Mooresville, IN 
Mt. Gilead DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #4 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 142ft.   3 / 142ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course

1    9/10/2013   9/11/2013
Review By: smitdavi
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 10/7/2013
Pros: This course was very well maintained and manicured. The posts they have with hole signage were great, each post had hooks on both sides to hang your bag. It was a nice little touch and something you normally wouldn't think about. The signs were very descriptive and accurate. Baskets seemed almost brand new. There were 3 wooded holes that were very good, and quite different than the rest of the course.
Cons: We played our round in the rain and the tee pads that used the walking path (black top) as the tee pad were very very slick. We had to tee off mostly in the grass to keep from slipping. On the normal concrete pads we had no problem. It was difficult on the back 9 to find the next tee pad. There wasn't an arrow at the basket pointing towards the next hole. The biggest problem was going from 9 to 10. It was a long walk and we had to ask someone where the 10th tee was.
Other Thoughts: We had a fun time at this course. The wind was blowing pretty hard because of an impending storm so it made some of the longer holes even more challenging. We'd love to come back on a calmer day to play the course. The wooded holes were awesome. Wish there were more like that. Overall it was a very nice course. The church takes great care of their property.

 Mt. Gilead D.G.C.

5+    11/3/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: nolowputt
Played: 93  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course gives a variety of shots. If people like long shots there are 4 over 400 feet. I think the course has a good balance of different shots. Hole 5 is one of the hardest 260 foot shots around.
Cons: Does not have concrete or paved surfaces for all the tee's. But it will get there.
Other Thoughts: This course is a good all around course for all player levels.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/9/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: Dan Hauger
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has a good flow from basket to tee. I personally like how some of the obstacles (natural and man made) are used so the player will have a variety of shots. For example: Hole #2 is behind a High wire tower. It can be reached with a well placed Hyzer, Anhyzer or a well lined straight shot through the legs of the tower.

The open, long holes allow the big guns to show their muscle. It also allows the not so big guns (myself included) the chance to get a bird or par.

Not too many OB's or mando's makes it nice smooth play.
Cons: Holes 1, 3, 4, 5, 14, 15 and 16 to not have tee pads and can get a bit muddy and slippery after rain and early morning. However, I hear Tee pads will be installed shortly.
Other Thoughts: Good use of the property.

I think the distances and shot variety makes the course fun for both the beginner and advanced.

Playing at different times of the year adds different challenges. For example: Spring and Summer, hole #6 is rarely affected by wind. (even on windy days) Once the leaves fall, the wind will try to push the disc into the woods on the right. Even when using a disc that ends on a hard hyzer.

I recommend playing this course to players of all levels.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Home Sweet Home

5+    10/8/2012   10/11/2012
Review By: gregmarine
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Baskets are in great shape
- Variety of challenges
- Property is well taken care of
- Good for players just starting out as well as seasoned players
- Many birdie opportunities to help recover from a bogey or two
- Scorecard has a map on the back with a satellite view of the course
- The flow of the course is smooth and ends with number 18 right back near the first tee
- Plenty of parking
Cons: - Some tees are in the grass (concrete tees are planned)
- No tee signs (these are planned too...after the concrete tees)
- Standing water in some areas after a hard rain
- No restrooms available
Other Thoughts: I play in the Morgan County Disc Golf Club at this course. Everyone who plays in league events are fun to be with and make it enjoyable to play. With this being my home course, I play it at least once a week and sometimes more. I've played this course both as a beginning novice and now an intermediate player and still find it challenging and fun. Sometimes you have to wait for runners or walkers on the path. But that is rare when I play. I highly recommend this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great 18 Hole Course

1    12/29/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Shot Variety: Great mix of open and heavily wooded holes.

- Flow: Course had a great flow and was easy to navigate. Next to hole 1 is a box that contains scorecards/map for the course. Use this to help locate the tees.

Tee spots: 5 Throw spots are marked on a concrete. Hole 1 starts on the concrete near the trash dumpster. Holes 2, 6, 7, and 8 are marked on a walking path. Holes 3-5 Loop through the woods (same entrance/exit into the woods) and have dirt throw spots marked in the ground. The marker for hole 8's Tee was moved so that it is a more efficient hole. Hole 9 is on top of the mound and also has a dirt throw spot.

Challenge: No two holes were really the same. More of a beginner course than a intermediate course but there is still challenge on most holes (distance, trees, wind, etc). Holes 3-5 require accuracy.

- Room to Expand: There is talk about this course expanding to 18 holes and there is more than enough room to do so.
Cons: - Soggy - This course had standing water when I played it leaving it entirely soggy. The wooded holes had much standing water along the path with Hole 3 being underwater. Fortunately I had boots on.

- Only one throw spot per hole - With the way the holes are marked here, it would not be much extra to add alternate throw spots to each hole. It would also add variety.

- Use of woods - I feel like they could add some more holes in the wooded portion of the course. Hole 1 would be much more challenging if it were placed into the tree line.

- Walking Path - With any course that follows a walking path, it can add wait time to the holes (See Northwestway DGC).

- The open holes were extremely open. Trees were not an issue because there were none on some holes. Very easy to save par.

- Hole 5 - I agree that luck can make or break this hole. With exception of the curved walking path, there is not much of a fairway. It could use less trees.
Other Thoughts: I specifically made a trip to the opposite side of town just to play this course and Plainfield's course. I enjoyed this course more than The Master's at Calvary Baptist Course although it was a tough decision.

This course expanded to 18 holes. It was a very enjoyable course with moderate difficulty. It does need dual tees to add to the variety of this course. Dual tees and more planted trees would lift this course to a 3.5 or a 4 in my opinion. I do not have an issue with dirt or natural throw pads as long as they are not muddy like they were during my trip there.

This course is very user friendly and has potential to improve. I was leaning between 3 and 4. Because of the wooded holes I felt that it was better than decent/typical. It isn't the best 18 hole course that I have ever played but it was very still a very nice course. Looking forward to playing this course again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    10/31/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: AdamE
Played: 211  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mt. Gilead is a fun 9 hole course set on church grounds that is designed fairly well. There's a decent shot selection, a variety of distances and a good mix of wooded and open with a few of the open holes using the available features well so they aren't boring.

The course starts right next to the dumpster and has a sign to help you find the start. There's a mailbox right there containing maps and scorecards. Additionally there are arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee so navigation was a breeze.

Hole 1 is a long, open shot across a field with woods just behind the basket. The woods is a bit too close and should probably cleared out a little so you aren't in the rough 10 feet behind the basket.

Hole 2 is a short shot with the basket tucked behind a large power line tower. There is tall grass in the picture, but when I was here the fairway was cut.

Holes 3 & 4 are very short wooded holes with narrow fairways forcing you to hit your line.

I wasn't a big fan of hole 5. It was a big dogleg right, but there really wasn't a fairway. If you have a RHBH sidearm you might be able to thread the needle and play the skip to get your three. I found a big sky anhyzer route, but again, I'd hardly call it a fairway.

Hole 6 is a very long hole. The fairway is plenty wide with wood line on each side and the basket is tucked just around the corner of the treeline on the right forcing a tough anny approach shot which was very cool.

Holes 7-9 were a bit of a let down after the rest of the course. Hole 7 is another long hole with trees on each side of the basket and the last two holes are wide open shots with a little elevation in play.
Cons: The tees are marked by small white bars on the ground with the hole number on it. No tee signs. While this is a con and it would be nice to have concrete tees and signs, it really isn't a big issue.

The course doesn't have concrete tees, but the walking path is used to tee off from on 5 holes. The rest were natural tee that were fairly flat so I didn't have a problem with them. It's easy to spot walkers using the path, so there shouldn't be any danger with the walking path near by.

Hole 5 as I already mentioned relies too heavily on luck.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice intermediate level course and a good place to learn the game, but there's really no challenge for pro and advanced players. That said it's certainly an asset to the community and worth stopping at if you happen to be passing by, but I wouldn't recommend you go out of your way to play here either.

***UPDATE***
This course was 9 holes when I played here and has since been expanded to 18 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Phase 1: Nice Mix

1    7/24/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 170  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 20.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The directions to the course and the 1st tee are perfect. •DGA Targets •Scorecard with map in the mailbox,next to #1 tee •Easy navigation •Generous Scorecard course pars,nice for beginners so they don't get frustrated •Nice mix of, Not only of distance,but Open Fields and woods. #1 is a 382' open drive throwing to the tree line. The basket sits between the paved trail & tree line. With only a 5/6' diameter of cleared underbrush. #2 is a 202' Anhyzer drive/ace run. The target is "behind" a large electrical tower. With VERY thick & tall grass around half if the target. Into the woods for #3,4,5. Walk back to the paved trail,you'll see a mulched path going into the woods. The mulched/dirt path in the woods are used for fairways. For #3 tee marker turn left, a 150' short technical hole,with a dogleg fairway. #4 a straight shorter 142' technical hole. #5 a longer 260' hole with the most defined fairway, but does get much tighter around the target. Out of the woods for #6,7,8,9. Tee #6 from the paved trail,A wide open 485' drive north to the end of the tree line. the target just on the other side of the tree line. #7 from the trail Another wide open drive,this time a 540'.#8 a average 283' hole. With a mandatory? Side arm drive,with a "elevated" putt? #9 An open 245' "Elavated" tee.
Cons: No tee sgns, yet? But, if you use the map on the Scorecard all is good. The said tee pads are more markers than pad. Target #1 should be,atleast cleared out another 10'. IMHO it should be moved into the woods about 25'....mix it up bit more. #8 tee marker is set to the right, making a mandatory? side arm drive. It's only 10' behind two massive pine trees. A few trimmed branches would be good. The #8 target is more behind the mound than on top. IMHO it needs to be moved. It would be a nice elevated putt if it was on top and on the back edge of the mound.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a well thought out layout. The Paved Trail wasn't a negative. Well used for tee pads and when it did come into play there were no "blind shots". From I-465 & Hwy 37 it took me 20 minutes to get to the course. One round can be played in 30 minutes or less. I was hard for me to rate this course a 2.5 decent/typical. Because of the good mix,for a 9 holer, of distance/open/wooded. But with no water and very little terrain changes, as of now I'll rate it a 2.5. I'm sure that will change after the other 9 will be installed.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.