Huntersville, NC 
Bradford Park Share
Uploaded By: Schleppy Hole #12 (Taken 8/2011)
4 / 565ft.   4 / 575ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: OB road left.



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
  great back9

2-4    8/14/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: anborn
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation, open/wood, and mix of shots.

1-2 good warmup holes,
3-4 interesting layouts.
5-7 solid wooded holes.
8 best hope you can hit your spot.
9-18 great stuff on every hole.

the course gets better at each hole.
Cons: no teepads yet, but its a new course, so once those are in place with permanent signage, i'ld give it 4-4.5.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 New Gem in North Meck

5+    8/8/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 212  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course that has it's own unique feel and design. It feels very secluded in the woods and makes for a peaceful round.

A great mix of holes. Open bombs that reward the big arms and tight wooded holes that reward accuracy this course has it all.

Elevation is used well and many greens are sloped with chances for roll aways and Death putts that can turn a birdie oppertunity into a bogey quickly.

There are a few holes where water comes into play(2,3,12,15) but all are rairly over ankle deep. So while they will affect your score retreiving your lost plastic is not much of a problem.

Bathrooms and water fountains between holes 11 and 12. I read here that they are locked but they have been open every time I've played so far.

Hole 11 looks nothing like it did when the pics were taken. It is lost most of its oppertunity to lose discs as of september.
Cons: This course is new and many of these problems will be fixed or are being fixed thus will be removed and my score will likely go up.

I could see 18 long(or maybe even short) having an issue with cars if there was a large crowd at the baseball fields due to the overflow parking. Though I am yet to see an issue.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is another great course in Charlotte that will be used for worlds. Having worked on the course and played the inaugural round the course has already improved a lot! It is young and still growing so get on out there and play and while your there toss a few sticks off the fairway and take out the trash and this course will only improve!! There are Now longer tees on several holes that will give a different look. More long tees to come!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Cedar Alley North Charlotte Golf

5+    6/1/2012   8/3/2011
Review By: 1978
Played: 180  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a very pretty park in North Charlotte (Huntersville). The park is new and safe. There is a practice throwing field by hole 1 and 2 and a practice basket (also long #18 basket) by hole 1. This park has a few unique features. One is hole 8, the crop circle hole. Another is a few basket placements that allow for safety if they are run at. You can throw long on hole 10 and the basket is against a boulder that will be a back stop. On hole 12, longer throwers will be able to bomb a drive off a hill and keep the disc next to the basket. This is a different style of NC golf. There are roll away putt holes, 2, 3, 4, 12, 16, 18 to keep us all honest. The course has long 700' holes and short 200' holes that weave in and out of fields and woods. This course will remind you most of Hornet's Nest in my opinion. The fairways are some of the fairest in Charlotte with no trees to navigate in the center of them. Hole 9 and 10 have have an obstical 6' from the basket. Hitting this will probably net you a 2. You will have to hit a fairway on the wooded holes, but they are generous and clear fairways. Hole 16 (a down hill gauntlet to a rock formation) will be the signature hole you will empty your bag on.

There is some elevation here... probably second to RL Smith but it is a pretty easy walk. The bridges are safe and the sturdiest in Charlotte. Holes 8-11 is "cedar alley." Cedar trees define the fairways or bunker areas in the fairways. This may remind you of old 11-12 at Reniassance Park (which are missed!) The only real disc eating (by vegetation) holes will be 8 and 11. Hole 3 and 12 throw along retention ponds that are mostly empty but will be OB. Water holes are a rarity in Charlotte so this is nice, discs will only be eaten after large rains. A small creek comes in to play on holes 4 and 16 that adds some variety to the course.
Cons: Limited bathroom use when soccer field is closed. Hole 8 will eat discs if you are not accurate or choose not to layup. There are few benches and trashcans yet.
Other Thoughts: I think this will be a favorite to many in the Charlotte Area, I cannot wait to run a PDGA here.
UPDATE* Made a transition from 4 basket to 14 tee. You can play a 9 hole loop bringing you back to the parking lot this way.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bradford is open for play

1    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: Stan McDaniel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 10/13/2012
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I usually don't rate a course that I design but I was encouraged to update my initial review that introduced Bradford when it was raw. We have a really nice putting green that welcomes a player to throw some mid range throws in its direction from the parking lot. About a third of the green is in the shade of trees for putting out of the summer sun. All holes have well built concrete tee pads, most are 5'X12', except on some of the shorter holes. Tee signs are on every tee pad, both short and long. The benches, done by local Jerry Adams, are unique and beautiful cedar benches and are on every hole and tee pad. The course flows well. If you are short on time you can play 1-4 and then 14's tee is near 4's green so you can play 14-18 to complete a 9 hole loop. There is a restroom and water faucet after hole #11. The gentlemen who maintain the course, the Bradford Brigade, are carving some longer tees and longer pin placements as part of an ongoing improvement. They have boxed in and backfilled some of the tee pads that had dropoffs behind them, which allows for more runup. The open holes with cedar trees continue to get attention and trimming. All in all, I think it is a well balanced course that is fun to play and is still challenging.
Cons: There are places that the rough can make finding an errant shot challenging. The muddy pond that lurks out of sight on #12 can be tough for a first time player on the course. There are some transitions that still need to be more obviously marked.
Other Thoughts: I am proud of the guys who have stepped up to maintain and improve the course, Schleppy and Bravethrower in particular, although there are others who are loyal too. This course will continue to morph under their loving care.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center