Cincinnati, OH 
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: ImSchizoidMan Hole #7 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good But Not Great

1    6/29/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 62  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -The sign on the tee is very nice and it shows you exactly where the whole is and where to go to get to the next tee
-Every whole challenges you in a different way
-There is a store right by the first tee and it has alot to offer
-They mix it up between par 3's and par 4's
-Every whole is different some are open fields while others make you be accurate and actually aim for something
-There is no water so you couldn't lose your disc in there
-The baskets are very nice and also very official
-It is located in a very nice park
Cons: -It is in the woods so on some holes it will be easy to lose your disc
-Some of the par 3's should be par 4's and some par 4's should be par 5's
-There are no par 5's
-It is very hard to do good here and end below par
-On some of the holes the sign isn't even there so you dont know what par is, where the pin is located, and how far away the pin is from the tee
Other Thoughts: I came here on quite a windy day so i would like to come back when it isn't so windy. That may have been some of the problen. But overall i thought that this was a nice course that could use some work. I know they are redoing many things so the course will be on top one day.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/31/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of elevation changes in most holes. Seemed like there were a lot more upshots than downshots, which definitely increased the challenge. Normally boring wide open holes become a challenge because of this.
- A good use of individual trees on some of the open holes, making them feel like you are in a forest.
- Forest holes not too bad either, pretty lightly wooded compared to some other courses.
- A good mix of left, right, and straight shots. It seemed like this course rewarded a straight shooter above all else.
- Some of these holes were beasts. #5 is an uphill, 700', dogleg right hole that will punish you for straying off the fairway. Thick rough and lots of trees make this a juggernaut of a hole.
- Good tees, baskets, and signage. Also pretty easy to navigate the first time through.
- Maybe not part of the course, but the pro shop, and practice net, was a great feature. Really added to the whole experience.
- I liked the forest hole with no discernible fairway off the tee, just a small walking path through some tall grass. Pretty unique, in my experience.
- Delicious water. Took some back to Illinois!
Cons: - Course plays very, very close to road. Lots of traffic going in and around area, mostly not related to disc golf in any way.
- Constant upshot after upshot was a little repetitive, and tiring, especially near the end of the course.
Other Thoughts: - There were other people using this park, but they weren't in the way. Not this time, at least.
- I really liked #13, which included a right-curving shot over a small valley (more of a dip), which lead into a downshot with the basket surrounded by downslopes. Very rewarding hole, if you play it right.
- Not as scenic as some of the other nearby courses, but still very scenic. The road kind of kills the atmosphere throughout the hole round.
- Still a great, great course in my book.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Compares to Idlewild

1    5/15/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Situated in a beautiful national forest with amazing scenery, Mt. Airy Park was a treat to play. In my opinion, the course has what Idlewild does not: the fun factor. I didn't feel exhausted at the end of the round and I truly enjoyed playing the course. The par 4's were true par 4's, and hole 1 was one of the coolest opening holes I have ever played. The course had a good mix of open and tight holes, and also had a good mix of some short and long holes.
Cons: The only thing keeping Mt. Airy from a 5 rating (besides the small navigational issue after hole 6, which could be fixed with a simple sign) was the fact that the course heavily favors an anhyzer throw for a right-hander or a hyzer throw for a left-hander. Off the top of my head, the longest 6 holes on the course favored that type of throw. In my opinion, that is a design flaw because the course didn't offer the opportunity for that type of throw on the long holes. The best throw on those holes was an S curve or a long anhyzer, and the long hyzer throw wasn't really needed.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Mt. Airy is right up there with Idlewild because of the fun factor. It ranks ahead of Lincoln Ridge in my opinion because of the beautiful scenery. This course was really a treat and seems to really be setup for multiple courses in the park. The pro shop was also awesome!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Is more Airy than Forest

1    5/3/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is situated in a large urban park with grassy fairways that meander within the manicured areas of the park and skirt the forest briefly a few times without ever completely providing woods golf. The emphasis is on big arm power as most holes are more open than technical and length is rewarded moreso than precision. Those players who can throw 350+ will often be looking at birdies while the rest will be scrambling to make long approaches and deep putts to keep pace. Get your arm loose and break out the long distance drivers here. You still have to hit your lines and placement drives are required on a few of the longer holes but it is not nearly as punitive as Lincoln Ridge can be or Idlewild always is for missing your lines. Very well maintained park with elevation changes on the back 9. Your often weaving your drivers amongst sporadic hardwoods rather than dense woods here. Elevation is either downhill just enough to help your driver fulfill its flight path and not sharp enough uphill to cramp your distance too adversely. I particularly enjoyed #15, a multi shot hole dogleg R downhill 560 ft to a basket sitting atop a hill that looks like it was made by nature to be a DG green. I'm sure during world's top pros got to that green in one shot due to the attainability afforded by the 50 feet of elevation drop.Also fun was #16 a blind shot but employing a perfect wooded fairway that begs you to trust your strongest hyzer across a sloping bank and let the disc hone in on the wooded green 400 feet away. Many holes reward a player who can perform a long line such as long anhyzers on #5 & #13. So it's a big arm course but requires more loosely controlled drives over reckless bombing. Compliments the tighter Cinnci courses well with its big park like and open feel.
Cons: Too open for my tastes and not very well marked. Most of the front 9 plays too close to the access road with #2 actually throwing over it and #3 basically playing mando around a busy lot. #5 seemed such a waste as your trying to endlessly make that long right turn and the entire time your close to the road and seeing this amazing woods to your right with steep elevation drops and mature trees (Valley to valley hole anyone) instead your skirting the road and trees and forced to ignore what could have been some killer wooded holes to your right. After hole 6 you do have to backtrack to find hole 7. A few blind holes where you might not know where to throw to or where your disc landed. With all those woods nearby I wish there was some more use of the elevation and trees that seemed to be beckoning my attention as I plugged away in the open and at times mundane fields.
Other Thoughts: The best part of this course is the Nati DG store that serves as clubhouse and perhaps the center of the Cinncinatti DG universe. I never saw such a well equipped store and I was able to pawn off my old plastic in return for a brand new 80 dollar bag! If the store is open don't miss this one.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Airy is the pinnacle

1    5/14/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Cobra165
Played: 101  Reviewed: 10
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good, beautiful, memorable holes with moderate elevation change
Tough but fun (a GREAT combination)
Nice mix of short and long--a couple of easy deuces but also several holes where you are really able to let it rip
Awesome pro shop (not always open though--opened at 1 pm the day we played)
Driving pad with a huge net to throw into--very nice--have not seen that anywhere else
Benches everywhere!
Great picnic facilities
Ample parking
Good restrooms (or so my wife said)
Even the guy on the mower was helpful
Cons: Navigation from 6 to 7 (at least put up a sign so players don't wander aimlessly for 15 minutes)
A few too many tweener holes that give a serious advantage to long throwers
A few cracked teepads that made me worry more about my footing than shot execution (a couple are bad enough to cause a twisted ankle, and should be replaced)
Other Thoughts: Much of what I would say has already been said by Jarrod (I played the course with him).

Apparently the course has changed somewhat, since some of the photos don't match the holes we played. In fact, the photo for hole 7 makes me think that was a hole that had to be taken out, and I'm guessing that now accounts for the aforementioned navigational issue from 6 to 7 (there is a serious backtrack issue there).

I had no issue with the mando (probably because I hit it, whereas Jarrod did not). As long as it is plainly posted, which it was, then I consider that to be "local flavor." Could the hole be changed or even eliminated? Possibly, but then that could cause problems elsewhere.

Hole 1 is just beautiful, a true par 4 with nice scenery. Great way to start the round. Other memorable holes are 5 (which Jarrod 3'd, by the way--big arm), 10, 13, 15, and 17.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Break Out the Big Guns

1    5/14/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: Jarrod
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting and well-manicured park that creates an excellent mix of open/wooded and long/short holes. This course will challenge every aspect of your game, especially your ability to control long-distance drivers - there are multiple holes with 400+ foot shots requiring careful turnovers and S-Curves.

Nice little pro-shop for when you finish the course. The help is friendly and knowledgeable.
Cons: There are a few navigational issues early on (I'm looking at you, hole 7) and the lack of markers for the next tee can be frustrating at times. A few tee signs do not always clearly depict a basket's location (ex: hole 17).

The course clearly favors people with big arms and the distances are such that people who can't throw much past 350 ft are left out a bit as they're always just out of deuce range on a lot of holes on the back nine.

There is a single hole early on with a completely unnecessary mandatory. I suppose that there are concerns with the parking lot nearby but really, this place has an unbelievable amount of land available - it shouldn't be that difficult to work in a different hole sans mandatory.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy is one of the top-notch courses in this area. With Idlewild and Lincoln Ridge being nearby, the three definitely form an awesome trifecta worthy of any serious golfer's attentions.

This course is stunning to look at and only suffers from minor issues that could be easily cleaned up with some small alterations. Excellent, excellent play.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Airy

5+    4/17/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Ace1
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 22.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: One of the original World's courses. It is a very challenging course. Good for beginners but expect a higher number of throws. The course is rolling with numerous trees to challenge even the seasoned pro.

The course now has a pro shop where hole 1 is located. One can pick up discs, supplies, drinks and snacks.
Cons: Hole 5 is an almost impossible par 4 due the maturing trees along and in the fairway. A couple holes can get a little slippery with a little rain. A couple holes get close to picnic tables.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a very fun course. Mt.Airy in Cincy, Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild in Kentucky (just across the river) can make for a great and exhausting day of disc golf.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Must hit this one

1    4/24/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Hitmetal
Played: 165  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long, beautiful forest, chains were just recently regalvonized. Proshop on site (need more courses with a proshop) Mix of open and tight fairways. Use of elevation was fun, making no look throws over hills and around ridges. The proshop,
"The Nati" has a huge selection of discs and equipment and a throwing net to practice putting or throw technique, and some pretty cool dudes running it to talk disc golf with.
Cons: Some sigange was missing and a little navigation complaint with the walk from 6 to 7.
Other Thoughts: Loved it. Great time, and tests all skills in throwing a disc.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Above average, but needs TLC

1    8/1/2009   4/23/2010
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Loved the length. Aesthetically the park was pleasing and the grass was nicely kept.

The pro shop was very nice and carried a wide assortment of plastic. I picked up some Lat64 stuff that I've only seen online otherwise.
Cons: This is no longer a new course and it's showing it's age in places. Basket/teepad/sign improvements would probably raise my score to 4.0.

I'm not a huge fan of blind shots and this course has several. Maybe it's a matter of personal preference, but we spent quite a while looking for discs.

The layout doesn't flow well, and considering the renumbering of the holes, maps should definately be provided at the first tee.
Other Thoughts: With a little TLC I'd give this course a 4. That's a very solid course. If I lived in Cincy, I'd likely play this course quite a bit. Unfortunately, I don't live in Cincy, and whenever I make it up that way, Idlewild and Banklick rank higher on my priority list than Mt Airy does.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 An average course that could be better

1    4/17/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: numbernine
Played: 46  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - There are a ton of different shots on this course. Long and open, short and technical and everything in between.
- There is a pro shop on site. Though it was not open when I was there, this is always a bonus. They also had practice nets and pads set up near the clubhouse.
- Beautiful park! The course sits in the middle of a national forest and the course has amazing views.
- Concrete pads on every hole that seem to be in pretty good shape. 11 has a very unique elevated pad that makes for a cool shot coming out of the woods.
- This is a hard course over all. it is fair, but it is definitely tougher than your average course. you will get your face handed to you if you decide to take a risky shot and end up in the woods or down one of the bigger hills.
- TONS of elevation changes and blinds. this is probably the best part of the course for me.
Cons: - The baskets aren't in very good shape on most holes. The inside chains lay against the pole and the outside chains are very close to the pole. There were one or two exceptions to this rule, but overall they were not in good shape.
- The layout is just not great. There were quite a few times that I spent an inordinate amount of time searching for the next tee pad after I left the basket. In fact, the walk between 6 basket and 7 tee is so long that it feels like you're leaving the course. I missed 16 all together because I couldn't find it. the layout was so bad in fact, that none of the locals I talked to even knew were some of the holes were. I got a lot of "yeah, this used to be #1, but they've moved everything and didn't mark it."
- Very poor signage on most holes. I think on more than half of the holes either there was no sign on the tee pad, or just a sign that said what number you were on. this led to me walking out and trying to find the basket before I threw. and there are zero "this way to next tee" signs or arrows or anything to let you know where to go.
Other Thoughts: This is an average course that could really raise it's game with some very simple changes. Add some signs to the tee boxes, throw some directions out there and fix the baskets, and we're probably talking about a legit 4 star course.

you can see my video of this course here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFRdVWJ3U0M

let me know if you dig the videos or whatever. I think it helps the review to see the course.

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.