Huntersville, NC 
Bradford Park Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #13 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 275ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Short Tee



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
One of the Best

5+    8/5/2014   8/24/2014
Review By: St. Benedisc
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A MUST PLAY course if you are in the Charlotte area. After playing all the courses around here multiple times, this course is in my top 3. I like the mix of wooded and open holes, the elevation changes and variety of left to right/ right to left/ straight holes. A creek and a couple of ponds add a definite challenge as well as the famous Cedar Alley (better send out a spotter if you don't want to run the risk losing a disc in a cedar). This course even has a cool boulder hole! A restroom and drink machine just happens to be conveniently located in the transition from hole 11 to 12.
Cons: Hole 17's "fairway" is really just the path to a landing spot and the hill to the left is tall weeds in the summer and requires a spotter to be sent ahead.
Other Thoughts: The last 50-75' or so of those weeds on hole 17 should be cut and mulched over in order to speed play and make the hole more fair for those just beginning the game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Big Trip

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: codyroberts18
Played: 74  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start out by saying Schleppy is an awesome guy. He was out picking up garbage while we were out there and you could tell he cares about the course a lot. He helped us navigate the front 11 or so holes and told us about the rest of the course.

Now about the course: This course had a good variety of holes and gave opportunities to score well while also the challenge of staying in bounds and avoiding roll aways, etc. I was very impressed with the signage, the flow of the course, and the overall layout of the holes. Each hole was very unique and that makes it hard for me to pick my favorite hole. The signage was top notch, and we never had a time where we were wondering where the basket was or looking around for a tee pad. The paths in between holes were very well defined and there were signs going to every hole.
Cons: Upon entering the park, there is a sign that points towards the disc golf course, but maybe it could be placed in a better place or made a little bigger. We didn't notice it at first and took a wrong turn. This wasn't a big deal but for some out of towners, like I am, it proved an issue. I would also say that 2 and 18 are kind of lackluster compared to the other holes. This is something that may not can be done, but the addition of some small trees or bushes in the open areas would at least add a little challenge after the initial tee shot. Outside of those small cons, there is not much negative to say.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a very fun course. It had its challenges while also allowing us to score well. This was one of the many courses we played, and are still playing, on our big road trip to Charlotte and it did not disappoint. As I said earlier, thanks to Schleppy for the help getting around and for your dedication to keeping the course nice and tidy. That goes for other locals as well. Thanks for a great experience Bradford!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Check out the Big Brain on Brad!

1    4/20/2014   4/25/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 Discatcher baskets with dual concrete tees on most holes. The variety and design of holes is outstanding as the available terrain and elevation are used nicely. The course plays a bit a of everything from open bombs to short technical shots that go into, out, and through the woods and around a pond and creek. Mostly par 3 with a couple par 4s. Navigation and signage is great. Bathrooms and vending machine after hole 11.
Cons: It's really hard to think of much, the course plays a little close to the parking lot on 2 holes. I could see it being crowded because it's such a playable course.
Other Thoughts: Bradford is an excellent course for anyone. The course just flows and transitions it's variety seamlessly from hole to hole. The only knock I can come up with which is no fault of anyone, is that there is not much elevation to provide some truly epic holes. That said I enjoyed pretty much every hole, the par 4 hole 12 was probably my favorite like many others, I like how the drive makes or breaks the approach shot to the basket next to the pond. I could play this course everyday it's like a mighty tasty Big Kahuna burger!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    12/18/2013   1/7/2014
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 107  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a nice amount of variety. About 2/3 is wooded, with some being very tight lines to hit (#9) but with most leaving a little room for error. There are a few pretty open holes as well. I liked the use of the cedar trees on holes 8 and 11, a little reminiscent of Maple Hill.

One of the better holes is #12, which begins with a drive from an elevated tee across a small valley to an open area before sweeping to the right. The second shot is tough, as you either lay up on the near side of a pond or go for the pin with danger in front and behind (a hill leading down to the woods). I'm still thinking about how I should have played this hole.

Elevation is moderate and comes into play on about half the holes. All holes have two tee pads, both concrete.

Navigation was easy, and I never consulted the map. The tee signs did a decent job of showing the contours of the fairway, but many of the holes are short enough that you can see the basket (from the short tees, anyway).
Cons: The alternate tee pads are almost always located right behind the short pads, so you don't get to throw more interesting shots, just longer ones (with a few exceptions). There are a couple that are way longer, though. About half of the extra 1000 feet from the long tees comes from just two holes: 8 and 18.

The distances on the tee signs can not be right. They seemed too high, but more to the point, there are times when the two tee pads are clearly within 30 feet of each other (front to front), and the tee signs show a distance of something like 60 feet.
Other Thoughts: The course is mostly pretty friendly to rec players who can throw fairly straight, but holes 12 and 15 feature a murky pond that is just waiting to eat a RHBH hyzer. I like the pond and the use of it, but just know that newer players could easily lose discs here.

Also, while I like the cedar holes, your only option is to throw right over them, and if you can't throw 350 feet, you are left with some awkward shots out. So these holes are a bit less rec friendly as well, for what it's worth. But I don't mind having to throw a thumber now and then.

This felt more secluded than many of the Charlotte courses I played, and I like the country feeling of it, including the nice wooden bridges with railings. If you are looking for a course that is not the championship-caliber beat down that some of the big courses in the area offer, this is one of the better options.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Fall Foliage

1    11/9/2013   11/13/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2013
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely Beautiful

Dual Concrete Tees
Great DisCatcher baskets
Great Tee signs (layout, length, number)
Navigation is easy with the "next tee" signs
Good Benches at every hole
Trash bags at each hole
Plenty of parking
Bathrooms/vending halfway (perfect timing)

Great use of the land
Variety of elevation change (up, down, flat)
Loved having to choose a flightpath. (Options)
Good layout balance (right, straight, left)
Distance variety was perfect (long, mid, short)
Some open, some into/through/out of the woods

Great course to work on your overall game.
Good for Intermediate to Pro players.
Makes you work on line-shaping, not just see who can bomb the farthest.
You'll use your whole bag to play well here.
Challenging in a fun way, not brutal

Well kept (thanks Schleppy)
Clear of trash
Trees and brush trimmed and shaped not just butchered to open a freeway to the basket
Baskets and Tees/teesigns in great shape
Stairs when you need them
Bridge when needed

Favorite Hole(s): 12, 16, 17
Cons: Very few cons

The parking lots at 1/18 and 12, if full, MIGHT create a safety/property hazard. (If your as bad a shot as me)
Would like to see Trashcans instead of bags (no big deal, I understand why)
Just a little nit-picky, but, playing through/over the field of small cedars (twice) is not preferable but you only have so much land/terrain to work with

--None of my cons are a big deal just barely enough to keep it from 5 discs.

Not really a con, but, in the fall play with brightly colored discs and save you and your cardmates the hassle of kicking through a lot of leaves looking for your disc.

Least Favorite Hole(s): 2, 8
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite kind of course. Challenging enough to test anyone, but fun and not a beatdown. I played horribly here but still had a blast. Some of this is probably because of the company I played with.

All in all I would consider this course a Must Play if you're in the Charlotte area. If traveling through or coming to Charlotte to play, put Bradford in your plans and you won't regret it.

I only played three courses in the area while here for work. Bradford is my favorite of them. Flag down Schleppy for a round or just to say thanks for all the work making Bradford a rewarding experience.

My disc rating is based heavily on "Fun Factor" which this course has tons of. I then bump it up or down a 1/2 disc or so for amenities or lack thereof.

PM me and let me know how I can make my reviews "more helpful."

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Best in Charlotte Area

5+    10/30/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: Bergman Bomber
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bradford Disc Golf Course is everything you ask for in a disc golf course. Hard enough to challenge the best players but easy enough to take a rookie too. What makes this the best course in the Charlotte area is the "Signature" Holes. From Cedar Ally to the Rock Hole and the Snake Pit. All classic's in my mind. And great variety, open parkey holes to tight wooded shots. There is a small pond to maneuver around on a long Par 4 but is in a perfect position to the pin to either go for it or play it conseritaly. Bathroom and vending machines right around half way make a great stopping point before you go down the home stretch. A well maintained course with benches and garbage cans at every hole make it my favorite disc golf course.
Cons: Its hard to think of Cons for this course. Since I lost one here, it can be pretty difficult if you really let one get away from you to find, but for the most part not to bad. Highway 73 can be parking lot if you catch the traffic right, but what's not in this area. But as you can see not too much to complain about.
Other Thoughts: Giving a course a rating of 5 I think is almost impossible in my book but Bradford comes as close as you can. The park in it self is gorgeous and the uniqueness this disc golf course gives you make it the best around. If you are making a trip to Charlotte and consider yourself a disc golfer you must check out Bradford.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/2/2013   11/5/2013
Review By: JrodMan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.5 Years
4 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I Love this course! It has a little bit of everything here. Hole 2 is just a bomb hole good for the players that have big arms. Hole 7 is a pretty narrow fairway througt the pine trees. Every hole is fun in its own way! The course is in great shape, most of the tee boexes have benches with garbage bags. Very easy to navigate with the tee boxes clearly marked.
Cons: Not very many Cons, maybe trash cans instead of just bags.
Other Thoughts: Overall really enjoy playing this course its very well maintained and just a great place to play!

4 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Smooth Package

5+    8/28/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: curmudgeonDwindle
Played: 18  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2013
12 Helpful / 8 Not
Other Thoughts: Course is situated in a large regional level park, of about 120 acres, entering its second major phase of development. Park's scale provides ample opportunities for future course developments, especially as other park phases complete. Course is, in the main, sequestered from other park activities and covers moderately hilly piedmont landscape and drainage catchment earthworks. Course starts on the park's eastern side and is a hybrid style between one that circles the park (clockwise in this case) and one that has switchbacks and parallel holes.

Bradford has above average signage, equipment and amenities. Lack of trash cans could be a negative, however, when reviewed, course was spotless and hanging plastic bags were available for refuse near many tees. Bradford DGC is exceptionally playable, well maintained and will be enjoyable for most skill levels, although it might be a bit too hilly for very small children. Course does not feature returning 9's, although a abbreviated loop is available when time is limited. Way finding is carefree; no transitions are out of proportion or confusing. OB areas (and the mandatory) are limited and a bit vaguely marked, but all abide common sense. A few minor drainage issues were noted.

The designers have shown considerable maturity and discipline with this track, and Bradford would fit very well into the 'canonical' standards promoted by the disc golf course design group. Considering the special nature of this regional park (a group effort by several municipalities) and it's place more or less in the heart of one of Charlotte's largest satellite 'growth' communities, this course has a special chance for more of the type of credible public exposure many feel this sport deserves. That being the case, it is vitally important that the course not alienate neophytes with an over ambitious design. Bradford certainly fits this bill.

From the white tees, average hole length is a bit over 315' and from the blues almost 380' (note: 60%+ of the blue tee distance differential comes on only 5 hole extensions). Long throwers receive several extra scoring chances on this track, but as is typical for Charlotte area courses, power is not the sole requirement for scoring well. Flat straight shots up to 300', with moderate fade control are richly rewarded from either set-up. Fairways, as a rule, are of ample width, frequently with a 'gate', none super-constrictive. Penalties are in direct proportion to the throwing error. Despite heavy penal rough in some areas, scrambling and recovery chances are ample. Bradford is a forgiving course, despite its youth.

More than any other course of this length this reviewer has played in Charlotte, Bradford possesses three essential qualities of 'returning fun', which are elevation changes, balance and variety. Its length is also most appropriate for the widest variety of golfer. Shot shapes from the tee just barely favor the straight shot shape. The golfer must deal with significant play affecting elevation changes on most holes. Course is about half 'inside' and half 'outside'; wind can frequently be a factor (several 'pocketed' tees, which shield the golfer from an accurate wind read- and just when he needs it - accentuate the wind's affect on play). Straightforward open greens predominate and are forgiving of even middling mistakes. Greens' spin receptivity is evenly balanced and varied with regard to slope as well.

Despite a relative lack of truly memorable individual holes, Bradford has several very good ones - the long dogleg right #12 immediately comes to mind as does the iconic #6. Routing is perhaps the single most difficult design skill to express well, and yet Bradford's exhibits a variety and syncopated rhythm unmatched by any area course. The shifts from inside to outside combined with the cross-up-down hill changes are seamlessly blended. The opening (1-4) and closing (15-18) sequences are particularly strong. In a tight match, leads may be very hard to hold here. At the turn, two consecutive birdie holes give the golfer a chance to gain some momentum going into the back nine. Bradford's routing is an impressive refined result and it's defining feature.

Bradford Park DGC is a very smoothly wrapped package on many levels. Travelers would do well to start with this gem in North Mecklenburg County, before proceeding to the tougher or more traditional Charlotte favorites.


12 of 20 people found this review helpful.

You HAVE to come!

2-4    8/1/2013   8/1/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This place rocks!! It's beautiful. It's the most beautiful course I have played! It's very family friendly and the course is truly a great experience and I'm coming back for sure!
-Great 28 chain baskets that catch well. There is also a practice basket on your way to #1.
-VARIETY!!! The cedar alley, some good elevation, rocks, an open bomb almost 500' feet, fun wooded holes, a gauntlet, several valley shots, and the most memorable par 4. I've played Ashe County and if you have played it, I know you remember #9 and #18, two extreme downhill breathtaking par 4's. Well the par 4 here, you will see something sick! EVERY hole has something unique and will leave you excited about the next one! Kilborne park has some fun holes but some were unexciting.
-The par 4. #12 rocks! It's an awesome 565' foot dogleg right. On your teeshot, you must rip your driver over 300' to get a straight second shot over the retention pond and you need a precise 250' anhyzer to get a 3. I parred it both rounds and felt like I could have birdied.
-Sweet sixteen. My "sweet" sixteen was three weeks ago when we traveled back from a mission trip in St. Louis. #16 at Bradford is a sweet downhill ace run with the basket out of the woods. It has two pin positions and it's in the long. I think there should be an "empty your bag" rule on that hole.
-#2 is the best open bomb I've played. It's the most scenic hole on the course as well. 460' foot par 3 sounds difficult but it's a straightforward hole. It's another "empty your bag" hole. Just rip it as far as you can, unless you can throw over 460 ft.
-Trash bags on some of the tees. There is a trash can on #8's tee.
-Great tee signs and diagrams! A tee diagram on #12 was needed so it wouldn't be hard to follow and maybe a few others needed tee diagrams of the fairway.
-This is close to downtown North Charlotte and had many places to go to. Many restaurants, department stores and a super target. The park is in a great neighborhood as well. Several courses in Charlotte are in bad neighborhoods. Like West Charlotte.
-#18 finishes by the parking lot and is close to #1. #18 from the short and long are different holes but share the same basket and fairway. The short is a straight shot and the long's tee in the woods and plays out through a different opening and plays as a dogleg left!
-Doubles on Friday nights out here! That means I can come out here on Fridays when I can!
-I played two rounds here! I played the first one solo and the second with Schleppy and his friends Jonathan, Steve and Joe! Schleppy's kind enough to guide you here and it's always fun to play with Schleppy. We played the shorts and Schleppy shot a 51!! I shot a 58 while Jonathan shot 55 and Steve shot 59 and Joe is a really good recreational player! So yea! The second round was much funner!
-Soda machines and bathrooms on the transition from #11 to #12. I ran 7 miles the day I played and then played here and needed fluids.
Cons: -It was hard to find any. #18 from the short's tee shot is over very tall grass so you will need to throw something that doesn't go with green.
-#12's second shot is fun and all but you won't be happy if you lose a disc in the retention pond. Or should I say the "Chocolate milk pond?" First round, I threw my starfire in there and wanted a better shot SO IT TURNS OUT MY BEAST IS IN THERE TOO! OUCH!
-"Cedar alley" it's very fun and interesting but #11 has a high lost disc possibility if it goes to the right, you should be okay but left, it might be gone.
-Most importantly. Schleppy found a 10 dollar bill in the middle of #11's fairway. I should have found it because I played a round there before the five of us played. That grinds my gears. Here's a helpful tip "Look for money as hard as you look for discs." I think Schleppy agrees with that statement.
Other Thoughts: -Bradford is a very, very, very fun course! It's such a shame shame shame that I didn't play here 18 months ago because I was desperate to play it for that long. You will find 18 great holes here with at least a third of them really standing out! This is definitely the best course designed by Stan McDaniel and so many other people including Schleppy and BraveThrower43 being a big help maintaining it and being a part of designing it. Easily something that you should play whenever you can, I could've at least twenty times and blew it by playing something else or settling which is never fun. Don't settle when it comes to disc golf in general. Don't ski, go to a hockey game or sit on the couch if you love the game.
-I said "This hole is awesome" on quite a few holes with 2, 12 and 16 standing out and there were couple I didn't love as much but every hole here has something fun to it and I really hope to go to doubles here soon!! I never got that birdie on #12 and thought I would and I know that I will someday!
-There are so many signature holes and the ultimate was #12! I call this a signature course as it is one of the most asthetically pleasing and it's in my top 3. Taking the second slot which knocks RL Smith to the third! The main point of this review is to tell all you readers to play this course! Really you can just read BennettUA's review because he nailed it. I just had to get my thoughts out here!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Best maintained course in Charlotte

5+    7/20/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: BennettUA
Played: 91  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.5 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **DO NOT JUDGE THIS COURSE BY THE PICS! These are older pics -- many before teepads were installed, and before the course had matured and worn in to the sharp condition it is in now**

Bradford is a near ideal disc golf course in my opinion.

WHOAH. That's a BIG statement. Especially in the disc mecca that IS Charlotte. Allow me to explain.

The park itself is new and clean. Park is very safe, Huntersville is a nice area. Big restrooms with good soap and Vortex air hand dryers. Vending machines stock Coke products and Powerade. Also nice to have restroom in the middle of the course rather than at the beginning or end(hole 11 plays right up to one). Ample parking so long as there's not a base/softball tournament.

As for the course itself ---
My ideal course design can be summed up in three simple words: "challenging, but fair." Bradford is exactly that. The course is not easy by any stretch, but birdies are possible on every hole with a good shot, which is how I feel a course should be scored.

As for "fair" -- This course does not have any "luck" trees, meaning if you pure a drive down the center of the fairway, you're not going to hit a tree that's smack in the middle of the perfect line. The same can NOT be said about many courses in the area.

One of my favorite design features that largely goes unnoticed at Bradford is that it has more BALANCE than an Olympic gymnast. Evenly matched for straight, left-, and right-turning holes, uphill vs downhill, and blended very well --- the longest holes are separated by shorter ones, no back-to-back hard turns in either direction off the tee, etc.

Knowing Charlotte has very little elevation, the use of the land by Stan and Schlep MUST be appreciated.
For such a young course, Bradford feels well worn-in. This is largely due to the relentless, near daily upkeep by Schleppy. For instance, hole 8 -- a beautiful shot through the cedars -- but just two short years ago anything that didn't land on the green required a search party through briars surrounding the cedars. Hard to imagine if you see it now. Even harder to believe it's in such incredible shape after just two years of installation.

Benches -- nice, new, cedar, and on every. single. hole.

Innova Discatcher baskets.

Signage is excellent, distances are accurate.
Navigation is great as well -- there is some signage, but even without it, you should be able to find the next tee with ease.

I also love to feel alone in the woods when I'm playing disc golf, and Bradford delivers on that as well. Very little noise here, save for the soccer/baseball fields when in use, but these never come into play with the disc golf course. Feels very much like a private course. We've seen a few small lizards and snakes, some deer, even heard some coyotes howling in the distance one night in the spring during a glow event.

BEAUTIFUL. Some very memorable tee shots and pin placements here. Growing cedars line the fairways through the middle of the course, with a fantastic set of gap shops on holes 8 through 11.

Hole 12 is easily one of the best holes in Charlotte. (Again, I appreciate full well the weight of such a statement.) From either the short or long tee, your drive is a placement shot of 325-350'. To the left is OB road; to the right is punishingly dense woods that assures an extra stroke. The second shot turns right and plays between 200-260' to a pin perched atop a small crest of a sloping hill -- to the left, an OB retention pond -- to the right, more dense woods. The hill makes for tough putts from most anywhere -- if you're near the pond, you're putting slightly uphill, and a missed putt will send you down the hill toward the woods. If you're near the woods, you're putting uphill about 10', and a missed putt could put you in the pond. Birdies are common with both a good drive and an accurate upshot, but only with both.

Concrete teepads = good pooridge(not too big, not too small). Always a big plus to have two teepads at any course. Some of them here make for longer shots, but many do make for a much different golf experience, especially #8.

Course was used for 2012 Worlds, and is part of tourneys such as The Carolina Clash, Powerade State Games, and more. The Bradford Open will see its second year this fall.
Cons: Not a knock on the course itself, but when there's a base/softball tourney, parking near #1 can be tight, and sometimes a soccer mom will park too close to #18's basket.
Also, if there is a soccer tourney, some cars may come into play on the drive for hole #12, but it takes a big event to get them overflowing off the parking lot, which is OB anyway.
Other Thoughts: One of if not THE best maintained course in Charlotte. Schleppy is working his disc golf baby nearly every day, even carries a pair of hand shears in his bag to trim briars and branches off as need be.

To sum it up, my highest-rated courses are:
-- challenging but fair,
-- clean,
-- private by feel of play, and
have that little something extra, so you REMEMBER the course instead of just logging on to DGCR and checking it off your list.

I've played well over 50 rounds here, and I play it more than any course in Charlotte despite being 40 minutes away.

There's a reason for that.

In fact, there are 18 of them.

Schedule a round and see what the Bradford fuzz is all about. You'll likely find Schleppy out there, mowing/weed eating/pulling/picking/playing/loving his little slice of disc golf heaven.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.