San Antonio, TX 
Northwest Vista College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Cgkortz Hole #17 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Give it the old college try

2-4    7/9/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: Bondobates
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like the technical aspect of this course. This course has many tees with trees surrounding and inline with the baskets. Varied holes as some are open and others are treed.
Cons: First time out, finding a couple of tees was difficult. I ended up bypassing 4 tees. Second time through I reviewed the front sign more carefully.
Other Thoughts: Most holes have very little brush or grass to hide your disc. The long #18 could swallow a disc on the right side.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Short Course

1    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: samuelson2484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded. Very technical. This is a great course to work on your mid to short game.
Cons: These holes are VERY short. I only used my driver on two or three holes. The Parking lot is hard to find, and the course is a little confusing to navigate. Both are only a problem for players who are new to the course. The biggest problem is that there are a couple of baskets missing.
Other Thoughts: This could be a GREAT course. It just needs a little TLC. Replace the missing baskets and add some "Pro" tee pads and this would easily be a 4 or 5 star course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    9/28/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 154  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A surprisingly nice 18 hole course on a community college campus. The course is secluded in it's own little part of the college and has 18 holes that demand accuracy to get a good score.
There is a good course map at the beginning of the course, plus 18 colorful tee signs at each of the holes. The concrete tees are all ample in comparison to the length of the holes.

The course plays in two 9 hole loops. Hole 9 ends right at the parking lot and 18 also does. You can easily play 9 at a time or the full 18 in no time at all.

Hole 18 was a fantastic finishing hole with the only noticeable elevation on the hole course. To me, Hole 18 is far and away the most memorable hole on the course as it is one of the longest and needs a good anhyzer shot for a two.

The course is very scenic. It was carved out of a forest with low hanging oak trees flanking both sides of almost every hole. Even though it is thick on both sides, lost discs should not be a problem.
Cons: I am fine with short courses like this one. However, some of the holes had literally no defined line off the tee and the holes were attacked using the "Spray and Pray" motto. Because of this, one day you can easily shoot 6 down and the next have a 12 stroke swing and shoot 6 up.

Because of the short holes, it is hard to find much variety on the holes. Many holes are straight forward 200' and try not to hit the three trees right in front of the basket.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy my time at Northwest Vista College. It is pleasantly surprising to find a good course like this on the west side of San Antonio with it's three big older brothers on the East side of town. This course will never be like Live Oak, UC, or McClain but it is a good course in an area of the town that does not have many good courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

1    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: greg_lange
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new course
Nice tee boxes and signage
Reasonable hole flow and layout
Holes 1, 9, 10 and 18 start/end in same area
Course was mowed and maintained well
Cons: Several holes had too many trees in the fairway/no obvious fairway
Course was a little hard to navigate, finding the next hole was not always easy
Very short, tight course/very few holes required long drives
Baskets aren't the nice disc catcher ones with the yellow strip at the top
Other Thoughts: This is a good addition to San Antonio's courses. My group will probably play it at least once every other month. Everybody in our group had fun playing it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.