Cincinnati, OH 
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: ImSchizoidMan Hole #11 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 270ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 465ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Mt. Airy Disc Golf Course

2-4    11/28/2009   8/18/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice, fun course. Mach 3 baskets. Mix of open and wooded holes. Long holes. Cement teepads. Good teesigns. Not that crowded. Challenging holes. Great for a party. Hole 18 basket near Tee 1 so get in a few putts. When pro shop is open, there is a practice basket out. The pro shop is cool. The owner, Fred Salaz, is a nice person and if you need to find a certain kind of disc he can help you find. They have over 3000 discs. Visit http://www.thenatidiscgolf.com / to look at what they have.
Cons: 687ft. dogleg Par 4. Now that's crazy.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Cincy. Head over to Banklick and Idlewild for more rounds. Also Tuesday Ace Fund, Mt. Airy Forest. (6 dollars admission) Go to http://www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com for more info. Hole 17s basket has been relocated behind row of pines.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Challenging

8/2/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: dvice33
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offered a wide variety of challenging holes. There is beautiful scenery and some really long holes.
Cons: A 687ft par 4 with a dog leg right? Wow, the par for the course is pretty tough to get. Also, the course map needs updated because it is easy to get lost on the hole progession.
Other Thoughts: The course wasn't crowded and I hit the best shot of my life (100 ft above and around trees to sink it on the second new hole), so it was a good day. If you get lost on where to go, make sure to ask. After hole number 4 you have to walk straight around an old white building to find the next hole, which is a little disappointing.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

7/5/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging and fun course. Par has recently been dropped to make the course even harder to break par. Holes 11-18 are much more beginner friendly than the first ten which challenge even the best players.
Cons: A couple of signs are missing and the new hole #5 is disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Great course for anyone looking to be challenged but probably not the best place for brand new players. This course is one of my personal favorites and I enjoy playing it much more than Idlewind in Kentucky as it seems to be slightly more forgiving while still extremely challenging.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Best in the Cincy area!

7/23/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: discthrower
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very aesthetically pleasing, one of the most beautiful courses I've seen. Very challenging, will challenge even the pros. Conveniently located 5-10 minutes away from downtown Cincy. You will have a great time.
Cons: There's just a few of these:
Some tee signs missing, two holes were moved due to erosion (one of them my favorite previously).
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite in the Cincinnati Metro area. It combines thickly wooded holes with beautifully sculpted hills and wide open fields. Holes #2 and #4 have some of the best and most aesthetically pleasing hills I've seen incorporated into a disc golf course.

Hole #10 is a beast and will greatly challenge even the most masterful of disc throwers. But then again, so will most other holes on this course. And although you may be getting your brains beat out scorekeeping-wise (which WILL happen), the course is just too fun not to NOT be having a great time

This course combines many of the different aspects that make for a terrific dg course, and they are blended together excellently to create a course with an amazing overall flow.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great local course.

6/18/2007   6/18/2008
Review By: Rhinoflight
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent city course. I'm sure that the local DGers have had to fight to keep all of the course intact. Highly skilled shots needed on this course, to include the skipper! I can't remember any other course where this tactic has to be used (hole #6). This course is also beginner friendly in that there are plenty of discs to be found by the patient student.
Cons: Rough can be VERY rough. With out a spotter, you could end up losing several discs on this course. Usually there are plenty of people around, so JOIN A GROUP!
Other Thoughts: Love the location. Once again, Cinci has great topography for DG courses. Just clear, mow and trim and BAM! there's your course.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

5/23/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.3 Years
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice hole variety and plenty of elevation changes make for some really fun holes. The park itself is also well maintained and as jsalyers1 said, you definitely feel like you're not in Cincinnati, it feels far more remote.

Also, the tee signs, when available, were helpful.
Cons: The concrete teepads have seen better days and there didn't seem to be a standard pad length so some were quite short where others were a good size.

A few tee signs were vandalized when we played the course (spray painted over).

Overall these are just nitpicks as the course was still a lot of fun.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy was the first course I played in the Cincinnati area and it didn't disappoint. Between the elevation changes (Hole #2 sticks out in my mind) and going in and out of the woods, you were always kept on your toes as far as what the next hole would bring.

I was unable to find baskets #7 and #8 but after reading another review below it seems they may have been moved or replaced. We ended up playing from the #7/#8 tees and just aiming for trees that were around where we thought the baskets used to be.

This was a solid, stand-out course in a city with more disc golf options than most of us from other areas have the opportunity to choose from.

So what's the verdict? Should you play this course? Survey says.. Most definitely!

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Airy - A Queen among the hills...

5+    5/5/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: jsalyers1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2010
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mt Airy is a teriffic course for intermediate and advanced players. Pros will not be terrible challenged on this course - though a couple of holes will give you a good beating. Great balance of technical (i.e. woods/ significant obsticals) and distance holes (400 ft +). The park is weel maintained, and fast to get to off og I-75, or I-74.
Cons: Can be a bit intimadating for new players. Go to Winton Woods if you are new - you really will love it!
Other Thoughts: This used to be my home course. I have played courses in 11 states - and I have to say that Mt. Airy is still an excellent course. Props to whovere layed this course out!

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Am I in the city?

6/3/2007   3/12/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
10 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: You can't even tell you're still in Cincinnatti. The course is great. There are some awesome holes. Diversity is a major plus at Mt. Airy.
Cons: The new layout was hard to follow last summer. we played it a few years before and it was easy to follow but with the closing of 2 holes and the addition of 2 new ones it made it difficult to follow.
Other Thoughts: The best course in metro-Cincy. No doubt. There are some fabulous courses just across the river as well.

10 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 best in cincy

3/10/2008   3/10/2008
Review By: chuckynobbs
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Professional, takes a lot of creativity easy to get to easy to maneuver.
Cons: erosion changing the course a little bit
Other Thoughts: never know what you will see on this course...makes things interesting! good luck shooting par

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2/27/2008   2/27/2008
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 202  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: long shots, 1000+ foot hole, crazy windy, top 3 course in the cincy area, great mix of woods and open shots, rough just to shoot par
Other Thoughts: at night there might be quite a few deer across the fairway - i also collected my second dog, Hops, at this course during the Flying Pig 2007 - he is healthy now and loves to come and play a round of golf

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.