Carnation, WA 
Loutsis Park Share
Uploaded By: rdubbeer Hole #5 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 182ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Cool little Carnation course!

2-4    8/31/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: Seatown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to find stray discs. Even with some moderately wooded/brushed up areas, its very easy to track down errant discs. Locals are great about asking if you lost any that they came across (no collection area tho)

Fairways are well maintained, and there are very few muddy spots, even in wetter weather

Not as much dog poop as some are saying. Just saying. Folks seem to be pretty good about their dogs crap.

Great little 9 hole course. For what the city of Carnation has done with this sliver of property nestled between 2 developments (along a walking path), I have to commend the planners for how well everything works. Theres very little overlap between holes, and it makes use of every inch of the allotted space.

2 tee pads are provided, which adds to the complexity of some holes, and or could double as a 2nd 9 if wanted.

Nice equipment. The city went with some decent baskets, and come around often to check on the condition of everything.

For the type of land available, theres a surprisingly wide array of holes, with varying degrees of technicality required. It makes for a challenging, yet overall fun and enjoyable experience for beginners - Advanced.


Cons: Tee pads are not all labelled properly. Some are missing, and its ads to confusion for new players. Technically, the tee pads are there... but not in the best condition. Rated a 5/10. Most are well worn gravel patches marked by 2 faintly visible bricks embedded in the ground. More could be done to show where these are, and make them visible from the prior basket/area.

Lack of benches gets tedious at times, but the overall length of the course makes it so it isn't a necessity.

There are no amenities at the park, which isn't a kicker, but should be known if youre making a drive. Bushes abound. And no drinking fountain/water available onsite.

Signage for each hole is still missing, or overall confusing. But once you make through the course once (usually quickly), it (layout) makes perfect sense.

Adjacent properties. If you lose a disc to the neighbors, good luck. A lefty friend with a tendency for late releases lost 2 discs to the folks lining the 6/9th holes. They just didn't want to allow access to their yards. Beware.
Other Thoughts: Not heavily trafficked by discgolfers, so theres a chance you may not even see anyone through 1-3 rounds. There have been days Ive seen large groups, and plenty of waiting time spent at tees, but overall, it relatively empty weekday afternoons and weekend mornings.

No practice basket(s). Again, these aren't essential, BUT there have been a few occasions where people wanting to practice, or show their toddlers how to play... will end up on one of the holes (oblivious to the fact others are playing that hole). A dedicated basket for these and other folks would lessen the chance this continuing to happen

No lost disc collection area present. Not a big deal, but the last 2 times Ive played the course, a local player has approached me asking if I had lost any of the discs they had come across. A collection bin and a smidgen of oversight to try to return lost discs would be a welcome addition.

An excellent course for an intro to new players, or those looking to build their confidence in the game, I highly recommend this park. Its near level elevation for 90% of the course, and moderately woody areas (60%) make for a fun, challenging and new/interesting round anyday.

Plenty of opportunities for technical shots, controlled mid-range shots, and a few wide open bombers make for a cool little course tucked away in the armpit of Carnation. who knew!!??

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course for space provided

5+    6/4/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: Strongbow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout for space
Decent variety of shots
Stays reasonably dry in winter
Fun course
Grass is mowed regularly
Cons: Only 9 baskets
Carpet tee pads, or dirt
Other Thoughts: Shorter 9 basket course with a great variety of shots. This is a fun course to play and even though it is short, most holes provide some sort of challenge. I'd play this course more often if it were closer to my home. This might be the best course on the east side at the moment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quiet, Serene, and Wooded

1    6/4/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: jessicaS
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* : My husband and I are beginners. This course was great for us; the courses that we're used to playing on have long, relatively straight fairways leading to obvious baskets. This course is heavily wooded, and we had to put a lot more thought into our throws. This is really good for us.

Course was maintained from a mowing perspective.

Nice quiet park in a residential area.

The flow of the course seemed to work really well; the tee for #1 is near the parking, and the basket for #9 ends in the same area.
Cons: Fair amount of dog poop on the ground.

One or two easily avoided mudholes.

Tee signs were inconsistent - some were there, and some were no longer in existence. This created a problem for us only on #2, where we spent time looking for a sign when there was only a relatively inconspicuous tee pad.

When there are tee pads (sometimes there are just brick markers), they're made of carpet. This wasn't bad when we were there, but I wouldn't want to use them when it's been raining.
Other Thoughts: There are alternates for many of the tees, although it wasn't entirely clear to us which tees were supposed to be more advanced (no signage/markers that we could find).

Although there are only signs at around half the tees, once we figured that out, we had no problem navigating the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Carnation

5+    8/1/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Russh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great use of the limited space, nice group of locals always willing to show a newbie the course, trees make many of the holes play longer than they are. carpet pads hold up better in the rain than you would think.Rarely busy. This is the ONLY course i almost always get lost discs back from.
Cons: lots of dog walkers that don't clean up the poo!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wouldn't go back

1    7/13/2013   7/16/2013
Review By: intheory87
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Only course within 30 minutes
- Variety of holes for all players
-Wasn't a lot of traffic at the park
- Desent flow if you can find the tees
Cons: - Tee pads are covered with carpet, can only image how soaked they are after it rains.
- Hole one is very confusing, there is a sign but no pad
- Couldn't even find the tee for hole two, and only accidentally stumbled onto hole 5
- Tee signs were greatly inaccurate, sometimes the baskets wasn't even where the sign said it would be.
-Outside of the course is covered in thick brush, and houses making it a bitch to find a bad through.
- No locals present to help navigate the course
Other Thoughts: -Probably fun for locals that play the coarse often
-Pain in the ass for out of towners
-Could be really fun if they repaired some of the holes by add concert pads, and making sure all holes are properly marked.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Fun 9 Hole Course

5+    6/12/2012   10/12/2012
Review By: Geepster
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent use of the land provided. Even with the short distances of the holes the setup is such that no hole feels the same as the other. Quiet course. Friendly players.
Drains well and plays well in the rain.
Cons: Natural tees. Though #1,2,5 utilize existing gravel paths.
Other Thoughts: #5 is one of my favorite holes anywhere. It is a short hole with a slight elevation drop. The shot from the tee is through an overhanging branch and a tall shrub. It provides a great frame for the basket.
The other hole here that I love is #8. It is a alley shot through a grove of trees.
This is a great course for taking the kids along and is stroller friendly.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A sweet and fast course

5+    9/20/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: Amuzed2pieces
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short, but well thought out holes, utilizing a variety of techniques. Friendly and helpful locals. Much under brush removed recently, a big project to clear out blackberries, makes its even better. Its a small area, but they did a great job with the design.
Cons: Some of the alternative tee's could be farther from the first set.
Other Thoughts: Never a wait, never an attitude.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little intermediate 9 hole

1    8/29/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: b-mart
Played: 46  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets are pristine. Navigation is simple. Good use of the land provided. A good amount of challenge even though eight of the holes are well below 400 feet. Not too much rough but plenty of tight windows through the trees. The designer did a great job here.
Cons: The signage is temporary and won't survive the fall if my own experience of being a teenage boy was any indication (if you know what I mean). The signs rotate easily too, so it can be difficult to navigate if you aren't being alert. Elevation never comes into play on this course, but one can't quite call that a con when the piece of land provided is completely flat.
Other Thoughts: I really did enjoy this course. I didn't mind the natural tee pads because the course was so new. The designer made use of the gravel roads several times in place of tee pads, which is a great idea. As Carnation is isolated from the greater Seattle area, I don't expect a ton of play that will ultimately turn the teepads into obstacles like the ones at Sunnyside Park in Pullman. I would place this one right behind Howling Coyote in Bothell as the best 9 hole that I've played. Word is that there's sponsor money sitting out there waiting to be used too, which could turn into better signage and something other than white bricks in the ground to mark a teepad. Although I wouldn't drive all the way to Carnation just for this course, it's worth a look if you're in the area or heading up to Spirit Ridge.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Recreational Course!

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Loutsis Park is a fairly small, narrow, flat city in the quaint little town of Tolt or Carnation. Even the name is an interesting story. Save that for another day. This is another typical city park Rec course. It plays 4 holes out, 1 across and then the last four back to the parking lot. There is a nice mix of open, tight technical and lightly scattered mature treed holes. This mix of holes does give you a chance to use a variety of shots providing your best drive is about 280'. I found a roller worked well on # 9.
The pads are natural and are marked by two white painted bricks. Only one brick has disappeared thus far. The baskets are brand new out of the box DISCatchers. The tee signs are very simple little plastics. So far, they haven't been marked up or vandalized.
Cons: Like most of these Rec courses, the challenge isn't there if you are a serious intermediate player or better. There is some serious rough around # 5. Best to Advoid it.
I don't know that I think this course will ever see enough play to really do much damage to the teepad area. I think they're (the way they are) fine here and putting in pavers or concrete would amount to overkill. With enough players using this course, the pad areas would become problamatic over time aad then I think pavers would be a great solution but until that times comes, don't worry about it.
Other Thoughts: A solid beginners/Rec course. I hope the youth of Tolt/Carnation take up the cause, buy a few a discs and play the heck out of this course. Then they can graduate to Spirit Ridge, the big boy course up the road a spell. You see, I'm learning to talk just likes the loggers around here, ya'll.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Loutsis Park

2-4    8/15/2011   8/16/2011
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/29/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*Established in 2011, Loutsis Park is a fairly technical nine hole course located in the quaint city of Carnation, WA. Best suited for recreational and intermediate players, it is quite enjoyable for more experienced disc golfers as well. The designer Getty did a nice job utilizing the area he had to work with. What the course lacks in length it makes up for in creativity! Both the beginning and end have players throwing through tight lines of tress where holes #3-7 are more wide open. However, on the more wide open holes there is punishing rough and many of the pins are heavily guarded. Holes range in length but most range from 180-250 ft with the exception of hole #3 which breaks 400 ft.

*Flow to the course works well with the first five holes playing away from the parking lot, hole six playing perpendicular, and holes seven through nine playing back toward hole one. Navigation is easy for first timers thanks to tee signs, although basic, which are easy to locate from fairways and near the pins. Distance and par is given, and a few obstacles and the ideal flight line are listed although I am not sure how accurate that info is. Baskets are all DISCatchers and are in immaculate shape. Port o' Potty located near tee one.

Note: Since the last time I played there has been nine additional tee pads added (blue) which add more variety and some length to the course. Hopefully they will add more pin placements as well in the near future.

*Favorite hole/s: Hole #5 and Hole #8
Cons:
*Loutsis Park although small, is ideal for those learning the sport or for more veteran players wanting to hone in on their skills. What the course lacks in length it makes up for in creativity! The largest issue is just how isolated this course is from the greater Seattle area. Fortunately, there is also Spirit Ridge, a wonderful little private course, just miles away which makes the combination of the two courses well worth the trip.

*Although the tee pads are natural, they really don't seem to have a negative impact on the course with the exception of hole #3. Considering it is the only hole that allows players to air it out, it is essential that there is good footing. Loose gravel and dirt along with uneven footing results in poorly executed throws and perhaps injuries.

*Over time as the fairways become more developed and the tee pads are installed, I could easily see my rating bump up .5 to 1 full point. As with any course, nothing is built in a day as it takes a lot of work to properly install and upkeep any course and this course is well on its way.

*Least Favorite Hole/s: Hole #4
Other Thoughts:
*For those traveling to the area for the first time and looking to get in multiple rounds at both Loutsis Park and Spirit Ridge, I highly recommend getting in touch with Ron Werner to schedule a round. He not only is an avid disc golfer, but also designed and maintains Spirit Ridge, and will guide you during your visit.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.