Cincinnati, OH 
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: Jason Kerl  
The Nati Pro Shop



Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The nicest jewel in Cincy’s crown

1    11/16/2013   11/22/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 171  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2014
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the nicest settings for a course I've had the pleasure to play in - a simply beautiful course in a scenic park.
• Variety: Loaded with it. Fairways of all shapes and sizes. L/R/straight, and more complex fairways. Well-wooded/moderately wooded/ lightly wooded, with some fairly open off the tee playing to well wooded fairways or approaches. At least one Ace Run (more depending in pin placement)/ bombers, lots in between, with a nice mash-up of all these attributes (including elevation) over 20 well-conceived holes. All holes were quite fair and even the tight ones didn't feel pinball-like. Most holes offer many lines, a few (like the mando on 3) force you to go a certain way. Several holes with blind pin placements and pins that were nicely tucked away or otherwise well-guarded. Pure bombing ability can help on a few holes here, but typically only if well placed. Most players will be better served placing tee shots to set up their next shot on some of the longer holes, or risk playing from a difficult lie to a very limited window framing the back end of the fairway. A superbly well-balanced and quite complete set of holes overall.
• Elevation: Outstanding. Often big, sometimes subtle, but used in all sorts of ways to enhance challenge and eye appeal. Long, sweeping up-hills and down-hills, plenty of pins on slopes or near drop-off to create risk/reward. At least one hole playing up then down over a rise. 17's long, undulating fairway was memorable - big arms may be able to bomb it over most or all the peaks and valleys, but noodle arms could get stuck in a trough making it hard to see the line you want to hold going forward.
• Aesthetics: Scenic hole after scenic hole with picturesque vistas from the tee box. Can't tell you how many times I stepped to the tee and thought, "Holes like this are why I love this game." Looked beautiful even though fall had peaked weeks ago. I can't imagine it's anything but gorgeous in spring and summer. Stand outs for me: 5, 10, 13, 15,17.
• Equipment: Red baskets are easy to spot in the woods and look cool to boot. Perhaps a problem in the past, tee signs looked nice, free of graffiti, show all three pin placements with distances,and were helpful in finding your way. Concrete tees were in good enough shape to be a non-issue.
• Pins get rotated through three locations to keep things fresh for locals, vary the challenge and help keep areas around the pins from becoming ever-increasing circles of dirt (pins were in the long position for my round).
• Challenge: Long (C) pins are at least blue (if not gold) level, and definitely harder to reach than the A and B positions. Depending on the pin placement that day, Mt Airy is suitable for most skill levels, but I can see higher rated players finding the shorter A & B layouts a bit too easy.
• The 'Nati. Chances are you don't have a selection of discs like this near your house … or the opportunity to pick the brains of a PDGA Hall of Famer like Fred Salaz.
• Practice putting green with two baskets, room for long approaches and a warm-up driving range w/net - maybe if Fred's not too busy, he can watch your form and help you out.
Cons: These pale in comparison to all the positives here.
• Several holes play close to parking and roads (Hole 2 has you playing right over a road). Probably not as big a safety issue as it could be here, but discs hitting asphalt is a pet peeve of mine - and that's a decent possibility at Mt Airy.
• Missing the thrill of a water carry.

Some have mentioned signs and routing/navigation. All I can say is signs must have been redone - they were great during my round. I had a guide, so no issues there. I can see where a few spots were tricky, but nothing seemed that hard to follow… print the map or pick one up at The Nati - all the roads near holes actually make it easier to follow on the map.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely loved this place, and can't wait to return. My thanks to all who had a hand in selecting the location, designing/installing the course and maintaining it to this point. I was impressed with the design of the holes and taken by the course's beauty. Brains and beauty always make for a potent combination - I freely admit I'm smitten. Can't believe it's not pay to play.

I've been fortunate enough to play some truly phenomenal courses since discovering DGCR: Lincoln Ridge, Moraine State Park, Deer Lakes, Leviathan, Burchfield Park, Rogers Lakewood, WR Jackson at IDGC …all superb courses that go beyond excellence. None of those left me with the desire return that Mt Airy did… can't wait to play it again. Mt. Airy struck me with the same desire to come back as Flip and the Headrick course at IDGC. I don't recall squat about benches, trash cans, brooms and stuff like that because I was too damned busy enjoying myself to care.

Have to say Idlewild's more challenging and if I were picking a course for a "Pros Only" tourney I'd give it the nod. But just as I won't knock a course for being above my skill level, I can't knock Airy just 'cause there are tougher courses out there - playing to the longs here is plenty challenging. Given the choice to play Idlewild or Mt. Airy, I'll pick the latter - it simply was a more enjoyable round, and that's my reason for playing.

Given the strength of all the pros, how easy it was to look past the cons, how much I enjoyed the course relative to other fabulous courses and my desire to return, I feel comfortable awarding a Mt. Airy 5.0. Obviously, I'm in the minority, but I could care less. I've provided solid support for my rating… and I'm already trying to figure out when I can play here again! :D

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    10/2/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2013
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: So much to say, The Only course with a Pro shop on site, warm up area and two practice baskets, driving net.... lots of info!

20 holes in the total lay out, well manicured! No poison ivy

If you lose a disc, you have a good chance it will be returned. The Nati pro shop will call you

Great signage, tee signs are well labeled with A B C spots to inform you where the basket is. Benches and brooms by tee box! one has a shelter, so there always a place to rest!

5 water fountains around the course on holes #'s 1 ,4, 11, 12, &14 good clean water, deuce juice! yum.

Good mix of holes, loads of elevation changes, and plenty of well placed trees in your way! some holes in the woods, some open, avg. hole length about 375 ft.

They have leagues, and tournys, and weekly doubles
Cons: With all the pros, the cons are its popularity, not that's a bad thing, but people tend to jump around the course, and it can cause sudden delays.
There is one time you may feel lost, or out of progression.. after #6, walk back up #5's fairway, and look for #7's pad

I guess another weird thing is the course plays close to the road on #2,4,5,7,8,14, which makes that a technical OB if you cross the area. but it adds to the challenge in my opinion
Other Thoughts: If you want my reason for the ***** stars here's why....................................

when it describes "nothing could possibly done to make this course better" That's a dumb statement...
There is always a way to make a course better. Add a pond, add more holes, covered tee boxes, solar lights on basket tops. tree stands for spotters and photographers.
This course is well maintained, and has the potential to expand beyond the 20 holes it has now......

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Airy

5+    2/18/2012   3/1/2012
Review By: stevemort
Played: 46  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mt. Airy is an outstanding course. There are a lot of challenging holes here and many times Airy will get the best of you. There's a lot of variety and plenty of hazards. There are several holes that would qualify as the most beautiful and epic in all of disc golf.

There are some long and treacherous holes here, but they don't seem unfair. They usually involve a first shot to a middle area and then a different type of shot to get towards the basket. The few shorter holes have their challenges and do great to add to the variety. And there are some average length holes that have some different hazards that make each unique. There's some more open areas where you can air it out and some fairly wooded areas. Like I said before - a lot of variety.

The way they are using the alternate pins makes this course different almost every time you play it. You can (and I have) play this course over and over and never get bored. It works on every part of your game.

If I was picking the best 18 holes in all of disc golf I would probably pick 5 of the holes at Mt. Airy.
Cons: Busy - that's because it's a great course! No water in play anywhere. A few of the shorter holes may feel like a let down after some of the majestic holes, but I think that makes the course diverse.
Other Thoughts: This should be on your list of courses not to be missed.

The improvements to this place have been amazing. I remember playing it when it was only 9 holes! The pro shop, the practice holes and throwing area are unmatched. The new baskets and alternate pins are huge improvements. Every hole has been taken care of and improved over the years with mulch, gravel, tree trimming and new benches. I can't wait to see the new signs! Thanks to the guys who do a great job on the upkeep of this course!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: hanesjm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Long challenging course. Great variety of scoring holes and hole where pro par is literally for pro's. Hole 5 is a 700+ dog leg right that is a challenging 4 let alone a 3. 17 in long pin placement is also a challenging par, great course to play if your looking to challenge yourself. Shooting 54 (pro par) is a pro level score. very clean course well maintained. mixed baskets being replaced with new baskets and new huge pads are in the works to be in by the end of this season, also new sleeves for alternate pin placements on nearly every hole. A great course only getting better! Nati Disc Shop at first tee, if you have not been stop in and see the guys. they are all great help and the shop has one of the best disc varieties you can find. Hosts weekly ace fund and weekly ace fun random doubles. Annually CC and Flying Pig.
Cons: Could easily be a major quality course with simple additions and changes, Allot of the small cons are in the works to be fixed but seems to be taking a while for work to actually begin. New pin placements, baskets and pads could easily skyrocket this course to the top ten best.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Challenging

8/2/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: dvice33
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offered a wide variety of challenging holes. There is beautiful scenery and some really long holes.
Cons: A 687ft par 4 with a dog leg right? Wow, the par for the course is pretty tough to get. Also, the course map needs updated because it is easy to get lost on the hole progession.
Other Thoughts: The course wasn't crowded and I hit the best shot of my life (100 ft above and around trees to sink it on the second new hole), so it was a good day. If you get lost on where to go, make sure to ask. After hole number 4 you have to walk straight around an old white building to find the next hole, which is a little disappointing.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Best in the Cincy area!

7/23/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: discthrower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very aesthetically pleasing, one of the most beautiful courses I've seen. Very challenging, will challenge even the pros. Conveniently located 5-10 minutes away from downtown Cincy. You will have a great time.
Cons: There's just a few of these:
Some tee signs missing, two holes were moved due to erosion (one of them my favorite previously).
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite in the Cincinnati Metro area. It combines thickly wooded holes with beautifully sculpted hills and wide open fields. Holes #2 and #4 have some of the best and most aesthetically pleasing hills I've seen incorporated into a disc golf course.

Hole #10 is a beast and will greatly challenge even the most masterful of disc throwers. But then again, so will most other holes on this course. And although you may be getting your brains beat out scorekeeping-wise (which WILL happen), the course is just too fun not to NOT be having a great time

This course combines many of the different aspects that make for a terrific dg course, and they are blended together excellently to create a course with an amazing overall flow.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.