ball courses, the challenge presented here is not so much in its amount of woods, but rather its elevation. It is still possible to go off the fairway as we witnessed groups with flashlights in the brush several times.

The vibe at night at this course is really something special. It's great to have everything lit up the way it is and the hum of the freeway actually creates a silence that is pretty calming. It is almost like a video game in some ways. There are also lots of rabbits all over the fairways which, unless you have a heart of coal, is totally awesome.

There are two tee pads per hole, red and blue, and they offer variety about half of the time. In many cases, the difference is just a matter of a few feet left or right on the same concrete slab. In other cases, the blue tee can be quite far behind the red one, or in a completely different location. The red ones are generally easier to find for those that have not played the course before. Check out the map.

Ball golf greens (around the hole) play OB, and this is particularly a challenge for me because I don't have the best control on the planet and the greens are right in my driving range. My score is usually artificially inflated by at least 3 strokes per round due to landing on the greens. On many occasions, you can land in birdie zone, but because you are on the green, you have to take a penalty and back up 30 feet, making the '3P save' even more difficult.

While the front 9 on the course presents a great variety in short game, the back 9 is where the course opens itself up to a few considerably longer drives, starting right at hole 10. The back of the course is a collection of generally flat or uphill holes that zig-zag their way up the hill in a much less imaginative fashion than the front. These terraces were originally part of a Japanese internment camp and housing bunks were constructed on them; knowing their history keeps it a little more interesting in my opinion. Keep an eye behind you on a few of the holes as there are some hidden (especially at night) farther blue tees.

Crowds can sometimes become an issue at this course. Monday nights are when the weekly occurs, and I suggest participating in this event or choosing another time to play. Toward the end of the night, groups tend to swell to larger numbers and it can slow things down. Be prepared to skip a hole or have some patience. Crowds and proximity to other players are really my only con at the course.

Nonetheless, this is a great course with a blue collar crowd and a laid back vibe. Being open until 9:30PM makes this the only venue within about 30 miles for night golf. Our continued interest is essential to it's existence, and it is well worth the visit. With precision birdies for advanced players and very fair par 3 holes for the recreational player, this course is a great visit for golfers of all levels.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.