Huntersville, NC 
Bradford Park Share
Uploaded By: Schleppy Hole #4 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee: Uphill dogleg left



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great new course

5+    3/2/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: jhargett71
Played: 56  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Large Tee pads
Beautiful layout
Well groomed fairways
Large greens
Short and Long pads.. "big difference"

Cons: Needs better signage..
Other Thoughts: A true gem to add to a already amazing collection of courses in the Charlotte area. This one is a little different though. It seems like your in another state. Each time you walk to the next tee pad you are blown away. Each hole is different from the next. To me that make a great course. In time it will be the nicest in Charlotte..

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Radford (yes that was intentionally spelled Radford)

1    2/15/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 737  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice large concrete tees are always appreciated.

2) There is a practice basket near the parking lot and the 1st tee.

3) Tee-signs have Hole #, par, distance and hole sponsors. Unfortunately there was no map, but most of the holes are self explanatory (see also cons).

4) This course seems to be the furthest along in terms of infrastructure. They have really nice bridges and it looks to me like they did them right!

5) #'d discatchers are in good shape and helpful for some of the more wooded holes. Even on the more open holes I can appreciate just how good these baskets look.

6) Bathrooms, soda machine, and a water fountain (bubbler for you Wisconsinites) on the 12th hole.

7) Dual tees on some holes which makes the holes play a whole lot harder if you play the longs. Most of the longs are simply additional distance . . . but #18 is truly a different hole from the long tee.

8) Lots of Cedar trees in a few places along the course and many of you may know that these are some of my favorite trees for disc golf courses.

9) There is a very nice variety here, ranging from a couple of more open shots, plenty of moderately wooded holes and a couple more densely wooded holes. Having holes play differently through the course really makes the whole experience just that much more enjoyable. I think this is probably the #1 factor in my desire to come back here. It isn't over the top and extreme like so many of the other courses in Charlotte, but it is solid and fun to play.

10) #12 is simply a great hole . . . it plays almost like a double dogleg as you want to lay your drive straight out or slightly left to give yourself a shot towards the baskets which is about at a 100 degree turn to the right and is protected by a pond on the left and a steep dropoff to the right which will leave you at 30' or more if you go to that side of the basket. It is simply the first time I have ever seen this kind of combination on a hole and I really appreciate the design that went into this hole.

11) There is a pretty good mix of birdieable holes and those that will challenge you to make par (or end up with a bogey). I like balance that makes you shoot right around par as opposed to so many courses where you are pushing double digits under par. Sure there is a value in the game for courses that allow you to make a ton of birdies . . . but this type of setup makes the course feel a whole lot more like it is part of a championship or something. Par is something that should be strived for, not something that you can laugh at when you destroy a course (under par).

12) Moderate elevation changes on this course . . . nothing too extreme again but the slopes and elevation change definitely affect your shot selection.

13) Another unique hole idea appears on #10 . . .the rock hole. Basically they slapped a 5-6' diameter boulder right in front of a basket. It is a short hole so the challenge is minimal but you better make sure you are on the right side of the boulder or you will have tough putt because the boulder is s tall as the basket basically. I was short of the basket but was fortunate enough to have a look up and over the basket. It all came down to the flight of the disc and I nailed the putt for birdie. Don't mess around with this boulder, throw it right, throw it left, or throw it past the basket . . . but please don't do what I did and leave it short (thankful I made the putt anyways but I know I left my drive on the only bad side of the boulder.
Cons: 1) No maps on the signs which would be helpful on a couple holes where the baskets are not visible from the tee.

2) No garbage cans that I can remember on the course. I didn't feel like the course was messy because of it but I generally would like to see at least a few around the course in easy to reach areas for the parks department.

3) I really didn't like the evergreen tree nursery hole. It was almost completely luck whether or not you had an upshot or not. Sure I almost got to the end of the trees, but I lucked out to have a simple turnover upshot to the basket. I just don't think that this hole seems fair because you may or may not know where the little pockets of openings are.

4) There seems to be plenty of spots that will suffer from compaction and use. Hopefully alternative baskets and education will keep people from dooming this course to the old standard compaction and erosion.
Other Thoughts: All in all another solid course. I am giving the course 3.5 rating which I think is about where it will settle out, once all the amenities are in, the teepads are done, and the peripherals are completed. It doesn't quite live up to the top in the area but it would be a solid course in many places (like Milwaukee . . . bring it on over). It's biggest asset . . . its variety. It will appeal to the masses like those that want a challenge but not too much. The general public would be all over this course if it was right in the metro area, and they still may be out in the suburbs, but access is everything.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A little bit different than the average Charlotte course..

1    12/26/2011   2/21/2012
Review By: Connor Jones
Played: 75  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.4 Years
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of open and wooded.
Plenty of elevation, both uphill and downhill.
Literally almost brand spankin' new discatchers.
Solid mix of shots required to have a good round here.
I personally find the thick trees along the fairways a pro, as long as you hit your lines, you don't have to worry about it being a con : )
Cons: When I was there( two months ago) I can't remember any big flaws, maybe a lack of trashcans and benches.
Other Thoughts: Per usual my pros and cons sections suck, so I'm just going to tell you what to expect playing the course.

Lots of cool holes on this track, hole sixteen is one of the cooler holes i've seen in a while, definitely my favorite one on the course. A shorter hole, straight downhill with a tight gap, with water coming into play at the bottom, very cool view from the top.

Hole 12 is another one of my favorites, cool par four with water left of the basket, and a steep rollaway green to the right of it, be patient and play it smart.


This course blends everything almost seamlessly, a nice mix of distances and hole shapes, it's always nice to be able to use every disc in your bag, and I definitely did that here.

When I played there wasn't concrete tees, and I haven't looked at the other more recent reviews to see if there are now...alright i just did, there are now teepads which makes this course even more excellent.

I feel like this is one of the more balanced courses surrounding the Mecca. Definitely one to play if you're nearby, and as I got to play with a whole bunch of locals, this course will only improve.

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Mix of everything

2-4    2/19/2012   2/19/2012
Review By: bjfergus21
Played: 90  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you drive by Bradford Park for the first time you see a basket on a rugged looking hill, a big open field, and lots of trees You will also see softball fields and a playground and you think to yourself "is this course worth it?" That's what I thought when I stumbled upon this course in suburban Charlotte. I decided to try it out not realizing it was new. The first few times I thought, this course has potential with cement tees in the works. Those are in on all holes as of last week and it makes this course one of the best I have played. There is a mix of wooded holes, tight fairways, elevation, and open holes. There is even some water that can drown your discs as well. The front nine has a mix of wooded to open shots and wide open shots. I like #2 because it gives you a chance to launch a disc as far as you can. The use of terrain throughout the course is great too; there are downhill shots, throws that go around large rocks, and even unique throws over small bushes on two holes that are like anything I have seen on a disc golf course. The signature hole on the course is #12 which is 500+ feet dog-leg right with a large dead tree as an obstacle and water coming into play on your second shot. I think with the new additions of cement tee-pads this course overall is one of the best in Charlotte. And it is a must play for someone who wants a challenge, or is just playing for fun.
Cons: As much as I praised the course above I do have to say there are some cons to the course as well. It is still rugged and throughout some of the wooded portions there are holes in the ground you could turn your ankle in if you aren't looking. Also, in some spots there is standing water after a hearty rain that will be in the middle of the fairway. I assume in the summer the course won't be as fun to play because of the the amount of insects that will be flying around. Lastly, for more advanced players some of the holes may seem short, but dual tees are in place on many holes on the course.
Other Thoughts: There is plenty of parking for the course, they have a practice basket, and the the course doesn't get too crowded, but enough people come by and play so it's not empty. It is still a little bit rugged but it has come light years from when I first played it months ago.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/25/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 71  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good distances
great mix of short and long holes, wooded and open holes, and use of elevation
Each hole has a sign with distance to basket
Cons: when it rains, things don't dry out well.
Could get a little lost, no maps of course (but the course does flow pretty well)
Good luck finding your disc if you land in the hole-12 pond
Other Thoughts: There are plans to add more long tees (from what I'm told). This is a very enjoyable course to play.
For me, Holes 13 & 14 are difficult to traverse since I'm a stay at home dad and I usually am pushing a stroller.
Even with the fallen trees on these holes, they have cut parts of them out so that people can get through.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun course on the northside

2-4    11/20/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2014
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bradford park is a solid addition to the Charlotte/Mecklenburg County disc golf scene. It's not the most challenging of courses (maybe it will be once all the long layouts are finished), but offers an enjoyable, refreshing, change of pace.
- Course is suitable for casual to intermediate-level players. From the short tees, only two holes are longer than 375 feet, with 14 of the 18 in the 200 - 310 foot range. If you can throw accurately, you're going to see your share of birdies, or at least avoid high scores. There's also the open field on #2, as well as the soccer field near #12 & 12 that give you a place to practice throwing.
- It begs you to be aggressive and shoot a low score. Fairways aren't tight on the wooded holes (think Reedy Creek) nor are the woods overly thick, so even if you hit a tree with your tee shot, you should usually have a chance to save par. Even on #8, if you miss a "landing zone," you still will be able to advance your shots forward. 5 years from now as some of those tree get bigger, this may not be the case.
- It has a good variety of holes - from wide open holes to wooded, holes with water to ones with some decent elevation. There are also some hole layouts that are unique to other Charlotte-area courses. #9,10 & 16, the three shortest holes on the course, all had very cool layouts.
- Solid use of the limited elevation that's available. #10, 16 & 18 have the most "extreme" elevation, but plenty others use it well. For example, #4 is a slight downhill, 305 foot hole with basket nestled by a large rock and a small creek.
- Course is almost completely isolated from the rest of the park, so very little chance of running into others. Only places where there could be issues are: #11 (behind basket), #12 (road on left side of fairway) & 18 (parking lot behind basket). I felt like I was out in the country in the back of the course. So much so, in fact, that when I stepped into the opening from #7 to #8, my first thought was that it'd be a great place to camp. That is if parks & rec let you camp on DG courses.
- Course is very "November" friendly. There are some wooded courses around Charlotte (Kilborne, Nevin, Stumpy Creek amongst others), and probably everywhere, where you can lose discs in the fairway with all the leaves on the ground. When I played this the first time in late November, I was impressed that the wooded holes were easy to play, and locate discs, with all the leaves on the ground. The only think leave area I noticed was behind and to the right of #17's basket.
Cons: You have your typical "work in progress" issues here, so you can understand those. The biggest issue had nothing to do with that.
- Retention ponds/large puddles that comes into play on #2, 3, 12 & 15. I had issues with them on a variety of fronts. They're way too close to baskets, and come into play a lot more than they should. On #2, if you're just a little long, you're going to end in the water; on #12, if you're slightly left of target, you're in the mud puddle. That doesn't even include any disc that may roll down the embankment into the water. The water is brown and murky, so even if your disc is in a couple inches of water, or just a foot or two in, you're not going to see it. If your course is designed to attract beginners/casual players, chances are they're not going to be the most accurate of throwers, or carry many discs. You should never have a high "lost disc factor" on a beginner-friendly course, at least not that close to a basket. A simple barrier, or fence, even to stop discs from rolling in, would go a long way to helping.
- There are a lack of amenities throughout the course - trashcans, benches, water fountains or bathrooms. There a bathroom behind #11, but I don't know if it's always opened.
- Tee signs need to be improved. They're only hole number and distance. I had to walk a couple holes to find the basket before throwing.
- Other basic new courses include: dirt tee pads, better signage needed between holes (and to the first hole) and an updated course map.
Other Thoughts: Bradford remind me a lot of Sugaw, both in difficulty level and layout. Just like Sugaw, and Reedy Creek, it's a good course to bring newbies to. Other than the water holes (listed in the cons), there aren't any real blow-up holes, where you could easily shot double or triple bogey if not careful.
- As the course keeps getting improved, I'd like to see more holes with true risk/reward elements. The average player could play it safe here and shoot 18 pars in a row, without facing much danger.
- I think #4 could be an awesome hole if the basket was placed 40 feet back, on top of the big rock. It'd bring the hole further back into its nook and bring small creek into play (there's no lost disc factor with the creek), which could add risk/reward with stroke penalties.
- #9 was a fun, potential ace hole. It's a 200 foot, straight hole, with big trees running along the entire left side of the fairway. Basket is just left of center enough, that you can't throw it straight off the tee, or you'll hit one of the trees.
- This is definitely a good change of pace course. It's not far from Bailey, so you could hit up two beginner/intermediate-level courses. If you don't mind sitting through the traffic snarl on NC 73, this is worth checking out.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 An Emerging Gem

1    11/13/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: The Ox
Played: 50  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Luckily, I had the honor of playing this course for the first time with the course designer (Stan McDaniel). The park contains old grow trees and has many picturesque holes. All tee pads are marked with easily visible signage which includes length and par info. The property gives way to a mix of wooded and open holes, allowing players to truly test their skills. Elevation changes come into play on a number of holes, but are fair, fun, and rewarding when you make that birdie !
Cons: Although concrete tee-pads are not installed, this is a VERY new course and they will be poured in the near future (but on the plus side: all the dirt tee-pads are level and marked). If you live in Charlotte, especially on the South side, it may be a bit of a drive (but it's worth it, this course is a gem). Water comes into play on a few holes, so bring some cheap plastic, just in case.
Other Thoughts: This course will played in the 2012 World's and is surely a destination for anyone that lives in the Charlotte area. Stan has done a wonderful job of creating a beautiful landscape which will be appreciated by anyone who visits. This course was easily one of my favorites played so far.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Pretty.
More open holes than many NC courses but these come with their own challenges (8 & 11 play over christmas trees, 12 is open but with ponds and thick rough). Woods holes are beautiful and secluded with good variety. Good mix/use of elevation. Several holes have a long option (#2 long starts down a big hill similar to 18 long at Eastway, 18 can play to the practice basket by Hole 1's tee pad). There are more ace/birdie runs at this course than most NC courses. Many of those short holes have punishing roughs to keep it interesting. Nice level tees and benches on each hole. Nice bathrooms/water fountains/soda machine after hole 11. Pretty well marked for such a new course. Easily accessible from I-77 and I-85. Very safe area and the locals are all friendly.
Cons: Lost disc hazards - murky ponds, tall grass, and punishing rough for such short drives.

The short holes can feel repetitive at times.
Other Thoughts: A few thoughts that may affect your rating, but not mine:
Some long walks between holes
Bugs (including ticks) in the summer
Only a few trash cans - again, I know these will be fixed in time.
Beware of roots still sticking up out of the ground and a few hidden holes in the ground.

I think people knock this course because it has some very short holes. There are some long holes (2, 11, 12) and holes with long options. And a bad bounce on an ace hole can turn into a 4. The open/grassy/soccer-park vibe reminds me of the better courses in the middle of the country, but there are plenty of secluded, woodsy NC-style holes too.

If visiting from out-of-town, grab a drink right off the hwy - no stores right near the park.

This can seem like a short-hole, tall-grass course when you live in Charlotte, but it would be the top course in plenty of other towns.

FYI - the bathroom after hole 11. The lights come on when you enter. I think it's motion-detected. If you're in a stall for 3 minutes the lights will go off and they won't turn back on until you exit the stall and walk around the rest of the bathroom.
Best place to take a leak - behind long 18's tee pad and the bench, there's a drop off into the creek.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: 704flyingdiscs
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Just played it for the first time today and loved it... Most of the holes a very straight shots but there are some twists and turns.
Cons: Long, short, open and wooded. variety is key to a good course
Other Thoughts: Small and very nasty ponds scattered , almost no fairway

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Just solid DG

1    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with a decent mix of open and wooded shots. The open holes are a nice change to a lot of the technical wooded courses in North Carolina. There is also a few pretty long holes here that add to the variety and fun.

Not much elevation on this property, but the course does manage to use what there is. Nothing dramatic, but it doesn't take much sometimes to change a shot or disc selection.

Signs at all the tee pads showing hole number in HUGE writing and the distance to the basket also.

There are some painted wooden arrows and orange ribbons to aid in navigation right now.
Cons: A lot of straight shots. By my count there are 12 holes that require you to throw pretty much a straight shot. Not a ton a shot shaping to be had.

Signs are there, but they don't show the hole layout at all. For holes like #2 that is 610' up hill and blind, or #8 which is 710' and blind better sings are almost a must. I also had to walk almost the entire 565' #12 before I could find the basket.

Anything else that could be considered a negative here is mostly due to its age. Once this course is fully finished and broken in it will be better.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty good course. It has a few unique things that will make it worth playing once in a while. The variety in hole lengths and open versus wooded holes makes it nice. Sometimes it's fun to get out of the woods a little and watch the discs fly.

I'll also be interested to see how holes #8, #9 and #11 play as the trees they play through grow up. Right now you can throw over the trees as they are mostly 4-6' tall. But down the road those holes are going to present a heck of a challenge. #8 from the shorts has the chance to be an infamous 360' tunnel shot.

I like using the boulder on #10 to hide the basket. Putting the basket on top of the boulder has been done so many times, it was nice to see something a little different here. They could always use the boulder as an alternate position in the future if that's what people like.

Overall this course is definitely worth a stop. Right now it has the same issues any new course would have, but with age and tree growth this may turn into a very challenging course that will flat out kick you in the teeth. Just another good round in the Disc Golf Capital of the World.

12/12/13 Update: Course has come along way since my original review. Everything is in great condition, and in top shape. Tee pads, signs etc are all well done. This course is truly a fun round. Lots of variety, and a good change of pace if you are used to the
He tight, heavily wooded courses in NC.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.