Reykjavik, Iceland 
Klambratúni Park Share
Uploaded By: hollman Hole #7 (Taken 5/2016)
4 / 256ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Cute, Short and Aceable

1    0/0/0000   9/9/2016
Review By: RadoTornado
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: -There is a good chance you will hit an ace
-Very easy to find
-Relatively easy to navigate, as the holes just loop around the perimeter of the course
-Only takes 45 minutes to play
-Is flat and walkable
-It is walking distance if you are in downtown Reykjavik
-there is a small art museum with a cafe after you finish hole 9 (yes there is a bathroom too)
-the park is very pretty and well maintained with trees, flowers and other plants
Cons: If you are looking for a challenge with long holes and challenging terrain, you will probably be disappointed.
Other Thoughts: This is a very short, very easy course in the town square of Reykjavik. It is 9 holes, with each hole being about 200-250 feet. Most of the holes are of the same length as Rutgers DGC in NJ (USA). I would think of it really as a practice course or an entertainment course, not professional grade. If you are at the competition level, you'll be able to play Klambratun with a putter for the most part, which is why it's so great to play if you're coming from overseas, are only bringing a few discs and just want to get a quick round in. It was great for me because I was visiting for a few days,and had a friend with me who hasn't played in years so it wasn't a huge commitment out of our day of sightseeing to play this course.

Fairly typical park course

1    5/13/2016   5/20/2016
Review By: hollman
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to find. Easy flow. Good for beginners or those just visiting the city who want to get in a round of disc golf. Plenty of other locals around who can help out if you are visiting from another country. Park is well maintained.
Cons: A couple of holes have some technical shots, otherwise there is not a lot of variety if you are looking for a technical course. Other than tee numbers and an initial map, there is little signage, although it is fairly easy to find the next tee and see the next basket. I do not think there are bathrooms ("water closets") other than what is available at the museum located on the premises, which costs money to enter. There can be other park visitors in the way of some shots.
Other Thoughts: A very skilled local who was playing behind us told us that this course was not the best that Reykjavik had to offer. He advised taking a 15 minute car ride out of the city for one of the better and more technical courses. Unfortunately, I did not have that opportunity. There were quite a few other players there that day, telling me it would be fairly easy to get more information about local courses, and most speak English. I would advise playing this course if you are in the area because it is easy to get to, fairly typical, and you might not have another opportunity if this is the only time you plan to visit Iceland. It is fun to play and you won't be disappointed you did.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I was in Iceland!

1    7/25/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 78  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It was easy to navigate and the course flowed
-Great baskets
-Easy location to find within the heart of Reykjavik (four blocks from my hostel)
-Fun locals, they let me borrow discs to play with them
-Good design for the limited space and trees in the park
^Mixture of shots
-Beautiful looking park
-I believe there were bathrooms but I'm not sure.
-Street lamps can light up some of the course... nice for when it's always dark
Cons: -Some holes were short and everything was par 3
-Some walking paths come into play and I can see errant shots heading in those directions
-Tee signs are really basic but the park has a great board out front
Other Thoughts: If you ever are in Reykjavik and have the time then I would play a fun short round. It's nothing stellar but it's cool knowing that disc golf is growing internationally. Also I believe they have leagues and doubles here. Might want to ask a local. Also, in the summer there is only a brief period of darkness... fun being able to play golf at 10 at night or 3 am after hitting a bar :)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Downtown Reykjavik

2-4    4/13/2012   8/4/2012
Review By: Jandro
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location is great and easy to find
Good course map at start
Easy to follow layout
You are playing disc golf in Iceland, what could be better!
Cons: Way to short and way to easy, more of a beginners track
Lots of people around as plays through public park
Not much shot variety
Other Thoughts: If you find yourself in Reykjavik, which I hope you do as it is a beautiful place, it's well worth it to get out and play. Nothing interesting or special about the course, but easy to get around in about 45 minutes and fun to have played in Iceland.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.