Tujunga, CA 
Verdugo Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: Avus Hole #11 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 359ft.   -- / --   3 / 441ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Red Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Not worth it to me

1    1/14/2012   1/15/2012
Review By: bazillion
Played: 55  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2012
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The main "pro" to this course is the amenities, of which there are a slew and a half.

- Clean, manicured, everything clearly marked.
- Walkways, stairs & railings (as needed) between holes
- Benches, towels & trash cans at every tee
- Water jugs & paper cups at several tees
- Easy to get to from the 210
- Food & drink available on-site

If it weren't for the "con"s, this course would get a 4.5-disc rating minimum just for the fringe bennies.
Cons: The main "con" here is the course itself. Seems like with VERY few exceptions all the holes are about the same distance, no significant obstacles anywhere, a good practice course but nowhere are you obliged to think about line-shaping or other strategic factors. Any decent pro would score -12 using only a putter, and that's on a bad day.

The fact that it's a bolf course contributes mightily to this, of course, and as far as I'm concerned playing DG on a course like this is the strongest argument possible against the kind of environmental rape that goes on when a bolf course goes into the ground.

One example only: the course (especially the back nine) is terraced so that every fairway is more-or-less level, tee to pin, but there's a significant dropoff between fairways. So what happens is that if your disc lands wrong, it can easily roll downhill and wind up 4 or 5 fairways downslope. This isn't how land naturally lies (think Chavez Ridge) and the punishment you get for throwing inaccurately or unluckily is imo arbitrarily harsh. Minus 1.5 discs just for this.

There's a few other little "con"s, like the hiccup in the layout between #7 and #8, and also the fact that the "red" and "blue" tees are typically side by side, six feet apart. No difference whatsoever, so why have two tees?
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing DG on a BG course and if I can help it, it's my last. It's just not worth the time, trouble, etc., to drive all this way to play in these conditions.

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Golf on a Golf Course!

2-4    12/17/2011   12/19/2011
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dedicated land, no random ppl getting in the way
-Lots of elevation changes. I think just about every hole has some sort of elevation change.
-Good balance of hole lengths, but it's broken into a short 9 and a long 9.
-LIGHTS!
-Multiple Tees
-Very easy navigation
-Food, Beer, shelter & amenities
-Can polish up both your golf games at the same time at the same place!
-Right off the 2 and the 210 which makes it very easy to get to.
-Polite staff
Cons: -Some repetition, quite a few left to right shots.
-In most cases the multiple tees are pointless
-Not many obstacles on the fairways...but that's because they are fairways!
-I assume sharing the course with traditional golf would lead to long rounds, but the day I went I had no problems whatsoever.
-Some poison oak is out there, but if you throw into it you honestly deserve to get punished :P
Other Thoughts: I liked playing this course. I went on a day that it had just finished raining so the place wasn't that busy. $5 to play all day is fine with me to play on a manicured, dedicated course. It was fun, it's not very challenging for an experienced player, but it is fun. I can't wait for a combination disc golf/golf tournament. That would be sweet.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Nice short course

5+    11/30/2011   11/30/2011
Review By: DiskTossa
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Course is lit until 9:30pm
*Very well up kept grounds
*People are pretty nice
*No one running around getting in your way because it is private.
*Water and trash cans on almost every hole.
*Great views from the hill!
*Full bar with a bunch of really good different beers, and a full grill with some pretty good food.
*Smoking and drinking is legal on the grounds
Cons: *Not much of a con but it is $5 for the entire day.
*Food and beer is kinda costly
*On weekends there is a wait on each tee because of the ball golfers
*Only one bathroom and it is a walk if you are on the back
*Course is short, holes are at 300ft and less for most of it.
*Right now it is only 9 holes, but it is still fun.
Other Thoughts: Great place. I am there all the time. Really nice in the winter because of it getting dark at 5pm. You can play until 9:30pm and then it is lights off. Manager said last week that it is looking good and they will most likely be putting the full 18 in. And from what I heard from the Cannon Ball runners, the back 9 is really good.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Longest Hours in LA

5+    11/25/2011   11/25/2011
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2012
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well groomed ball golf greens
-Considerable elevation
-Two tees
-Rotating pins
-DISCatchers
-LIGHTS until 9:30PM! (They have been on later than 9:30 every time I have visited)
-Food and beer on site...Prices at pro shop are CHEAP! I don't know what this ^ guy is smoking. Huge can of fosters $4.25, burger and fries $6.
-Shorter than average open course
-I would say this is an easier than average course, great for beginners but with enough challenge to entertain experienced players.
-$5 day pass keeps the riff raff out
Cons: -In many cases, multiple tees present little change in play
-Night time brings huge groups of disc golfers
-1 night round typically takes over 2 1/2 hours (this is a short course!) because of said huge groups.
Other Thoughts: Verdugo Hills Golf Course is a short 18 hole ball golf course along a hillside overlooking La Crescenta and the 210 freeway. The greens are fairly wooded with a variety of different types of trees, and the course is well maintained.

For ball golf, this is an extremely short piece of land true to the description of a 'pitch & putt.' Even with disc golf, getting to the pin is usually possible in just one throw, allowing multiple birdies for the experienced player. As per most ball courses, the challenge presented here is not so much in its amount of woods, but rather its elevation. It is still possible to go off the fairway as we witnessed groups with flashlights in the brush several times.

The vibe at night at this course is really something special. It's great to have everything lit up the way it is and the hum of the freeway actually creates a silence that is pretty calming. It is almost like a video game in some ways. There are also lots of rabbits all over the fairways which, unless you have a heart of coal, is totally awesome.

There are two tee pads per hole, red and blue, and they offer variety about half of the time. In many cases, the difference is just a matter of a few feet left or right on the same concrete slab. In other cases, the blue tee can be quite far behind the red one, or in a completely different location. The red ones are generally easier to find for those that have not played the course before. Check out the map.

Ball golf greens (around the hole) play OB, and this is particularly a challenge for me because I don't have the best control on the planet and the greens are right in my driving range. My score is usually artificially inflated by at least 3 strokes per round due to landing on the greens. On many occasions, you can land in birdie zone, but because you are on the green, you have to take a penalty and back up 30 feet, making the '3P save' even more difficult.

While the front 9 on the course presents a great variety in short game, the back 9 is where the course opens itself up to a few considerably longer drives, starting right at hole 10. The back of the course is a collection of generally flat or uphill holes that zig-zag their way up the hill in a much less imaginative fashion than the front. These terraces were originally part of a Japanese internment camp and housing bunks were constructed on them; knowing their history keeps it a little more interesting in my opinion. Keep an eye behind you on a few of the holes as there are some hidden (especially at night) farther blue tees.

Crowds can sometimes become an issue at this course. Monday nights are when the weekly occurs, and I suggest participating in this event or choosing another time to play. Toward the end of the night, groups tend to swell to larger numbers and it can slow things down. Be prepared to skip a hole or have some patience. Crowds and proximity to other players are really my only con at the course.

Nonetheless, this is a great course with a blue collar crowd and a laid back vibe. Being open until 9:30PM makes this the only venue within about 30 miles for night golf. Our continued interest is essential to it's existence, and it is well worth the visit. With precision birdies for advanced players and very fair par 3 holes for the recreational player, this course is a great visit for golfers of all levels.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.