Cincinnati, OH
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: ImSchizoidMan Hole #15 (Taken 6/2009)
4 / 560ft.   4 / 560ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Love the Nati!

2-4    9/17/2011   9/21/2011
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 138  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can feel the love and respect for the sport here
The course Pro Shop is excellent
The warm up area is the best I've ever seen
They really really take care of this place
Clean and Maintained
Not to tight
Long and Fairly open
Cons: Kinda repetitious
Outside of 2 wooded holes and the last 3 it didn't really use the land as good as they could have
Wouldn't recommend it for a beginner
Spend a lot of time playing next to a road
Other Thoughts: From the minute you pull in here you can tell that this place takes their Disc Golf seriously. The Pro Shop is very nice and the people working there are helpful and friendly. They warm up area is excellent, best I've ever seen. It's the first place I've ever been to that has a net to warm up your drives on. It also has 2 practice baskets.

You will be hard pressed to find a scrap of garbage, an un-mowed fairway, or overgrown brush. They keep this place gorgeous.

The course itself is large, outside of hole 8 you will will not have many ace opportunitys. If your just learning I may suggest somewhere else. Most holes are long with generous lines, they have trees in the fairway or they follow a tree line but they are not wooded holes.

It's just my personal preference but I will usually fall in love with a course if it incorporates the landscape and the natural surrounds creatively into the course (for example,Lincoln Ridge) and outside 2 holes that break off into the woods and especially the last 3 holes, which I thought were great. I didn't feel that this place really capitalized on the land. (but to be fair, I'm not really all that familiar with the area so the may have done the best they could do with what they had)

But other than that it was a great course. I played this course a long time ago when I was just learning and had not been back for years. I like it a lot better now that I've had some time to sharpen my skills and have played enough courses to really appreciate the difference between an average course and a great one. I wouldn't recommend this one for beginners but if your an experienced player and you live nearby it should be a staple. If your a road tripper and your in Cincinnati you'd be crazy to pass this one up. It's one of the best in an area that is just overflowing with great courses!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

clean park and nice DG challenge

2-4    8/5/2011   8/24/2011
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "The Nati" pro shop on site...what a wonderful selection of discs. It was air-conditioned in 2011 unlike my previous stops there.

The practice area btw the pro shop and tee #1, they have a net to practice your drives plus a basket for putting.

The DG directional sign to other world class courses, you got to see it!

Very clean urban park, Cincy takes care of their parks unlike most big cities.

The course provides a great DG challenge starting with a par 4 on #1. Great elevation changes throughout the course.

Cement tees (although some are cracked and slightly uneven in spots since they are not new). The new tee signs indicate which basket position is currently being used, A, B or C.

Newer large benches on most holes.

Course plays around large mature trees, the fairways are quite fair. Nothing too tight.

Scenic and well maintained park with cut grass.
Cons: The long walk btw a few holes, 3 to 4 and even longer walk backtracking to 7 from 6 while passing most of 5.

More anhyzer than hyzer shots for this RHBH player.

Half the holes are btw 300-400, this Adv Master simply can't birdie most of these even with a great drive. I'd rather have slightly longer par 4's.

Other Thoughts: Print a map ahead of time, this will save you considerable time your first time through.

Alternate basket positions are being planned to provide more variety and help with erosion control.

One of the "big 3" in the Cincy area along with Idlewild and Lincoln Ridge (both in nearby KY).

Probably a 4.25 star course but I'm a very tough reviewer of courses and can't choose 4.25.




11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/14/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: chainsmoker513
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2011
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The course has a nice practice basket, a great pro shop, and generally the players are great. The course is challenging and great chances to make some tricky shots. The scenery is great, some wooded holes and the design is well thought out. I played twice today and found out that on hole 17 (possibly others) they switched the location of the basket. all of the baskets are in great shape.
Cons: The Tee signs don't exist on some holes so by my guess i play them as par 3's since they have many long par 3's.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy is about 5 mins away from my house and i just recently started playing there again. I really like the design of the course, It is a good Challenge. I'm not the best player but this course is amazing to test your skills. If you need somewhere challenging, well designed and all around a great course Mt. Airy is a great place to play!

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Country Club To The Max

1    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a very high fun factor and is such a good experience. The fact that there is a pro shop and practice area is a really nice touch. I have never seen the practice driving range before. The design of the course is potentially one of my favorite designs out there. This is a park course that makes use of the land and natural features of a park course with really only one filler hole. The whole area is well maintained. There is a nice little play ground in the middle of the course which may contribute to some foot traffic but the design of the course really minimizes this. There were buckets at every tee sign and the tee signs were really nice. The tee pads were nice consistent concrete. There was a really good mix of holes and very few holes that felt like any other hole on the course. There are several holes that are marked as more than a par 3 but rightfully deserve the par that they have.
Cons: Some of the baskets are a bit tough to find at first but that is more due to the length and hiddenness of the baskets. There is a long walk from hole 6 to 7, but I guess it had to happen at some point. Hole 16 is a bit tricky to find only because you finish hole 15 and immediately want to go to hole 17 which is nice and easy to see. The parking lot near the pro shop may be a little bit small for a busy day though there was not a lot of traffic on a monday morning.
Other Thoughts: This course was just a lot of fun and a very fair course. It was hard but not insane, it was good even for a beginner. The course defiantely makes use of length but not to a fault. I really enjoyed holes 1, 15, 16 and 18. This is a must play course, maybe even more so than some of the other highly rated courses in the tri state area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

5+    5/19/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging every time. Spoke to the guy at the pro shop on site and they are going to install new sleeves for each hole to move the pins weekly. This will add a new and twist to this already great course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/12/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: dbcaldwell
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing at Mt. Airy this morning. Being from Northern Kentucky, I can compare this course to Lincoln Ridge. It is similar in terms of technicality. It definitely pushes you to make harder throws, and challenges every part of your game. Overall, better than Lincoln Ridge, but Idlewilde still trumps the Tri State courses. This course was great and i am excited to play it again.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of Ohio's Best

1    3/12/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 102  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.1 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
On-Site Pro Shop
Practice Basket
Netted Driving Area
Course Begins and Ends at Pro Shop
Concrete Tees (Some could use work.)
Good Use of Elevation
Great Variety
Very Scenic
Cons:
Tee Signs Need Work or are Missing Altogether
Some Tees Are Broken and Uneven
Plays Around A Lot of Traffic/Other Park Go-ers
Limited Parking Close to Beginning of Course
Too Open (My Opinion)
Other Thoughts:
Mt. Airy is a great 18-hole course located in a huge and scenic city park. When you enter the park, from Colerain Ave, veer right and continue for .40 miles to Pineridge and turn left. Follow Pineridge until you see the Nati Pro Shop.

From the parking lot you can see the pro shop, practice baskets, and driving area, the only practice driving area I have seen. The driving area is a practice area with long concrete tee pads facing a large net to catch your drives.

From the parking lot you can also see the first tee. It is opposite the pro shop, down the hill. Be sure to grab a beverage or two from the pro shop if you don't have anything, a round here can take anywhere from 2-4 hours, depending on the number of people in your group and on the course that day.

For the most part navigation is pretty straight forward except for the previously mentioned walk between holes 6 and 7. Just head back toward the basket for 5 and cross Pineridge Road to get to the tee for hole 7.

The course, for the most part, is pretty open but has some mature trees that come into play on nearly every hole. The variety of shots, hyzer, anhyzer, and straight is nice, but all but two holes are over 300ft. with the majority being in the 325-400 range. While these aren't huge holes, "smaller" arms or less experienced players might find it difficult to shoot well here.

All-in-All Mt. Airy is a great course. Scenic, challenging, and well thought out, it is easily, in my opinion, one of the best courses in Ohio. The only real knock I have on the course is the amount of pedestrian and vehicle traffic that comes into play. Other than that, this course has it all. The pro shop is one of the best I have seen at a course, and the practice area is top-notch. I definitely recommend this course to anyone thinking of making a trip to Cincy.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 81  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Well designed course, well maintained, solid tee pads, awesome pro shop on the course, beutiful mature forest, good use of elevation
Cons: Over the years, it's lost two wooded holes that added swing to the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Cincinnati, play this couse!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and Rip it

1    10/26/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 5.8 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very nice urban park that features lots of grassy fairways and tons of elevation changes. For the most part this course plays through the open parts of the park along the edges of the woods with only a couple of exceptions. This course is pretty open and really favors players with power so get out your big guns and loosen up your arm ahead of time. There are quite a few holes that while long have OB and dense woods along the fairway so your long drives need to be at least loosely controlled. Most of the holes feature some mature hardwood trees that require some shot shaping but leave many different line choices available. There is a pretty good mix of hole design at Mt. Airy. It has left turning, right turning, straight, uphill (lots) and downhill holes. There are also a few really good pin positions on the course that feature drop-offs or are protected by trees. The baskets and tees appeared to be in decent condition and the tee signs were nice. Also at the Disc golf parking lot there is an extremely nice Pro Shop called The Nati. The building itself is super cool and they offer a great selection of discs and gear. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were told that in nicer weather there is a driving net near hole 1's tee that can be used to warm up. The course was very clean and free of debris despite there having been a pretty bad storm earlier in the day. Some notable parts of the course I really liked were the tee shot on number 2 (even though it goes over a road) that had trees right in front of the tee but has gaps for both backhand and forehand, hole number 11's very fast green tucked in the woods, and every thing about hole number 15. A 560ft down hill right turning hole that slopes away on the right of the hole and behind the pin.
Cons: Mt. Airy is just too open for my tastes. I prefer courses that reward accuracy and distance evenly and have a mix of open and wooded holes. Quite a few holes play near the roads or the parking lot, with hole number 2 actually going over the road. Hole 18 can put the pro shop itself into play if your drive hyzers out early. Some of the tees were still in ok shape but were cracked or needed to be leveled . It would also be nice to see some alternate tees put in. As it stands now beginners would have a hard time on this long course. With all of the great land around this course it could easily become a premier course. I did hear from the guys in The Nati that there were a few woods holes in the past that were moved and that there are some temporary holes that are setup occasionally for tournaments that are pretty good. This course as it is felt very much like just a longer park style course and not quite the championship caliber course that I had heard it to be. One final con that I am not sure should be attributed to the course itself is the amount of men "cruising" the parking lot near hole number three. It was super creepy and we were told by locals that this was fairly common and even worse elsewhere in the park.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy was a fun play and a solid course with an awesome pro shop. I like playing bomber courses occasionally and I got to air out some new plastic without fear of losing it. I liked the course but if I make the trip out to the Cinncy area again I will probably head to Banklick and Idlewild first.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: hanesjm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Long challenging course. Great variety of scoring holes and hole where pro par is literally for pro's. Hole 5 is a 700+ dog leg right that is a challenging 4 let alone a 3. 17 in long pin placement is also a challenging par, great course to play if your looking to challenge yourself. Shooting 54 (pro par) is a pro level score. very clean course well maintained. mixed baskets being replaced with new baskets and new huge pads are in the works to be in by the end of this season, also new sleeves for alternate pin placements on nearly every hole. A great course only getting better! Nati Disc Shop at first tee, if you have not been stop in and see the guys. they are all great help and the shop has one of the best disc varieties you can find. Hosts weekly ace fund and weekly ace fun random doubles. Annually CC and Flying Pig.
Cons: Could easily be a major quality course with simple additions and changes, Allot of the small cons are in the works to be fixed but seems to be taking a while for work to actually begin. New pin placements, baskets and pads could easily skyrocket this course to the top ten best.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.