Disc Golf Store
Cincinnati, OH 
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: ImSchizoidMan Hole #8 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 200ft.   3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 92
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 One of Ohio's Best

1    3/12/2011   4/24/2011
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.8 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
On-Site Pro Shop
Practice Basket
Netted Driving Area
Course Begins and Ends at Pro Shop
Concrete Tees (Some could use work.)
Good Use of Elevation
Great Variety
Very Scenic
Cons:
Tee Signs Need Work or are Missing Altogether
Some Tees Are Broken and Uneven
Plays Around A Lot of Traffic/Other Park Go-ers
Limited Parking Close to Beginning of Course
Too Open (My Opinion)
Other Thoughts:
Mt. Airy is a great 18-hole course located in a huge and scenic city park. When you enter the park, from Colerain Ave, veer right and continue for .40 miles to Pineridge and turn left. Follow Pineridge until you see the Nati Pro Shop.

From the parking lot you can see the pro shop, practice baskets, and driving area, the only practice driving area I have seen. The driving area is a practice area with long concrete tee pads facing a large net to catch your drives.

From the parking lot you can also see the first tee. It is opposite the pro shop, down the hill. Be sure to grab a beverage or two from the pro shop if you don't have anything, a round here can take anywhere from 2-4 hours, depending on the number of people in your group and on the course that day.

For the most part navigation is pretty straight forward except for the previously mentioned walk between holes 6 and 7. Just head back toward the basket for 5 and cross Pineridge Road to get to the tee for hole 7.

The course, for the most part, is pretty open but has some mature trees that come into play on nearly every hole. The variety of shots, hyzer, anhyzer, and straight is nice, but all but two holes are over 300ft. with the majority being in the 325-400 range. While these aren't huge holes, "smaller" arms or less experienced players might find it difficult to shoot well here.

All-in-All Mt. Airy is a great course. Scenic, challenging, and well thought out, it is easily, in my opinion, one of the best courses in Ohio. The only real knock I have on the course is the amount of pedestrian and vehicle traffic that comes into play. Other than that, this course has it all. The pro shop is one of the best I have seen at a course, and the practice area is top-notch. I definitely recommend this course to anyone thinking of making a trip to Cincy.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 96  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Well designed course, well maintained, solid tee pads, awesome pro shop on the course, beutiful mature forest, good use of elevation
Cons: Over the years, it's lost two wooded holes that added swing to the course.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Cincinnati, play this couse!

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Grip it and Rip it

1    10/26/2010   11/2/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.4 Years
18 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very nice urban park that features lots of grassy fairways and tons of elevation changes. For the most part this course plays through the open parts of the park along the edges of the woods with only a couple of exceptions. This course is pretty open and really favors players with power so get out your big guns and loosen up your arm ahead of time. There are quite a few holes that while long have OB and dense woods along the fairway so your long drives need to be at least loosely controlled. Most of the holes feature some mature hardwood trees that require some shot shaping but leave many different line choices available. There is a pretty good mix of hole design at Mt. Airy. It has left turning, right turning, straight, uphill (lots) and downhill holes. There are also a few really good pin positions on the course that feature drop-offs or are protected by trees. The baskets and tees appeared to be in decent condition and the tee signs were nice. Also at the Disc golf parking lot there is an extremely nice Pro Shop called The Nati. The building itself is super cool and they offer a great selection of discs and gear. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were told that in nicer weather there is a driving net near hole 1's tee that can be used to warm up. The course was very clean and free of debris despite there having been a pretty bad storm earlier in the day. Some notable parts of the course I really liked were the tee shot on number 2 (even though it goes over a road) that had trees right in front of the tee but has gaps for both backhand and forehand, hole number 11's very fast green tucked in the woods, and every thing about hole number 15. A 560ft down hill right turning hole that slopes away on the right of the hole and behind the pin.
Cons: Mt. Airy is just too open for my tastes. I prefer courses that reward accuracy and distance evenly and have a mix of open and wooded holes. Quite a few holes play near the roads or the parking lot, with hole number 2 actually going over the road. Hole 18 can put the pro shop itself into play if your drive hyzers out early. Some of the tees were still in ok shape but were cracked or needed to be leveled . It would also be nice to see some alternate tees put in. As it stands now beginners would have a hard time on this long course. With all of the great land around this course it could easily become a premier course. I did hear from the guys in The Nati that there were a few woods holes in the past that were moved and that there are some temporary holes that are setup occasionally for tournaments that are pretty good. This course as it is felt very much like just a longer park style course and not quite the championship caliber course that I had heard it to be. One final con that I am not sure should be attributed to the course itself is the amount of men "cruising" the parking lot near hole number three. It was super creepy and we were told by locals that this was fairly common and even worse elsewhere in the park.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy was a fun play and a solid course with an awesome pro shop. I like playing bomber courses occasionally and I got to air out some new plastic without fear of losing it. I liked the course but if I make the trip out to the Cinncy area again I will probably head to Banklick and Idlewild first.

18 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2010   9/28/2010
Review By: hanesjm
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Long challenging course. Great variety of scoring holes and hole where pro par is literally for pro's. Hole 5 is a 700+ dog leg right that is a challenging 4 let alone a 3. 17 in long pin placement is also a challenging par, great course to play if your looking to challenge yourself. Shooting 54 (pro par) is a pro level score. very clean course well maintained. mixed baskets being replaced with new baskets and new huge pads are in the works to be in by the end of this season, also new sleeves for alternate pin placements on nearly every hole. A great course only getting better! Nati Disc Shop at first tee, if you have not been stop in and see the guys. they are all great help and the shop has one of the best disc varieties you can find. Hosts weekly ace fund and weekly ace fun random doubles. Annually CC and Flying Pig.
Cons: Could easily be a major quality course with simple additions and changes, Allot of the small cons are in the works to be fixed but seems to be taking a while for work to actually begin. New pin placements, baskets and pads could easily skyrocket this course to the top ten best.

4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite

2-4    8/18/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: sickem2
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Love the scenery at this course. There are alot of open, but tricky holes. Try to play when it not all that windy, cuz if you disc goes sailing... it may sail into the bush. Its a lengthy course, set aside about 2-3 hours to play this course.
Cons: Dont perfer to throw around the traffic and approaching cars. The back holes are gone, those were FUN!!

Other Thoughts: FUN FUN FUN!!!!
Lots of water fountains throughout to grab water.

Check out the NATI

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Mt. Airy Forest DGC

5+    8/16/2010   8/19/2010
Review By: woottebs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Located within large, wooded, well maintained park
-Features "The Nati" pro shop; a top of the line, fully stocked disc golf store complete with refreshments and knowledgeable staff
-Concrete pads on all 18 holes with recently regalvanized baskets.
-Many holes have options for the golfer off the tee. Different shots and routes are available with various risk/reward.
-Excellent variety and diversity of shots off the tee, with varying distances, shapes, and woods.
-Challenging track with good distance on many holes. Many true par 4's (and one par 5) which require BOTH distance AND accuracy off the tee.
-Thoughtful layout of linked holes has good flow
-Excellent use of elevation change, slopes, and drop-offs on and around the putting greens forces golfers to make decisions on approach, and punishes errant putts.
Cons: -In my opinion, hole 3 just does not fit in with the overall theme of the course, and overall is just not a great hole.
-Parking isn't the greatest I've seen, gets overcrowded at times.
-A couple of the tee pads are slightly slanted up or down, or have small drop-offs at the front of the pad. A couple others have large cracks and are uneven.
-No really good informative tee signs throughout the course.
-A variety of different types of baskets makes some holes harder to putt on than others.
Other Thoughts: Mt Airy is easily the best course in Cincinnati, as well as the most challenging. The course is currently under heavy renovation which will address most if not all of the cons listed above.
Heavy trees and OB line many of the fairways which makes controlled drives very important off the tee. However, with an average hole length of appx. 415ft, the course demands long drives WITH tight accuracy. This, combined with the punishing OB and woods hands out strokes to golfers who are errant off the tee. Then, you have to contend with the tough approaches and putts.
However, with all that said, there are plenty of deuce opportunities on the course, and a really low score is out there, if you're on your game. Roughly half of the holes (give or take a few depending on how big of an arm you have) are deucable, with a good drive. Overall, 54 is about the scratch score average.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course, Tough challenge

5+    8/1/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 233  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mt. Airy gives even seasoned players a run for their money. Adjacent to the clubhouse is a large net for warming up and a practice basket. I recommend utilizing these because you'll need your game to be on starting with hole one. The clubhouse has a friendly staff and a wide selection of discs to choose from. Now on to the course. Fairways have moderate to heavy woods that can leave you scratching your head after a bad shot. Basket placements are fair and seemingly all are on some sort of slope or at least right near one. There's not a lot of thick underbrush in the rough but enough on certain holes that errant shots/kicks will leave you searching. Course has some considerable length and all these shots favor accuracy over distance. Be sure to make your birdies count on this course and in most cases 3's are good scores. Tee pads were generally in good condition with those on slopes having an extra few feet of ground level with the tee on the ends for follow through steps. Course has several stair cases and gravel walking trails throughout that aid in navigation and safety. More of these amenities are continually being installed/updated.
Cons: As mentioned by others, several tee signs are missing and others are dirty from people writing on them over the years. Also, some (but not many) of the teepads are cracked and may affect footing. Worth mentioning because I've seen it happen multiple times, near number 14's basket (formerly number 1) are several picnic tables that get used regularly by families. Though hitting these tables is highly unlikely, children like to play near the basket and are generally unaware of disc golfers and the risk of getting hit. So be careful of that.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy can be a fun course to bring people of all skill levels to, just don't make them keep score. When playing near dusk or just after dawn there's usually a good chance you'll come across deer throughout the course. With that, be sure to watch where you step due to their droppings. Overall Airy has several very scenic shots and a lot of character. It provides a different challenge that you won't come across at neither Banklick/Lincoln Ridge or Idlewild. It ranks among my top ten favorite courses I've played. Thanks to the GCFDA for all their work they do for this course.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  Not for the meak

1    7/20/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: mrcoach00
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I've never played a course that had it's own clubhouse; had to be a thousand discs in the store. Fun, yet challenging course that is fairly well maintained. A couple of the Par 3's seemed fairly long to me, especially those that trekked uphill.
Cons: Locating hole #7 after finishing #6 took some time; thankfully the gent playing behind me was kind enough to point me in the right direction (back toward clubhouse).
A few of the maps at the tees were missing, which would leave a first time player a little curious.
Other Thoughts: Went in the AM on a July weekday and although it was only 75 to 80 degrees it got hot quick. There isn't a tremendous amount of shade on this course. Almost all of the holes have atleast one wooded boundary, but that didn't translate into much shade on the course. Bring the sun screen and a beverage.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 What a Jewel

1    9/15/2009   7/12/2010
Review By: puttinhutton
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.6 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: What a jewel you people in Cincinnati have here. I could play this course every day and not get tired of it. The pro shop is one of the best and in an amazing historical building. The people there are awesome. The course is maintained in almost impeccable condition. I know I was at least half-way to heaven. The big, beautiful mature trees, elevation, fantastic scenery, good hole variety, all this adds up to a great course.
Cons: A few holes are a bit too open, but listing any cons here seems like whining to me.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 best 3rd best course around

1    7/4/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: Journeyman
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pro shop on site, concrete pads, fairly well marked. Good use of elevation on many holes with opportunities to really let it rip, with good risk reward.

Good mix of shots needed. A few pin placements are nasty, requiring good approach shots.
Cons: Signs need to be updated.

Lots of traffic to be played around.

The course has been "cleaned" of underbrush, which does make it easier to find discs, but also made the course a little too easy now.
Other Thoughts: I liked the course better with the old layout, too bad they changed it. New #1 is a nice hole though, glad they moved it back into the woods.

This used to be one of my favorite courses, then I played the Dynamic Duo of Idlewild and Banklick. Now I would rank this third in the area and farther down my list of favorites. But, do not let that keep you from playing Mt Airy. It is a very fine disc golf course in a pretty place. Well laid out with a good mix of holes, a nice hilly walk and you can buy discs on-site!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.