Nantucket, MA 
Nantucket DGC Share
Uploaded By: Noahlearner Hole #1 (Taken 1/2013)
4 / 444ft.   4 / 619ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The future of Disc Golf

2-4    6/29/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: solomon.trenton
Played: 75  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The nicest course I have ever played. The fairways are 100% clear of stumps, fallen sticks and rocks: A roller's paradise. Grass is mowed and there is a plethora of equipment that is available to make the course outstanding. This is a work of art by the one and only John Houck. Lots of placement shots are required to shoot well here. It is a legit par 68. While it might favor lefty's just a little bit if you can`t throw straight you are doomed. The defined fairways are generous and the canopy is very scenic. Distance varies from 178` to 868` on the long tees and challenges your golf game as well as your mental game.
The tee pads are nice and flat and oversized (7` x 10`). There is an alternate tee with pads just as nice on every hole, except 7, where they share one. Tee Signs on every hole show you multiple lines to the basket and the ideal landing zones. There is no OB here but the rough is very unforgiving.
Benches on every hole (some really large) and a great kiosk near hole 1 with scorecards.
Lots of walking trails in the state forest make you forget you are on an island.
Cons: There is no bathroom at the course. Lots of poison ivy in the rough. Somewhat easy to get turned around between some holes with multiple paths (bricks would be helpful).
Other Thoughts: It is expensive to get out here to just play disc golf but it is definitely worth the trip if you can. Rent a bike instead of taking the cabs (super expensive).

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

From the Rec Player Perspective

2-4    6/9/2014   6/10/2014
Review By: edfaits
Played: 43  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Inviting kiosk with good scorecard/map at the sand parking lot.
-I loved this course because the experience for a recreation level player wasn't an afterthought; it's baked in to the design. From the "normal" aka "short" (don't call them "novice" tees), this will provide an interesting challenge to players who drive under 300'. For the big arms, you can back up to the "Pro/Long" tees. From the short tees a good rec player can make pars and have several birdie opportunities if you are on your game… but let your concentration slip and your disc can sail off into the dense Nantucket Island forest. Used my entire bag and every type of throw I have at least once… though I'll have to admit the successful roller was accidental.
-Nearly every hole has at least one and usually two reasonable lines to the basket… but miss those lines and you'll be struggling with bogie or worse likely.
-Both the normal and long tee boxes are big, level, and grippy, even when slightly damp. They are wood framed rubber pads with on stone dust. Fully accommodates left handers, right handers, flicks, and backhands, whatever you throw.
-Wooden benches on every tee box, both short and long
-Informative signs (accurate yardage, plus pay attention to the lines) on both short and long tees.
-Nice new Innova Pro baskets with a distinct Maroon color band. The greens are fair, many have wood chips.
-Friendly and passionate group of locals looking out for the course and keeping it nice. We got invited to play league doubles, too bad I couldn't make it, would have been fun.
-Great practice basket near first tee.
-Occasionally some interesting wood structures in the fairways that make for some photo ops
Cons: -Lack of amenities keeps this from getting a five star from me. No bathrooms, no trash cans, but we did find running water after #16. My wife always reminds me that no bathrooms is a bigger burden on women than men "since you have about 40 acres of urinals" on an average wooded New England course.
-As everyone mentions, the island is remote and an expensive destination, though this isn't a fault of the course. If you are looking to mix some history and disc golf into a nice beach/island vacation, this isn't a con at all. Without a car from town you can bike part of the way on a safe bike path, but watch out for frustrated drivers at the rotary's (traffic circles of confusion if you are not a New Englander). This small island can have big traffic all summer.
-Ticks and poison ivy (and the whole island is a beach, wear your sunscreen), plus the rough will scratch you up when looking for those mis-throws.
-Was hoping for an ocean view somewhere on the course, but the best you can do is smell the sea breeze and walk the sandy fairways.
Other Thoughts: If you can't throw 300' with accuracy, you (and everyone playing behind you) are much better off playing the front tees.

The island is just an overgrown sandbar, there is no elevation to speak of, but the designer has mixed in some tunnel holes where you must keep a drive low, and a few spots were a high hyzer spike over the scruff can be the easiest path to birdie, so the elevation changes come in shot shape.

As one novice player in our group said, "this is a pleasant walk in the woods". Melville said of Nantucket: "Some gamesome wights will tell you that they have to plant weeds there, they don't grow naturally; that they import Canada thistles", but I can tell you that if you get off fairway you will encounter the dense beach scrub that anchors the island and will eat discs. Be prepared to spend some time looking for errant throws, and if you are lucky enough to find your disc forget about par and hope you get back to the fairway.

Although this course is "rec level" player friendly, it's not really a beginner friendly course. A lot of time might be spent looking for lost discs.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 There once was a course on Nantucket

5+    5/18/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: BenMoulton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long fairways that are exceptionally laid out. This course is challenging and fun. The long tees require big and technical shots, which is not common on many new england courses. Playing the short tees is just as good!
Cons: Must watch out for poison ivy off of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: I was lucky enough to play this course multiple times over the course of a weeks vacation. I left that week feeling better about my game and a little more in touch with my forehand. The course was clean and well maintained. Grounds crews were working the whole time. Natives were extremely helpful and friendly. MUST PLAY!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Sick - Houck Design

2-4    11/21/2012   1/25/2013
Review By: Greenleaf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible course and design. This course calls for golf shots, not just hucking and praying. The course offfers great reward for well placed shots, but can be somewhat forgiving for errant shots that require a very skilled shot to get back on track. Holes range from huge monsters to small corridor shots. While the terrain is mostly flat, the winding design and layout make up for it. Signage is good, although the mandated color scheme can make directional arrows a little tough to see. Course upkeep and cleanliness is huge, you can tell that the NDG crew takes great care of their home course. I will make any excuse to play this when I can.
Cons: You have to take a ferry or plane to get there, but that can be exciting too :-) Lack of elevation.
Other Thoughts: Cant wait for the Island Trifecta to start between clubs and the first Nantucket Tournament!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New "Must Play" in New England!

2-4    11/21/2012   1/21/2013
Review By: TLapham
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Simply put, this course is amazing. A lot of time and effort went into creating this course and the final product reflects this. Expertly designed with perfect teeboxes and signage. This is quickly going to become a course you love to hate due to it's challenging nature. It's already ranked with Maple Hill and Wickham Park for the hardest courses in the area in my opinion. I definitely will be playing this course as often as possible and I encourage you to do the same! All of the locals I met have been enthusiastic and welcoming.
Cons: No elevation. They didn't really have a choice considering there's basically no elevation on the island, but it's literally the only "negative" I can think of regarding this course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nantucket: Challenge, variety, and lots of distance

5+    12/7/2012   12/7/2012
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers tons of variety, great signage, and great rubber teepads are now installed on all long and short teepads. Each hole has multiple routes to the basket. The course presents challenges in a couple of key ways: Trees, distance, and shot choices.

The folks who maintain the course have put a ton of work into the course and everyone who plays here is super friendly.

While the risk and reward is more subtle than other courses I've played, it has a sneakily cumulative impact on your score after 18 holes.

To birdy the longer holes you really have to have a good drive followed by a high quality second shot.

Baskets are new Diskcatcher and are all ringed by well maintained greens.

You are forced to commit to shots and some very tight lanes. It forces you to use a large variety of shop shapes. There are also some tantalizing birdy opportunities - holes 2, 3, 7, 8, 14, 17 come to mind.

I love hole 7. It is a 178' tunnel shot through the woods to the basket. It looks very easy, but people routinely clang off of the trees that line the tunnel.

I also enjoy hole 11 because you have to drive 200+ feet into a major dogleg to the right. A big rhfh or big annhyzer back hand get you around the corner. You then have to work through the trees to get to the green which is ringed by mature pines. The approach shot to the green is really fun because you can wind the disc through the forest in so many different ways.

Hole 14 is almost 240 off long tee pad and is really enjoyable. It is a very tight tunnel shot that gradually fades to the left. It is a killer.

The most satisfying to bird are 5, 6, 9,12,15,17, and 18.

The toughest holes are 5,6,12,13,14,15,17, and 18.

I know these almost sound like the same thing, but for some reason they feel different. 5,6,18 are hard to bird because you have to be accurate, but also throw looong. The rest are hard to bird because you will get PUNISHED if your throws are out of control.

I really enjoy the length of the course too. There are three challenging par 5's that are around 800 feet long. Not only are they long, but you have to contend with some tight lines through woods too.

The north side of course, holes 1-5 and 16 - 18, stresses driving distance and control through woods. The South Side of the course holes 6 - 15 is much tighter and stresses much more of a finesse game. It is much more protected from the wind too.

Hole 12 is very challenging. You have a straight and very tight tunnel shot for 150 feet and then a tight dogleg to the left. It is then that you have a choice of going left or right around a largish stand of trees. It is maddening, and one should be satisfied with a par.
Cons: Poison Ivy. Bring Tecnu with you and apply liberally.
Other Thoughts: Come Play, it is worth the trip.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.