Huntersville, NC
Bradford Park Share
Uploaded By: Schleppy Hole #5 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 300ft.   3 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 41
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    1/25/2012   1/25/2012
Review By: xcrunner134life
Played: 65  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2012
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good distances
great mix of short and long holes, wooded and open holes, and use of elevation
Each hole has a sign with distance to basket
Cons: when it rains, things don't dry out well.
Could get a little lost, no maps of course (but the course does flow pretty well)
Good luck finding your disc if you land in the hole-12 pond
Other Thoughts: There are plans to add more long tees (from what I'm told). This is a very enjoyable course to play.
For me, Holes 13 & 14 are difficult to traverse since I'm a stay at home dad and I usually am pushing a stroller.
Even with the fallen trees on these holes, they have cut parts of them out so that people can get through.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course on the northside

2-4    11/20/2011   11/24/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2012
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Bradford park is a solid addition to the Charlotte/Mecklenburg County disc golf scene. It's not the most challenging of courses (maybe it will be once all the long layouts are finished), but offers an enjoyable, refreshing, change of pace.
- Course is suitable for casual to intermediate-level players. From the short tees, only two holes are longer than 375 feet, with 14 of the 18 in the 200 - 310 foot range. If you can throw accurately, you're going to see your share of birdies, or at least avoid high scores. There's also the open field on #2, as well as the soccer field near #12 & 12 that give you a place to practice throwing.
- It begs you to be aggressive and shoot a low score. Fairways aren't tight on the wooded holes (think Reedy Creek) nor are the woods overly thick, so even if you hit a tree with your tee shot, you should usually have a chance to save par. Even on #8, if you miss a "landing zone," you still will be able to advance your shots forward. 5 years from now as some of those tree get bigger, this may not be the case.
- It has a good variety of holes - from wide open holes to wooded, holes with water to ones with some decent elevation. There are also some hole layouts that are unique to other Charlotte-area courses. #9,10 & 16, the three shortest holes on the course, all had very cool layouts.
- Solid use of the limited elevation that's available. #10, 16 & 18 have the most "extreme" elevation, but plenty others use it well. For example, #4 is a slight downhill, 305 foot hole with basket nestled by a large rock and a small creek.
- Course is almost completely isolated from the rest of the park, so very little chance of running into others. Only places where there could be issues are: #11 (behind basket), #12 (road on left side of fairway) & 18 (parking lot behind basket). I felt like I was out in the country in the back of the course. So much so, in fact, that when I stepped into the opening from #7 to #8, my first thought was that it'd be a great place to camp. That is if parks & rec let you camp on DG courses.
- Course is very "November" friendly. There are some wooded courses around Charlotte (Kilborne, Nevin, Stumpy Creek amongst others), and probably everywhere, where you can lose discs in the fairway with all the leaves on the ground. When I played this the first time in late November, I was impressed that the wooded holes were easy to play, and locate discs, with all the leaves on the ground. The only think leave area I noticed was behind and to the right of #17's basket.
Cons: You have your typical "work in progress" issues here, so you can understand those. The biggest issue had nothing to do with that.
- Retention ponds/large puddles that comes into play on #2, 3, 12 & 15. I had issues with them on a variety of fronts. They're way too close to baskets, and come into play a lot more than they should. On #2, if you're just a little long, you're going to end in the water; on #12, if you're slightly left of target, you're in the mud puddle. That doesn't even include any disc that may roll down the embankment into the water. The water is brown and murky, so even if your disc is in a couple inches of water, or just a foot or two in, you're not going to see it. If your course is designed to attract beginners/casual players, chances are they're not going to be the most accurate of throwers, or carry many discs. You should never have a high "lost disc factor" on a beginner-friendly course, at least not that close to a basket. A simple barrier, or fence, even to stop discs from rolling in, would go a long way to helping.
- There are a lack of amenities throughout the course - trashcans, benches, water fountains or bathrooms. There a bathroom behind #11, but I don't know if it's always opened.
- Tee signs need to be improved. They're only hole number and distance. I had to walk a couple holes to find the basket before throwing.
- Other basic new courses include: dirt tee pads, better signage needed between holes (and to the first hole) and an updated course map.
Other Thoughts: Bradford remind me a lot of Sugaw, both in difficulty level and layout. Just like Sugaw, and Reedy Creek, it's a good course to bring newbies to. Other than the water holes (listed in the cons), there aren't any real blow-up holes, where you could easily shot double or triple bogey if not careful.
- As the course keeps getting improved, I'd like to see more holes with true risk/reward elements. The average player could play it safe here and shoot 18 pars in a row, without facing much danger.
- I think #4 could be an awesome hole if the basket was placed 40 feet back, on top of the big rock. It'd bring the hole further back into its nook and bring small creek into play (there's no lost disc factor with the creek), which could add risk/reward with stroke penalties.
- #9 was a fun, potential ace hole. It's a 200 foot, straight hole, with big trees running along the entire left side of the fairway. Basket is just left of center enough, that you can't throw it straight off the tee, or you'll hit one of the trees.
- This is definitely a good change of pace course. It's not far from Bailey, so you could hit up two beginner/intermediate-level courses. If you don't mind sitting through the traffic snarl on NC 73, this is worth checking out.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 An Emerging Gem

1    11/13/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: The Ox
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Luckily, I had the honor of playing this course for the first time with the course designer (Stan McDaniel). The park contains old grow trees and has many picturesque holes. All tee pads are marked with easily visible signage which includes length and par info. The property gives way to a mix of wooded and open holes, allowing players to truly test their skills. Elevation changes come into play on a number of holes, but are fair, fun, and rewarding when you make that birdie !
Cons: Although concrete tee-pads are not installed, this is a VERY new course and they will be poured in the near future (but on the plus side: all the dirt tee-pads are level and marked). If you live in Charlotte, especially on the South side, it may be a bit of a drive (but it's worth it, this course is a gem). Water comes into play on a few holes, so bring some cheap plastic, just in case.
Other Thoughts: This course will played in the 2012 World's and is surely a destination for anyone that lives in the Charlotte area. Stan has done a wonderful job of creating a beautiful landscape which will be appreciated by anyone who visits. This course was easily one of my favorites played so far.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/7/2011   10/7/2011
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 187  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 18.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2013
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very Pretty.
More open holes than many NC courses but these come with their own challenges (8 & 11 play over christmas trees, 12 is open but with ponds and thick rough). Woods holes are beautiful and secluded with good variety. Good mix/use of elevation. Several holes have a long option (#2 long starts down a big hill similar to 18 long at Eastway, 18 can play to the practice basket by Hole 1's tee pad). There are more ace/birdie runs at this course than most NC courses. Many of those short holes have punishing roughs to keep it interesting. Nice level tees and benches on each hole. Nice bathrooms/water fountains/soda machine after hole 11. Pretty well marked for such a new course. Easily accessible from I-77 and I-85. Very safe area and the locals are all friendly.
Cons: Lost disc hazards - murky ponds, tall grass, and punishing rough for such short drives.

The short holes can feel repetitive at times.
Other Thoughts: A few thoughts that may affect your rating, but not mine:
Some long walks between holes
Bugs (including ticks) in the summer
Only a few trash cans - again, I know these will be fixed in time.
Beware of roots still sticking up out of the ground and a few hidden holes in the ground.

I think people knock this course because it has some very short holes. There are some long holes (2, 11, 12) and holes with long options. And a bad bounce on an ace hole can turn into a 4. The open/grassy/soccer-park vibe reminds me of the better courses in the middle of the country, but there are plenty of secluded, woodsy NC-style holes too.

If visiting from out-of-town, grab a drink right off the hwy - no stores right near the park.

This can seem like a short-hole, tall-grass course when you live in Charlotte, but it would be the top course in plenty of other towns.

FYI - the bathroom after hole 11. The lights come on when you enter. I think it's motion-detected. If you're in a stall for 3 minutes the lights will go off and they won't turn back on until you exit the stall and walk around the rest of the bathroom.
Best place to take a leak - behind long 18's tee pad and the bench, there's a drop off into the creek.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: 704flyingdiscs
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Just played it for the first time today and loved it... Most of the holes a very straight shots but there are some twists and turns.
Cons: Long, short, open and wooded. variety is key to a good course
Other Thoughts: Small and very nasty ponds scattered , almost no fairway

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Just solid DG

1    8/27/2011   8/27/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/12/2013
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes with a decent mix of open and wooded shots. The open holes are a nice change to a lot of the technical wooded courses in North Carolina. There is also a few pretty long holes here that add to the variety and fun.

Not much elevation on this property, but the course does manage to use what there is. Nothing dramatic, but it doesn't take much sometimes to change a shot or disc selection.

Signs at all the tee pads showing hole number in HUGE writing and the distance to the basket also.

There are some painted wooden arrows and orange ribbons to aid in navigation right now.
Cons: A lot of straight shots. By my count there are 12 holes that require you to throw pretty much a straight shot. Not a ton a shot shaping to be had.

Signs are there, but they don't show the hole layout at all. For holes like #2 that is 610' up hill and blind, or #8 which is 710' and blind better sings are almost a must. I also had to walk almost the entire 565' #12 before I could find the basket.

Anything else that could be considered a negative here is mostly due to its age. Once this course is fully finished and broken in it will be better.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty good course. It has a few unique things that will make it worth playing once in a while. The variety in hole lengths and open versus wooded holes makes it nice. Sometimes it's fun to get out of the woods a little and watch the discs fly.

I'll also be interested to see how holes #8, #9 and #11 play as the trees they play through grow up. Right now you can throw over the trees as they are mostly 4-6' tall. But down the road those holes are going to present a heck of a challenge. #8 from the shorts has the chance to be an infamous 360' tunnel shot.

I like using the boulder on #10 to hide the basket. Putting the basket on top of the boulder has been done so many times, it was nice to see something a little different here. They could always use the boulder as an alternate position in the future if that's what people like.

Overall this course is definitely worth a stop. Right now it has the same issues any new course would have, but with age and tree growth this may turn into a very challenging course that will flat out kick you in the teeth. Just another good round in the Disc Golf Capital of the World.

12/12/13 Update: Course has come along way since my original review. Everything is in great condition, and in top shape. Tee pads, signs etc are all well done. This course is truly a fun round. Lots of variety, and a good change of pace if you are used to the
He tight, heavily wooded courses in NC.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 A Diamond in the rough

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: DGancient
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of terrain. Very creative layout of the course to use the trees, valleys, and water to add some difficulty to the course. The baskets are brand new Innova discatcher baskets with deep baskets and forgiving chains.
Cons: The biggest con I can come up with on this course is the distance between baskets and the next tee on a few holes. There are no trash cans or benches at this time, but I am sure that will change in the relatively near future. Permanent tee signs have been installed with yardage but no description (not that a description is really needed since most of the holes are visible from the tee. Concrete pads have not been placed yet. If they make the pads level, this will be an awesome course.
Other Thoughts: I have been anxiously awaiting a new course to open closer to where I live. I finally have one I will love to play as often as I can. This course offers some wide open holes and some tight fairways. Absolutely fair fairways on every hole. Some creative obstacles (a huge boulder blocking the number 10 basket, a tree within feet and in front of the 9 basket - how I aced this I really don't know). There is a 575ft dogleg right par 4 that I thought was crazy when I looked at it, but upon playing it I thought it was perfect.

When you get to the #2 tee (short), you will see two baskets in the distance. Throw for the one on the left.

Finding the next tee is easy due. Just follow the pink ribbons hanging on the trees or the Orange paint at the bottom of a few baskets. The only exception to this is finding the 16 basket (still not difficult - just take a moment to scan the trees once you find yourself on the asphalt).

If you find yourself in the area, give this course a look. You will not be dssappointed.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  great back9

2-4    8/14/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: anborn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, open/wood, and mix of shots.

1-2 good warmup holes,
3-4 interesting layouts.
5-7 solid wooded holes.
8 best hope you can hit your spot.
9-18 great stuff on every hole.

the course gets better at each hole.
Cons: no teepads yet, but its a new course, so once those are in place with permanent signage, i'ld give it 4-4.5.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

New Gem in North Meck

5+    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 174  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that has it's own unique feel and design. It feels very secluded in the woods and makes for a peaceful round.

A great mix of holes. Open bombs that reward the big arms and tight wooded holes that reward accuracy this course has it all.

Elevation is used well and many greens are sloped with chances for roll aways and Death putts that can turn a birdie oppertunity into a bogey quickly.

There are a few holes where water comes into play(2,3,12,15) but all are rairly over ankle deep. So while they will affect your score retreiving your lost plastic is not much of a problem.

Bathrooms and water fountains between holes 11 and 12. I read here that they are locked but they have been open every time I've played so far.

Hole 11 looks nothing like it did when the pics were taken. It is lost most of its oppertunity to lose discs as of september.
Cons: This course is new and many of these problems will be fixed or are being fixed thus will be removed and my score will likely go up.

I could see 18 long(or maybe even short) having an issue with cars if there was a large crowd at the baseball fields due to the overflow parking. Though I am yet to see an issue.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is another great course in Charlotte that will be used for worlds. Having worked on the course and played the inaugural round the course has already improved a lot! It is young and still growing so get on out there and play and while your there toss a few sticks off the fairway and take out the trash and this course will only improve!! There are Now longer tees on several holes that will give a different look. More long tees to come!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Cedar Alley North Charlotte Golf

5+    6/1/2012   8/3/2011
Review By: 1978
Played: 148  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very pretty park in North Charlotte (Huntersville). The park is new and safe. There is a practice throwing field by hole 1 and 2 and a practice basket (also long #18 basket) by hole 1. This park has a few unique features. One is hole 8, the crop circle hole. Another is a few basket placements that allow for safety if they are run at. You can throw long on hole 10 and the basket is against a boulder that will be a back stop. On hole 12, longer throwers will be able to bomb a drive off a hill and keep the disc next to the basket. This is a different style of NC golf. There are roll away putt holes, 2, 3, 4, 12, 16, 18 to keep us all honest. The course has long 700' holes and short 200' holes that weave in and out of fields and woods. This course will remind you most of Hornet's Nest in my opinion. The fairways are some of the fairest in Charlotte with no trees to navigate in the center of them. Hole 9 and 10 have have an obstical 6' from the basket. Hitting this will probably net you a 2. You will have to hit a fairway on the wooded holes, but they are generous and clear fairways. Hole 16 (a down hill gauntlet to a rock formation) will be the signature hole you will empty your bag on.

There is some elevation here... probably second to RL Smith but it is a pretty easy walk. The bridges are safe and the sturdiest in Charlotte. Holes 8-11 is "cedar alley." Cedar trees define the fairways or bunker areas in the fairways. This may remind you of old 11-12 at Reniassance Park (which are missed!) The only real disc eating (by vegetation) holes will be 8 and 11. Hole 3 and 12 throw along retention ponds that are mostly empty but will be OB. Water holes are a rarity in Charlotte so this is nice, discs will only be eaten after large rains. A small creek comes in to play on holes 4 and 16 that adds some variety to the course.
Cons: Limited bathroom use when soccer field is closed. Hole 8 will eat discs if you are not accurate or choose not to layup. There are few benches and trashcans yet.
Other Thoughts: I think this will be a favorite to many in the Charlotte Area, I cannot wait to run a PDGA here.
UPDATE* Made a transition from 4 basket to 14 tee. You can play a 9 hole loop bringing you back to the parking lot this way.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.