Cincinnati, OH
Mt. Airy Forest Share
Uploaded By: ImSchizoidMan Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 320ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket



Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Ya Mon

1    4/12/2009   5/1/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow. What a great course. There is everything you could want from a course here, including shot type, scenery, difficulty, cool locals and overall enjoyment. The second hole stands out still and I played it several weeks ago. Long, sweeping downhill shot with really nasty woods on right (i know this firsthand...). This is followed up with a narrow uphill/downhill shot to a blind basket. Matter of fact, there are several blind shots on here, but lucky for me I hooked up with 3 brothers that were out and they carted me around (thanks, guys!) and showed me the way. I had enough fun that I shot really badly over par (+10 or something? that part I don't remember clearly...) and still have fond memories of this course.
Cons: The cons for me were that there were a lot of folks walking around and having picnics, etc. One pavilion (hole 12 or so?) was almost right in the fairway. Most of the course, however, is away from the uncool non-DGers. So, not too many cons.
Other Thoughts: I am lucky enough to travel around in 7 states and play a lot of courses now and this started the best two days I've ever had in my DG career: Here, Idlewild and Banklick

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of the Best

2-4    6/5/2007   2/13/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice course, good variety, and challenging but not impossible. At times it reminds me of a ball golf course in appearance (take hole #2 and #18 for instance). Popular but not too crowded.
Cons: A couple of the holes changed due to some erosion issues. I liked the old holes, but oh well. There are newer holes to replace, they are ok, and just need some time to mature. Navigation is a little tricky a couple of times, just ask somebody though.
Other Thoughts: Mt. Airy is the first upper level course I ever played, and I loved every minute of it. It is hard to believe you are in Cincy- grassy, rolling hills, woods, deer everywhere!

If you are in this area Mt. Airy is a must play. Best Cincy area course north of the Ohio River.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great

1    7/13/2007   2/10/2009
Review By: eck_03
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great sweeping vistas,
Challenging hole locations,
Long Driving Distances,
Mixed Difficulty levels,
Lots of wildlife,
Cons: One or two holes are close to a driveway and to avoid them you have to tempt a massive black hole of honeysuckle and tall grass.
Some people don't understand that the area is for disc golf and get angry if you try to play through.
This course is not for beginners, there is too much distance between holes that will tire out the inexperienced.
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course with a lot of great features, but make sure you are on top of your game before you try to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 3rd Best Course in Cincy Area

5+    1/20/2009   1/27/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mt. Airy Forest is an excellent disc golf course. Its even mix of long/short and wooded/open holes require players to master all aspects of the game. Also, several holes (#2, #13, and #15 in particular) feature significant elevation changes.

My favorite hole is #2. This is a long, challenging hole which winds down a large hill and bends slightly to the right. Dense woods crowd either side of the broad fairway, and push you to execute a clean drive, and approach. Reaching the chains in three shots is difficult, but attainable. Also, the view from the tee/fairway is picturesque.

Finally, wildlife on the course is abundant. You will frequently see deer and other animals roaming.
Cons: My only gripes with Mt. Airy are minor. Several holes have been moved in the past 2-3 years due to erosion. This may confuse unfamiliar players who have gotten out-of-date maps. cincinnatidiscgolf.com should be updated in the Spring of 2009 with accurate pictures and maps, so check out that site if you plan to play in the near future.

The deer I mentioned in the "Pro's" section leave "droppings" everywhere...watch your step.
Other Thoughts: I titled this review "3rd Best Course in Cincy Area" because I consider Idlewild and Banklick superior to Mt. Airy. However, please don't construe that to mean this is not a good course. Those other two are very tough to live up to. Mt. Airy is my home course. The frequency of which I play it contributes to a sense of familiarity, and drains some of the novelty, but not its quality.

A pro shop is being installed next to holes #5 & #6 in the Spring of 2009, so you should be able to buy discs and refreshments on the course soon!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip

2-4    1/10/2009   1/14/2009
Review By: dobbins66
Played: 78  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 9 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Top notch course that blends Distance and Obstacles very well. Natural obstacles are used well but OB with paved roads add an additional challenge on many holes. Very Challenging. Some particular high points:
Hole #2 - Lovely tee shot that can get you in trouble if it goes right . Your approach better not hit on it's edge or a long painful roll could be coming.
Hole #4 - A Beauty that combines multiple elevation changes and large well postion pines to protect a pine on an incline. 4 is acceptable - A three and you are happy.
Hole #10 - Long(700') horseshoe shaped hole that is well protected by rough and OB. Play too good placement shots and take your 4 (if lucky). Big arms could get in trouble looking for a 3.
Hole #15 - Tee off by the Shelter and pin on a point behind a clump of trees. Skipping long into the rough can be trouble.
Hole #18 is another left-to-right horseshoe with the tee protected by trees.

Course is setup pretty evenly between forehand/backhand friendly routes. The fairways are fair but errant shots will be punished. Lots of inclines at or near pins to make you be careful with putts.
Very well balanced course - Fun to play!
Cons: They've had to move/modify a couple of holes because of problems with errosion. The new holes don't yet have concrete pads. The rearrangement causes confusion in the numbering of 5 thru 8. Can be sloppy at times - Like most wooded courses.
Other Thoughts: Pros way outweigh the Cons. Lots of elevation changes make for a good workout. Definitely worth the visit!

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course for Cincy area golfers

2-4    6/6/2006   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Mt Airy is an excellent course, with shots that will challenge players of all skill levels. Each hole is unique, with only a few standard/simple par 3's. Most of the time you will be dealing with throwing in woods, over steep hills, or extreme doglegs.

This is a challenging course, and accuracy will be rewarded. One some of the harder holes, your drive will be a placement shot just to get in position for a possible 3.
Cons: This course gets some major traffic, and its not uncommon for a round to take nearly 3 hours on a busy day.
Other Thoughts: If not for Idlewild/Banklick, this course would easily be the best option within the greater Cincy area.

This course is heavily populated with deer - don't hit them with your discs!

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best...

5+    5/22/2008   8/22/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 30.9 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mt Airy is a fantastic course. It will challange even the best of disc golfers. For me.... par is always hard to attain here. This course has some of the most beautiful holes I have ever played. Number 2 from the tee and number 4 from the upshot instantly come to mind.

The course has good tee pads, tee signs and baskets. The land has great topography for a disc golf course. Not only is it a good course but it's also an invigorating hike as well. This course is easy to navigate for the most part. You will have a chance to use every shot in your bag. Big arms will have a bit of an advantage here but they will be kept honest in most cases because the shots are not all open.

There are restrooms here as well.
Cons: Unfortunately a couple of my favorite holes (7 and 8) were recently removed because of erosion. The replacements are renstalled after hole number 4 (behind the white building). They do not have concrete tee pads and tee signs yet and the other holes still needed to be renumbered. Also... one of the replacement holes is a little bit of a disapointment. It's a must deuce turnover shot (for the righty). But the hole after it makes up for it's relative ease by being very very hard.
Other Thoughts: If you're in Cincinnati this is a must play course.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Mt. Airy Disc Golf Course

2-4    11/28/2009   8/18/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice, fun course. Mach 3 baskets. Mix of open and wooded holes. Long holes. Cement teepads. Good teesigns. Not that crowded. Challenging holes. Great for a party. Hole 18 basket near Tee 1 so get in a few putts. When pro shop is open, there is a practice basket out. The pro shop is cool. The owner, Fred Salaz, is a nice person and if you need to find a certain kind of disc he can help you find. They have over 3000 discs. Visit http://www.thenatidiscgolf.com / to look at what they have.
Cons: 687ft. dogleg Par 4. Now that's crazy.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses in Cincy. Head over to Banklick and Idlewild for more rounds. Also Tuesday Ace Fund, Mt. Airy Forest. (6 dollars admission) Go to http://www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com for more info. Hole 17s basket has been relocated behind row of pines.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and Challenging

8/2/2008   8/4/2008
Review By: dvice33
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course offered a wide variety of challenging holes. There is beautiful scenery and some really long holes.
Cons: A 687ft par 4 with a dog leg right? Wow, the par for the course is pretty tough to get. Also, the course map needs updated because it is easy to get lost on the hole progession.
Other Thoughts: The course wasn't crowded and I hit the best shot of my life (100 ft above and around trees to sink it on the second new hole), so it was a good day. If you get lost on where to go, make sure to ask. After hole number 4 you have to walk straight around an old white building to find the next hole, which is a little disappointing.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

7/5/2008   8/3/2008
Review By: volleyballnick
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.1 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging and fun course. Par has recently been dropped to make the course even harder to break par. Holes 11-18 are much more beginner friendly than the first ten which challenge even the best players.
Cons: A couple of signs are missing and the new hole #5 is disappointing.
Other Thoughts: Great course for anyone looking to be challenged but probably not the best place for brand new players. This course is one of my personal favorites and I enjoy playing it much more than Idlewind in Kentucky as it seems to be slightly more forgiving while still extremely challenging.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.