Nantucket, MA
Nantucket DGC Share
Uploaded By: Noahlearner Hole #6 (Taken 1/2013)
5 / 664ft.   5 / 799ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sweet Destination Course

1    1/1/2014   1/4/2014
Review By: TBabb
Played: 44  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 8.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on the island of Nantucket about two miles east of the town, the Nantucket Disc Golf Course is a must play. The grounds are absolutely pristine and well maintained. The rubber tee pads are totally level and quite large. The baskets are in great condition and have red paint to make them easy to spot from a distance. The signage here is excellent. Tee signs show distance, par, hole number, and a fairway map and navigational signs make getting around the course very easy. There are two sets of tees on most holes and both are quite long and challenging. There are actually more par 4's and 5's here than par 3's. The woods make things challenging, but the fairways are well defined and wide enough to give you room to throw hard. This course will probably challenge the best of the best. There are rustic log benches at every tee. There is plenty of parking here, though if you don't live on the island, you probably won't have a car with you. The forest here is also beautiful.
Cons: This course is flat. The terrain doesn't allow for any elevation, but I really love having some up and down to play with. Since many of the fairways are so long, the flat terrain gets a touch boring for me. The course also lacks a signature hole that stands out among other holes I've played. The course also lacks amenities like restrooms and running water. Additionally, it's great that this course is a destination, but that also is a con as well. The island is tough and expensive to get to and unless you are staying on the Cape, it would be a tough day trip. Once you're on the island, everything is expensive, and to get to the course you've either got a significant hike on foot or $25-$30 in taxi fare round trip. Not that this is a real detriment to the course, but it's good info to know that this is not a "drop-by" course.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely worth playing if you will be coming to the island at all. It's definitely out of the way, but that is part of its appeal at some level. It's definitely worth playing as a disc golf vacation. Bring your long bombs and enjoy the island!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Trip!

2-4    9/27/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: NateDoss
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course was designed by John Houck. The club on the island of Nantucket has put in a tremendous amount of work to make this course as beautiful as the houses on this historic island. Plenty of long holes, with fairways that have been diligently groomed plus all stumps had been remove on the first 3 holes with more to come! Perfect balance of Par 3's,4's and 5's to make a great modern disc golf course.
Cons: No many to mention. I would say the only Con is the high ferry fee to get to the island but if you make a whole day of it or even and weekend I think you would be pleasantly surprised.
Other Thoughts: I had the honor to spend a few days with Todd(Co-Designer) and the entire crew from the island and had a great time! Everyone was very friendly. They have all gone to great lengths to clear this course. I look forward to coming back and playing the course the next time I am in the area.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 There once was a course on Nantucket

5+    5/18/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: BenMoulton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long fairways that are exceptionally laid out. This course is challenging and fun. The long tees require big and technical shots, which is not common on many new england courses. Playing the short tees is just as good!
Cons: Must watch out for poison ivy off of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to play this course multiple times over the course of a weeks vacation. I left that week feeling better about my game and a little more in touch with my forehand. The course was clean and well maintained. Grounds crews were working the whole time. Natives were extremely helpful and friendly. MUST PLAY!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sick - Houck Design

2-4    11/21/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: Greenleaf
Played: 28  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible course and design. This course calls for golf shots, not just hucking and praying. The course offfers great reward for well placed shots, but can be somewhat forgiving for errant shots that require a very skilled shot to get back on track. Holes range from huge monsters to small corridor shots. While the terrain is mostly flat, the winding design and layout make up for it. Signage is good, although the mandated color scheme can make directional arrows a little tough to see. Course upkeep and cleanliness is huge, you can tell that the NDG crew takes great care of their home course. I will make any excuse to play this when I can.
Cons: You have to take a ferry or plane to get there, but that can be exciting too :-) Lack of elevation.
Other Thoughts: Cant wait for the Island Trifecta to start between clubs and the first Nantucket Tournament!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New "Must Play" in New England!

2-4    11/21/2012   1/21/2013
Review By: TLapham
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simply put, this course is amazing. A lot of time and effort went into creating this course and the final product reflects this. Expertly designed with perfect teeboxes and signage. This is quickly going to become a course you love to hate due to it's challenging nature. It's already ranked with Maple Hill and Wickham Park for the hardest courses in the area in my opinion. I definitely will be playing this course as often as possible and I encourage you to do the same! All of the locals I met have been enthusiastic and welcoming.
Cons: No elevation. They didn't really have a choice considering there's basically no elevation on the island, but it's literally the only "negative" I can think of regarding this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nantucket: Challenge, variety, and lots of distance

5+    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers tons of variety, great signage, and great rubber teepads are now installed on all long and short teepads. Each hole has multiple routes to the basket. The course presents challenges in a couple of key ways: Trees, distance, and shot choices.

The folks who maintain the course have put a ton of work into the course and everyone who plays here is super friendly.

While the risk and reward is more subtle than other courses I've played, it has a sneakily cumulative impact on your score after 18 holes.

To birdy the longer holes you really have to have a good drive followed by a high quality second shot.

Baskets are new Diskcatcher and are all ringed by well maintained greens.

You are forced to commit to shots and some very tight lanes. It forces you to use a large variety of shop shapes. There are also some tantalizing birdy opportunities - holes 2, 3, 7, 8, 14, 17 come to mind.

I love hole 7. It is a 178' tunnel shot through the woods to the basket. It looks very easy, but people routinely clang off of the trees that line the tunnel.

I also enjoy hole 11 because you have to drive 200+ feet into a major dogleg to the right. A big rhfh or big annhyzer back hand get you around the corner. You then have to work through the trees to get to the green which is ringed by mature pines. The approach shot to the green is really fun because you can wind the disc through the forest in so many different ways.

Hole 14 is almost 240 off long tee pad and is really enjoyable. It is a very tight tunnel shot that gradually fades to the left. It is a killer.

The most satisfying to bird are 5, 6, 9,12,15,17, and 18.

The toughest holes are 5,6,12,13,14,15,17, and 18.

I know these almost sound like the same thing, but for some reason they feel different. 5,6,18 are hard to bird because you have to be accurate, but also throw looong. The rest are hard to bird because you will get PUNISHED if your throws are out of control.

I really enjoy the length of the course too. There are three challenging par 5's that are around 800 feet long. Not only are they long, but you have to contend with some tight lines through woods too.

The north side of course, holes 1-5 and 16 - 18, stresses driving distance and control through woods. The South Side of the course holes 6 - 15 is much tighter and stresses much more of a finesse game. It is much more protected from the wind too.

Hole 12 is very challenging. You have a straight and very tight tunnel shot for 150 feet and then a tight dogleg to the left. It is then that you have a choice of going left or right around a largish stand of trees. It is maddening, and one should be satisfied with a par.
Cons: Poison Ivy. Bring Tecnu with you and apply liberally.
Other Thoughts: Come Play, it is worth the trip.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 NDG

5+    11/10/2012   11/10/2012
Review By: captain.roche
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great tee boxes both long an short
variety of hole types shortest=208 longest=851
trees add high need for accuracy and element of luck
Cons: trees add high need for accuracy and element of luck
Other Thoughts: If you come play.....You will be satisfyed

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Gem in the making

2-4    8/21/2012   8/24/2012
Review By: fort
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent signage, very easy to navigate. A great mix of both long par 5's and shorter (but not too short) par 3's. The fairways are wide and generally open, there are several wooded holes with a good amount of trees to navigate through and even the open field holes make good use of tree placements. The tee boxes are top notch - large, level, firm base of crushed stone topped with rubber tee mats. The mixture of right and left doglegs forces you to use a variety of shots.
Cons: Going off the fairway is often unforgiving and unfriendly - thick underbrush which makes disc finding/recovery tough. A good amount of poison Ivy in the rough as well. No elevation change - hard to call this a con given that you're playing on a beach island with no elevation change anywhere. A little tough to find the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a course still under construction - as soon as I stepped onto the course it was very apparent that an incredible amount of hard work has been done to make this course a reality. There were only 8 holes playable when I was there but the entire course should be open by late Fall. The short tee boxes are not in place yet - they are marked and have a sign at them but no tee box - yet. If you go to Nantucket and are a Disc Golfer don't miss the opportunity to play here. Before you play, email Todd the course president he's the engine behind this project and a really nice guy - he met me for 2 rounds on the 2nd day I played. If I ever get back to Nantucket I can't wait to play this course again to see it in its final finished state. Definitely a gem in the making - thank you Todd and all the other Nantucket golfers helping to make this place come to be.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.