Molalla, OR 
Clark Park Share
Uploaded By: CaptianTrilogy Hole #1 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Suprisingly good!

1    6/23/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.1 Years
Pros: Ok, let my say up front that I am a 18 hole snob that rarely rates 9 hole courses above a 2.5, 3 tops and almost gave this one a 4! It is a fairly long course set up in a heavily wooded 1/2 block park that uses the space very well to make a challenging lay out. Pads are well done w/ brass house numbers in them. Holes are long enough to need a mid or driver for most of them but tight enough to require control. A couple holes play along edge of park, Pro and con as provide needed difficulty but may have to hop fence to get disc.
Cons: Only a couple minor ones. No signs so was occasionally hard to figure out next hole but small park, didn't take long. Map on Big sign board would fix this. A couple holes play close to toys, bad throw or skip off tree could be bad.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't give this one a 4 is that it isn't good enough to drive way out of way just to play. Still a city park 9 hole. That being said, I was glad we did the detour from Salem on way to Silver Falls. It is close enough to big Estecada courses or even North Eco that it is worth the side trip as a warm up or cool down.

Better Than Expected

1    9/14/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: WilsonSandersDavis
Played: 73  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: For a small course I was surprised to see that some holes had some length to them. Nothing extremely long but challenging due to all the trees you have to work around. The course has short concrete tee pads and great baskets.
Cons: Some of the tee pads and baskets are right next to the soccer field and play ground.
Other Thoughts: This was the second time I tried to play this course. Both times I have run into other functions at the park. the first was a BBQ competition which shut down the disc golf course. The second time a soccer game was being played with a rodeo next door which made it difficult to play with the amount of people around. Fortunately after hanging out for awhile the soccer game ended and I was able to play the whole course. Fun to play if your in the area but I don't think it's worth the drive.

Neighborhood Pitch & Putt Hits Target Audience!

1    6/18/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clark is one of the rare courses that doesn't try to do too much. The designers didn't try to make it too big, or too challenging or too tricky. So what you have you is a really well designed, enjoyable little neighborhood pitch and putt. The course fully utilizes the small wooded section of Clark Park.
I parked on the wrong side of the course and started on # 6. No problem with that, as I just looped around until I came back to # 6. The course features standard grooved tee pads with house #s on them. The Bentley baskets are yellow and they're more than adequate. Someone has recently (?) painted red arrows on the ground pointing the way to the next tee pad. This help me navigate the course more quickly the first time although I'm not entirely sure if these are permanent or something special for a tourney or something else.

# 1 is little tougher than most of the holes. It's pretty tight through the trees plus there's an OB fence on your left side with the Little Buckaroo Rodeo Yard waiting for your wild hyser tosses.

I contend this course is just long enough and just tight enough to present a pretty decent challenge for most of the players who play here.

And the course designers did a nice job of avoiding the picnic shelter and play area in the center of the park.
Cons: I don't see any problems with the design here. The only cons would ones the designers had no control over such as the smallness of the park.
Other Thoughts: Attention: There is NOW (June 2013) a sign at Main Street for N. Cole. This makes it just a little easier to find the park.

If you're looking for a fun little throw and not expecting 400' downhill bombs or epic water shots, you'll find this an enjoyable little course.

My congrats to Jerry Miller for the design work here. Sometimes a simple design works best and this is one of those occasions.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Clark Park

1    8/15/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice new baskets
-Course is nice and flat
-Quick Par 3 course with 9 holes
-Great tee pads
Cons: -If your not careful you may have to climb fence of Molalla Buckaroo to retrieve your disc
-City park with plenty of picnic benches
-Trees everywhere
Other Thoughts: Nice little par 3 course. Played in just over a hour with a group of 4. Will be playing this course again when I am out in that area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wooded holes that make you look for your lines
With the limited space the layout is good
Nice Bentley baskets and concrete tee pads
Cons: Anyone using the park will be in your way at some point. It's small and everything crosses paths. No tee box markers and no sign to show you the starting point. Had to look around to find #1.
Other Thoughts: Use the north parking lot near bathrooms as #1 pad is near there. Will be packed around Buckaroo time so plan for that.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NIce 9er

2-4    4/4/2012   4/7/2012
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/9/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a multi use park and has lots of multi uses. Picnic areas, playgrounds, rodeo grounds, ballfields, and horseshoe pits are all available. For the course they have taken the available space and used it very well.

Each tee is concrete and the baskets are made very well and catch as well as any I have played. The course is technical with lots of full growth trees as obstacles. Most of the baskets are straight out but due to the trees your throws will rarely be straight. You will need to throw hyzers, anhyzers, a good roller, and a hyser flip to do well. Putting is good with very little shule to deal with.

The land is hilly and that is used to make the first 4 baskets somewhat more difficult. It can be soggy but seems to drain well. the trees are full growth, tall and have thick trunks.

These Bentley Baskets are very visible and catch well. The ones on baskets 2 and 4 are bent up some but playable.

There are many other amenities to make playing here a treat. Bathrooms next to the course. Bring the kids because there is plenty of playground area and places to grill and picnic. Parking is easy (use the parking lot in the back because it is next to tee 1).

Cons: Because it is multi-use there are picnic areas, horseshoe pits, children's playgrounds, and dog-walkers on the course area. Playing this course would be very unsafe when others are using it for picnics and such.

Take the map. It is not 100% but doable because there are no tee signs.
Other Thoughts: I like playing here and my job will bring me here on occasion. When I get 30 minutes to throw a quick game or want to just get out this course will accomplish that well.

Also, it is very evident that they have placed a new set of pin positions. I found 2 for each basket. The dirt is freshly dug up and the concrete is poured in with new post holders to place the baskets in and lock them down. I would have preferred dual tees though so I could play it like 18.

This would be a great place for beginners.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Well Worth the Drive

1    7/27/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: CaptianTrilogy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, for a nine hole course this course was very good and extremely well laid out, props to Jerry Miller and crew. That being said next I must address the baskets. The baskets are a new breed of disc golf baskets made by Thomas Bentley out of the Hillsboro area. These Bentley Baskets are amazing and they catch really well. They are extremely sturdy to. This is the first cousre to install these masterpieces and nine more are being made for the new Columbia View Park nine hole course in Gresham Oregon. Moving on to the tee pads, they are concrete which makes them nice. The tee pads are indicated on their back left hand corner by an address mount number (i.e. 1,2,3,4,5,...ect.) The layout is nice and technical. This course will test your game and all your different styles of throw and your types of shots. This course is heavily wood but this add to the beauty of this course. The oak grove is super nice and gives a multitude of shade. This being said the heaviness of the oak branches stop discs almost instantly upon impact. Another pro for this course is that there was nearly no one around to get in the way and it moved very nicely...
Cons: That being said there was a picnic bench off to the left of the fairway one hole 1 with a guy just sitting there. he seemed like he didn't understand what was going on and he didn't care not to move. This is probably due to the fact that this is a new course and the local residents of Molalla are not used to are DGC in their backyard. For first timers without a map this course was a little hard to navigate and required some running ahead. Luckily there were spray painted arrows at each basket pointing the way to the next tee. Overall there were not many cons to this course. I am sure however, that when the rodeo next door is up and going, parking will be impossible, people will be everywhere as will picniccers, and the noise level will most likely be pretty high...
Other Thoughts: I live in Clackamas, OR about 20 miles north of Molalla and I love to play Rockwood, Vance, and Timber. This course added the elements I liked from each of those courses into one. This course's play reminded me of the first time I Vance after it was first installed. On first glance it looks like a lot of tree and that is because there is, but once you step on the tee pad the doors open up for some good line and some awesome windows. The course is well worth the drive and is must play for Portland area disc golfers. Lets keep these new courses coming and once again, props to Bentley Baskets, Jerry Miller, NWDiscGolfNews Forum... keep up the good work and keep hukin' those plastics!!! God Bless

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.