Cincinnati, OH
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: ImSchizoidMan Hole #12 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 335ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A favorite

2-4    8/18/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Love the scenery at this course. There are alot of open, but tricky holes. Try to play when it not all that windy, cuz if you disc goes sailing... it may sail into the bush. Its a lengthy course, set aside about 2-3 hours to play this course.
Cons: Dont perfer to throw around the traffic and approaching cars. The back holes are gone, those were FUN!!

Other Thoughts: FUN FUN FUN!!!!
Lots of water fountains throughout to grab water.

Check out the NATI

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Mt. Airy Forest DGC

5+    8/16/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: woottebs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Located within large, wooded, well maintained park
-Features "The Nati" pro shop; a top of the line, fully stocked disc golf store complete with refreshments and knowledgeable staff
-Concrete pads on all 18 holes with recently regalvanized baskets.
-Many holes have options for the golfer off the tee. Different shots and routes are available with various risk/reward.
-Excellent variety and diversity of shots off the tee, with varying distances, shapes, and woods.
-Challenging track with good distance on many holes. Many true par 4's (and one par 5) which require BOTH distance AND accuracy off the tee.
-Thoughtful layout of linked holes has good flow
-Excellent use of elevation change, slopes, and drop-offs on and around the putting greens forces golfers to make decisions on approach, and punishes errant putts.
Cons: -In my opinion, hole 3 just does not fit in with the overall theme of the course, and overall is just not a great hole.
-Parking isn't the greatest I've seen, gets overcrowded at times.
-A couple of the tee pads are slightly slanted up or down, or have small drop-offs at the front of the pad. A couple others have large cracks and are uneven.
-No really good informative tee signs throughout the course.
-A variety of different types of baskets makes some holes harder to putt on than others.
Other Thoughts: Mt Airy is easily the best course in Cincinnati, as well as the most challenging. The course is currently under heavy renovation which will address most if not all of the cons listed above.
Heavy trees and OB line many of the fairways which makes controlled drives very important off the tee. However, with an average hole length of appx. 415ft, the course demands long drives WITH tight accuracy. This, combined with the punishing OB and woods hands out strokes to golfers who are errant off the tee. Then, you have to contend with the tough approaches and putts.
However, with all that said, there are plenty of deuce opportunities on the course, and a really low score is out there, if you're on your game. Roughly half of the holes (give or take a few depending on how big of an arm you have) are deucable, with a good drive. Overall, 54 is about the scratch score average.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course, Tough challenge

5+    8/1/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 218  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.1 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mt. Airy gives even seasoned players a run for their money. Adjacent to the clubhouse is a large net for warming up and a practice basket. I recommend utilizing these because you'll need your game to be on starting with hole one. The clubhouse has a friendly staff and a wide selection of discs to choose from. Now on to the course. Fairways have moderate to heavy woods that can leave you scratching your head after a bad shot. Basket placements are fair and seemingly all are on some sort of slope or at least right near one. There's not a lot of thick underbrush in the rough but enough on certain holes that errant shots/kicks will leave you searching. Course has some considerable length and all these shots favor accuracy over distance. Be sure to make your birdies count on this course and in most cases 3's are good scores. Tee pads were generally in good condition with those on slopes having an extra few feet of ground level with the tee on the ends for follow through steps. Course has several stair cases and gravel walking trails throughout that aid in navigation and safety. More of these amenities are continually being installed/updated.
Cons: As mentioned by others, several tee signs are missing and others are dirty from people writing on them over the years. Also, some (but not many) of the teepads are cracked and may affect footing. Worth mentioning because I've seen it happen multiple times, near number 14's basket (formerly number 1) are several picnic tables that get used regularly by families. Though hitting these tables is highly unlikely, children like to play near the basket and are generally unaware of disc golfers and the risk of getting hit. So be careful of that.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy can be a fun course to bring people of all skill levels to, just don't make them keep score. When playing near dusk or just after dawn there's usually a good chance you'll come across deer throughout the course. With that, be sure to watch where you step due to their droppings. Overall Airy has several very scenic shots and a lot of character. It provides a different challenge that you won't come across at neither Banklick/Lincoln Ridge or Idlewild. It ranks among my top ten favorite courses I've played. Thanks to the GCFDA for all their work they do for this course.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Not for the meak

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: mrcoach00
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I've never played a course that had it's own clubhouse; had to be a thousand discs in the store. Fun, yet challenging course that is fairly well maintained. A couple of the Par 3's seemed fairly long to me, especially those that trekked uphill.
Cons: Locating hole #7 after finishing #6 took some time; thankfully the gent playing behind me was kind enough to point me in the right direction (back toward clubhouse).
A few of the maps at the tees were missing, which would leave a first time player a little curious.
Other Thoughts: Went in the AM on a July weekday and although it was only 75 to 80 degrees it got hot quick. There isn't a tremendous amount of shade on this course. Almost all of the holes have atleast one wooded boundary, but that didn't translate into much shade on the course. Bring the sun screen and a beverage.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 What a Jewel

1    9/15/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What a jewel you people in Cincinnati have here. I could play this course every day and not get tired of it. The pro shop is one of the best and in an amazing historical building. The people there are awesome. The course is maintained in almost impeccable condition. I know I was at least half-way to heaven. The big, beautiful mature trees, elevation, fantastic scenery, good hole variety, all this adds up to a great course.
Cons: A few holes are a bit too open, but listing any cons here seems like whining to me.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 best 3rd best course around

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.9 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pro shop on site, concrete pads, fairly well marked. Good use of elevation on many holes with opportunities to really let it rip, with good risk reward.

Good mix of shots needed. A few pin placements are nasty, requiring good approach shots.
Cons: Signs need to be updated.

Lots of traffic to be played around.

The course has been "cleaned" of underbrush, which does make it easier to find discs, but also made the course a little too easy now.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course better with the old layout, too bad they changed it. New #1 is a nice hole though, glad they moved it back into the woods.

This used to be one of my favorite courses, then I played the Dynamic Duo of Idlewild and Banklick. Now I would rank this third in the area and farther down my list of favorites. But, do not let that keep you from playing Mt Airy. It is a very fine disc golf course in a pretty place. Well laid out with a good mix of holes, a nice hilly walk and you can buy discs on-site!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course close to city

1    4/12/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: dwsutton
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 28.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Accessibility
- Variety of holes/difficulties
- Layout and directions
- DG Clubhouse! (though closed when we were there)
Cons: - Road comes in to play often as OB
Other Thoughts: Huge park near Cincinnati; feels like you are miles from any city. Course is very nicely laid out and obviously gets a lot of play. Well taken care of. Park employees cutting grass paused to let us throw (like on a regular golf course). Would enjoy playing here again.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good But Not Great

1    6/29/2010   7/2/2010
Review By: Ben17
Played: 60  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2013
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -The sign on the tee is very nice and it shows you exactly where the whole is and where to go to get to the next tee
-Every whole challenges you in a different way
-There is a store right by the first tee and it has alot to offer
-They mix it up between par 3's and par 4's
-Every whole is different some are open fields while others make you be accurate and actually aim for something
-There is no water so you couldn't lose your disc in there
-The baskets are very nice and also very official
-It is located in a very nice park
Cons: -It is in the woods so on some holes it will be easy to lose your disc
-Some of the par 3's should be par 4's and some par 4's should be par 5's
-There are no par 5's
-It is very hard to do good here and end below par
-On some of the holes the sign isn't even there so you dont know what par is, where the pin is located, and how far away the pin is from the tee
Other Thoughts: I came here on quite a windy day so i would like to come back when it isn't so windy. That may have been some of the problen. But overall i thought that this was a nice course that could use some work. I know they are redoing many things so the course will be on top one day.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    5/31/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent use of elevation changes in most holes. Seemed like there were a lot more upshots than downshots, which definitely increased the challenge. Normally boring wide open holes become a challenge because of this.
- A good use of individual trees on some of the open holes, making them feel like you are in a forest.
- Forest holes not too bad either, pretty lightly wooded compared to some other courses.
- A good mix of left, right, and straight shots. It seemed like this course rewarded a straight shooter above all else.
- Some of these holes were beasts. #5 is an uphill, 700', dogleg right hole that will punish you for straying off the fairway. Thick rough and lots of trees make this a juggernaut of a hole.
- Good tees, baskets, and signage. Also pretty easy to navigate the first time through.
- Maybe not part of the course, but the pro shop, and practice net, was a great feature. Really added to the whole experience.
- I liked the forest hole with no discernible fairway off the tee, just a small walking path through some tall grass. Pretty unique, in my experience.
- Delicious water. Took some back to Illinois!
Cons: - Course plays very, very close to road. Lots of traffic going in and around area, mostly not related to disc golf in any way.
- Constant upshot after upshot was a little repetitive, and tiring, especially near the end of the course.
Other Thoughts: - There were other people using this park, but they weren't in the way. Not this time, at least.
- I really liked #13, which included a right-curving shot over a small valley (more of a dip), which lead into a downshot with the basket surrounded by downslopes. Very rewarding hole, if you play it right.
- Not as scenic as some of the other nearby courses, but still very scenic. The road kind of kills the atmosphere throughout the hole round.
- Still a great, great course in my book.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Compares to Idlewild

1    5/15/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 103  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2010
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Situated in a beautiful national forest with amazing scenery, Mt. Airy Park was a treat to play. In my opinion, the course has what Idlewild does not: the fun factor. I didn't feel exhausted at the end of the round and I truly enjoyed playing the course. The par 4's were true par 4's, and hole 1 was one of the coolest opening holes I have ever played. The course had a good mix of open and tight holes, and also had a good mix of some short and long holes.
Cons: The only thing keeping Mt. Airy from a 5 rating (besides the small navigational issue after hole 6, which could be fixed with a simple sign) was the fact that the course heavily favors an anhyzer throw for a right-hander or a hyzer throw for a left-hander. Off the top of my head, the longest 6 holes on the course favored that type of throw. In my opinion, that is a design flaw because the course didn't offer the opportunity for that type of throw on the long holes. The best throw on those holes was an S curve or a long anhyzer, and the long hyzer throw wasn't really needed.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Mt. Airy is right up there with Idlewild because of the fun factor. It ranks ahead of Lincoln Ridge in my opinion because of the beautiful scenery. This course was really a treat and seems to really be setup for multiple courses in the park. The pro shop was also awesome!

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.