San Antonio, TX 
Northwest Vista College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Von Roll Hole #11 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 175ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course!

5+    10/5/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: gimpyninja
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has a ton of holes that require technical shots with little room for error. The branches and tree placement make the player think through options of what the best way to proceed is.
Cons: Easy to spend a lot of time looking for discs. Two holes are missing baskets. Not allowed to drink beer.
Other Thoughts: I never get tired of playing this course. It is always a great time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Campus police

5+    1/22/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: stansfield34
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its challenging. Narrow holes and great place to practice forhand throws. Most of the holes break to the right. Great for lefty's or great forehand players.
Cons: The holes are short.
Campus Police have begun kicking disc golfers, that are not students there, off campus. I don't know if that's legal but it happened to my friends.
Other Thoughts: Great course but there may be an issue of who can use the course now.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to work on Short Game

5+    8/14/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: JeffGobin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice Teepads/Signs/Baskets
-Flows well (Watch for signs on Hole #6 and #15 to find the next hole)
-Good central location for holes 1, 9, 10, and 18.
-Fun mix of lefty/righty holes
-Can finish a solo round in about 45 minutes
-Lots of birdie opportunities
Cons: -Short course (can throw a putter/midrange on most holes)
-No Trash Cans
-The rough can be nasty (lots of thorns)
-Difficult lines on some holes (especially #9)
Other Thoughts: Northwest Vista is a good addition to the SA courses. It kind of reminds me of a mix between a longer Helotes and a super mini-McClain. Check it out!

The course has only been opened a few weeks and I've already heard of an intermediate/advanced player shooting a 42 (-12) for a round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tech course on this side of town

1    8/8/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: tarvisg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical tee offs.
Lots of Trees.
Close to my apt.
Full course.
Cons: No long drives.
Watch out for the vines in the woods they have thorns on them.
They do not have multiple Pin placements.
Almost too wooden on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I think they should work on opening up some of the fairways. They should also add additional pin locations. I think that would allow for some optional longer distance drives in the future. This course is on a college campus, be careful with parking as its not all free.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NW Vista is a GEM of a short course

5+    7/25/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 154  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 20.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice singage
Good concrete tee boxes
Good double chained baskets
Beautiful Oak Trees throughout the course
Accuracy, putting, & scramblin are a the priorities at this course, not distance.
Lots of trees for shade.
Cons: Needs trash cans
Some potential for cross fairway interactions
layout confusing the first time I played but only because I didn't look at the tee signs on each hole (which tell you where the next tee is).
only one hole over 400 feet, with 2 over 300.
Other Thoughts: First off this isn't a great pro level course so don't go here expecting that. That said, this course is tremendously fun and challenging. The fairways are tight and the holes are not long. What it lacks in length it makes up for in tightness. Lots of "left handed" holes so if you are a righty bring your mid-range turnovers and flicks, This course can be played, when not busy, in less than an hour.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.