San Antonio, TX 
Northwest Vista College DGC Share
Uploaded By: Von Roll Hole #13 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 215ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Short Course

1    3/14/2014   3/14/2014
Review By: samuelson2484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded. Very technical. This is a great course to work on your mid to short game.
Cons: These holes are VERY short. I only used my driver on two or three holes. The Parking lot is hard to find, and the course is a little confusing to navigate. Both are only a problem for players who are new to the course. The biggest problem is that there are a couple of baskets missing.
Other Thoughts: This could be a GREAT course. It just needs a little TLC. Replace the missing baskets and add some "Pro" tee pads and this would easily be a 4 or 5 star course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

5+    10/5/2013   10/21/2013
Review By: gimpyninja
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a ton of holes that require technical shots with little room for error. The branches and tree placement make the player think through options of what the best way to proceed is.
Cons: Easy to spend a lot of time looking for discs. Two holes are missing baskets. Not allowed to drink beer.
Other Thoughts: I never get tired of playing this course. It is always a great time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    9/28/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.3 Years
Pros: A surprisingly nice 18 hole course on a community college campus. The course is secluded in it's own little part of the college and has 18 holes that demand accuracy to get a good score.
There is a good course map at the beginning of the course, plus 18 colorful tee signs at each of the holes. The concrete tees are all ample in comparison to the length of the holes.

The course plays in two 9 hole loops. Hole 9 ends right at the parking lot and 18 also does. You can easily play 9 at a time or the full 18 in no time at all.

Hole 18 was a fantastic finishing hole with the only noticeable elevation on the hole course. To me, Hole 18 is far and away the most memorable hole on the course as it is one of the longest and needs a good anhyzer shot for a two.

The course is very scenic. It was carved out of a forest with low hanging oak trees flanking both sides of almost every hole. Even though it is thick on both sides, lost discs should not be a problem.
Cons: I am fine with short courses like this one. However, some of the holes had literally no defined line off the tee and the holes were attacked using the "Spray and Pray" motto. Because of this, one day you can easily shoot 6 down and the next have a 12 stroke swing and shoot 6 up.

Because of the short holes, it is hard to find much variety on the holes. Many holes are straight forward 200' and try not to hit the three trees right in front of the basket.
Other Thoughts: I did enjoy my time at Northwest Vista College. It is pleasantly surprising to find a good course like this on the west side of San Antonio with it's three big older brothers on the East side of town. This course will never be like Live Oak, UC, or McClain but it is a good course in an area of the town that does not have many good courses.

Gnarly

1    9/18/2012   10/2/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent concrete pads and tee signs. Despite the course being squeezed onto a small bit of land between parking lots and roads, the fairways don't interfere with one another, and the non-playing areas don't come into play, except on road-paralleling/right-turning number-18.

Excellent map, easy to navigate, despite having to cross behind some tees to reach others. As a first-time visitor, my two problems were: finding tee-1, as my Garmin brought me in the main entrance, while the course is more easily located from the back entrance, and my beautiful drive from tee-8, parked on basket-15! (Basket-8 to right, in trees)

Two nine-hole loops.
Cons:
Single tee/single pin position. Quite flat.

A few of the holes had the fairway-pinball / green-jailcell look-n-feel to them.
Other Thoughts:
If you discount the three holes longer than 300' (#'s 3, 15, and 18), the remaining fifteen holes have an average length of less than 200', so this course is all about control, needing accurately to hit narrow windows. Most fairways, and on about half the time, the ceilings, are defined by short (15-20'), twisting, narrow trees - oaks, I believe, but not anything like what we have up North!

There's not much change in elevation nor distance on this course, so what alters between the holes is the density of the trees, where in the flight-path they appear, and the shape you need to throw to avoid them, all the while not permitting your disc to fly too high. Straight/very subtle-S off the tee will serve you well on about 1/3rd the holes, with another 1/3rd requiring gentle rights, typically near the basket, and the remaining 1/3rd being lefts, typically sharp/mid-fairway.

A fun course to work on your short game, and quick to play. Maximizes the terrain is had to work with, so kudos to the designers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Campus police

5+    1/22/2012   1/22/2012
Review By: stansfield34
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Its challenging. Narrow holes and great place to practice forhand throws. Most of the holes break to the right. Great for lefty's or great forehand players.
Cons: The holes are short.
Campus Police have begun kicking disc golfers, that are not students there, off campus. I don't know if that's legal but it happened to my friends.
Other Thoughts: Great course but there may be an issue of who can use the course now.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course to work on Short Game

5+    8/14/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: JeffGobin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice Teepads/Signs/Baskets
-Flows well (Watch for signs on Hole #6 and #15 to find the next hole)
-Good central location for holes 1, 9, 10, and 18.
-Fun mix of lefty/righty holes
-Can finish a solo round in about 45 minutes
-Lots of birdie opportunities
Cons: -Short course (can throw a putter/midrange on most holes)
-No Trash Cans
-The rough can be nasty (lots of thorns)
-Difficult lines on some holes (especially #9)
Other Thoughts: Northwest Vista is a good addition to the SA courses. It kind of reminds me of a mix between a longer Helotes and a super mini-McClain. Check it out!

The course has only been opened a few weeks and I've already heard of an intermediate/advanced player shooting a 42 (-12) for a round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Tech course on this side of town

1    8/8/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: tarvisg
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical tee offs.
Lots of Trees.
Close to my apt.
Full course.
Cons: No long drives.
Watch out for the vines in the woods they have thorns on them.
They do not have multiple Pin placements.
Almost too wooden on some holes.
Other Thoughts: I think they should work on opening up some of the fairways. They should also add additional pin locations. I think that would allow for some optional longer distance drives in the future. This course is on a college campus, be careful with parking as its not all free.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Course

1    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: greg_lange
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new course
Nice tee boxes and signage
Reasonable hole flow and layout
Holes 1, 9, 10 and 18 start/end in same area
Course was mowed and maintained well
Cons: Several holes had too many trees in the fairway/no obvious fairway
Course was a little hard to navigate, finding the next hole was not always easy
Very short, tight course/very few holes required long drives
Baskets aren't the nice disc catcher ones with the yellow strip at the top
Other Thoughts: This is a good addition to San Antonio's courses. My group will probably play it at least once every other month. Everybody in our group had fun playing it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 NW Vista is a GEM of a short course

5+    7/25/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice singage
Good concrete tee boxes
Good double chained baskets
Beautiful Oak Trees throughout the course
Accuracy, putting, & scramblin are a the priorities at this course, not distance.
Lots of trees for shade.
Cons: Needs trash cans
Some potential for cross fairway interactions
layout confusing the first time I played but only because I didn't look at the tee signs on each hole (which tell you where the next tee is).
only one hole over 400 feet, with 2 over 300.
Other Thoughts: First off this isn't a great pro level course so don't go here expecting that. That said, this course is tremendously fun and challenging. The fairways are tight and the holes are not long. What it lacks in length it makes up for in tightness. Lots of "left handed" holes so if you are a righty bring your mid-range turnovers and flicks, This course can be played, when not busy, in less than an hour.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.