Carnation, WA 
Loutsis Park Share
Uploaded By: rdubbeer Hole #7 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 248ft.   3 / 268ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cool little Carnation course!

2-4    8/31/2014   8/31/2014
Review By: Seatown
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to find stray discs. Even with some moderately wooded/brushed up areas, its very easy to track down errant discs. Locals are great about asking if you lost any that they came across (no collection area tho)

Fairways are well maintained, and there are very few muddy spots, even in wetter weather

Not as much dog poop as some are saying. Just saying. Folks seem to be pretty good about their dogs crap.

Great little 9 hole course. For what the city of Carnation has done with this sliver of property nestled between 2 developments (along a walking path), I have to commend the planners for how well everything works. Theres very little overlap between holes, and it makes use of every inch of the allotted space.

2 tee pads are provided, which adds to the complexity of some holes, and or could double as a 2nd 9 if wanted.

Nice equipment. The city went with some decent baskets, and come around often to check on the condition of everything.

For the type of land available, theres a surprisingly wide array of holes, with varying degrees of technicality required. It makes for a challenging, yet overall fun and enjoyable experience for beginners - Advanced.


Cons: Tee pads are not all labelled properly. Some are missing, and its ads to confusion for new players. Technically, the tee pads are there... but not in the best condition. Rated a 5/10. Most are well worn gravel patches marked by 2 faintly visible bricks embedded in the ground. More could be done to show where these are, and make them visible from the prior basket/area.

Lack of benches gets tedious at times, but the overall length of the course makes it so it isn't a necessity.

There are no amenities at the park, which isn't a kicker, but should be known if youre making a drive. Bushes abound. And no drinking fountain/water available onsite.

Signage for each hole is still missing, or overall confusing. But once you make through the course once (usually quickly), it (layout) makes perfect sense.

Adjacent properties. If you lose a disc to the neighbors, good luck. A lefty friend with a tendency for late releases lost 2 discs to the folks lining the 6/9th holes. They just didn't want to allow access to their yards. Beware.
Other Thoughts: Not heavily trafficked by discgolfers, so theres a chance you may not even see anyone through 1-3 rounds. There have been days Ive seen large groups, and plenty of waiting time spent at tees, but overall, it relatively empty weekday afternoons and weekend mornings.

No practice basket(s). Again, these aren't essential, BUT there have been a few occasions where people wanting to practice, or show their toddlers how to play... will end up on one of the holes (oblivious to the fact others are playing that hole). A dedicated basket for these and other folks would lessen the chance this continuing to happen

No lost disc collection area present. Not a big deal, but the last 2 times Ive played the course, a local player has approached me asking if I had lost any of the discs they had come across. A collection bin and a smidgen of oversight to try to return lost discs would be a welcome addition.

An excellent course for an intro to new players, or those looking to build their confidence in the game, I highly recommend this park. Its near level elevation for 90% of the course, and moderately woody areas (60%) make for a fun, challenging and new/interesting round anyday.

Plenty of opportunities for technical shots, controlled mid-range shots, and a few wide open bombers make for a cool little course tucked away in the armpit of Carnation. who knew!!??

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course for space provided

5+    6/4/2014   6/8/2014
Review By: Strongbow
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout for space
Decent variety of shots
Stays reasonably dry in winter
Fun course
Grass is mowed regularly
Cons: Only 9 baskets
Carpet tee pads, or dirt
Other Thoughts: Shorter 9 basket course with a great variety of shots. This is a fun course to play and even though it is short, most holes provide some sort of challenge. I'd play this course more often if it were closer to my home. This might be the best course on the east side at the moment.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quiet, Serene, and Wooded

1    6/4/2014   6/5/2014
Review By: jessicaS
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Disclaimer* : My husband and I are beginners. This course was great for us; the courses that we're used to playing on have long, relatively straight fairways leading to obvious baskets. This course is heavily wooded, and we had to put a lot more thought into our throws. This is really good for us.

Course was maintained from a mowing perspective.

Nice quiet park in a residential area.

The flow of the course seemed to work really well; the tee for #1 is near the parking, and the basket for #9 ends in the same area.
Cons: Fair amount of dog poop on the ground.

One or two easily avoided mudholes.

Tee signs were inconsistent - some were there, and some were no longer in existence. This created a problem for us only on #2, where we spent time looking for a sign when there was only a relatively inconspicuous tee pad.

When there are tee pads (sometimes there are just brick markers), they're made of carpet. This wasn't bad when we were there, but I wouldn't want to use them when it's been raining.
Other Thoughts: There are alternates for many of the tees, although it wasn't entirely clear to us which tees were supposed to be more advanced (no signage/markers that we could find).

Although there are only signs at around half the tees, once we figured that out, we had no problem navigating the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Carnation

5+    8/1/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Russh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great use of the limited space, nice group of locals always willing to show a newbie the course, trees make many of the holes play longer than they are. carpet pads hold up better in the rain than you would think.Rarely busy. This is the ONLY course i almost always get lost discs back from.
Cons: lots of dog walkers that don't clean up the poo!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  The Nation

2-4    8/8/2011   8/9/2011
Review By: NBdiscgolfer
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great mix of tight and open holes
-Well maintained
-Great flow from hole to hole with signs at every hole
-Even the holes under 200ft still have a good challenge and its no guaranteed birde
Cons: -Only 9 holes(for now)
-Some of the baskets and placed in areas with to many over hanging limbs(IMO)
-A little more length would not hurt
Other Thoughts: All in all its a great fun little course. Great mix of open and tight holes. Good for begginers and more advanced players.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.