Bellingham, WA
Cornwall Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Easy but fun course

2-4    4/13/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: Hix375
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays through a well maintained park. Some of the wooded holes offer a fun challenge.
Played early morning in spring and saw plenty of other discers, i can imagine its more bustling in the summer.
Smells like dreams.
Birdies and Aces should be very obtainable for low-intermediate players and up.
tees and baskets are often surrounded by wood chips
Cons: Very short holes.
Poorly laid out and confusing, lack of use of space. It really could be a 12-18 hole course if they would use unused spaces (especially between 3 and 4)
Baskets could use some T.L.C.
most baskets are straight shots with few obstacles.
No tee/basket signage.
expect a good amount of walking to 6 from 5 and from 9 back to 1
Other Thoughts: A fun short course once you have figured out the layout, Plays through a nice forested park. You may want to bring a map to figure out navigation. great course to introduce someone new to the sport. Still not kidding about it smelling like dreams, maybe thats just me though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lots of people.

5+    7/15/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: Crossbowdan29
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. If you like to meet new people while waiting to play the next hole this is the spot for you.

2. Nice little wooded course with some twists and turns.

3. Nice corner shots, good tee pads, almost all holes in the shade what more can you ask for.
Cons: 1. Crowded you should bring a chair.

2. Somone keeps stealing pins from this course.

Other Thoughts: This course has the potential to be epic. during the Cornwall Classic you get to see some of that potential. But a bit further north there are better courses I would pass this one by.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Fun

2-4    7/12/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: whatcomhucker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded course presents a good challenge to try out different throws, but not too frustrating.
Nice to walk in the shade during the summer.
Decent mix of short technical lines and midrange drives.
Holes 1-5 also function as a mini course/circuit if you want to cycle through a few times and hone your game.
Cons: Can get crowded at times.
Signage is nonexistent. There is a pdf map on the park website but you can't tell forest from fields on it...
You will see some trash, cig butts, and maybe even some broken beer bottles... wish people would take better care of this otherwise lovely park.
Other Thoughts: I really like this park. As a novice it presents just the right challenge. I can see how it might get a bit boring for more seasoned players though. There are some picnic sites and is a great place to bring the family or a group of friends for lunch and a few rounds.

If going for the 1st time Google the park and print the PDF map & score card. Otherwise ask/follow the locals to make the leap from hole 5 to 6.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    2/17/2013   2/17/2013
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great tee pads.
Ground cover was cleared in most places.
Tree cover over most holes.
Short holes are great for newer players.
Cons: No tee signage.
Hard to navigate without a map.
Can be crowded during peak times.
Short holes are too easy for experienced players.
Other Thoughts: We really enjoyed this course, so much that we played through three times. We were surprised to see in not as crowded as usual on a Sunday morning, but we did get there very early, and it got busier as the day went on. The tree canopy made it nice even when it started to sprinkle. Also, the lack of ground cover, made it easy to keep a sight line on the disc.
Several times while walking between holes we commented on how much of the space was under utilized. You could easily put in eighteen holes here without changing the layout. The distance between hole 3's basket, and hole 4's tee could have easily made a great hole, and there were several places throughout the park that you could add to, instead of trucking a ways between holes.
Overall the park was clean, and the course played very nicely, even when it started to get busy in the afternoon. We will definitely be back!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where i first got my feet wet

5+    12/29/2011   1/6/2012
Review By: northwestblazinfire
Played: 11  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great beginner course
Nice cobblestone tee pads
Pro tee pads arnt offical but add extra diff.
Chill vibe
you can shoot 9 from the hill across the field for a bonus down hill run
Cons: way to crowded
No epic long looks except the bonus 10
1 really easy pitch and put
again with the crowd...
Other Thoughts: My home course is NSRA so im used to much more seclusion. Although i used to live on victor st in Bellingham and first got my feet wet at this course, it dosnt really do it for me anymore. If i want technical tplay i just go to Lake Stevens, Bellingham is desperate for an awesome world class Discgolf course though. The people are awesome and the disc community is thriving there i hope they get their "NSRA"

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course for a newbie with a guide

1    10/21/2011   10/22/2011
Review By: -Hawk-
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For us newbies, I really liked the different shots we could make whether it be backhand or forehand depending on the hole.
Never had even a slight chance at loosing a disk. Very wide open tee-basket as far as underbrush..it was little to none.
Each tee was in good shape, even with the rain this area had today.
Cons: As everyone else said, the lack of directional signage for the next tee is a huge downside to this course. The flow seems to be there kinda on a couple of holes, but we spent awhile trying to navigate from one to the next. The apparent infamous transition from #5 to #6 nailed us too, even with having a local that had played the course once before with us, and he even had a hand drawn map from another frequent player of this course.
Other Thoughts: Get some signage, and this will be a much higher rated course I am sure. Overall had a great time though, and will certainly play here for a quick round if I am ever in town again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A fun place to play

1    8/14/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Jax11
Played: 91  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Fun hole layout
- Good shot requirement
- Somewhat rewarding birdie opportunities
- Minimal rough to lose a disc
- Beautiful Park
- Sense of seclusion
- Decent cobblestone pads
- Baskets were in good shape
Cons: - Very crowded
- Course is somewhat short
- No tee signs
- Awful navigation issues
- Some holes may have other activities that interfere.
Other Thoughts: Cornwall Park is a diamond in the rough. It plays mostly through large fir trees with a few shots that are a little more open. The course layout is extremely fun. It requires several different shots to score well. Yet, some of the holes have multiple lines to chose from that presents some risk/reward decisions. The fairways are ideal. They are wide enough for a wide range of players to hit consistently, yet tight enough to punish bad shots.

Unfortunately, this course gets very crowded and it is located in a multi-use park. Other activities can produce some conflicts and with the heavy traffic, be prepared to wait for other groups ahead. Navigation is a serious issue here especially between 5 and 6 (see explanation later if you plan on playing here), tee signs and signs directing players where to walk could help a lot. Don't be afraid to ask the locals for help finding the next tee, they are friendly and willing to help. The course is also a little short and may bore more skilled players that are looking for a challenge.

Due to the fact that it is only a 9 hole course with tee pads and better navigation this course could only be a 4 out 5 for me. With that said, the fun factor at this course is very high and the park is beautiful. It is not a destination course, but definitely one of the best 9 hole courses I have played. It is worth a stop if you are in the area.

Hole 5 to 6 directions: Continue to follow the path for a long way. It will travel to the left of a parking lot, at the end of the parking lot there is a little turn around, and the pad is slightly to the left of the turn around and the holes throws down the gravel bike path with the basket tucked slightly to the right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent begginer course

1    7/20/2011   7/25/2011
Review By: Brad1240
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is a good begginer course for those just starting. Many trees and some obstacles
Cons: The course is really difficult to navigate through and has no signs. The course is only 9 holes which makes it a very quick and somewhat enjoyable. The biggest con is that it's always really busy so you will have to wait even during the week.
Other Thoughts: It's still a well maintained park

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Game

1    7/20/2010   6/18/2011
Review By: ninja-don
Played: 28  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Please take note that I am writing this from memory of over a year ago since I played the course.

Great brick work tee pads, very flat and very large. These are nice and easy to see which is a good thing since there are no tee signs.
It's free. It's quick and easy to play for any level of player.
The grounds are perfectly kept up. I don't remember any trash or other clutter to deal with.
Cons: No tee signs. Bring a map you may need it.
Hole 5 and 6 are fairly far away from each other. Hole 9 and 1 also are far from each other so try to park in the middle of them near the playing field.
Other Thoughts: I think it only took me about 40 minutes to play this course and that was with being lost between 5 and 6 for a little bit. I did not have a map, but got help from some other DG'ers.
This course was easy, even for a beginner like me.
It was not crowded when I was there, but I could see it being a real problem when it gets busy since it's public and free, and small.
I would not go out of my way again to play here... If i lived closer I would probably use it for practice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bellingham's Hot Spot for Disc Golf

5+    6/7/2011   6/9/2011
Review By: WA KID
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays through Beautiful tall coniferous forest. The largest in the City of Bellingham. Tee Pads and flat fairways make for speedy play with quite literally no chances of losing discs.(except for an owl snatcher here or there) Awesome Teepads!!!
Cons: Even on the worst of days the course can be flooded with casuals and on sunny days theres waits on every hole. YAYY. Baskets half a decade past their prime. Expect bounce outs people. :D
Other Thoughts: Monday Handicap 5:30. Tuesday Dubz 5:30. Sunday Roque 10 a.m. CORNWALL CLASSIC in September. Great Event. Check it out!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.