Disc Golf Store
Molalla, OR 
Clark Park Share
Uploaded By: CaptianTrilogy Hole #2 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Better Than Expected

1    9/14/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: WilsonSandersDavis
Played: 73  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: For a small course I was surprised to see that some holes had some length to them. Nothing extremely long but challenging due to all the trees you have to work around. The course has short concrete tee pads and great baskets.
Cons: Some of the tee pads and baskets are right next to the soccer field and play ground.
Other Thoughts: This was the second time I tried to play this course. Both times I have run into other functions at the park. the first was a BBQ competition which shut down the disc golf course. The second time a soccer game was being played with a rodeo next door which made it difficult to play with the amount of people around. Fortunately after hanging out for awhile the soccer game ended and I was able to play the whole course. Fun to play if your in the area but I don't think it's worth the drive.

Neighborhood Pitch & Putt Hits Target Audience!

1    6/18/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clark is one of the rare courses that doesn't try to do too much. The designers didn't try to make it too big, or too challenging or too tricky. So what you have you is a really well designed, enjoyable little neighborhood pitch and putt. The course fully utilizes the small wooded section of Clark Park.
I parked on the wrong side of the course and started on # 6. No problem with that, as I just looped around until I came back to # 6. The course features standard grooved tee pads with house #s on them. The Bentley baskets are yellow and they're more than adequate. Someone has recently (?) painted red arrows on the ground pointing the way to the next tee pad. This help me navigate the course more quickly the first time although I'm not entirely sure if these are permanent or something special for a tourney or something else.

# 1 is little tougher than most of the holes. It's pretty tight through the trees plus there's an OB fence on your left side with the Little Buckaroo Rodeo Yard waiting for your wild hyser tosses.

I contend this course is just long enough and just tight enough to present a pretty decent challenge for most of the players who play here.

And the course designers did a nice job of avoiding the picnic shelter and play area in the center of the park.
Cons: I don't see any problems with the design here. The only cons would ones the designers had no control over such as the smallness of the park.
Other Thoughts: Attention: There is NOW (June 2013) a sign at Main Street for N. Cole. This makes it just a little easier to find the park.

If you're looking for a fun little throw and not expecting 400' downhill bombs or epic water shots, you'll find this an enjoyable little course.

My congrats to Jerry Miller for the design work here. Sometimes a simple design works best and this is one of those occasions.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well Worth the Drive

1    7/27/2011   7/28/2011
Review By: CaptianTrilogy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off, for a nine hole course this course was very good and extremely well laid out, props to Jerry Miller and crew. That being said next I must address the baskets. The baskets are a new breed of disc golf baskets made by Thomas Bentley out of the Hillsboro area. These Bentley Baskets are amazing and they catch really well. They are extremely sturdy to. This is the first cousre to install these masterpieces and nine more are being made for the new Columbia View Park nine hole course in Gresham Oregon. Moving on to the tee pads, they are concrete which makes them nice. The tee pads are indicated on their back left hand corner by an address mount number (i.e. 1,2,3,4,5,...ect.) The layout is nice and technical. This course will test your game and all your different styles of throw and your types of shots. This course is heavily wood but this add to the beauty of this course. The oak grove is super nice and gives a multitude of shade. This being said the heaviness of the oak branches stop discs almost instantly upon impact. Another pro for this course is that there was nearly no one around to get in the way and it moved very nicely...
Cons: That being said there was a picnic bench off to the left of the fairway one hole 1 with a guy just sitting there. he seemed like he didn't understand what was going on and he didn't care not to move. This is probably due to the fact that this is a new course and the local residents of Molalla are not used to are DGC in their backyard. For first timers without a map this course was a little hard to navigate and required some running ahead. Luckily there were spray painted arrows at each basket pointing the way to the next tee. Overall there were not many cons to this course. I am sure however, that when the rodeo next door is up and going, parking will be impossible, people will be everywhere as will picniccers, and the noise level will most likely be pretty high...
Other Thoughts: I live in Clackamas, OR about 20 miles north of Molalla and I love to play Rockwood, Vance, and Timber. This course added the elements I liked from each of those courses into one. This course's play reminded me of the first time I Vance after it was first installed. On first glance it looks like a lot of tree and that is because there is, but once you step on the tee pad the doors open up for some good line and some awesome windows. The course is well worth the drive and is must play for Portland area disc golfers. Lets keep these new courses coming and once again, props to Bentley Baskets, Jerry Miller, NWDiscGolfNews Forum... keep up the good work and keep hukin' those plastics!!! God Bless

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.